Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2017
    William Galloway

    Disappointing Cuba

    We had booked the mixed activity trip, having been on previous Exodus holidays. Unfortunately both aspects of the holiday and the way the senior management have dealt with the issues from our holiday have been very disappointing. There were many issues with the holdiay: 1. The snorkelling trip was on an overcrowded boat and the correct safety breifing was not given. This was potentially a serious situation that combined both a dive trip and a snorkel trip. 2.We had an unauthorised passenger on our bus for a leg of the journey - the guide should not have allowed this 3.On the Tobacco tour, the guide accepted a gift of cigars worth cuc 25 (a lot of money locally) - this we now know is allowed by Exodus 4.River San Juan - accommodation was not as described and Exodus have agreed to change their wording on the website. It did not say that there was a 10 foot ladder climb to a heavy trap door for each hut. Also, none of us considered the river clean enough for swimming. 5.There was an extra stop on the last day which caused us to be late back into Havana and we missed the bank opening to exchange money. 6. We did not receive the account of the tipping kitty as we were promised 7. We tried to raise these issues with the local Exodus staff member and had an appointment, which he did not keep Since returning to the UK, we wrote to the MD as suggested for customers that have been disappointed, but both he and senior colleagues have tried to simply sweep the matters under the carpet rather than address them. As an example, in respect of the over crowded boat on the snorkel trip, we have been told "the operator has been told that we do not expect a repeat of this situation in the future. We do not recommend this trip and we will not be using Exodus in the future because of the way we have been treated on our return by the company.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Havana was the best asspect of this trip

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We were disappointed

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We have carefully investigated and responded to concerns raised by Mr Galloway, so we are really sorry that he remains unhappy with elements of his holiday. I am also sorry that Mr Galloway feels that we have swept matters under the carpet as we do not feel this the case. In our multiple correspondence with Mr Galloway we have certainly been happy to admit errors or where things could have been better, but unfortunately we weren’t able to find common ground on all the points he raised.

    In terms of the snorkelling excursion in question, a member of our safety team went on this last year and was impressed with the set-up. Prior to Mr Galloway’s experience, we had not received any feedback highlighting any concerns with the operation of the excursion, but we have addressed the issues that Mr Galloway brought to our attention and we are confident that future excursions will run in line with our safety expectations. I was reassured to read some very positive feedback from other members of Mr Galloway’s group, although I am sorry that Mr Galloway remains disappointed.

    Mike James - Exodus Operations Director

  • Reviewed January 2017
    Gordon Barr

    Mixed Activity Holiday Cuba 2017

    Overall a very well organised and activity filled holiday, with a group of liked minded individuals.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The day spend in Havana was the most interesting, it was easy to imagine what the place was like pre revolution, and interesting to see what will become of it post Fidel.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Elena was very knowledgeable, had load of facts and figures to impress us with, and she was very lively and good fun. 10 out of 10.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Some of the places we visited were very basic, so best adjust your expectations. E.g. If you need to change money it's not a quick process, likewise there was limited access to WiFi, which was quite nice actually.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There was an issue with proposed tipping in your holiday notes which had changed (increased) from version to version, this could be considered as an underhand way of increasing the cost of the holiday, in this case by an extra £75 per person, which wasn't immediately obvious. Aside from that everything else went to plan.
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Sara Whitby

    Cuba taster

    Locations included squares of Havana with European vibe, old Trindad, rural communities which offer step back in time and beautiful beach at Maria de la Gorde at very west of Cuba, which as had hoped gave good taste of Cuba. Many of places would have happily lingered longer and in future would like to see how Cuba develops and visit more for example east of the island. Although Cuba is starting to change think at least in some of more underdeveloped places visited, this change will be slow hence, still time to see before changes too much. Roads in Cuba are poor; pot holders are an understatment therefore travel between locations does take time. There is long periods on coach but as had whole large coach for 10 there was plenty of space and we found it very comfortable for napping between all activity!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Loved staying in tree huts as very different experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Erik was very friendly and socialable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Cycling is tough for non cyclists but not impossible with reasonable fitness and there is bus to fall back on if get bored or for hills that are too daunting! Guide will facilate donations of items hard to get in Cuba for example clothes, pens or any old mobiles have. Although not outrageously expensive, not dirt cheap especially in Oct 2016 with exchange rate if 1.17 or less. Beer average price, cocktails excellent value. Allow min £30 a day for every day no matter which meals included.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Andrew Mason

    As good as I'd hoped

    We got to see a real mix of Cuba, from the beautiful beaches of Maria La Gorda and Playa Larga to the valleys of Vinales to old Trinidad and improving Havana. Exactly what I wanted from the trip around this incredible country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The salsa class in Trinidad was a highlight, we'd only wished we'd done it earlier so had had more chance to practice on subsequent evenings out.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eric was great, hugely knowledgeable and provided great context to the country and ongoing entertainment throughout the tour.
  • Reviewed August 2016
    Angelina Robertson

    A great balance of activity!

    This was such a great holiday and a great introductory for me into a cycling holiday. I have always been interested in taking one but unsure how challenging it would be for me. With a great amount of activity as well as cycling I was able to get a great feel for that type of holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment from my trip is hard to narrow down. the Che Guevara museum was spectacular and defiantly a highlight as well as ALL of day 6 where we were able to visit the caves used in the 1962 Missile Crisis as well as spending the rest of the day at Las Terrazas Biosphere. The accommodation was amazing and the area was beautiful. I felt as if I was back in the Amazon.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was great! He was such a hard worker and did everything that he could to best accommodate us. He was also keen to ensure that we used our free time to the best of our ability by giving us tonnes of local tips and tricks. What topped it off was how well he took care of myself when halfway through the trip I became quite unwell.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Some of the days are long so packing snacks is a good tip! The support vehicle when cycling is a life saver, so don't be too shy to use it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was such a great way to get a proper taste of Cuba. I have been in the past on holiday, but stayed only on the resort and had no idea this beautiful country had so much to offer!
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Robert Pearson

    Tropical Island in Transition

    Varied activities and highlights of Western Cuba. A good introduction to Cuba.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Most relaxing - Snorkelling in the Bay of Pigs. Most energising - cycling to Vinales. Most humbling - wandering among the crumbling ghettos of Havana.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Maurece was excellent. Both he and the driver Gabriel worked very hard to give us all a very good taste of Cuba.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Understand that this multi-activity tour is in its development phase. Our connecting flight was cancelled, & re-arranged for the following day and we are grateful to Exodus and the local guide for arranging transfers for us to catch up with the group. Although Cuba is undergoing major economic changes, there are still major shortages of basic commodities – e.g. petrol and toilet seats. Travel also appears to restricted – needing compulsory local guides in the national parks and Vinales areas. These issues raise substantial challenges for the guide and the driver who coped admirably with the 18 travellers with diverse needs. When our guide Maurece found that most of the Russian trucks for the Topa de Collares trip had broken down – he quickly arranged a different and interesting itinery for the day. We had been warned in the trip notes that travel, transport and accommodation arrangements could be subject to last minute rearrangement i.e. the trip notes need to be interpreted as very approximate! Transport: large coach with seats down one side and at the back, rest of space given over to stacking up the bikes. I had imagined that we would have had a small coach and a bike trailer but I don’t know how a tow bar would have coped with state of Cuban roads. Bikes : good quality Trek mountain bikes with bontrager rims, shimano gearing and disk brakes. Chunky Continental tyres coped well with the roads that could be rough and pot-holed in places. Not aware that there were any punctures but there were two ripped chains during the trip. The bus crawls behind the last cyclist to pick up anyone whose bike or backside needs a rest. Travel – some moderate transfers – “Cuba travel hours” – add about 50% onto estimated duration! Food – mostly plentiful and of moderate variety. Black beans and rice will be on most menus but is not the only foodstuff. Occasional roadside expresso stops though not many fruit stands. Accommodation: Casa particulares are ensuite B&B rooms in private dwellings, some are mini-hotels. The house owners may speak little or no English, so learning some Spanish and practising charades can be handy. Activities: cycling 30-45km on 4 days; the “treks” were all very short, less than 2 hour walks. The snorkelling 11Km east of Playa Larga was better than off Maria La Gorda. Essentials to pack: Deet spray minimum 50% especially for Playa Largo; Change robe for the beaches Padded lycra cycling gear, breathable tops; aeratable trainers or Teva’s for the walking If this trip could be extended to a full 2 weeks, then would suggest extra days for walking especially in the hilly areas. We had a decent morning snorkelling in the Bay of Pigs; it was so good, that a whole day and getting to Trinidad later would have even better. Trinidad would be worth a whole day wandering around. Communications: each town usually has one road or square where you can buy 1hr wifi connection cards. But you needed to have the time to cue when the office is open. Better still, go for 10-14 days without phone or internet connection which helps to make the trip a real holiday break. Currency change – most towns have a change Cadeca. Conversion rates are fixed nationally. Havana airport has a Cadeca near the check in points, and also a single currency change point near the gates (after emigration and security) if your have left over pesos.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Again many thanks for Maurece and Gabriel for working so hard.
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Linda Pearson

    Cuba mixed activity 7th March 2016

    This is I believe the first time this trip had been run- it showed. The staffing level was inadequate in my opinion a second 'leader' was needed. Communications were not great lots of information was not given eg fact that in some places the person running the home-stay expected to be paid direct at the time of leaving. Embarrassing all round when they were demanding money and we were telling them Exodus would pay. Needed to have been communicated to hosts before we arrived. Also assumption that travellers would know the date clocks changed - we did not so were all late

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Snorkelling bay of pigs

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Stressed out

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Give it a while lots of potential just needs additional organisation.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Linda for her review, although we are sorry that she was disappointed with some aspects of her trip. Given the amount of work that goes into designing new tours, we would not expect them to fall below our normal high standards, but Linda’s feedback has been reviewed and improvements made. Direct involvement in tourism is still new to some of the Casa owners, meaning that communication problems can sometimes arise, but we were sorry to read that this caused some unease during Linda’s stay.

    Adam Roberts - Product Manager for Cuba

Call us on 1 844 227 9087