Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Make 2018 Your Year of Adventure. Save $150 when you Book Now - Learn More >

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2017
    Jon richards

    cycling through Rajestan

    This was a good trip, seeing the classic UNESCO sites of Jaipur, Agra & Taj Mahal, wildlife reserves, train rides, moderate cycling as well as some really off the beat village life. The hotels were mainly of a good standard with pools & the staff were excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the sites at Agra & Taj Mahal which were amazing. Some really fond memories of village life, visiting local schools, houses etc - Exodus really excel at this. The safari was ok, probably enjoyed the bird sactuary more

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tapesh & the whole team were brilliant - well organised, considerate, communicative etc

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's hot so take good screen, hat etc. Hardly any mossies, so didn't bother with Deet. Take alcohol hand wash to avoid the bugs.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There are lots of visits to palaces & forts which get better as the trip goes on to the well know UNESCO sites, some of these early ones are optional. There are some quite long bus transfers to the cities where these sites are - I believe changes are being made to the schedule to reduce the amount of these. The cycling scenery is fairly dry, and in my opinion much lusher with less urban centres to get to, on the Kerala or Sri Lanka trips. So if you want to see the UNESCO sites and have good (rather than excellent cycling), this would be a good trip. For a more relaxing trip, with lusher scenery & v few bus transfers, the Kerala trip might appeal more
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Janet Joy

    Cycling through Rajasthan

    India is an amazing place - totally different & totally mad but what an experience it was. This is a busy holiday packed with so many different places and many wonderful memories.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many different memories- the overnight train ride, the mental traffic, tut tut rides! the wonderful people and children welcoming us everywhere we went, the amazing Taj Mahal, chai tea ! - the total India experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Manu was was brilliant. Very knowledgeable, very organised, great sence of humour & a totally top chap.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a busy trip but make sure you go at your pace and enjoy the different experiences and savour India.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Manu & his fantastic support team were brilliant. They were all so happy and helpful - nothing was ever too much for them and they really helped to make the holiday so special.
  • Reviewed November 2016
    glen kite

    Cycling through Rajasthan

    A fantastic whirlwind assault on the senses - incredible sights, smells and wonderful children waving us on throughout the villages. Delhi was very smoggy and choked to death with traffic, but still amazing views from the coach window as we battled the congestion, but after the overnight train, the visuals start.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We were invited, or press ganged into a wedding, which was a real feast for the eyes, to see how a diiferent culture celebrate here - horses, parades, fireworks and entire banquet filled the hotel grounds. Of course the Taj is an excellent feat in building, but Udaipur palace interior was filled with impressive craftsmans skills. Though ultimately, its the people, the smiles, the friendliness that catches your heart

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Manu and Rigsin were exceptional, the knowledge of India and its people, a question was never unanswered. Whilst we were there, we had the problem of the 'black money' - which caused a huge problem for everybody, and given the circumstances Manu helped out wherever he could, and even beyond his duties. Ali and Ramu always helped with water and the bike maintenance, and Mr Singh an amazing driver through those conditions

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Check the weather before you go - it was much hotter than the average temperature on Exodus website If you see something, buy it, as youll never have the chance to buy it again - we found Johdpur market (clock tower) wonderful, but held out for Jaipur, which was disappointing and a very long day on and off the bus. Its a great holiday, but be prepared for non stop adventure - rest when you get back home!!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Jaipur day out was laboured, too much to see in a short space of time, therefore withered with the guide, as you really had to listen hard to understand, plus added trips to the factories, were not for me Udaipur looked wonderful, but no chance to walk around as on a very tight schedule, we cycled, then straight out to eat later that evening Food at times went from fantastic at the lakeside in Udaipur, to very expensive roadside cafes, and uninteresting western style restaurants
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Deborah Dawson

    Our Indian adventure

    An enjoyable holiday, greatly enhanced by sharing it with a fantastic group of like-minded people. A fabulous way to capture the spirit of Rajasthan. With the added bonus of mixing the 'sights' with a glimpse of 'everyday life'. A little disappointing not to have sampled more 'local' food. The leader preferring hotels or 'tourist' type restaurants. Would have liked to have seen more of the sights around Delhi, rather than driving round in circles by bus. Compared to our previous trips, there was a lot of time spent on the bus. The cycling was great. A mixture of easy and more challenging routes. I do however question Exodus's assertion that everyone is able to ride at their own pace. There were no particularly slow people in our group, however there were times when the slowest were pressured to get on the bus, despite the group being happy to wait. Conversely others were required to slow down to keep the group together, this was often frustrating for both ends of the spectrum. This may have been due to there being only two guides cycling, only one of which was of reasonable fitness.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling through the villages were the most interesting and enjoyable times. The sleeper train was a surprisingly enjoyable experience also.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader spoke good English and enthusiastically shared his local knowledge with the group. He wasn't however so enthusiastic about the cycling element and lacked cycling fitness which sometimes compromised safety. The assistant leader is more of a cycling enthusiast with the fitness to match but unfortunately showed little interest in the monuments and sights.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plenty of high energy snacks. Unlike on similar trips, these were not provided or easily bought. Our group were often hungry and energy reserves dipped on some of the more challenging cycling days. We soon learnt to take food from the breakfast buffet to refuel later on. We found we needed more money for food than the trip notes suggest. We were encouraged to tip more than the trip notes suggested also. There are opportunities to get laundry done.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Another great Exodus holiday which we thoroughly enjoyed, however it didn't quite match the standard of other Exodus holidays we have had.
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Louise Masson

    Cycling through Rajasthan

    A great 2 week trip visiting many cities, Palaces and Forts in Rajasthan. Great accommodation, variety of activities and fun guides. Cycling is varied and we were well looked after.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cannot say just one as many days were varied and fascinating places to visit. Agra, for Taj Mahal and the Agra Fort. Ranakpur was incredible, Jodhpur,Jaipur, Udaipur and Pushkar all different....

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bhupesh ( Boo) and Anand (AK ) were very amazing! Very knowledgeable, fun and went out of their way to ensure we had all that we needed!( Including pharmacy, iPhone shop for smashed phone, birthday fireworks treats!)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There is some time for shopping built into the trip, however not specifically in your free time, which might be better as not everyone in the trip found this time well spent...

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Standard of accommodation was one of the best for this type of trip and very well received. Would like to see this more often!
  • Reviewed February 2016
    Deirdre Pope

    Cycling Through Rajasthan

    Enjoyed it a lot - amazing forts and palaces and mostly good cycling (we had one day on really bad roads I could have done without). Only criticism was lack of free time on our own. As we were a small group (6) it was hard not to join in all the time. On the Kerala trip we had whole days free in Cochin and Varkala but there was nothing similar on this trip. I did get tired of the food - chili with everything.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    ??? Knowing I could still be out at the front at 69! I loved Udaipur and the hotel there. Feeling the vastness of the cities - especially Jaipur from above at sunset.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very competent and caring.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take your own saddle - women especially.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Some, in fact all, the local guides were not especially interesting - their English was generally laboured. They often managed to say a lot of words without clearly conveying much. I do appreciate that we should be using local guides. More detailed and accurate notes on where we were going would have been helpful. The names of our hotels? in case we got lost. Advice on background reading? I picked up a second hand Rough Guide to India but not really appropriate.
  • Reviewed December 2015
    Peter Jones

    Cycling in Rajasthan

    A fantastic experience that lets you get up close to the real India with all its sights, smells and sounds. A great way to have an active holiday whilst a packed itinerary allows you to see many of the iconic sights of India.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Riding through the villages where all the children would come out to line the streets and wave. Wherever we stopped a crowd would gather round to inspect both us and the bikes. I guess strangers, and especially European strangers are a very rare sight in some of these places. Whilst it does take a bit of getting used to, everyone was always really friendly.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Everything worked like clockwork, which given my previous experience of India was probably a minor miracle and a testament to the efficiency of our group leaders. Nice guys, always accommodating, flexible and willing to help.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It can be smoggy in Delhi (they appear to have a real problem with this these days) and it can be dusty in places on the road so do ensure you have something to cover your mouth. A buff kept round my neck worked well for me. Cycling in the cities is not for the fainthearted. Whilst there is a notional drive on the left rule, Indian traffic, people and animals come at you from all directions, and it can be very busy, although generally slow moving. Some element of confidence on a bike will help greatly.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you don't like curry you may have a problem. Most of our group got a touch of Delhi belly at some point, but nothing serious, so do take plenty of pills with you.
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Robbie Walker-Brown

    Cycling Rajasthan

    A great mixture of cycling and sight seeing. A great deal was packed in so not one for those wanting a relaxing holiday. Once again Exodus combine well planned routes, great support and ethical tourism (which is wht=y so many of us come back!).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There was more than one! The Taj Mahal, the fort at Kumbhalgarh, Pushkar (if you stay off the special Lassi's!!) but above all the assault on the senses that is the cmlexity of India.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader, Anand Kapil worked his socks off to make sure we got the very best from this trip. He was really well supported by Sunil and the 'boys' (cycle mechanic and the drivers). Top marks to Anand and the team!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you like some cycling and sightseeing, then include this tri on your list. It is moderate for cycling (but you can burn the calories) but action packed given the itneery. You will come away with a real feel for what makes Rajasthan tick!
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Laurent Gengler

    Cycling Rajasthan

    Nice way to discover Indi by bike.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling through rural India and the Taj Mahal

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Good knowledge, social and funny.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware of the traffic in cities.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just go for it. Prefer the cooler month of november and december.
  • Reviewed March 2015
    Elizabeth Brindley

    Cycling in Rajahstan

    Excellent trip with the benefit of a great leader. A full on trip with lots of variations. Only draw back was the lack of "down time". Also needed more shopping time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Taj Mahal

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent, knowledgeable, calm, clear, fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you plan to extend your holiday arrange to stay at the Central hotel in Delhi. ( The Siddarth) rather than the Ashok. It takes an hour to get to the centre of Delhi from the Ashok.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Would seem more sensible to start holiday from central hotel and finish at the hotel nearer the airport. Need at least one free day ( Udaipur would be perfect ) More shopping opportunities.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087