Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Make 2018 Your Year of Adventure. Save $150 when you Book Now - Learn More >

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2017
    Sophia Phillips

    Cycling in beautiful Sardinia

    A wonderful week's holiday with a lovely group and excellent guides. It's a great way to see the South West of Sardinia and take in the amazing views and beautiful coastline, and to learn about the history of the island from the knowledgeable guides. The weather was warm and perfect for cycling and most of the roads had very little traffic. The hotels and agriturismos were comfortable and the food and restaurants were good. We visited interesting archeological sites and old mine buildings, went to a vineyard for wine tasting, hiked down to the sea in Nebida, and swam at some beautiful empty beaches. Cagliari was fun to explore on our final day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Managing to get to the top of the more challenging hills (super walls) without pushing the bike! Enjoying the long down hill rides, the quiet roads and warm late October sun. Everyone in the group supporting and encouraging each other.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michele and Simone were both excellent group leaders, taking it in turns to lead or support. They were very friendly, informative, enthusiastic and encouraging and spoke good English. Everything was well organised, from accommodation to restaurants, coffee stops to route planning. They provided plenty of water bottle refills and snacks to keep us going.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The hybrid bike was good with the optional use of a pannier. Keep a camera handy for photo stops. As an occasional cyclist, some of the hills were quite challenging, but manageable especially if you have done some pre-holiday hill cycling!
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Guy and Nicky Mason

    Great group, fantastic local knowledge of the guides and great pedalling

    A perfect break taking us away from the daily pressures! Michele and Simone were perfect guides - we learned a lot about Sardinia, Italy and many other things. It was a perfectly pitched level for us, with Nicky being pushed close to her limit whilst also being enough cycling for me as well. Lovely trip to the islands, great hike on one afternoon, wine tasting and a couple of Agriturismos. October weather was kind to us - many sunny days with a slightly challenging head wind for a couple of days - that added to the challenge!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many of the amazing sights

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michele never ran out of energy! Amazing local knowledge. Supported very well by Simone, also a great leader and from Sardinia too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Quite a tough pedal - maybe on the border of 4 rating? But fantastic so don’t let that put you off!
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Richard Cooper

    Cycling in Sardinia

    Cycling in Sardinia was a great way to experience the differing scenery, and this combined with time spent at a different beach nearly every day for a swim - with the satisfaction of knowing you hadn't taken the easy option to get there - made for a perfect holiday. Along with this we had warm weather and sun in September, good hotels, and some fantastic food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The meal on the final day where our group delivered not just a speech but song and poem to the guides, followed by other people in the same restaurant performing a perfect rendition of 'Volare'!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Giovanni and Simone had great knowledge of their homeland, and managed the holiday well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are quite a few hills of various sizes, two quite significant that go on for several miles each. If you are unsure about being able to keep up, then an eBike might be a good option to make your holiday more enjoyable.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Gary Donaldson

    First timers to Exodus - Won't be our last....

    My wife and I booked our first Exodus trip knowing we were not the most keenest of cyclists, but wanted a more active holiday than a standard package holiday typically offers. We were a little fearful of whether we could manage to cycle for 6 days solid. We are both early 50's and enjoy active outdoor pursuits including walking, golf and occasional gym. We thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience, and even managed to complete all days without any assistance from the transport who followed the group. Being part of the 16-strong group, it was nice to be able to meet so many different people and talk to them all during the cycling and also during the group meals and stops along the way. I would recommend this holiday to anyone who enjoys an active holiday, with stunning scenery and the friendliest and most hospitable Sardinian people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The second day of cycling (Day#3 of the itinerary) is the most physically demanding with a long uphill. The sense of achievement when racing down to the meeting point was not only inspirational, but also exciting helped everyone enjoy the meal and their sleep in the beautiful hilltop hotel.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Giovanni was very passionate and dedicated to make the holiday as enjoyable as possible. He was a little serious at times, but this was his way of ensuring everyone enjoyed themselves. He was very knowledgeable about the Sardinian history and also provided good advice and insight into the upcoming hotels and restaurant choices. He also very honest and made known his feelings on what was good or not so good value / service in many of the restaurants we could choose. Simone was very enthusiastic and easy to talk to. He had better English than Giovanni, and tended to understand what the group wanted to do compared to Giovanni.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prior to starting the holiday, there is a checklist provided. The checklist does not include cycling gloves, but on Day#1, it was strongly advised to wear gloves. Fortunately, individuals within our group had spare pairs, which they kindly allowed us to borrow. The hotel stay on Night#4 is absolutely stunning. Suggest you request a room with a balcony overlooking the pool. Our room also had a washing machine which enabled us to wash our first 3 days of cycling gear. This hotel was the least friendly. The staff were very controlling, insisting on serving you breakfast rather than allowing a self-service, more relaxed arrangement that occurred at the other hotels. On our last evening, in Cagliari, the hotel was changed (with 1 day notice) from one in the town centre, to one on the outskirts of the town. This was a shame as it meant the group was unable to walk to our hotel from the busy, bustling centre of Cagliari. It also meant our last night fizzled out a little earlier than we certainly would have liked to. In hindsight, we should have remained in the town centre until we felt it was time go back, and obtained taxi back to our hotel.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Exodus team were very helpful from point of booking through to the end of our holiday. We had left something in the first hotel, which they tried hard to recover and were subsequently successful. However, I did feel the hotels did not check thoroughly enough at the time when I initially discovered I had left something. Be very careful with your belongings as it is easy to leave something behind as you move from hotel to hotel daily.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    bill carney

    Awesome Birthday Trip, Great Group, Terrific Guides!

    We have taken cycling trips with a number of other outfitters, all of them memorable in their own special way. This was our first with Exodus and based on the fun/value of this week, we have already booked next year in Sicily! We chose Sardinia because it had such an exotic cultural intrigue and diverse landscape. We were not disappointed in anything. Our group had instant cohesion which the guides picked up on quickly. Everyone was easy going and we spent all meals, except the free night, dining and socializing together. Highlights of the trip were the stunning views, incredible terrain, some pretty tough climbs and the amazing food! We had so much fun eating, especially the included group dinners at the agro-tourismo and on the final night in Cagliari. Our guides Enrico and Simone worked seamlessly together. As native Sardinians, we found their local knowledge to be one of the best aspects of the trip. Thanks so much for an incredible birthday week! Bill and Scott from Calif.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Everyone provided warm and genuine birthday wishes on my special day!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Enrico was terrific with his local knowledge and dry sense of humor. Simone as sidekick took care of all the background logistics without any issues.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared that the hills on day two and three are going to be harder than you expect! But it's worth it. E-bike option might be worth it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We would have liked to be 'on our own' on the route a bit more, vs. riding from point to point as an entire group.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Yvonne Carson

    Cycling Sardinia

    This is a wonderful trip, with some great scenery and lovely hotels. The guides are very knowledgeable about everything and know the terrain very well. The cycling can be quite tough at times - there are some big hills to climb! The heat can make the cycling quite hard going but the guides are so supportive and there is never any pressure to hurry. The trips on the ferry to the other smaller islands are lovely and really enhances the overall experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The other people on the group were amazing and so encouraging to each other.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good. A bit serious at times but he takes his job seriously and he obviously cared about doing it well. Very knowledgeable about the area and never put any pressure on the cyclists to hurry up.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trip is heavy on seafood, which is great if you enjoy this kind of food. The food and drink it quite expensive and there isn't always much choice. Train well for those hills - you will enjoy the cycling more if you can cope with the hills. There are also some gravel roads, again do some preparation for this.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Eleanor Mole

    Cycling in Sardinia

    My first exodus holiday I had a great time. Weather hot and beautiful coastal scenery. Opportunity to swim in the clear sea every day. I was very impressed with how well organised the trip was and how well the guides took care of us. A couple of the rides were quite tough for me as not a regular cyclist but enjoyed the challenge and certainly built up an appetite for the delicious food on offer!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The beaches and the costal views. Nice being in a group setting, moving from hotel to hotel and group leader to advise on lunches/evening meals which we all ate together which was nice.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michele and Giovanni were both great. Very friendly and professional. Giovanni provided well needed water and snack stops which was great as weather was very hot.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try and get in a bit of (long!) hill training for day 2! Take plenty of sunscreen!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go for it - you wont regret it!
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Paul Green

    Cycling in Sardinia was great!

    Sardinia is a great location for a cycling holiday. The coastline is dramatic, the countryside is attractive and people are very pleasant and helpful. The week was well organised and managed by our 2 guides. The food is delicious and we enjoyed regular water/ fruit/ snack/ coffee/ gelato stops. Day 2 was the toughest for me as there were a few challenging uphills. The effort was worth it, however, as we stayed in an excellent agrotourism establishment and the next morning the long freewheel downhill back to the coast was tremendous! I did the trip in the low season - the last week in May and at the beaches/roads were very quiet, apart from in a couple of places near to towns and in these places a mini bus transfer was arranged.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved swimming in the sea, which we had opportunities for most days.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michele and Giovanni were excellent leaders. They both worked hard. They were supportive and caring. Both speak good English, are very knowledgeable and experienced.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take padded cycle shorts and suncream.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The sun sets were spectacular.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Kathryn Dominic

    Cycling in Sardinia

    One of the hardest but most rewarding journeys I have ever undertaken. Every day was an adventure and full of exquisite experiences for all the senses. A terrific group of travelers, outstanding guide and support team, lovely people and food -- these things made Sardinia unforgettable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many fine moments where a tough climb ended with a spectacular vista of sea, earth, and sky. Most inspirational was watching the climb of all my tour mates from Piscinas to the Rocce Bianche.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michele was energetic, fun, friendly, and in command of every detail. He was tireless on the bike, helpful and attentive with every inquiry, and everything went exactly as he said it would. I appreciated his scholarship on the archeology and history of the island.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring plenty of cash.
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Karen Shackleton

    Sardinia cycling

    The best way to enjoy amazing scenery with great company. I do cycling to train for sprint triathlons and found the pace of cycling and hilly days extremely challenging for the rating given. We did get an opportunity to relax and swim in the sea each day which was an unexpected bonus. I would definitely do this or a similar trip again although I would do more cycling before I went in preparation.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    After I got the electric bike I reached the top of one of the really steep challenging hills first with only half the power to help, after struggling the previous day on my normal bike and getting in the van this felt great. Being able to swim in clear sea and float around relaxing tired muscles was also a highlight for me.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both group leaders were enthusiastic and informative both about the cycling and Sardinia - it's history and it's culture. How they dealt with the challenge of differing cycling capabilities within the group varied, I much preferred it when our leader cycled in the middle of the group and gave those at the back chance to catch their breath before setting off again. Some days it seemed our leader spent all his time at the front and did not appreciate how tough some of us were finding the pace. We all chipped in a small amount to fund snacks and this meant our leaders organised fruit, nuts and snacks every day along our route which went down really well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would definitely recommend training with some longer trips out on your bike before you take on this trip. I took my own pedals and cycling shoes but would not recommend this as it was actually more of a problem on the tracks and little benefit overall. A gel saddle cover is definitely worth taking. There was an option for an electric assisted bike - I used this for a few days and loved it. I hardly used the power as you could turn it off but I did feel more confident stopping to take photos knowing I could always catch up by adding power if I needed to. I would definitely recommend getting this for anyone who is fit but maybe not too experienced with cycling. It's a heavier bike so takes more leg power to keep it moving when the power is off but with a bit of power it massively improves the speed and your ability to get all the way up the steeper hills.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I had a fantastic week and loved the activity, scenery and learning about Sardinia. Sharing this with a great group of people made it truly memorable.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087