Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2017
    Lynn Pammett

    Boring Cycling With headwinds

    If you really want to see the archeological sites visited on this trip, i.e. Chichen Itza, Coba and Tulum on a bike you should know that the roads cycled are flat, straight and boring with daily headwinds. The scenery is extremely uninspiring with piles of garbage alongside the roads on the outskirts of every town. This trip will largely appeal to cyclists who are there mainly to put their heads down and ride as fast as possible to to get the 45 to 70 km days over with.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting Chichen Itza and Tulum. They are really worth a visit and an understanding of the magnificent accomplishments of the Mayan people. The towns and villages were interesting as well, especially Merida.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Anwar (Edger) is a terrific guide. He is always checking to see if group members have everything they need. He answers all questions thoroughly and obviously has a good understanding of the region's history and its populations. He is enthusiastic about his job and this obviously rubs off on his companion driver/bike mechanic, Gabriel. He selected good hotels and a variety of restaurants for the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The heat is not so much a concern as the headwinds and occasional rough road surfaces. Ask for more time at Chichen Itza.
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Denise Hall

    Cycling Mexico

    If you don't mind the long cycle rides you will be rewarded by the sites you visit on the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sun rise at Chichen Itza. The other archeological sites offered a real insight into the Myan culture.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Edgar had excellent knowledge of the area. Was always attentive to everyone's needs. Took us to varied places to eat. Arranged for excellent local guides at the different sites.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for cycle rides that are on long straight roads that are hot and mostly into head winds, The scenery is mainly scrub land but you will pass through and stop in local villages, there are also plenty of water and snack stops on route.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Floating down the lazy river after the last ride is a must it is relaxing and very refreshing.
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Mike MacRae

    Fantastic experience

    Cycled the Yucatan peninsula in January. Great weather,flat terrain and amazing company.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting 3 sets of Mayan ruins - all different and completing the 323 km trip without using the bus.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Edgar was great - despite suffering from flu he soldiered on and encouraged us all when we were flagging. He was very flexible showed initiative when appropriate. He was patient could not do enough for us all.had an amazing command of English.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Remember to hydrate as the weather can be hot. Take a gel saddle as the trip is long.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hotels were very comfortable and most had pools which we used. Would suggest smaller groups as 18 was at times unwieldy. Spent hours in restaurants. Los Lirios the final hotel was disappointing as it was miles from town and the staff were less than enthusiastic
  • Reviewed December 2016
    Andrea Barr

    mayan magic!

    A really interesting and well structured holiday supported by excellent guides. The cycling is flat and the long straight roads can seem unending but the towns visited, the mayan ruins and the swimming in the cenotes at the end of a hot day in the saddle are worth it. Its early starts but also the first time in a tropical country where there has been quality time in the afternoon to enjoy the hotel and its pool or the Caribbean!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Chitzen Itza at dawn. We were the only people there. I thouht only royalty got that privilege. Swimming in cenotes. climbing the temple at Coba floating down the canal at Sian Khan reserve in the utter peace and quiet.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Edgar led the first day then Hernan took over that role and Edgar switched to driving but they were both equally excellent. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go on the trip! Take extra time at the end to stay on and go to Cozumel or even Mexico City if you can.
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Steven Shuttleworth

    Cycling in Mexico MAM

    The trip was excellent cycling not too hard but hard enough considering temperatures with a mix of cycling and culture.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Swimming in the Cenotes and the optional activity of floating through the mangroves.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader Edgar was excellent, knowledgeable, amiable and enthusiastic. If he did not know the answer to a question he would say and the next day would have the answers. We were all most grateful for his local knowledge and choice of local restaurants and guides on different local dishes. The back up team were great too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go to Mexico
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Francoise- Walker

    Cycling in Mexico

    Fast cycling along straight roads (jungle on both sides), passing through interesting Mayan villages. All done by lunch time. Afternoons spent in lovely towns and/or visiting Mayan acheological sights. Refreshing swims in fascinating cenotes, comfortable hotels and great Mexican food. Good mixture of leisurely and moderate.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing the pyramid of Coba to be greeted by an amazing panoramic view of endless jungle as far as the eye can see. Floating through the mangrove swamp. Visiting Chechen Itza. Entering Izamel by bike.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Edgar was excellent, nothing was too much trouble for him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The cycling is fast and you cover long distances. It is hot and humid.
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Satu Hietanen

    Cycling in Yucatan

    This trip has a good mixture of cycling, culture & beach holiday. The cycling scenery is not the most exciting but frequent stops at colonial towns and Mayan villages make up for it. Cancun feels very American but as soon as you travel inland you feel like you are in a different country. The four main cycling days are very full on with sightseeing, swimming in cenotes etc so it was nice to have free time at the end to relax in Tulum.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The yellow town of Izamal, Mayan ruins (Tulum was my favourite) and swimming in cenotes.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fernando was great; very well organised, always helpful and amazingly knowledgeable about Mexican/Mayan culture.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't underestimate the heat! This trip is classified as moderate level but 39C (as we had on our hottest day) could add a level or two of difficulty if you are not used to it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't miss out on the optional boat trip on the last cycling day. The part where you float in the river is so much more fun than it sounds!
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Victor Green

    Hot in Yucatan

    A great week of fast cycling in a flat landscape. Plenty of sightseeing too.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Chichen Itza

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fernando was superb. He was laid back but nothing was too much trouble for him. He clearly loves his country and is very proud of it and put that over very well to the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Drink plenty of water

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A very different biking holiday-give it a try!wU
  • Reviewed January 2016
    Frances Galbraith

    Cycling in Mexico

    This was an excellent trip to Mayan Mexico. Visiting small villages, colonial towns, Mayan ruins denotes and the beach was a delight. The cycling was good and the information shared about the Mayan civilization was excellent. Excellent food, advice and facilities made this trip delightful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching Mayan dancers in Merida Gaining an understanding of ancient culture

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was excellent- very knowledgeable, personable and helpful.
  • Reviewed December 2015
    Malcolm May

    Yucatan villages, towns and Mayan sites and all on a bike

    This was one of the most enjoyable cycle trips we've done. It's a lovely mixture combining beautiful colonial towns such as Merida and Valladolid, three stunning Mayan sights (Chichen Itza, Coba and Tulum), some interesting villages offering a welcome stop for snacks and drinks along with an inevitable visit to the church and some friendly contacts with local villagers. No doubt they wondered what these Europeans were doing on bikes when they could be swishing about in a car or tourist bus. Add to this, our guide, Fernando who immersed us in fascinating Mayan and Mexican culture, an introduction to Mexican cuisine, some welcome swims in cenotes (crystal-clear lagoons), an unforgettable visit to a marine biosphere and a final 2 days in Tulum, a relatively unspoilt coastal resort.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most surreal moment was floating down the outlet of a huge freshwater lagoon as it made its way to the sea. Wearing a life jacket strapped to your lower body (rather like a nappy) made for 45 minutes of effortless and hugely enjoyable floating. In the heat of the day it was bliss.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fernando Cobos is an incredibly articulate and imaginative Mexican guide. Unlike many local guides who are often difficult to understand, Fernando's conversations were very clear and concise. He had a wealth of knowledge about Mayan and local cultures which helped to make the Mayan site visits an enriching experience. He was also a very good cycling guide with a welcome sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The fairly long daily rides were on flat, mostly quiet roads and we were encouraged to cycle as fast or as slow as we wished although everyone in our group was tempted to keep up some quite high speeds. Fernando and Edgar, his colleague, did everything they could to make sure that the slowest did not feel uncomfortable or stressed in any way. Except for the last day, we passed through a number of interesting villages which provided a welcome snack and drink break, making the long rides quite manageable.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The bikes were in good condition and well maintained by Edgar, the back-up leader who has the obvious potential to become a good leader himself. Again, his English is very good indeed. Make sure you bring a pair of decently padded cycle shorts for the long runs. The whole trip was a wonderful mix of fun, effort and interest. We were blessed with a smashing group of fellow cyclists which made the experience that more enjoyable.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087