Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Make 2018 Your Year of Adventure. Save $150 when you Book Now - Learn More >

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2017
    Gillian McFall

    Ms

    A fantastic first experience of Nepal ... and hopefully not my last

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The emotions that came out at Base Camp showed how much the trek meant to some people and I'm happy to have shared that experience with them.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shailesh was very informative about what each day would involve ensuring that we were well prepared. He looked after the group well and was careful to check for any health/altitude issues which was reassuring.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Eat plenty apple pie!! :-)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Getting off the main Everest Trail for a few days was lovely, much quieter and a welcome escape into the beautiful goyko area. I would recommend this route.
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Emily Green

    Excellent trip of a life time

    A trip of a life time! One I'll never forget. I am very pleased that I went early in the year because it was as a lot quieter on the routes than I've heard it can be in September/ October. The weather was very cold though, but the mountains and scenery looked stunning in the snow. A stunning part of the world.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching Everest Basecamp was very special, and a life long dream. However for me climbing to the summit of Kala Patther whilst the sun was coming up over Everest was even more special.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Tenzi and his team were incredible. They thought of our every need before we did. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They did everything with a smile and were very attentive to making sure we were all ok. Incredible people - thank you!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take lots of warm clothes if you are going early in the season. Also some gaiters. A number of good base layers is handy. A portable battery charger is really handy too. Favtor 50 sunscreen is a must!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    An incredibly beautiful and challenging trip. I'd highly recommend it. I loved the longer trip with the additional Gokyo Ri and Kala Patther summits. Basecamp was great, but doing all 3 made it even more special.
  • Reviewed May 2016
    John Doyle

    Full Marks 10 out of 10

    This trip was everything I expected, and wanted. A journey up the relatively quiet Gokyo valley, then some very strenuous days, and then a relatively easy, but busy descent down the Khumbu. Crossing Cho La was hard but one of the best days. Our Leader,Silas, and guides Mingma and Pembar, were excellent. Also a word for our 4 porters, they did an incredible job,always willing, happy and smiling. My previous 2 trips to Nepal were in tents, but no more for me, the Tea houses make for a much more pleasant trip. This trip is long enough and varied enough, and strenuous enough to satisfy most people,and give a broad and varied look at life in this amazing country. Thanks

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Crossing Cho La

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    WI Fi is very common throughout most of the trip, much more common than mobile, although often unreliable. Take a solar powered battery bank,very useful. Most of us spent about £20/day out on the trails. Views on Diamox were mixed, some took it others not, we all managed to hit the high spots without any altitude problems.
  • Reviewed April 2016
    Chris Grant

    Worth the extra few days!

    If you want to see Everest Base Camp and climb Kala Pattar but don't just want to go up the valley and back down again, this is the trip to choose assuming you can spare the extra few days. This longer circuit, taking in both Gokyo Ri and one of the High Passes (Cho La), is well worth it: it's quieter, has stunning views in its own right and will allow you more acclimatisation time prior to the regular Everest bits. I can safely say it was the most varied, wonderful and fulfilling 15 days' walking I've ever done, and I'd recommend it to anyone with two feet and a head for heights.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having a long-awaited glass of wine at the Everest View Hotel on a perfectly clear morning (trek day 14) - that was pretty special. The views from Gokyo Ri, Cho La, EBC and Kala Pattar were more staggering than I'd ever have believed, and the routes in between these high places were beautiful as well. But the biggest inspiration was seeing how the local Nepalese people have bounced back from disaster and continue to make their way in the world. Tourism is the lifeline of that region and it felt good to contribute to their ongoing recovery.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I'd had a great leader on my previous Exodus trip (Hamid on the Peaks and Valleys of the High Atlas) so I'd booked this specific trip because I'd heard good things about Valerie Parkinson. I wasn't disappointed: she *is* Exodus in Nepal and made a great trip into a glorious one. Everything went like clockwork without any fuss or bother; she lives and breathes her job; and she's happy to share her seemingly limitless knowledge. Full marks, and then some!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    In no particular order... There's a lot of climbing but the distances aren't too far. I wasn't able to do much in the way of appropriate preparation walking but I cycle regularly, and this helped build the thighs up for the ascents - definitely worth considering if you can't get some prep walks in before you go. I took a Steripen with me to save having to buy "mineral water" which is effectively only UV-filtered anyway - this helps reduce plastic bottle waste and also pays for itself over the course of this one holiday. A water bladder for the backpack is better for ensuring you take on enough liquid whilst walking, though a bottle is also vital in case the tube freezes in the early mornings (happened to me once). I also invested in a 16,000 mA power pack from RavPower, which, although heavy, was enough to recharge my Steripen 4 times, my camera 4 times, my phone once, plus someone else's phone and camera, and still have 20% or so left over - much better than trying to charge your devices at the lodges, trust me. There's plenty of snacking material for purchase in lodges (bars, Pringles, chocolates and the like) so there's no real need to bring stuff out with you unless you have specific requirements/tastes - this also helps you keep below the 10+5kg weight limit on the plane. I managed the whole trek without taking diamox (though a couple of Ibuprofen were needed one night to suppress the altitude headaches) or using trekking poles (that may just be a personal thing - most people used them). Mobile and Internet access is available in most places but is sketchy above Namche Bazaar so I didn't bother, and it was liberating. Bring a pair of comfortable earplugs if you have difficulty sleeping - there can be a lot of snoring at altitude and the lodge walls are mostly plywood so don't exactly cut out the noise from neighbouring rooms. I managed with a good 3-season sleeping bag since all lodges have blankets/quilts to provide extra layers (travelling in March/April). There are more Western-style toilets than you might have feared but you will need to use squat toilets before the end of the trip, promise... And when you're back in Kathmandu make sure you go to Fire & Ice for a pizza/dessert - what a treat!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my second Exodus trip and my second 5-star review. If I could have given this 6 stars I would have because I enjoyed every minute - yes, even the 04:30 wake-ups. This is a special trip in a special country, and if you get the weather and a bit of luck like we did, you too could have a trip of a lifetime to the roof of the world.
  • Reviewed December 2015
    Helen Smith

    Trip of a lifetime!

    This trip is hard work, the altitude is hard work and some days I thought I could walk any further, but it was so worth it!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The group were awesome and getting to base camp with everyone was great fun!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ngima and the guides were funny, supportive and very knowledgable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My Walking sticks were so useful!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'm So glad I did this trip
  • Reviewed December 2015
    Marlisa Paice

    The trip of a lifetime!

    This trip is incredible! It is the hardest thing I have ever done in my life but well worth it and I am so pleased I did it! The guides were fantastic, up early every morning to get us ready and last to bed at night, working non-stop to make the experience as good as possible! A week after I got back to the UK I was still shell-shocked about what I had achieved and just bowled over by the whole experience. The world is there to be seen! :)

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Base Camp!! - Has to be really doesn't it, iconic place and great atmosphere when you get there! Such a sense of achievement.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ngima was just incredible, most of the guides caught colds and chest infections while we were out there but they kept going with their unending enthusiasm and good spirits! They were always there when we had bad days and never stopped watching us to make sure we were having a good time!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    To get the most out of this trip I really would recommend a few things. Pack light! Take loads of photos. Enjoy every minute! Most of all I really believe I would have enjoyed it more if I had done some serious hill walking training - I made it with barely any training in that department although a reasonable level of general fitness but I think I would have benefited from more training on hills!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you are in two minds - just book it! The Nepali people are some of the nicest I have ever met and this is such an amazing experience. It's really put my privileged life into perspective!
  • Reviewed December 2015
    Martin Brennan

    One for the bucket list

    Tough but rewarding trip with a great bunch of people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Though not for the faint-hearted, the magnificent and rugged landscape, the tough/arduous trekking, and the tranquility of the journey allows you to put things into perspective. This, combined with a fantastic group of people, made for a most enjoyable and memorable trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ngima was an inspirational leader, always there with encouragement and humour to ease our journey. Ngima kept us informed throughout our trek and, along with his chief and assistant guides, made this a hugely memorable (and educational) experience for our group. (I think a special mention for the porters and Yak driver is in order; these guys, through their hard work and efforts, made the logistically challenging task of moving sixteen people's kit look easy. The work that the whole team put in made this trip a seamless and enjoyable experience. Well done all!)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a tough but rewarding trip that is both physically and, at times, mentally demanding. While the group interactions and dynamics can help with mental side of things, the physical is something only you have control over; preparation is key to ensure that you are prepared for (and adapt to) the tough trekking and altitude that you will encounter. Without a doubt I think almost all of my group found the trek difficult at one stage or another, but the fitter and more prepared that you are the better and more enjoyable the trip will be.
  • Reviewed December 2015
    Janine Smallbone

    Awesome

    Absolutely excellent trip, beautiful surrounding, amazing people and a challenge to remember!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trip was an amazing experience and also a challenge that won't be forgotten for a long while to come. The Gokyo lakes are beautiful and definitely worth seeing. The Cho la pass is a hard day of walking and scrambling but The achievement of finishing it is worth it. The leader, the guide and assistant guides and also porters were all fantastic and a credit to Exodus and couldn't have been more helpful throughout. The accommodation on the whole was as good as could be expected for the height and accessibility and all the staff were helpful and welcoming everywhere we went.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was excellent, he couldn't have been more helpful, friendly or knowledgable about the trip, nothing was too much trouble day or night.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trip is not for the faint hearted, it is very hard walking/scrambling on a couple of the days and much harder than the normal Everst base camp trek.
  • Reviewed December 2015
    Aisling Ni Bhroin

    Everest base Camp and gokyo lakes

    I had an amazing holiday with Exodus around trekking to Everest base camp and which included Gokyo Lakes. The trek left from kathmandu and was a 16 day trek in total. We were met with our amazing host Ngima at the Hotel Singhi in Kathmandu. He joined us on the first day for breakfast, sat with us and chatted for an hour, and stayed with us for the following 16 days round the clock. He was absolutely fantastic. He was so supportive to all of us, always looking out for everyone. We knew we ould call on him in the middle of the night if we were ill. This is quite a tough trek, and not one I would like to do without a guide. Ngima and our team of guides and sheraps amde this trip so enjoyable. They not only guided us, and helped us through the tough climbs, (and I could not have done the Chola pass without them), but they looked after us when we became ill and made sure our stay was as comfortable as possible. Ngima really did go out of his way to make sure we had a good experience. He even brought us on a night out in Kathmandu and stayed with us until we all got to the airport to fly back home. It was wonderful to do this trek with Ngima, knowing that he was there to help if anything went wrong. We climbed to Namche bazaar, and from there did the tour of the gokyo lakes which were stunning. We were lucky to have a great group travelling with us from the UK which made the trip so enjoyable. From here we climbed the Chola pass. Oh my goodness, that was tough! Not for the faint hearted! it was the most difficult part of the trip but Im so glad I did it. I couldn't have done it without the guides who held my hand all the way up that mountain and helped me reach the top! They have unswerving patience! Everest base camp seemed so easy when compared to the Chola pass! And we skipped all the way downhill back to kathmandu from there!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the summit of the Chola pass. I could finally breathe, relax, and take in the beauty around me, it's so stunning

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I love Ngima!!! He is just incredible! So attentive to all of us. He didn't miss a beat! There is nothing he wouldn't do for us. And he is so much fun too! He made our trip as great as it was. We were so lucky to have him!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you're scared of heights, avoid the Chola pass! And take the easier route to Everest base camp! But if you can brave it, its well worth it! Bring lot's of paracetamol with you for headaches! Oh and bring a hot water bottle with you! it keeps you lovely and toasty on those cold nights Oh nd bring a pack of cards.......

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus way exceeded my expectations. Im already looking at what trip I can do next! Thank you for a very well organised holiday and looking after us so well
  • Reviewed December 2014
    Michael B

    Everest Base Camp & Gokyo Lakes

    Truly the hardest but the most amazing trip I've ever done. An excellent trip from start to finish. We were looked after by the best leader and guides and we had the best group to trek with. Awesome!!!!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many but to list a few.... my first view of amazing Everest; trekking past the beautiful Gokyo lakes; reaching the summit of Gokyo Ri with amazing Himalayan views (so tough but so worth it); reaching the top of the demanding and icy Cho La Pass,

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Group Leader, Gele was incredible! He took such care of us each day with patience and sensitivity. He took the time to get to know us all as well as sharing his stories. Gele was dedicated, attentive, informative, caring and supportive, a fantastic team leader. The entire Exodus team was great, very friendly and always there to offer assistance.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trek is very difficult however if you listen to your guides and take it slow and easy you will have an amazing experience. Equipment: This is very important, if you go without the proper equipment you will fail. A good water proof Gortex jacket is a must. You will need a good down jacket for the tea houses Boots: Good worn in boots are critical to your success. Make sure they are very comfortable and supportive around the ankles. Layers: Take wicking material (don't forget good thermal underwear) – Icebreaker rules Invest in a good sleeping bag; Crampons for the glacier; Protein bars and beef jerky Finally listen to your guides! They know best.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't keep thinking about it - do it! Exodus have a fantastic reputation and there is no doubt that I will continue to travel with them for many years to come.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087