Request your free brochure for adventure inspiration. Order now >>

Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2019
    Mala Shah-Coulon

    Exhilarating trip

    Will be an unforgettable trip for me..watching. the live volcanoes was out of this world...while I knew it was a volcanoes trip rightly or wrongly I didn't expect that we'd see live volcanoes (thought it would be a big bonus if we did)..and of course the Gods had it all planned for us as Etna erupted too while we were there!.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing up Stromboli Seeing eruption on Etna- what timing and luck.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alessandro was an excellent leader with good local knowledge that helped vary the itinerary sometimes eg taking a private boat rather than hydro foil

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    While marked moderate in its level of challenge the walks up strombolli and Etna are relatively challenging. Some hill walking and gluts exercise wouldn't go amiss.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hotel in Catania is a dive and spoilt the end of what was an amazing trip. For the sake of 20 or 30 euro I think exodus coudl put us up somewhere a little better to end trip on a high. It wasn't just tired but had fundamental issues eg sewage smells in 1 room, blocked shower drainage in several. Trip notes should say that on arrival its a 2.5 hour drive to Milazzo. Many on our group didn't expect or realise this. You end up arriving at hotel past midnight...again this could be reviewed eg rescheduling to earlier flight or reconsidering order.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Rod Ellis

    Aeolian Adventures

    A wonderful journey through north east Sicily and four Aeolian islands, mired only by some poor weather conditions at key stages of the trip. Our group of 15 got on well throughout and were unfazed by the challenges set by the weather.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many good points. Walking around the crater on Vulacano followed by an afternoon swim and a sppedboat ride to Lipari. Setting off early one morning to take a ferry ride from Stromboli to Panarea and walking to an ancient neolithic settlement above a deserted beach. Trekking through deep snow to within touching distance of the top of Etna, only to be thwarted by strong winds which prevented an assault to the summit.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Genny spoke good English and communicated well with our relatively small group. A vey engaging guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are two days scheduled on Stromboli. There is no organised activity on the second day before the late aftenoon 'summit challenge'. I took the opportunity to get an early morning return ferry ride to Panarea to see an ancient neolithic settlement along the coast, 30-40 minutes from the landing point(turn left when you arrive at the harbour and keep walking). Return ferry trip cost EUR20.80 but the site is free to enter and explore and has a couple of detailed explanation notes in Italian and English. Well worth seeing, but it's not on the Exodus itinerary.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The weather was the key factor. The trip should have had three highlights (summits of Vulcano, Stromboli and Etna) but parts two and three were blighted by poor weather conditions. There was no 'fire and brimstone' or sunset at the top of Stromboli...just a shroud of mist. Very disappointing. Etna's summit challenge was curtailed by strong winds, making it unsafe for all but the most experienced walkers (plus heavy snow underfoot made for very slippery and wet conditions. But overall a very enjoyable and memorable experience.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Caroline Tutty

    Amazing Stromboli

    A great trip with some interesting hikes and lots of volcano information topped by the fantastic hike to Stromboli summit. After the quite tough trek we were rewarded with an amazing display from the old crater looking down onto the current active craters. Unfortunately we could not go to the summit of Etna due to bad weather and the lower level trek seemed a disappointment after Stromboli. Quite a lot of time to rest and sample local life between walks. Hotels were good apart from Catania which was poor and would have been better to be based in Lipari town as nothing was open on a Monday night in May in Cantena.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Stromboli summit was a truly wonderful experience

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Marco was brilliant, very caring and looking out for all members of the group, knowledgable about volcanos and the local area and a good sense of humour

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take warm clothes for the summit
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Phik Page

    Perfect blend of nature and history

    Unreal trip. First ever trekking holiday I have been on and it was perfect. Literally can’t say a bad word about this trip. From the amazing scenery, challenging walks, watching active volcanos do its thing to the culture and history of Sicily itself, couldn’t have asked for a better trip. The group were inspirational, Benoit our guide, knowledgeable and passionate about showing us all the highlights possible and making sure we were having a great time. Perfect intro into trekking and hiking.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Summiting Stromboli. We got to the top and unfortunately cousin cover prevented us from seeing the lava eruptions. After 45 minutes of trying out luck just as we were leaving the cloud suddenly went and we got to see the full show! It was amazing to watch.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Benoit was amazing. Knew his stuff, showed us all the best bits every day and was very passionate about the country and his job.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Things will always go wrong on these trips like buses not turning up on time, getting up early after going to bed late. Well worth those small sacrifices.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Chris Pope

    Amazing Expierence

    Great trip, good variety while sticking to the Volcano theme, great food. As a new walker I had some concerns about the walking but the pace was well measured and the support and preparation guide excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Stromboli summit watching the eruptions was what the rest of the trip seemed to build up to and it didn't disappoint. Coming down from Stromboli was great fun. Vulcano fumaroles is a good runner up!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Genny is a fantastic leader, cheerful and friendly, she set a good walking pace for the terrain that ensured all the group were able to get to the objectives at the right time, such as sunset. She picked out some great food stops, Angelina's on Lipari will live in my memory for a long time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you prepare for the trip you will have a great experience, take layers especially wind proof for the summit sitting! You cant pay for much/anything? with a card so take cash. Don't underestimate the boat rides - take, or buy locally, travel sickness pills if you aren't sure of your "sea legs".

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As I am new to walking holiday I used the Exodus fitness & training guide to prepare which was very useful.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Kate Skowronska

    Unforgettable fireworks

    Greatly structured trip, with a lot of varied trips and sights. Genny, our guide, was amazing - superb customer service!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Stromboli summit

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Genny was superb guide

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack layers and good camera
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Jane Nelson

    My etna

    Excellent brake saw lots great experiance

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Going up Stromboli and mt etna

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was excellent he was very good at explaining the volcanos
  • Reviewed October 2018
    james wishart

    sicilian volcanoes

    I personally had problems with travel. As a group we were stranded on the island Lipari for 3 days instead of 1 day due weather preventing ferries to operate. On the last day we climbed Mt. Etna. This proved to be a challenge mainly due the sulphur clouds. I was unwell the next and it took a week to feel better. I know others in the party were susequently ill. My friend , who I travelled with , when he returned home was admitted to hospital suffering from pneumonia. After a week he has left hospital still recovering. The guide on the holiday was helpful to me with my travel problems. He is a nice man , easy to get on with. Given the problems we were having , he could have been more proactive and communicated more clearly what the siuation was.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The part of the trip that stood out most was Mt. Etna. This was positive and negative. The landscape was very bleak and interasting. The sulphur clouds and subsequent ill health were not good.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    See above.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware of the conditions on Mt. Etna.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Unfortunately not one of my better trips.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Roland Pope

    Brilliant experience

    If you are not already in awe of the power of nature this trip will remind you who is in charge. Getting close to these amazing natural features, feeling the heat and smelling the sulphur is an experience well worth the effort.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Experiencing Etna at close range.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was very good.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware that climatic and volcanic conditions can affect the itinerary; we couldn't get to Stromboli because of adverse windage. We got to over 3000m on Etna and it was chilly when we stopped for lunch so be prepared.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Martin Bayliss

    Pyroplastic fun!

    Beautiful with stunning scenery, history and geology - and that was just the group!.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Island of Stromboli with the milky way easily seen due to no light pollution! The peaches grown in volcanic soil were something else. The Stromboli eruptions and night walk were a high point. Swimming in the sea on Stromboli was special too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Genny was superb. Knowledgeable and competent with just the right balance of guiding and knowing when to give people space. Could not fault her. Thank you so much Genny!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't hold back and do everything! The 85 Euros for going to the top of Etna is worth it - it felt and sounded like the mountain would explode at any moment.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you can work it in suggest a half day to day boat cruise around Stromboli (or similar island) stopping off at coves for swims etc.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087