Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2018
    Gillian Potter

    Jordan - worth a visit

    This was our first exodus holiday. It isn’t worth experiencing although I would advise arriving one day earlier to enable a rest day after a late travel day and an early start to the Dead Sea. Petra and the wadi rum was amazing and would love to return to spend more time there. The hotels were very comfortable other than the last one in Amman which was very poor but exodus responded to complaints and we were moved.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking over the holy land. Staying in the wadi rum watching shooting stars and eating amazing food and visiting wadi rum train station with the steam train - would have loved to have spent two days in the wadi rum and two days in Petra. Making the climb to the monastery in Petra, most unexpected reward after the climb.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was friendly and knowledgable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t buy pack lunches they are not worth it and not nice.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The coach is comfortable with WiFi so the kids never complained :). The hotels had free WiFi, the only place with no WiFi is in the wadi rum. The Dead Sea was too warm in August to spend long in however there was a nice swimming pool by the Dead Sea. A safe and enjoyable way for a family to see Jordan.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Vicky Maguire

    I want to go back!

    Last week we floated in the Dead Sea, snorkelled in the Red Sea, rode camels, camped in the Wadi Rum, looked out over awesome canyons and amazing landscapes, marvelled at mosaics, drank mint tea with the Bedouin, were driven through the desert in a 4x4, run down sand dunes, ate more houmous than you can shake a piece of flat bread at, and, of course, explored the wonders of the Lost City of Petra. We felt completely safe and welcome the entire time and have made new friends and memories that will last a lifetime! Go with an open mind, be prepared to take the rough with the smooth - the hotels are not 5 star - the Petra Palace Hotel is far from palatial (someone in our group joked that it was probably discovered at the same time as Petra) and the Golden Tulip at Aqaba lost its shine years ago - but we didn't come to Jordan to sit in hotels. The only real downside to it all is coming home! Last night my 13 year old said to me, "We were a bit worried about going on this holiday, but I"m so glad we did but I"m sad it's all over!".

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The first glimpse of Petra at the end of the Siq; making it up the 900 steps to the Monastery without dying and then walking that little bit further at the top and looking out over the Rift Valley.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Knowledgeable, patient, funny, good rapport with both adults children in the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you tell the souvenir sellers at Petra that you will look at their wares "on the way back down" they won't forget you - I am now the proud owner of 7 fridge magnets! Read the book "Married to a Bedouin" by Marguerite van Geldermalsen alongside your trip - it adds another dimension. Oh, and cultivate a love of houmous!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Shokran!
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Vicky Maguire

    I want to go back!

    Last week we floated in the Dead Sea, snorkelled in the Red Sea, rode camels, camped in the Wadi Rum, looked out over awesome canyons and amazing landscapes, marvelled at mosaics, drank mint tea with the Bedouin, were driven through the desert in a 4x4, run down sand dunes, ate more houmous than you can shake a piece of flat bread at, and, of course, explored the wonders of the Lost City of Petra. We felt completely safe and welcome the entire time and have made new friends and memories that will last a lifetime! Go with an open mind, be prepared to take the rough with the smooth - the hotels are not 5 star - the Petra Palace Hotel is far from palatial (someone in our group joked that it was probably discovered at the same time as Petra) and the Golden Tulip at Aqaba lost its shine years ago - but we didn't come to Jordan to sit in hotels. The only real downside to it all is coming home! Last night my 13 year old said to me, "We were a bit worried about going on this holiday, but I"m so glad we did but I"m sad it's all over!".

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The first glimpse of Petra at the end of the Siq; making it up the 900 steps to the Monastery without dying and then walking that little bit further at the top and looking out over the Rift Valley.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Knowledgeable, patient, funny, good rapport with both adults children in the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you tell the souvenir sellers at Petra that you will look at their wares "on the way back down" they won't forget you - I am now the proud owner of 7 fridge magnets! Read the book "Married to a Bedouin" by Marguerite van Geldermalsen alongside your trip - it adds another dimension. Oh, and cultivate a love of houmous!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Shokran!
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Andrew Hicks

    The Time of Our Lives

    Though I have travelled to about seventy countries, Jordan with Exodus offered me one of the best weeks of my life and I and my twelve year old will be absorbing the experience for a long time to come. A haven of peace in a troubled region, it is so important that we go to Jordan and support such wonderful people in building their tourism industry. Petra and Wadi Rum were high points, though you somehow have to make it to Jerash, the Roman city north of Amman. Our guide, Sami, organised it for us and we were taken there on the usual tour bus. I will always remember him. He was such a good guide, not just for running the mechanics of the trip but because he was so a charismatic figure, a serious scholar of all he was showing us, a superb story teller and so good at relating to the kids. At Wadi Rum he even bought a football for them and they had an amazing time. Thanks to him for making it perfect.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Jerash.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    See above.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The minimum age is five but I would think twice about taking a child under eight. It's hardly leisurely. (And I took a six month old baby to the Philippines and to Kashmir when she was one... portable at that age!)
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Ashley De

    Magical Trip

    A one-of-a-kind trip, in the very capable hands of first rate guide.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sand Storms in Wadi Rum and night trip to Petra were unforgettable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Wael was a credit to your company, and was particularly good adapting the pace and content of the tour to fit the needs of two families with 7 year olds.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't be affraid to step out of the air conditioned buses and see some of the real Jordan. You will lose out if you just eat in hotels and don't sample charms of downtown Amman. Guide was very helpful in getting us off the beaten track.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    While we want to be very positive about our review - about our guide in particular - the accomodation in Aqaba was poor. Rooms dirty and were not cleaned during our staff, breakfast chaotic and staff less than helplful. We weren't expecting 5 star treatment, but the hotel did take the edge off a wonderful trip.
  • Reviewed April 2015
    Nicola Harpin

    The Lost City of Petra

    Most definitely a holiday to remember. Our guide, Zuhair was excellent and given the constraints placed upon him by Exodus, the trip was on the whole an ideal way to travel to the region with a young family. The main disappointment was the lack of genuinely local experiences. The shops we stopped at were of the service station variety. The restaurants we ate at were of the chips and coke variety. The Bedouins we took tea with were happy to welcome us as part of a steady stream of tourists passing through their tent, where commercial goods were available to buy as you exited. The trip was fun and extremely well organised but smacked of a commercially focussed enterprise and not as an opportunity to experience the real Jordan. Visits to Petra (make sure you include the additional walk to the Monastry. The walk up the steps is as memorable as the experience at the top) and the river Jordan site are a must, along with the Wadi Rum desert experience. Aqaba however did not add anything, other than cost, to our trip. We couldn't shake the very loud western pop music, even on the boat trip. An insufficient number of childrens lifejackets (we only found this out mid journey) and no snorkelling equipment for children, proved without doubt that this was an 18-30 party boat and not a family enterprise. The best experience we had of the real Jordan was our last night in Amman. Jump in a taxi, head down town and just drink in the city. Souks, shisha, hustle & bustle and super shops for spices, sweets etc and tea at Café Jafra is a must. Enjoy the stress free, well organised and efficient guided tour, but make the most of the "unscheduled" hours of the trip to see Jordan, beyond the tour bus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Ancient history - Petra - just mesmerising Recent history - the River Jordan - just a few metres of water separating the borders of Jordan and Isreal. Quite humbling.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. The constant narrative, in excellent English, was very welcome and very well received by all ages. Maybe a few too many religious facts for the younger ones but there were a lot of long drives and a lot of religious sights to visit. Traditional Jordanian stories in contrast with current affairs and the history of the region kept us enthralled throughout the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We travelled in March/April. There was no need for solid footwear, my 13 year old spent the week in flip flops. In Petra, there was a significant difference in the quality of the Turkish bath experienced by the females in the group compared to the men. For the same price, the men were given a far more lengthy and comprehensive time in the baths. I would question the value of the baths for ladies. Don't fill your luggage with towels. They can be hired wherever you are although I don't remember being given towels at the desert camp.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There were no swimming pools in the hotels in Amman and Aqaba. Not too much of a problem for us as we were travelling in in March / April, but in summer,particularly in Aqaba, I can imagine that with a young family this would be a real disadvantage.
  • Reviewed February 2015
    Gareth Cook

    The Lost City of Petra

    This is an excellent trip, Petra is astounding, the Wadi Rum is achingly beautiful and peaceful and the array of life in the crystal clear waters of the Red Sea just amazing. The Dead Sea ranks amongst one of the weirdest experiences of my life!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra has to be seen to be believed, I just wasn't prepared for the scale and the colours. For once in my life I made my boys, 15 & 17, climb to the top of something (a good hour’s very steep hike in the searing heat) without them being disappointed by the sight that awaited. George who had gone on ahead as usual, came running back to tell us, Wow! you're not going to believe it, it is so worth it! A monastery as big as a cathedral on the top of a Mountain surrounded by endless desert, there are no words, you have to go and see it!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Salah was a fantastic guide, a very proud Jordanian who not only looked after us in a practical way but gave us a fascinating insight into his country and people. Our driver Mamdoor also went out of his way to make sure we were always comfortable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We all made an effort to respect the fact that we were visiting a Muslim country during Ramadan by dressing conservatively and not making a show of eating and drinking during the day. I feel this was very much appreciated. The food was great everywhere and kept our hungry teenage boys very happy.
  • Reviewed June 2014
    Francisca Oxley

    The Lost City of Petra

    An amazing trip....can I go again please? We went with our three kids, aged 11, 6 and 5. They all had a wonderful time and could name many highlights...from rides on camels, mules and horses (yes, all three!!!), to snorkeling in the Red Sea or climbing rocks in the desert!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The highlights are different for all of us...I choose seeing the sunset on a camel in Wadi Rum. My son's highlight was snorkeling in the Red Sea. And one of my daughters' preferred moment was the mule ride in Petra...admittedly after climbing 900-1200 steps up to the monastery (and down again!), it was heavenly to have a ride back to the treasury.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alla(din), our guide, was incredibly knowledgeable and very open to any questions. He gave excellent advice (for example to do the camel ride in Wadi Rum and not in Petra) and really helped to make our trip a very memorable one. He certainly added value to the whole experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes. We hired a medium sized boat with our group for snorkeling in Aqaba. The minimum group size is 10 and it cost 35 JD per person. BBQ, towels and snorkeling equipment were included. Although this is optional, I would highly recommend it...it was one of the highlights of our trip. We brought sleeping bags for the one night's camping in Jordan, but in May it certainly doesn't get very cold in the desert, so they were not really used. Our children were fine with all the food, but if you have got very fussy eaters, you may want to take some snacks (like oat bars or fruit bars) to keep them going.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Jordan is indeed very relaxed about clothing styles...you only need to cover shoulders and knees in churches and on religious sites. Bikinis are perfectly acceptable when visiting public swimming areas, although you will also see a lot more traditional clothing around you. Although the weather in Amman was a pleasant 25 degrees, Aqaba is substantially hotter. Be prepared for some serious heat there if you travel in summer!
  • Reviewed January 2013
    Anonymous

    THE LOST CITY OF PETRA - FAMILY HOLIDAY

    Perfect half term trip for families with a great balance of sights to see, breaks for some DIY exploring and fun. Jordan has a beautifully barren landscape hiding some amazing sites that will stay with us always. We loved the Dead Sea, Petra, Wadi Rum camping, Jerash, sitting on the bank of the River Jordan and cruising on the Red Sea.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Emerging from the ancient gorge approach in darkness after the thirty minute walk to see the majesty of the Treasury at Petra lit by hundreds of candle lanterns was breathtaking. An experience that neither Hollywood or You Tube could spoil. Quick to correct, my daughter advises that the best bit was riding camels at Wadi Rum having slept under the stars by the camp fire. This trip really does have something for everyone.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our great group leader was a Palestinian refugee generous with his knowledge and life experiences. He really rounded out our experience giving us so much more than just historical background. Most importantly, given the age range of children and parental interests within the group, our guide was able to set a great pace - never rushed and able to fill the gaps when we finished things early.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Recommended for all interests and ages. We travelled in October 2012 and the weather was perfectly warm hot rather than hot hot. There are a couple of longer drives so a pack of cards in addition to the ubiquitous iPod / mp3 player really helped time pass. Food was delicious throughout. Our daughter couldn't get the hang of the breakfast buffets where the food choices were not familiar and I wish I had bought some more familiar "back up" snacks for her. Hats needed all round. Wouldn't recommend low cut tops or short shorts for Mums or Dads - dress is conservative - occasional inappropriate dress choices didn't cause an issue but I definitely felt more comfortable with covered shoulders/upper arms and knees! Children are welcome everywhere and were able to run wild climbing and exploring. Our long blond haired seven year old daughter did attract a little more local attention than the boys in the group but not in an excessive way. Final piece of advice...don't hesitate this is a great trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I don't think you can wrong booking an Exodus trip - the other families in the group were all different but we got along famously. We have talked about booking an Exodus trip together next year!
  • Reviewed October 2012
    Anonymous

    THE LOST CITY OF PETRA - FAMILY HOLIDAY

    Amazing to think that floating in the Dead Sea didn't make it in to our top 3 activities for the week. It was trumped by 1. Sleeping under the stars by a camp fire in Wadi Rum, 2. Snorkelling in the life size fish tank that is the Red Sea and 3. Petra by candle light - magical.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Experiencing sleeping outdoors under the shadow of the towering rock faces of Wadi Rum and being able to clearly see all the stars, including the Milky Way next to the warmth of the camp fire. And then wake up for a camel ride. And to be able to able to share this exparience with your children.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ala was a good and informative leader who seemed to know everyone, everywhere. Most things ran smoothly and when they didn't Ala was able to rustle something up. His knowledge of the sites and history was excellent but he didn't always participte in all of the activities with the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Jordan wasn't particularly cheap and eating out (except some places in Aqaba) was quite pricey. There is quite a bit of travelling and a couple of packs of cards were essential. Ipods were also a god send - especially as a couple of the hotels had free wi-fi.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    What was refreshing was the ability to see fabulous historic sites and for there to be few health and safety restrictions/signs. This allowed the kids to run free and explore castles, Petra and the cliffs of Wadi Rum. The kids absolutely loved the freedom and this allowed the parents to discover things at their own pace and take the time to hear about the history without impatient kids. Our group ranged from children aged 7-14 and the activities allowed them to mix well and discover what being a kid used to be like - learning from playing outdoors.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087