Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2018
    John Pope

    Cycling Sardinia

    A good trip, if a little light on interesting places to stop and look at during the day, and a little heavy on very hot beaches. This was I think our 8th cycling trip, and one of the least interesting.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Views of some nice mountains, although nothing to match what we saw further north after the cycling when we hired a car to drive up to Olbia.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good, except that he did not seem to grasp that, for the English at least, the sort of people who go on cycling holidays are in general not the sort of people who want to lie on the beach in the middle of the day. On his last attempt to rouse us from a shady bar to go to the beach 100% of the group declined to go, preferring to push on to the lunchtime restaurant. He was absolutely brilliant is dealing with my dietary requirements as a coeliac.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Difficult to persuade Sardinian restaurants to provide any vegetables! If you are a vegetarian be prepared to live on pasta with tomato sauce, and salads consisting of little but iceberg lettuce.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Brid and Tony Delap

    Absolutely wonderful trip

    This was an amazing cycling trip which included stunning scenery, roman ruins, beaches, disused mines, coastal plains, ferry trips to two islands, country roads (some dirt tracks) and even a crossing of a shallow river!! Our guides Michele and Allesandro really made this trip wonderful and hastle free.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our final day cycling over the coastal plains of the Costa del Sud, even though challenging at times, the amazing views over the pristine beaches, cliffs and 16th century watchtowers made it all worthwhile.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Michele was exceptional. From the moment we arrived at the airport to our farewell in Cagliari, he was always there to answer our questions, translate and offer recommendations. Even for something as trivial as buying shampoo, he escorted us to the door of the supermarket. Some meals were included with the package but for all others he made recommendations and accompanied us to fabulous restaurants. We also had the flexibility to do our own thing, if we so wished, but we were a very close group and we really enjoyed the company of Michele and Allesandro, our driver. They were great guides, both of them had a great sense of humour but were also exceptionally knowlegeable and professional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The first few days were unseasonally dull with a little rain. Make sure to pack a warm layer and a water proof jacket.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    James Selkirk

    Spectacular and Perfectly Led Trip Round Sardinia

    We have just finished the May cycling trip around the South east coast of Sardinia. Although we were unlucky with some poor weather on the first few days; the quality and enthusiasm of our leader Michelle and his assistant Alesandro more than kept our spirits up. They really were superb and we couldn’t have hope for a more knowledgable and able team to show us around and help us up some of the steeper climbs. There were however some low points; we did find that for the price of the trip the standard of the accommodation could have been better and also we would have expected some more dinners included. But all in all we had a wonderful trip around this spectacular part of the island; and had a really lovely group to share it with.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sun finally shining for the whole of the last day; with some stunning scenery to go with it!! The perfect way to finish.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader Michelle was amazing. Very knowledgable; able and enthusiastic. He made us feel very safe all along the trip and was an absolute pleasure to have around. Full marks!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ask for a tour with Michelle!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Mary Buckner

    Stunning Sardinia

    Wonderful trip, beautiful route - off road & quiet on road, hills & coast, ferries to islands, ruins, great food & accommodation - the lot!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All of it

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely great - loved his island & was very knowledgeable. Efficient, generous, informed, smiley, excellent English - all you'd want. Plus Michele & Alessandro were such FUN!
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Brian and Jennifer McKinnon

    A good balance

    Our recent cycling trip in Sardegna exceeded our expectations- our tour leaders were central to the enjoyment and value of the journey. Michele and Alessandro were in high spirits and their enthusiasm and friendliness enhanced the overall experience. Although the weather began in “unseasonal” conditions with cool temperatures and some light rain, the spirits of the group remained high and safety was always paramount. The accommodation was really good and the food was excellent with nourishing breakfasts supplying plenty (excess) fuel for some reasonably challenging days in the saddle.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The long day on which we encountered some significant hills, stretches of dirt road and river crossings along with ancient and disused mine sites culminating in a long climb to our serene agritourismo accommodation, was really memorable. We were lucky to have a fantastic group of people with varied backgrounds and cycling experience. The group displayed good humour, patience and collegiality and this was what made the trip more memorable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michele was an excellent tour leader. It is clearly not a job that suits everyone but his positive attitude and enthusiasm for his work was infectious. He managed group dynamics with patience, humour and energy whilst working hard to iron out the inevitable problems which occurred throughout the trip. He remained encouraging for all ability levels and was key in creating a good group atmosphere. He should be congratulated because it is the attitude and experience of the personnel which ensures the success of this type of operation. Michele also had a good working relationship with his assistant Alessandro and together they formed a great team.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Obviously there is a choice to be made when tossing up between a guided versus a self- guided trip however from our experience it is the knowledge of the guides which provides the real opportunity to learn more about local customs, history, geography etc which makes all the difference. It would be easy enough to navigate ourselves but without the insights of our leaders we would have had a less meaningful experience. I would highly recommend this trip and our guides to all who are considering it.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Gary Lee

    A word of caution

    A very interesting and varied route, even in the, atypical, very poor weather that was encountered.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Each of the days contained something interesting. The ride on the second day through the Dune di Piscinas and the disused mine workings near the Miniera di Ingurtosu was both interesting and very scenic.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader Simone was very good. During a very wet week he remained extremely helpful and cheerful throughout, even lending his own waterproof clothing to a traveller who had brought none of there own. One of the group who had opted out of a particular days cycling because of the weather, and, not wanting to cause inconvenience since his bike had been packed away, was reluctant to rejoin after the weather had improved was positively encouraged to do so by Simone with assurances that it was no trouble. The support vehicle driver Ado was also excellent. Ado is the most proactive support driver we have encountered on our Exodus holiday, always cheerful and ready to help in any way he can. His fruit and lunch stop arrangements were amazing. Together, Simone and Ado make a great team.
  • Reviewed May 2018

    Most amazing stunning cycling

    For anyone looking for a cycling trip with stunning views, coastal roads, beautiful fields, topped off with delicious food and wine, then look no further than Cycling in Sardinia. It is simply one of the most gorgeous destinations. I loved it - despite the rain at times. You do need to be fit enough to make it up some quite long hills, but they were generally a good gradient that you could just stick in a low gear and keep turning those wheels. Plus you can get a good sense of achievement at the top. Definitely recommend!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the top of some of the hills! Watching a 79 year old get to the top of those same hills! Lovely people to share those moments with.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Simone, our tour leader, and Ado, our driver/lunch chef, were both brilliant. Really fun to be with and always ready to help. I would love to be led by them again.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes so that you know what to expect and come prepared. Because some of the hills are quite long, it is worth doing a little hill cycling in the weeks before but, like I said above, the hills are generally a good gradient. Also don't be afraid to use an electric bike on this trip. Personally I did not need to, but one of our fellow travellers did and it really made her week more pleasurable. There was unseasonably bad weather on our trip (end April, beginning of May) and we actually had quite a lot of rain on several days, but it was still an excellent trip. I would recommend bringing lots of layers and a waterproof jacket in case this happens to you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The accommodation on this trip was pretty good on the whole. Do the wine tasting if you get the chance.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Stephanie Valentine

    Lovely Holiday

    A really enjoyable holiday. Sardinia is a beautiful island and very unspoilt - no high rise buildings, good roads and in October, hardly any traffic. Our two guides were excellent and as usual take you to places off the beaten track that you would never visit if you were on your own. The coastline which we mostly followed was full of little bays , coves and gorgeous beaches. It was the last trip of the season, but apart from the Mistral wind for 2 days, was a very pleasant temperature and several of the group went swimming. Highlights were the trip to the island, the Agro Tourism stays and the fabulous food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Day Five I think it was, when we had the most challenging cycling in terms of "undulatings", but with spectacular views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent and particularly so as it was the last trip of the season, so you half expect him to be a bit jaded and uninterested, but this wasn't the case at all. He put 110% into our holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't expect to lose weight ! The cheese is amazing !

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our guide arranged a wine tasting tour, I think we were the first group that had done this, and it was really enjoyable - we bought some of the wine at the Duty Free on the way home !
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Sophia Phillips

    Cycling in beautiful Sardinia

    A wonderful week's holiday with a lovely group and excellent guides. It's a great way to see the South West of Sardinia and take in the amazing views and beautiful coastline, and to learn about the history of the island from the knowledgeable guides. The weather was warm and perfect for cycling and most of the roads had very little traffic. The hotels and agriturismos were comfortable and the food and restaurants were good. We visited interesting archeological sites and old mine buildings, went to a vineyard for wine tasting, hiked down to the sea in Nebida, and swam at some beautiful empty beaches. Cagliari was fun to explore on our final day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Managing to get to the top of the more challenging hills (super walls) without pushing the bike! Enjoying the long down hill rides, the quiet roads and warm late October sun. Everyone in the group supporting and encouraging each other.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michele and Simone were both excellent group leaders, taking it in turns to lead or support. They were very friendly, informative, enthusiastic and encouraging and spoke good English. Everything was well organised, from accommodation to restaurants, coffee stops to route planning. They provided plenty of water bottle refills and snacks to keep us going.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The hybrid bike was good with the optional use of a pannier. Keep a camera handy for photo stops. As an occasional cyclist, some of the hills were quite challenging, but manageable especially if you have done some pre-holiday hill cycling!
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Guy and Nicky Mason

    Great group, fantastic local knowledge of the guides and great pedalling

    A perfect break taking us away from the daily pressures! Michele and Simone were perfect guides - we learned a lot about Sardinia, Italy and many other things. It was a perfectly pitched level for us, with Nicky being pushed close to her limit whilst also being enough cycling for me as well. Lovely trip to the islands, great hike on one afternoon, wine tasting and a couple of Agriturismos. October weather was kind to us - many sunny days with a slightly challenging head wind for a couple of days - that added to the challenge!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many of the amazing sights

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michele never ran out of energy! Amazing local knowledge. Supported very well by Simone, also a great leader and from Sardinia too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Quite a tough pedal - maybe on the border of 4 rating? But fantastic so don’t let that put you off!
Call us on 1 844 227 9087