Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Make 2018 Your Year of Adventure. Save $150 when you Book Now - Learn More >

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2017
    Elizabeth Williams

    Everest Base Camp

    Fantastic trip with incredible scenery in a beautiful country. Getting into the real scenery with an authentic experience and a great trekking challenge. Loved it!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching Base camp. Whilst not the highest or hardest trek I’ve done it was tough and seeing our group of varied age and ability persevere to reach the target was amazing. Kala Pattar trek and watching the sunrise hit the mountain tops on a crystal clear morning.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant! Helpful, friendly, knowledgable. Bikash got to know each of us and any issues or challenges we had to support us on the trek. He was good company and a great guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare well, follow the trip notes advice, it’s very accurate. Be prepared to hire helicopters to get to lukla if your flight is delayed as once it starts to back up it’s chaos.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Wonderful, highly recommend it, it’s nit for you if you want luxury but it is if you want amazing scenery and a real adventure in a beautiful country!
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Ragnhildur Magnusdottir

    High Passes to Everest Base Camp

    I have always had love on mountains and visiting Himalaya to see some of the highest and greatest mountains in the world had always been on my list to do and High Passes to Everest Base camp was a wonderful trip to do. We were so lucky with weather the whole trip giving us amazing scenery and view every day and despite a little struggle for me with altitude at some point during the trip I loved every minute of it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many inspirational moment along the trip. The beauty of the mountains with a new scenery every day. All the passes and peaks we attend. The Prayer Service at the monastery in Thyangboche. All the amazing people I met along this journey, my fellow travelers, leader and assistant guides. I also found it a proud moment for the whole group to finish the trip together despite some struggle along the way. Every day was special with it’s own adventure.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    You could tell that Pasang Bomjan had love and respect for the mountains and everywhere we stopped along the way, if it was for a tea break or accommodation for the night, you could also tell that he was loved and respected. He also had real love for his culture and religion which he also shared with his group and I am just thankful for getting a little insight to this beautiful and peaceful religion I knew so little about. With his eyes on everything he also went above and beyond for his group and if it wasn't for him I don't think the whole group would ever had managed to finish the trip. Given a group of people with so many different personality, fitness level and ability and getting them through eighteen days at that high altitude where so many things can put you off demands an incredible lot of skills and insight for a group leader to have and Pasang measured up to all of them. Guarding the group safety and health nothing went pass him and he was always there if you needed him. Caring for people when feeling sick, giving encouragement if you needed motivation or support or just a warm hug and beside this all just a nice and pleasant person to be around. Some people you are just happy and grateful you met and for me Pasang Bomjan is one of them.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a wonderful trip to do but because of long endurance and toughness (grated 7) it requires some fitness level, so make sure you read the trips notes through. About half of the trekking time you are also sleeping above 4500 m so be prepared you might feel it at some point. Sleeping at this altitude you also need good sleeping bag because nights get quite cold and down jacket will also be very useful. For water I prefer to use SteriPEN and for backup water purification tablets (if SteriPEN runs out of battery or breaks), but you can also buy bottle water or boiled water. Sun screen is very necessary (for me and my white skin SPF 50), lip balm with protection and hand gel (hand sanitiser). I totally underestimated amount of toilet paper I used but it is easy to buy on the way and also snacks which you can buy everywhere along the trek. If you have some outdoor gear or clothing you are going to replace for new, the local crew will be happy to give your old things second life. It is both appreciated and needed. If you like taking photos, take good camera with you on this trek. The scenery is just breathtaking.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you love mountains you will love Nepal. But Nepal is also so much more than just the mountains with beautiful and peaceful culture and religion and friendly people. Just go there with your heart and mind open, embrace it´s beautiful culture and religion and leave behind you a nice footprints wherever you travel. From Himalaya I take with me beautiful memory I will keep in my heart.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Allison firks matthews

    Trekking to Everest Base camp

    If you want an adventure this is the trip for you. Beautiful mountains, rivers, forests, bridges and great guides that look after you and show you the wonderful mountains and tradition of the Sherpa traditions. Everything is catered for and your day is planned you are encouraged with every step you make our guide was exceptional and help me to achieve Base camp .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching base camp

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was exceptional he was your Freind mother father doctor and mentor all at the same time especially when the high altitude begins to keep in without him I don't think I would have made my goal of Base camp it was his encouragement and advice that got me there a true credit to him

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just listen to your guide and enjoy the whole experience

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would do it all over again with our group leader and exhodus
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Len Wallace

    High Passes to Everest Base camp - Awesome!!

    This is a trip for the physically fit person, who has a strong mental attitude, if you are both of these then its one of the best trips you can do. The views and scenery are the best in the Himalayas. The flight to Lukla is not for the feint hearted but is an experience you will never forget! 18 days walking, with 9-10 days around 5000m+ is hard work, but with preparation and the right equipment then its definitely do-able. Out of a group of 14, 100% completed the 3 passes and made it round, which was a great effort. However only 2 did all 5 peaks plus the 3 passes. I would recommend this trip to people who have walked at altitude before and are fit and mentally tough.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All 5 peaks and 3 passes are incredible, not to be missed if you are feeling strong and healthy. My personal favourite views were Gokyo Peak, Chukkung Ri, Awi Peak (as its so quiet and has great views) and the Renjo La pass. Also the flight to and from Lukla is something everyone should experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pasang and his team (including Sujit, Kami and Giradie) were faultless, great local knowledge, inspirational leadership, very helpful and reassuring about health issues, altitude and generally supporting the team through the many ups and downs we all experienced (there were so many more ups by the way).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes, its a great trip, but not for everyone, 18 days in a row is very tough but also very rewarding. The following items I found to be really helpful: Sawyer water filtration system, cold/flu meds, throat/cough sweets (everyone got a cough at somepoint), down jacket and sleeping bag, diamox, hand gel, walking pole, good head torch, dry bags/stuff sacks, toilet roll/tissues, solar battery recharger, buff or face scarf for dust/sun protection. Things i should have taken: lip balm/sun protection for lips, olbas oil/vix (sinuses get blocked easily due to dust).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A great trip, really friendly group of people to travel with. I recommend it, but its really suitable for those people who are experienced, have previously been to altitude and are fit and mentally tough. If you are these things, you will enjoy it so much more than if you are not.
  • Reviewed May 2016
    Lee Harrison

    HIGH PASSES TO EVEREST BASE CAMP (TNG)

    I though I would be the only one finishing this trip, what with some bad food and respiratory issues, only 2 out of seven of us finished this trip. Apart from the points I have mentioned earlier I would like to stress that this trip is marked "TOUGH" that means you have to put some training in or you will struggle to complete this trip, your weekend country walks are not going to cut it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The inspirational moment for me was summiting the first pass, I then new I would be able to complete the trip fully and of course the Blue lake at Tokyo Ri summit.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I found Gele B to be helpful and straight forward, his English is a little difficult to understand sometimes but overall he was good toward with.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Careful what you eat, get some training in and importantly bring a good dust mask for the smog in Kathmando and the dust out on the mountains.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Apart from my traveling companions I enjoy the trip very much and would defiantly try something similar.
  • Reviewed November 2015
    Elizabeth Lyle

    Everest High Passes

    What an amazing trip something I'll never forget.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the passes and peaks and I loved getting to Everest Base Camp

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was Gele, he's inspiring and knowledgable of the area. We felt completely safe in his care. His English was excellent and he genuinely cares about our success. He is a credit to exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a steripen to sterilise your water it will save you a lot of money. Be fit as this trip is not for the faint hearted and to be fit means you will enjoy the experience all the better.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip for me was simply wonderful, Nepal is an amazing country and the beauty of the Himalayas will stay with me forever. The organisation of the trek from tea house to tea house was flawless and it meant we never had to worry about anything. Loved every minute of it.
  • Reviewed December 2014
    Shona Marshall

    The trip that delivered on all fronts!

    The High Passes of Everest trek was the first trip of this kind that I have done and was my 50th birthday treat to myself. Although I had never experienced altitude before, and had limited walking experience, I felt that I was fit enough and determined enough to take on the challenge of what is described as a 'tough' trek. Our guides stressed the need for a steady pace in order for us to acclimatise properly and be able to cope with many hard days spent at over 5000m. I never felt any of the symptoms of altitude sickness due mainly, I believe, to proper hydration. Along with the other 14 in the group (average age 51.9), I made base camp. Only 6 of us (ave. age 56.8) managed all 5 peaks and 3 passes, so I am justly proud of accomplishing that! The main reason that so few of the group managed all peaks and passes was down to illness, although 2 in the group weren't really fit enough and seemed to want to use the trek as a weight-loss exercise! I also went to Chitwan for 2 nights at the end of the trek. This was a thoroughly relaxing way to end my holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of the Kongma La pass was a very emotional moment for me. There were a couple of steep scrambles up to the top, something which I had never experienced before. The feeling of accomplishment was incredible, a very empowering moment, and this being the hardest pass, I knew that I would be able to complete the whole trek. At Chitwan, bathing the elephants was fantastic, a childhood dream come true!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shailesh Tamang was great! His enthusiasm for the mountains and his pride in his country and people was something very special. His priorities for the group was safety and being able to complete as much of the trek as possible. He coped very well with the few cases of illness (chest infections and sickness/diarrhoea) and with a couple of the group who were much slower than the rest. The rest of his team showed great patience with us all and were always cheerful and positive.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes thoroughly. There are many long, hard days of trekking and you will enjoy the trip far more if you are fit. Drink plenty of water to help with acclimatisation (3-4 litres per day) and avoid tea/coffee.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Reaching base camp was something that I have always wanted to do, but this trip offered so much more. If you enjoy a challenge and being pushed out of your comfort zone, then spend a bit of time getting in good shape before you go and you will really get a great sense of achievement from this trek.
  • Reviewed December 2013
    Anonymous

    HIGH PASSES OF EVEREST

    This was an extremely tough but hugely rewarding trip. I had trained hard before I left which meant that I actually enjoyed every step, now matter how tough it was. My head was up all the time, which is important with the amazing views on offer. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Each summit was a personal achievement and the views incredible, each one inspiring me on to the next. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was good fun but occasionally the constant "ha ha" was inappropriate and somewhat false. He was very young and with experience will grow in maturity I think.However, he guided us well over the difficult passes. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Train hard - you either suffer before you go, or you suffer on the trail! A bit dramatic? Not really. Because I had got a great level of fitness before I left, it meant that even when I had a throat infection thru one the High Passes I was able to continue and enjoy the day, something I would not have been able to do if I was out of shape. I was training 6 days a week in the last 6 weeks before departure (my normal training was 3-4 days a week before that). And I variety of running/circuits/High Intensity and endurance training. Well worth the effort. Age is not an issue - fitness is. Don't turn up unfit or you could ruin it for everyone else.I wore calf recovery sleeves every day when we'd finished. They really work. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Take a water bottle that can withstand boiling water. I had a water system that didnt so I had to buy bottled water. Take your Nalgene bottles (dont leave behind like I did!).I was advised by a reputable retailer that my -5 comfort level sleeping bag would be sufficient for a tea-house trek. It was NOT, I had to beg blankets every night. make sure you have a warmer bag with you.Smart wool socks can last up to 6 days - dont take too many.Bamboo clothing is amazing too - the tops also last many many days, so do the knickers but I'll keep those details to myself. This is really helpful when you have a 10kg weight limit.I took loads of chocolate etc but you can buy this everywhere, i wouldnt take it all again if I went back.Take your book, there is quite a lot of down time, I sacrificed my kindle for weight and wish I hadnt.I took Yaktrax Extreme, which are slightly more expensive, but we had so much snow and ice on the trail but mixed with rocks. the traditional Yaktrax (coils) couldnt take the rocks and broke. The Extreme handled it all really well.   
  • Reviewed December 2013
    Anonymous

    HIGH PASSES OF EVEREST

    It was an excellent trip, incredible beauty around and the whole scenery but it was incredibly tough. No matter who you are and how do you feel prepared, all the fat and energy in the body gets burnt first few days and you are left always hungry in between each meal since the food can hardly cover the energy outcome. Its not just the walks but also the constant frost (when starting early mornings well in the teens ...) only with the exception of day light (we had an ideal weather with blue sky all the time though), lack of running water and most likely also oxygen ...

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The High Passes are definitely the most fabulous place to walk ...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    All our leaders were excellent and always on guard to make sure everybody was alright (which wasn't often quite easy to achieve - everybody of us had his difficult moment during the trip)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take this trip only after several much shorter stays in comparable altitudes - what is probably most difficult is the length of the trip with basically fortnight stay between 4800 and 5200 metres above the sea level.
  • Reviewed December 2013
    Anonymous

    HIGH PASSES OF EVEREST

    A tough expedition although conditions can alter the toughness considerably! Also a fairly high level of fitness is required although this will not help with the altitude sickness which the majority of people will suffer with in various severities. Do not believe exodus account of " experience of hill walking in Scotland" this is a massive undersell as we had 5 out of 8 people who have regularly done this and we all agreed that there is no comparison between them. I am a very fit guy who trains approx 10 hrs a week running and weights and although physically not the hardest thing I have done mentally it is. Do not attempt this trip without considering the risks and if you have any doubts about your fitness as you do not want to be a burden on the rest of the group. Ps yak tracks are a necessity not as trip notes say possible extras.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Most inspirational time was reaching the bunk house after being the first group this season to cross the kongma la and then the glacier after 10hrs of walking sometimes in thigh high snow. .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was excellent with a thorough knowledge of the terrain and was quick to spot signs of sickness. Without him less people would have succeeded.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not assume that altitude will not affect you as you have done kilimanjero etc as people did on our trip. You are trekking at over 5000 m for over a week not just a few hours and then coming down! Start with diamox at 4000m and stpp taking after the last pass this is approximately 11 days worth so side effects should be minimised.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Fantastic experience but not without risks which exodus don't mention but your guide will emphasise to you!
Call us on 1 844 227 9087