Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Make 2018 Your Year of Adventure. Save $150 when you Book Now - Learn More >

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2017
    Dominique Hopes

    Great Wall trip-can not recommend enough!

    Travelled alone on the trip, met some incredible people and shared some phenomenal walks! Exodus made real effort to give us the full China experience, rural walks and tourist excursions. Already booked my next trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Rural walks with amazing scenery

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Humourous, knowledgeable and have plenty of cultural facts. Could have done with a second person as sometimes half the group fell behind as slightly held up the rest of us!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do everything, take on all challenges and you'll be amazed what you can achieve.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you to all involved. Feel the community blog aspect could have been highlighted to those booked as only found one person before my trip which was a shame as a solo traveller.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Joseph Carraway

    Great Wall, great tour

    Walking the Great Wall is a great tour with a good mix of activities. I go on theses trips to do some good trekking, but it is also nice to see the important tourist sites in Beijing. What is nice about this itinerary is that you do Beijing, spend time away and then finish in Beijing giving you a nice balance and not spending too much time in the big city. The guesthouses are a unique experience and are run by the nicest people I have ever come across. I highly recommend the Xi'an extension as the Terracotta Warriors are a must see, and Xi'an itself is very different with a lot of charm and character.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Overall I enjoyed the day with the spider wall the best but really the highlight for me was any day away from the touristy, restored parts of the wall. That combined with a really great group made the trip exactly what I wanted.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jerry is one of the best leaders you could possibly ask for. He is very knowledgeable and has a good sense of humor to keep things interesting. We had many issues with our itinerary due to the Silk Road Conference, but he handled all the changes well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Check the weather before you go to ensure you are prepared. I would recommend some electrolyte supplements for those extremely hot days.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Ferenc Suhai

    Walking the great wall

    Before going on the trip the highlight was for me of course the wall and the scenic views but this all changed and the whole experience was the people I was travelling with the teamwork and friendships I made.. has left a positive impact on me and at the moment all I can think about is the next trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sense of achievement personally and of the group when reaching a high point and then getting photos of the views stretched out below.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great.. an original genuine character made the trip an enjoyable experience for me

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read trip notes I did and used blister plasters at early stage and managed to keep feet from getting any worse than just a bit sore.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    My own feelings of trip it gave me more than I expected it was always going to be taking on a section of the wall and then being rewarded with amazing views but the group I was with were just amazing. I would love to meet them all again at some other challenging great location they have left their mark on my mind my memories and in my heart.
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Michelle Madrigga

    Great experience!

    A very enjoyable itinerary to see sections of the Great Wall that are free from the tourist crowds. As stated in the Trip Notes, there are a number of sections where you need to be careful walking and/or which may be unpleasant for those suffering from vertigo. However, in a few (not all) situations it was possible to detour around certain sections. The trip also included visits to some of the restored sections of the Wall. The section near Gubeikou (last two days) had spectacular views and few other tourists. I also did the Xi'an Extension, which was a quick but enjoyable trip to Xi'an, mainly to see the Terracotta Warriors. It would have been nice to have an extra day in Xi'an so something worth considering. I enjoyed the food throughout the trip but it is worthwhile to note that most of the meals (particularly at the guest houses) is served communal style with a number of different dishes served to the table - meals are not ordered individually and the dishes served are to be shared amongst the group.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Spending the last two days near Gubeikou walking along the wall and seeing the stretch completed and the stretch ahead - definitely very scenic. Also the cycling tour in Beijing was a wonderful experience. I was a bit apprehensive at first about cycling in the busy streets but it, surprisingly, felt safer than cycling the streets at home!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jerry was great - very organized and informative. He had a great sense of humour and was passionate about his country and its history. He was always concerned about the welfare of the group and went out of his way to ensure that everyone had a great time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As mentioned above, all of the group meals, including all meals in the homestays, are served communal style and individual meal choices are not available. As stated in the trip notes, vegetarian options are limited. Therefore, people with restricted diets or food preferences may want to consider either bringing their own food or considering another destination if they are not open to trying things they may not eat at home. Also, chopsticks are often the only utensils provided so if you are uncomfortable to use chopsticks you may want to consider packing some cutlery. Walking poles were a definite plus. There were a lot of steep up and down sections and the poles proved very useful, particularly in the descents.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A great trip and a wonderful experience - would definitely recommend it!
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Lucy Potter

    Walking the Great Wall

    Great trip with some stunning sights however, various aspects were not up the the usual excellent Exodus standard. Safety in various places on the wall could have been improved by having another guide at the back of the group. A member of the party was asked to do this which was unfair, this was a position for Exodus to fill. Fortunately, we had a fantastic group and no one was left behind on their own. Goodness only knows what would have happened in the event of a mishap, having only one guide who was ahead and seldom waited for people to catch up. Also, the itinerary was changed, which Exodus reserves the right to do, but we were given no explanation and very vague information on the following days walks. The city tour was a huge disappointment as our guide gave us very little time to take pictures and did not wait for the whole group before giving information or issuing instructions.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing unrestored parts of the wall and having it all to ourselves.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nice chap but fairly unenthusiastic and very vague. Overall not up to Exodus usual excellent standard.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you're reasonably fit as there are plenty of steep climbs. Vegetarian food it quite hard to come by but what there is, is delicious.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The views of and from the wall were amazing with many brilliant photo opportunities. Beijing is a vibrant and engaging city with many parks and places of interest to visit.
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Brenda Hernandez

    Walking The Great Wall

    My first Exodus trip into a country I didn't know and with people I didn't know. - I am already looking to book my next one. The Great Wall was amazing, with spectacular and breathtaking views. The walking was great, well planned and everyone done it at there own pace, no harassment to hurry, although there was some steep and challenging sections, I am not a seasoned walker and I managed them without too much effort. Our group of 15 got along great, fun-loving, witty, sociable with interesting lives, this group of people helped make this trip unforgettable. The hotels were all good and the food second to none, except maybe the sandwich for the one packed breakfast we had (don't believe the stories of being offered dog and scorpions).The Xian extension was really worthwhile, not only to see the terracotta warriors, but also to experience the sights and sounds of this lovely city and the food market also overnight train from Beijing to Xian.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many - The first steps on the Wall, and the realisation of its vast scale, the third or fourth day of trekking when you looked around and saw nothing but green mountains, with the Great Wall stretching away as far as the eye could see, with no one else but our small group in sight. the Great Wall stretching away as far as the eye could see. Not forgetting the first sight of the warriors.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kevin was absolutely superb, we could not have wished for a better group leader, He shared his considerable knowledge of Chinese history,culture with us with passion and good humour. Even before and after the actual trip Kevin took care of us, taking us out on our first and last night in Beijing for Food and a trip to a theatre. Exodus should be honoured to have Kevin as a Group Leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are some physically challenging sections, scrambling up or down steep and uneven slopes. I took trekking poles and was very glad of the extra support. If you are afraid of heights some sections will be uncomfortable. Our group was of mixed ages and abilities - from students to retirees, from occasional day hikers to multiple marathon runners - all managed the walk. What i wasn't prepared for was the actual walks to reach the wall some days - I stupidly thought, after reading the itinerary that we got dropped off on one end and picked up the other - not quite like that but still all great.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a great holiday, obviously the experience of the great wall and our excellent Group Leader Kevin. Just as important were my fellow trekkers - it was a really nice group of people. This was my first Exodus experience, so maybe I just got lucky. So I'll have to book another Exodus trip to test whether all Exodus trekkers are as sociable and good-humoured as this bunch! I also think Kevin will have set a very high standard for any future Group Leaders - Uganda her I come.
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Jonathan Howard

    Walking the Great Wall

    Was my first ever solo trip and I can't wait to book my next one. If you're in two minds about doing it STOP! Book now. You won't regret it!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Day 5. Sun rising over the horizon and the Great Wall stretching away as far as the eye could see.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jerry was amazing. Knowledgeable, approachable and very funny. Would love him to be my guide on every trip!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take some warm clothes for on a night and if the food doesn't agree, take some protein bars and some rehydration tablets just in case.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Please book this trip!! You will not regret it. Unbelievable experience. Thank me later.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Caroline Arnold

    Walking the Great Wall

    A brilliant trip. The Great Wall was amazing, with spectacular and breathtaking views. The trekking was great, being well paced, as well as having some steep and challenging sections. The Xian extension was really worthwhile, not only to see the teracotta warriors, but also to experience the sights and sounds of this lovely city.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The first steps on the Wall, and the realisation of its vast scale. The sunset at Jinshanling. Tai Chi at the temple. First sight of the warriors. The food market in Xian.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide Jay was superb. He was informative, helpful, patient, funny, professional, indispensable, and we miss him!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Leave space for souvenirs, and do the Xian extension if you can.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great trip. Great guide. Great Wall.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    David Shelton

    Well guided trip

    This is a well organised trip - as is always the case with Exodus everything worked, all the arrangements were good and the guide excellent. Also, the trip notes manage expectations around the trekking, hotels and food really well - the experience will be as promised - including the chicken's feet!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking parts of the wall which are remote, quiet and unpreserved. They give some idea of the work and "engineering" that created the wall.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jay was excellent. He set exactly the right pace, gave clear directions and exactly the right amount of information each day. He obviously cared that we enjoyed the trip and he could not be faulted. His standard was as good as all the other Exodus guides I have had the pleasure of travelling with.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is obvious, but be prepared for slopes and steps up and down. These are hard to practice for in the UK but this is why the trip can be quite demanding in places, balancing out the short distances on some days. However, a few of us could have walked further on the shorter days so if you are reasonably fit you will be able to cope with this. Take note of the trip notes description of basic hotels and manage your expectations, not everything works sometimes which makes the hotel in Beijing on the final night seem like a palace! You will be served authentic Chinese food with chopsticks for every meal so the diet is very different. However, everyone on our trip was fine, no illness and no sore feet!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a great way to see a variety of sections of the Great Wall and rural China, so different from the cities. It is a great experience and if you are fit you will cope easily.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Aloisia Oldland

    Walking the Great Wall

    What a truly unique experience to walk various sections of the wall and see rural China, as well as Beijing city and Xi'an.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Apart from seeing the Great Wall in all its splendour I would say meeting the Chinese people and experiencing their culture first hand. Doing Tai Chi just before sunset was a highlight too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was Jerry Wu and I feel very privileged to have met this most interesting and engaging young gentleman, and a real gentleman he is too. He's a very colourful character (in a good way!) and his command of the English language is first rate. He looked after us so well and nothing was too much trouble. He gave tips on what we could do in our free time and always put our best interests first. He also has a wonderful sense of humour which makes his commentary all the more interesting. He was so much fun to be with.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I travelled in October. It was fresh in the mornings and evenings so, if you're nesh like me, take plenty of layers and warm pyjamas too, especially for the basic guest houses.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Xi'an extension is highly recommended, not only to see the Terracotta Warriors, but to see the beautiful walled city of Xi'an. In fact, I would recommend all the optional activities.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087