Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2018
    David Atkinson

    Rugged, beautiful but not always as described....

    Not a great start, our flight was late ( absolutely nothing to do with Exodous) but I expect nothing less from British Airways, not sat together with my wife and no food to purchase on the return trip. So once again British Airways never cease to disappoint and if any future Exidous trip has nvokved flying with BA... I’ll go with someone else. It’s not the first time but it is the last when “Blooming Awful” spoil my holiday.... and then after being an hour late arriving the Exodous rep was another 45 mins late in Marrakesh! Now for the good bit.... our guide was just brilliant. He had a great sense of humour, awesome local knowledge and unparalleled mountain knowledge. He brought an incredibly diverse group together and all 15 acheived the summit. Well done Hamid... we’ve nominated you for guide of the year! And now for the final bit that Exodous managed to deliver.... the itinerary.... other than the start, finish and summit it bore no resemblance to the actual distances, locations, times or camps on the ground. It was worthless. So would I go to Marrakesh again - probably. Would I climb Toubkal again... definitely but preferably in winter next time Would I use the guide we had again.... without doubt - he was awesome Would I use Exodous again after 2 awful flight experiences and having to wait to be collected even after arriving late because of their choice of operator? No.... would I trust any itinerary from Exodous - never. As I have said in my feedbackbdirectly ( which no one has responded to even though 2 people read everyone apparently) .... I’ll stick with the smaller operators for similar trips that pay attention to detail and truly care for their clients and their experience unlike Exodous.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The guide helping some very inexperienced and exhausted climbers summit.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Awesome - I’ve nominated him for guide of the year :-)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t rely on thevitinerary - it beats very little resemblance to what you do on the climb
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Adrian Roebuck

    Mt Toubkal Climb 7 day trek

    I have a wonderful time met some amazing people and shared the adventure of a lifetime. I would have no hesitation in recommending this holiday to anyone who loves hiking/trekking

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the summit

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohamed Idali was a very well informed local guide from the Berber community who spoke good English. His extensive knowledge of the High Atlas put everyone’s mind at rest whilst in remote areas.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Drink lots of water to prevent altitude sickness

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Get a good pair of walking boots
  • Reviewed May 2018

    Mt. Toubkal Climb - A Tale of Two Peaks

    The Mt. Toubkal Climb provided a wonderous view of the Atlas Mountains. A straightforward trek, the trip offered many picturesque vantage points. This trek may not be the best trip for the more aspirational mountaineer as this trek could be done outside of group travel. However, I was lucky that the group provided a camaraderie that made the trip. Our guide, Hussan and the muleteers were hardworking and exceptional throughout, ensuring that our best interests were met. A questionable hotel in Marrakech was tolerable due to the short length of time there and the rest of the accommodation was good when compared to the alternatives on offer in the region. Mt. Toubkal Climb was a start of an even bigger aim for myself, a trip that I shall look back on with fondness.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Three moments stand out for me; Lorna, a group member, suffered from sunstroke the previous day and on climbing Mt. Toubkal was evidently struggling with altitude sickness. With the help of our guide and the conviction of spirit, Lorna made it to the top and we were there to give her a guard of honour. Brian, 67, managed to summit bot Mt. Toubkal and Mt. 0uanoukrim. This showed me that a life of adventure can be a long and healthy one. Inspiration taken from my own success in easily summitting the first and second highest peaks in the Atlas Mountains. This showcased that the dieting and training had paid-off. Giving me the confidence that I can push the limit further next time.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    It was evident that Hussan was widely respected amongst the local guides. All eager to stop and embrace him, holding him in high esteem. Geologically not the greatest, Hussan was able to tell us information regarding the mountains upon request. Pleasant at all times, he was a delight to converse with and always looked after his heard of tourists.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are an experienced hill walker with a good level of fitness, you may want to consider doing the trip on your own. This is an easy trek, with the only challenge being the altitude.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would review the use of Hotel Gomassine. The Reception wasn't very helpful and the rooms were of poor standard due to the fact that half the appliances were broken. Breakfast at the hotel was not even to a continental standard. No information was provided to me when I arrived in Morocco by the hotel or member of the Exodus Team. The Joining Instructions mentioned a meeting on the first evening, however, I would have not known the time or location of the meeting unless I had bumped into another group member and introduced myself.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Lizzy Mullings

    Amazing Week

    I have just returned from my weeks trekking in the Atlas Mountains, 3-10th September. All I can say is the experience was everything I hoped it to be. The staff at Exodus have been fabulous. Said our guide was fabulous, and the group of people brilliant despite mixed abilities. What I can say is that I did prepare for this trip and would not have been able to have done it if I hadn't spent time improving my overall physical fitness. I am ready to book my next trip with this company already...looking to go to the Simien Mountains Trekking,

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the Top of Mt Toubikal

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was a wonderful, supportive individual, understated in his nature, ..what a nice man

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is not easy, and you need to train for this trip and have a good level of fitness
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Helen Cavill

    Challenging but very rewarding week in the Atlas Mountains

    A challenging trek but definitely achievable with a good level of fitness and pacing yourself. The terrain is very tricky, with steep inclines, scrambling over large rocks and long sections of loose scree. However, the scenery is inspiring and you'll finish the week with a real sense of accomplishment. Rounding off the trip with a day in the hustle and bustle of Marrakesh is great fun.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing at the highest point in North Africa (4167m), with clear blue skies and mountains reaching out as far as the eye could see. After setting off at 5am by head-torch light, the summit felt like another world. Also, the food prepared by our local chef was a daily delight - the Moroccan dishes were wonderful and the whole group were far too excited the day that he produced omelette and chips...!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    S'aid was brilliant. He did a good job keeping a large group (16) together when we all walked at varying paces. His English was impeccable and he had a great sense of humour. The whole trip was organised really well and the timings were pretty accurate. S'aid did fantastically to ensure that the whole group made it to the summit of Toubkal together (and down again safely) - it was a very long and challenging day but we were in safe hands the whole time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take some snacks (sweets, nuts etc.) to keep you going on the trek. If you want any kind of souvenirs relating to Toubkal (e.g. t-shirts), make sure you get them before you leave the Atlas Mountains (the village where you stay in the gite is best) because you can't find anything of the sort in Marrakech! Keep walking slow and steady and you'll make it. Walking poles are definitely worthwhile for steep uphill sections and to help with dodgy knees going downhill. Make sure you have good worn-in boots - if you get blisters on the first day you'll spend the whole week regretting it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A great value trip with a busy but balanced itinerary - highly recommended.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Bertan Ercin

    There and back a gain..........a trekkers tale

    From the bustling red city of Marrakech to the peak of Jebel Toubkal (and back), this trip far exceeded my expectations. The days in Marrakech that bookend the trek offer the opportunity to explore some of the main attractions such as the Jardin Majorelle, and, of course, the medina with its labyrinth souks and the famous Djemaa el Fna main square. Both are within walking distance of the hotel, which is of a good standard with very friendly staff (they will print your boarding pass for you, thankfully!),though i would recommend taking a taxi to the medina unless you are confident of the route. Most taxis hold 3 passengers and as a rule of thumb 10 Dirham per head is a good price. The trek offers a wealth of stunning and varied scenery and trails, from lush valleys and terraced fields irrigated by the rivers flowing from the High Atlas to the snow capped peaks of the mountains themselves. A highlight was the lunch on day 1 of the trek taken in a meadow. The trail is a combination of mule paths, rough, stony terrain, and scree ( and snow at the higher altitudes when we visited in early May). I have never used walking poles but these would have been very useful on days 4 and 5 when ascending and descending the optional high pass trek and Jebel Toubkal. Ice axes and crampons were needed for the Toubkal climb at this time of year and i found these great fun- it was the first time i have ever used them, but will not be the last! There was a great range of age groups and abilities in our exceptional group, and our tour leader Hassan and additional guide Mohammed who joined us for the Toubkal ascent managed the pace extraordinarily well, ensuring everyones welfare and giving everyone the best possible opportunity to achieve the summit- everyone who went for the summit made it. The views from the summit will stay with me from some time. Toubkal is tough and was my first high altitute summit for some time, and serves as a great foundation for some loftier peaks. Our tour leader Hassan was magnificent. We had to divert from the itenery on day 2 which resulited in a comfortable stay in a gite rather than camping due to snow making a high pass on the traditional route inaccessible for our mules. Hassan expenmined the diversion in detail and our acclimatisation did not suffer. This was symptomatic of the whole trip which was flawlessly organised from start to finish. The food was amazing and supplied calories just when they were needed. What makes the quality of the food even more amazing was that for the most part it was prepared in a tent by a chef that had traveled with us . No-one was made ill by the food. I am full of respect for our tremendous guides, chef, muleteers and the magnificent mules that formed our team in Morocco and who do an exceptional job. I highly recommend this trip for anyone with a sense of adventure, perseverance and with a reasonable level of fitness. Camping is basic so perhaps not for those who need their creature comforts, but it all adds to the adventure in my opinion and i wouldn't change a thing. Afternoon tea and delicious pancakes at the campsites were an unexpected treat ( if your group saves you any......protecting them from the wasps indeed!)

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views from the summit of Jebel Toubkal

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Exceptional. Very good communication skills, safety conscious with a great understated sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack a pen in your hand luggage to fill in the entry forms, and ensure you stick to the times set by your leader for departure as getting through to the departure gate can take some time due to checks. Walking sticks are highly recommended, and a good travel pillow for the tents. Always agree a price straight up before getting in a taxi and 10 dirham per head is standard for taxis, or 30 dirham for a normal taxi that takes three passengers. Hand gel/ wet wipes are a must for the daysack.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Catherine Allen

    Returning to Mt. Toubkal and the High Atlas Mountains

    The 8-day trip is the perfect way to explore the High Atlas Mountains and get a flavour of Moroccan culture and history. It gives you time to build up to the climb, appreciate the scenery you're walking through and get to know your fellow trekkers. I really enjoyed the experience, and hope you do, too.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    To start with; the company of my fellow trekkers - we were a diverse group, but we got on really well. We laughed, we encouraged each other and shared every experience. Priceless! This trip was also important for me as I'd last been to Marrakesh, the High Atlas, Neltner Refuge and Mt. Toubkal 30years ago as an 18 year old student. I wanted to revisit my memories of that time, and brought some of my old photos with me for comparison. Not unsurprisingly, much has changed over the years thanks to tourism, much of it positive, but there were still wonderful echoes of that journey to be found - for example; at Neltner I met the Grandson of the man who had managed the original Neltner Refuge back in 1988, when it was just a single stone 'hut'. Our guide, Hassan, had also worked there as a student, and it is possible that we had coincided 30 years ago! Amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hassan guided us with a firm but gentle hand throughout the trek. Trying to organise 16 people can't have been easy, but he remained unruffled in all situations. Thank you, Hassan, for your organisational skills, gentle humour and insights into the history and culture of the mountains! I would also like to thank the rest of the Moroccan staff, who fed us royally (sometimes under difficult circumstances) and made sure the camp was ready at the end of each day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As advised in the trip notes, I would strongly recommend you come prepared with dry-bags to pack your kit into, especially your sleeping bag. We got caught in a storm on the second morning, and a couple of the group ended up with wet sleeping bags - not good!
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Mark Houghton

    Walking up Mt. Toubkal.

    Great to be able to walk to the highest mountain in North Africa and in the Atlas Mountains of Morocco. No special skills or climbing gear was required for the trip. For this trip you needed to be reasonable fit and able to cope with moderate high altitude walking. The weather was kind to us, but there were numerous clouds around the top of the mountain meaning that our distant views were not clear. Close mountain ranges looked impressive. Lush green valleys contrasted with stark bare mountain tops. A walk well worth doing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of Mt. Toubkal.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leader was very good. He had excellent local knowledge, knew the trip tracks and venue well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This walk is not a stroll in the park. I would only recommend it for seasoned walkers who enjoy a reasonably hard walk in mountainous terrain.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Not recommended for families with young children or for those who usually go for 'strolls' in suburban areas.twp
  • Reviewed September 2016
    David Ellis

    mt toubkal climb

    a very well organised trip, my first with exodus, so not sure what to expect, but the hospitality of the berber people, and our guide hassan, will live long in the memory

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    the view from the top of mt toubkal looking over to the sahara

    What did you think of your group leader?

    hassan set a perfect pace, with a break now and then , and even invited us for tea at his home at the end of the trip

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    go for it, well worth the effort.
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Samantha Hopkins

    Mount Toukbal Climb

    My partner and I choose to use Exodus again having experienced a fantastic trip with an amazing guide to the Anti Atlas in October 2014. However we were very disappointed with this trip; on the first night the tents arrived after us: consequently we all got completely soaked despite wearing our waterproofs; our kit bags when they arrived had not been covered properly and consequently some travellers had wet kit; there was a no toilet tent; the tables and equipment were very poor quality. None of these problems had we experienced the previous year. To add to this the guide was very unfriendly, set the pace at that of the fastest walkers (bad mountain leadership)! To summarise we are very reluctant to use Exodus again; pity after such a good first experience. We are travelling to Nepal in February with a rival company.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the sunrise on Mount Toukbal.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Poor.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take dry bags to out in the kit bags.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Unless Exodus up their game we will not be using you again.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087