Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2018
    Paul Jefferies

    Cycling in Sardinia

    A very enjoyable week of cycling in Sardinia's south west coastal area with a lovely group. Some long climbs which were rewarded with equally long descents. The weather was sunny for the first couple of days, thereafter overcast and occasionally rainy, but this did not dampen the spirits of the group. The leaders - Michele and Simone were excellent, ensuring all the group had an enjoyable time. The hotels and agriturismos we stayed in along the route were all very good with excellent home cooked food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    it has to be the long climbs on days three and four and the equally long thrilling descents! Cyclists consume a lot of calories and there was no shortage of delicious food from breakfast, snack stops, lunch and dinner. Not to mention the re-hydrating with local beer and wine at the end of a long day cycling!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michele and Simone were excellent. They supported all of us on the daily rides making sure everybody had an enjoyable time and took it in turns to cycle and drive the support van. They provided snacks during the rides and ensured we arrived at lunch stops on time for pre-booked lunch. Nothing was a problem for them - from fixing the occasional puncture to ordering food for us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you have your own pedals/cycling shoes and saddle then I strongly recommend you take them. I did not take mine and cycled in trainers, I managed ok, but it would have been a lot easier, especially on the hills if I had my own pedals and cycling shoes.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You need to have a reasonable level of fitness tailored to cycling and have some off-road experience as there is a small amount of non-technical off-road cycling.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Rex Yetton

    A lovely Island

    I went with four friends which made for good companionship and plenty of laughs, We made sure that we mixed with the group and made some good friends, and hopefully enhanced their enjoyment. We were lucky with the weather which threatened to have some storms but we seemed to have sunshine most of the time. I loved the morning coffee stops and the daily beach stops for a swim. Some of the rides were quite challenging and surprised the first timer in our group. The resulting downhill sections were fabulous. Most hotels had swimming pools which were very welcome at the end of the day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The long downhill rides after the steep climbs. The nice beaches and hotels with swimming pools. Having a beer with the group at the end of the ride. The final night as a group in Cagliari.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both the leaders. Simone and Giovani were excellent. Giovani was very knowledgeable about the island and its history, which he was keen to tell us about. He was quite strict but we soon warmed to him and brought out his softer side by using some banter.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The hills on day 2 and three are very challenging. I have done grade 3 climbs on previous Exodus trips and these were long and challenging. Knowing that the hills would be a challenge and no longer a spring chicken, I had an e bike. I have embraced e mountain biking at home on the South Downs and it is fabulous. Although the e bike I had wasn't an ideal design, it certainly helped and enhanced my enjoyment. My advice would be to have one if you have any doubt. Why suffer? the e bikers were able to chat on the hills and enjoy the scenery, whereas the normal bikers couldn't talk.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you like coffee stops, nice beaches and swimming pools, this is the trip for you. Beware of the hills!
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Glenda Cornwell

    Review

    Very well organised and enjoyable trip taking in some amazing scenery both coastal and inland.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the variety of the cycling, especially the off road bits. Learning about how Sardinia's past was related to the monuments we passed and the food and culture.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lovely, friendly, patient, friendly and jovial hosts who always tried to please everyone, all the time. Great fruit breaks!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Some hills were quite long and steep. If you want to enjoy more, consider getting an electric bike! However, the van was available all the time allowing you to hop on and off throughout the day giving a great flexibility.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Watch out for the mosquitoes! Take repellent with you.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Liz Leonard

    Brilliant - but really glad we had e-bikes

    Great way to see the beautiful Sardinian West coast, including salt pans, flamingos, the dramatic coastline & turquoise seas.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Costa del Sud was truly spectacular; the annual San Salvatore festival in Cabras; the giant sand dunes of the Costa Verde and the islands of San Pietro & Sant’Antioco. All of it really!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both Alessandro & Simone were superb: multi-tasking, great local knowledge, dealing with logistics, accommodation, restaurants, fixing bikes, making us a superb lunch. And they were brilliant when one of our group had a bad fall. They are both passionate about their country & it showed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My knees are knackered (little/no cartilage) and although I cycle at home, my knees would never have coped with this trip without an e-bike. There are some very challenging hills. Even the keen cyclists in our group felt that it would be better described as Moderate/Hard. With an e-bike it was still a challenge but a very satisfying one. Also it was incredibly hot - if the trip was offered mid-late September/early October, I think it could be even more enjoyable.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our only criticism was that the days were often long, starting at 9am & arriving at our next hotel at around 5ish. Personally I think the days should have ended at 4pm so you had a bit more time to either explore or have a swim before dinner. It’s a pretty full on itinerary!
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Robert and Wendy Mann

    Well organised

    The tour was well organised and Michaela, assisted by Ado, dealt with everything very well. The bikes are very good but be prepared for some stiff climbs on the first two days and the Mistral at any time. Don't forget your Camelbak or your sunblock.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the top of any hill then flying down the other side.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent, he managed everything superbly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do some preparation.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A printout of each day's travel, as with the trip in Sri Lanka, would be good.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    John Pope

    Cycling Sardinia

    A good trip, if a little light on interesting places to stop and look at during the day, and a little heavy on very hot beaches. This was I think our 8th cycling trip, and one of the least interesting.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Views of some nice mountains, although nothing to match what we saw further north after the cycling when we hired a car to drive up to Olbia.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good, except that he did not seem to grasp that, for the English at least, the sort of people who go on cycling holidays are in general not the sort of people who want to lie on the beach in the middle of the day. On his last attempt to rouse us from a shady bar to go to the beach 100% of the group declined to go, preferring to push on to the lunchtime restaurant. He was absolutely brilliant is dealing with my dietary requirements as a coeliac.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Difficult to persuade Sardinian restaurants to provide any vegetables! If you are a vegetarian be prepared to live on pasta with tomato sauce, and salads consisting of little but iceberg lettuce.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Brid and Tony Delap

    Absolutely wonderful trip

    This was an amazing cycling trip which included stunning scenery, roman ruins, beaches, disused mines, coastal plains, ferry trips to two islands, country roads (some dirt tracks) and even a crossing of a shallow river!! Our guides Michele and Allesandro really made this trip wonderful and hastle free.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our final day cycling over the coastal plains of the Costa del Sud, even though challenging at times, the amazing views over the pristine beaches, cliffs and 16th century watchtowers made it all worthwhile.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Michele was exceptional. From the moment we arrived at the airport to our farewell in Cagliari, he was always there to answer our questions, translate and offer recommendations. Even for something as trivial as buying shampoo, he escorted us to the door of the supermarket. Some meals were included with the package but for all others he made recommendations and accompanied us to fabulous restaurants. We also had the flexibility to do our own thing, if we so wished, but we were a very close group and we really enjoyed the company of Michele and Allesandro, our driver. They were great guides, both of them had a great sense of humour but were also exceptionally knowlegeable and professional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The first few days were unseasonally dull with a little rain. Make sure to pack a warm layer and a water proof jacket.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    James Selkirk

    Spectacular and Perfectly Led Trip Round Sardinia

    We have just finished the May cycling trip around the South east coast of Sardinia. Although we were unlucky with some poor weather on the first few days; the quality and enthusiasm of our leader Michelle and his assistant Alesandro more than kept our spirits up. They really were superb and we couldn’t have hope for a more knowledgable and able team to show us around and help us up some of the steeper climbs. There were however some low points; we did find that for the price of the trip the standard of the accommodation could have been better and also we would have expected some more dinners included. But all in all we had a wonderful trip around this spectacular part of the island; and had a really lovely group to share it with.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sun finally shining for the whole of the last day; with some stunning scenery to go with it!! The perfect way to finish.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader Michelle was amazing. Very knowledgable; able and enthusiastic. He made us feel very safe all along the trip and was an absolute pleasure to have around. Full marks!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ask for a tour with Michelle!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Mary Buckner

    Stunning Sardinia

    Wonderful trip, beautiful route - off road & quiet on road, hills & coast, ferries to islands, ruins, great food & accommodation - the lot!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All of it

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely great - loved his island & was very knowledgeable. Efficient, generous, informed, smiley, excellent English - all you'd want. Plus Michele & Alessandro were such FUN!
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Brian and Jennifer McKinnon

    A good balance

    Our recent cycling trip in Sardegna exceeded our expectations- our tour leaders were central to the enjoyment and value of the journey. Michele and Alessandro were in high spirits and their enthusiasm and friendliness enhanced the overall experience. Although the weather began in “unseasonal” conditions with cool temperatures and some light rain, the spirits of the group remained high and safety was always paramount. The accommodation was really good and the food was excellent with nourishing breakfasts supplying plenty (excess) fuel for some reasonably challenging days in the saddle.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The long day on which we encountered some significant hills, stretches of dirt road and river crossings along with ancient and disused mine sites culminating in a long climb to our serene agritourismo accommodation, was really memorable. We were lucky to have a fantastic group of people with varied backgrounds and cycling experience. The group displayed good humour, patience and collegiality and this was what made the trip more memorable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michele was an excellent tour leader. It is clearly not a job that suits everyone but his positive attitude and enthusiasm for his work was infectious. He managed group dynamics with patience, humour and energy whilst working hard to iron out the inevitable problems which occurred throughout the trip. He remained encouraging for all ability levels and was key in creating a good group atmosphere. He should be congratulated because it is the attitude and experience of the personnel which ensures the success of this type of operation. Michele also had a good working relationship with his assistant Alessandro and together they formed a great team.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Obviously there is a choice to be made when tossing up between a guided versus a self- guided trip however from our experience it is the knowledge of the guides which provides the real opportunity to learn more about local customs, history, geography etc which makes all the difference. It would be easy enough to navigate ourselves but without the insights of our leaders we would have had a less meaningful experience. I would highly recommend this trip and our guides to all who are considering it.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087