Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Make 2018 Your Year of Adventure. Save $150 when you Book Now - Learn More >

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2017
    Fiona Mcintosh

    highlights of the Dolomites

    This walking holiday was excellent, We were very well situated in the Val de Fassa for the local bus and all the gondolas and chair lifts. Most of the walks started at the top of a lift so the scenery was spectacular all of the time. We were very lucky with the weather but even so it would be difficult not to be impressed with the area. We had a choice of a grade 3 or grade 5 walk each day and we chose to stick to the grade 3 which was strenuous but without any scary bits! Every walk was different in scenery and terrain so always interesting. The shortest walk was 7 miles and the longest 11 miles but it was not rushed. The hotel good and had everything you need and their food was great and plentiful. It was situated in the centre of the small town of Campitello which had a supermarket and quite a lot of outdoor shops (handy if you forget to bring and important bit of kit) and quite a few bars and restaurants.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery had the wow factor.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both our group leaders Albert and Ingrid were great. The grade 3 groupwas lead by Ingrid all week and she was really lovely, calm and very easy to get on with. Both Ingrid and Albert knew the area really well and I had total confidence in them both.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't forget your camera!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Sandra Strange

    Fantastic hiking against stunning backdrop of limestone.

    This was a week of walking to celebrate my return to health after cancer treatment. It was a positive experience on every level. Both the landscape and the company were special. The hikes were challenging (I chose the 5), and all members of our group especially our leader Albert were supportive and encouraging.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It would have to be lunch outside the RIf Alberto, surreal rock formations and a very memorable chat with John.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert was terrific. He has such a relaxed and pleasant nature, perfect for the job. I would love to go on another trip of his.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare for all types of weather but mostly, prepare yourself to be blown away by the Dolomites as they are a wonder.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I am already looking into my next trip with Exodus !
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Irene Neilson

    Stunning scenery, great walking

    Very enjoyable walking in varied scenery with occasional need to use extremely well placed metal ropes and a bit of scrambling. Bus and cable pass enables rapid access to many different areas of Val di Fassa.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Torri del Vaiolet walk. Wonderful majestically scenery enhanced by watching some climbers ascend the statuesque towers. It was the hardest level 5 walk but well worth the effort.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good as always with Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for any weather conditions. It had snowed just as we arrived (end Aug) so Day1 was quite cold and involved treking in some snow of varying depth. The north route up Piz Boe retained snow till the end of the week so we ascended that by the south route. When the sun was out it could be very warm on other routes. Layering essential.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hotel was excellent. Very friendly staff and fresh abundant food. Rooms are simple but lounge and bar are very comfortable. Stefano the owner hosted a very generous mid-week welcome party with Prosecco and savouries. Vegetarians are catered for. Good location. One of Messner's Mountain Museums is in Bolzano. There is a War Museum with trenches at Marmolada though lift pass does not cover there. Biking or equivalent gloves useful for gripping metal ropes. We did Level 5 walks all of which were good. Lift pass costs approx £70.00 which you pay in Campitelo.
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Peter Kay

    The adrenaline certainly flowed!

    An excellent trip with a choice of two good walks lead by excellent leaders each day. Marred only by delayed baggage on my flight out from Manchester which Exodus had routed via Frankfurt with totally inadequate transit time. Level 5 walks were challenging for a 70 yr old with arthritic knees, but enjoyable nonetheless! Excellent accommodation at Hotel Enrosadira managed by Stefano who went out of his way to be helpful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Ascent of Piz Boe (>10,000 ft) was my personal best moment, and perversely surviving the thunderstorm on Day2 when high up in the mountains and with inadequate waterproof clothes (due to delayed baggage) created a great camaraderie within the group.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert was excellent as was Emily. Both showed excellent mountain leadership skills and were excellent companions at dinner and in the bar.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure that transit time on indirect flights is adequate and has sufficient slack to allow for flight delays. Pack a few essentials in your hand baggage (toiletries/underwear/spare shirt etc) in case of delayed baggage.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Big thanks to all, especially Albert, Emily, Stefano (Hotel Mgr) and the rest of the group for making it a great holiday.
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Graham Keetch

    Spectacular !

    A stunning location. A good hotel close to the centre with great food and service: the leaders Albert and Ingrid were excellent and had well researched all of the walks. A great week was had by all. Thank you

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Stunning location with spectacular mountain walks.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both were excellent and very professional

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A beautiful part of the world
  • Reviewed July 2017
    James Butcher

    Incredible views, great food and superb leaders

    An excellent trip that takes in all of the sites and hikes you would want to do in the Val de Fassa. The trip has two types of walking each day - level 3 and 5, the 5s are a good pace and you need to have a fair level of fitness to participate, they also become more technical which makes them very interesting compared to other holidays. You visit the Sasso Lungo group, summit Piz Boe, undertake a ridge walk, hike around the Roda de Vael and the views and scenery is just beautiful from start to finish. The trip has new base at the Hotel Enrosadira in Campitello - the food is absolutely fantastic, as I gather previous travellers had not found the food so good at the last hotel. The hotel staff are very friendly and welcoming. The location is perfect and Campitello has everything you could need.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On the free day I undertook an optional, additional via ferrata trip over the Roda de Vael which was an excellent addition to the trip and incredible fun.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert and Ingrid were very competent, very friendly and very knowledgeable. On our departure, Albert led the level 5 group walks - which is what we did everyday. His hikes got progressively better, took in all the sites you would want to see and gradually built your confidence, going over increasingly more technical ground. He made the whole experience excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You must buy public transport ticket, which is 68 Euros, so be prepared for this.
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Cath Mclaren

    Fabulous holiday

    We have just spent a lovely week in the Dolomites, the scenery was amazing, the hotel very comfortable with plenty of delicious food, the guides were great and we walked with a fantastic group of folk.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Not really a moment, just the overall fantastic views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had 2 group leaders, Ingrid and Albert. Both well organised, friendly and knowledgeable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take waterproofs, we didn't need them but if you do, then you properly do!
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Thomas Ross

    Highlights of the Dolomites

    a superb walking area (exceeded my expectations) Good value for money with the standard of the hotel. The trip was well organised with top quality guides

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    the walk on the final day which had a variety of different terrains to negotiate

    What did you think of your group leader?

    excellent guide, friendly, sociable with a strong knowledge of the area

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just to make sure you bring enough clothes to allow for a range of weathers
  • Reviewed August 2016
    Moira Kent

    Highlights of the Dolomites

    Stunning walks set in awesome scenery. The hotel was more than adequate, as was the food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the cliffs as we got closer. The panoramic views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Two leaders (Albert and Emily) which gave a choice of walks. Both leaders were friendly and efficient.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walks are tough - be warned! Wear walking boots, not shoes. My shoes fell to bits and I had to buy some boots. The weather can make or break this holiday and it as poor for two of the five walking days. Think carefully about the free day. Bolzano is lovely but it is 90 minutes away. Relying on public transport was a pain. Buses were always late and you frequently had to stand up.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This holiday has huge advantages given that there are two leaders.
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Gregor Paterson

    Highlights of the Dolomites

    We have been on several Exodus trips and always choose the challenging grade but sometimes we have been disappointed, as the walks have not been as demanding as we thought they might be. However, this was not the case on this trip - the level 5 walks were very challenging. This is the first multi-level trip we have been on and it worked well. We had an informative briefing from both leaders in the evening and people could decide which walk they wanted to do the next day - this was very helpful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery on all the walks was stunning. The village of Moena was very Alpine in style and lovely.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We did the level 5 walks all week with Albert. He was very knowledgeable and knew the area very well. We had to change routes several times due to weather conditions but he still provided great walks. Eric led the level 3 walks and was also very knowledgeable and helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a great trip if you are unsure of your ability as you can choose level 3 or level 5 each day. Level 5 walks were mainly 16 - 20 km long and 800 - 1000 metres ascent. Lunches are normally bought and eaten in the Rifugios. One day we took our own lunch (bought from local bakery) and ate outside to sit and admire the scenery and this was a not a problem.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a superb holiday in a beautiful area and we would highly recommend it.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087