Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2018
    Kathy Lynch

    Kathy lynch

    A wonderful experience overall, we enjoyed walking through pine forests, pretty villages, farmland and countryside with stunning views Our guide Josea was friendly and fun and very passionate about his job.... he cared about the welfare of everyone in the group and always ready willing and able to give advise and treat our blisters. Hosea took us to all the best cafes and restaurants where we enjoyed very fresh locally produced food and wine. All our baggage transfers went extremely smoothly and the hotels were all of a really good standard.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching Sainteago De Compostela to the sound of bagpipes

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide Josea was friendly and fun and very passionate about his job.... he cared about the welfare of everyone in the group and always ready willing and able to give advise and treat our blisters. Hosea also took us to all the best cafes and restaurants where we enjoyed very fresh locally produced food and wine.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    For the Camino walk invest in some good quality walking boots and also take some good quality sandals

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would recommend Exodus to all my family and friends
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Steven Elliot

    Disappointing

    I’ll start with the positives. Sevilla, Carmona, Arcos , Jerez and Cadiz are all great places to visit- full of interest, fabulous food, friendly natives. The hotels were all excellent places to stay in particular the Paradors. The luggage transfers worked like a dream. The bikes were sturdy - MTB end of hybrid scale and quite heavy but necessary because of some the terrain covered. We did not struggle with the actual cycling and without pushing ourselves usually got to our hotel each afternoon by about 4. So why have I scored it 3 out of 5? The reason , sadly, is because of the route which is , I’m afraid , a bit boring. In particular the first and last days take you through semi industrial, semi rural scruffy wastelands and apart from the 30 miles or so after Montellano the best that can be said for the rest is that it is pleasant. We did a similar trip last year with another company starting in Ronda and going round the white villages and the scenery was spectacular so perhaps he bar had been set too high.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Arcos for the first time - made me think of Minas Tirith

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We navigated jointly and enjoyed interpreting the guide. Generally we found it accurate and easy to use though there were some points where it was wrong; the maps helped us triumph.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Find a bar full of locals at lunchtime- wonderful cheap food. Don’t bring your cleats - too much on off and sudden stops in the cities Make sure this is the trip for you before you start - if you want to see the city sights and have the satisfaction of doing it under your own steam then go for it. If you want spectacular scenery then there are much better options

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We did have a great time despite our reservations about the route
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Carolyn Sunners

    Fantastic trip

    Fantastic 6 days cycling through beautiful countryside. The itinerary was well thought through with a good number of interesting side visits. Our guides were perfect, looking after us in every way. Highly recommended to see a part of the world less travelled.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of the famous 26 switchbacks, the feeling of accomplishment (easier than anticipated) and unbelievable views at the top.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The leader and 2nd Exodus team member were both excellent. Very knowledgeable in every way, entertaining and considerate. Full marks to them.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It was more challenging than I expected - Montenegro (and Bosnia Herzegovina) are mountainous countries - but we were allowed to cycle at our own pace uphill with plenty of rest stops and snacks to keep us going. Definitely worth it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    One of the best trips I've done - would definitely go back.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Gwen Nachman

    Walking French & Spanish Catalonia

    A wonderful first run walking trip in the Catalan area! The tour group of 6 met in Port de la Selva, Spain a fishing village along the Mediterranean Sea. Our leader, Kevin, led us out in various routes along the coast and in the national parks, viewing unique geological formations & spring plant growth with wild flowers all along the way! After 2 full days of walking from the village we left Spain, hated to leave our friendly little hotel, via car and drove across the French border through vineyards and beautiful landscape. One of my favorite days! After entering France we parked the car (picked up later by Kevin) and walked through the countryside, vineyards, hills, and through an ancient fort. There was a beautiful view down into Collioure as we followed a rocky pathway down into the town! The next day, Thursday, was our free day to explore the area. It was fun to wander around the town and back up to the fort. Collioure is full of little shops and restaurants, plus a helpful Information center. On Friday we took the train, just around the corner from our hotel, on a quick ride to Port Vendres, nearby active commercial port. We were glad to have our trekking poles on the up and down paths along the coast (I actually used them on most days!) It was a great day and marvelous views of the Mediterranean. The last day we went by train over to a beachfront town, interesting to compare with other beaches we have seen. We had a fun afternoon with an impromptu winery visit, crossing a babbling brook, and climbing our way out of the beach along the coast. The last night was a special tapas evening in a local quaint restaurant on a winding artsy little lane. We were sorry when it was over! The two of us set out by bus, taxi, then train back to Barcelona for a few days before heading home!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    One of my favorite days was the day that we crossed from Spain into France and had a great walk through the countryside, then down into Collioure. The other favorite was the day, Friday, we left Collioure via train to Port Vendres and followed the coastal path. It was a beautiful day!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kevin was a terrific leader! He had learned the routes and highlights every day. Amazing because we were the first run of this tour! Kevin was really good at pointing out botanical and geological features, and especially the rocks and gullies along the way that gave us a caution. He was excellent at anticipating any problems we might have! In addition, Kevin was great in guiding us and had a pleasant manner with all our questions.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Great trip for early spring! Take trekking poles if you normally use them. Along with sunscreen, hats, varied hiking clothing, comfortable shoes or hiking boots. Try all the local food and enjoy the surrounding environment. Learn a few words in Spanish, Catalan language, and French that will help communication and smile when you try to pronounce them! Everyone was super friendly! Barcelona is just a few hours away! If you choose to go or return that way.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Really a great trip! I would like to do it again!
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Mike Frampton

    A great safari, definitely to be recommended.

    Botswana is a country the size of France or Texas, but with a population of just over 2 million and some of the most stunning scenery and wildlife. We arrived at the beginning of May, just after the rainy season, so much of the country was still green. It was also the rutting season for some animals. Our safari was in the northern half of the country, starting in Maun and then taking a mokoro (canoe) journey through the waterways of the Okavango Delta to the wild campsite (ie a clearing in the trees with no other people or facilities around). Our arrival was livened by the hippos in the pool by the campsite. Hippos came be my favourite animal, for my wife it was the many colourful birds. Hippos spend the day in water if they can, coming out after dusk. Whilst in the water, they come up for air, grunt, yawn, play and make the occasional belly flops when not sleeping: they just like to enjoy themselves. After our time in the Delta, we took an optional 40 minute plane ride over the Okavango Delta and realised the vastness of it, particularly as we only saw part of it in that time. There were great stretches of waterways, grasslands and scrub with herds of animals scattered across it. No wonder it takes time to find the animals, they are all there but just scattered over this vast area. During our journey in Botswana, first east to the salt flats near Nata, then up to Victoria Falls in Zimbabwe, before returning via the Chobe, Savuti and Moremi national parks in Botswana, we saw herds of zebra, giraffe, wildebeest, buffalo, baboons and assorted types of deer, as well as ostrich, tortoise, puff adder, elephants, lions and a leopard up a tree with a lioness underneath waiting for her dinner to come down. We saw two Impala challenging each other and two giraffe fighting, using the horns on their heads to hit their opponent's side, as well as the amorous attentions of male impala and kudu for their females, and a lion kissing a lioness behind her head. We had elephants walk past our campsites and saw a den of hyena with the pups playing outside. On another occasion we saw an elephant thoroughly enjoying her bath, rolling in the water and throwing water over herself. At Victoria Falls, we organised our own walk to the bridge, which straddles the gorge between Zimbabwe and Zambia. At the Zimbabwe customs we got a bridge pass which allowed us to visit this 100 year old bridge and see the gorge, as well as bargain with the many pedlars of wood carvings and copper bracelets. Then it was on to visit the falls, with its 17 viewing points. Start at the first viewing point, which looks over the Zambesi river, before it plunges over the falls. From there on the viewing points get progressively wetter and the views more spectacular - so go expecting to get very wet. After that we dried out at a cafe, with magnificent views of the bridge and Zambia across the gorge. Our return was diverted by elephants on the footpath and rewarded by seeing a warthog on route as well as monkeys and a family of mongoose. That evening we joined the dinner cruise on the Zambesi, for some more hippos, a four course meal with plenty of wine and another great sunset. Our team of four led by Ngande and Melo (our cook), set up our tents and kept us well fed and looked after, even providing "pottys" for some of the wild camps where a night time walk might not be advisable. We all got used to the bush toilets, even the occasional collapse when the sand gave way! Bush showers were also provided, with a water bag slung over a branch and suitable enclosure. Mello's ability to provide three great meals a day in the bush was outstanding. He even provided "home" cooked bread with "Welcome to ... " moulded into the bread, something most of us would struggle to do with a fully equipped kitchen, let alone on a camp fire. This is a great safari, with superb staff, scenery and wild life. And one that all ages can enjoy, our oldest member was 80.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Each day provided new inspirations, from punting in and flying over the Delta, to each game walk and game drive, the road side wildlife, the sand and dirt roads through the game reserves, the trees ripped up by the elephant, the many colourful birds, and not least the Victoria Falls and bride. Not forgetting the team that looked after us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ngande was a superb group leader, very knowledgeable of the wildlife, the people and areas through which we travelled. He made sure that each campsite was left spotless when we left, with fire embers buried and all rubbish remove. Even apple cores were collected up to ensure that the local flora was not challenged by a foreign plant.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Check the likely weather for the season you are travelling. We were there in May, the days were hot, but the nights were sometimes cold. You needed a sleeping bag and warm top. The vehicle is open sided, with four rows of three seats. On the long journeys, you need a warm top at the start and end of the day, as well as long sleeves and and a scarf or hat to protect you from the wind and sun. Think about tips. You have two people looking after you for the full two weeks and another two for the last 10 days. You also have a group of locals looking after you in the Okavango Delta. Also recommended are the optional flight over the Okavango Delta, the dinner cruise on the Zambezi (for the occasion) and the afternoon cruise on the Chobe river (for the animals).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We spent five days in Cape Town on our way back to London and can thoroughly recommend this if you have opportunity. At the moment you have organise the Cape Town end yourselves, but we were able to extend our group flights to do this. Hopefully, Exodus will provide this as an option in the future.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Jane Firth

    Loved it!

    Our first Exodus holiday and it will certainly not be the last. Everything ran smoothly even though we had to have a replacement guide due to illness. Dan, our guide, had a great sense of humour and was knowledgeable about the region. The walks were varied and the scenery was beautiful. Hotel Los Bérchules was comfortable and very clean. Wendy, Alejandro, Csilla and Omar made us all feel so at home. The food was super, tasty homemade bread and marmalade at breakfast, satisfying packed lunches and generous portions at dinner with always a homemade pudding. Finally our fellow travellers were a great group of people, so interesting and full of fun.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Managing to keep on walking whatever the weather threw at us!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dan is a great leader, calm and confident with a great sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take an extra day for Granada, so much to see, so little time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No complaints at all! 😊
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Shahina Ahmed

    Top of the world.

    This trek was a difficult one because of the high climbs in metres. Dealing with high altitude was to take it slow and easy. I was very satisfied when completed and the views were amazing. It was not a well trodden path so it felt like we were the only people around. The guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining. Even though it was my first time camping the food was really good and freshly prepared. Seeing Michu Pichu was the icing on the cake.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Inca architecture and thinking how it was all achieved. See Machu Pichu was a dream come true. Meeting the lovely people in the group and our group dynamics that developed made the difficult situations so much easier.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was very knowledgeable and no job was to big or small for him. He was a caring individual and a great motivator when the mood was low. Looked after us all very well. Thank you Thomas.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a high altitude trek and not easy with the large height gains. No matter how fit you are it is best to take it easy and slowly. No rushing as the altitude can kick you in the teeth when you think you are ok. Stick with the group and do t go rushing off even though you are fast.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Have.a great time. I know I did.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Diarmuid Mulherin

    Challenging but worth every turn of the pedals

    The distances covered are in the 60-70 km range most days, and it is a warm place, with the accommodation in towns that the locals have a penchant for putting at the tops of hills and cliffs: great views but a tough cycle to get there at the end of the day. Despite all that, the distances and climbs are worth it. You get a real feel for Andalucia. Wide open plains, olive groves, vineyards, etc. The accommodation is very good and it is not difficult to find good places to eat your evening meal. Mostly the roads are quiet, but there is quite a bit that is off-road/unpaved and a few kilometres of that is pretty technical (soft sand or very rocky). The trip directions are generally very good but there are some tricky bits which require some prior study to avoid cycling on motorways! The bicycles were sturdy though a bit heavy and we had no technical issues throughout the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There are some awesome views from the Paradors and the new Parador in Cadiz is a stunning building.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Not relevant - self-guided

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Study the trip notes carefully: there are some tricky junctions. Worth looking on Google Maps and Streetview.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food and wine in Andalucia are excellent. The weather is generally dry and usually warm to hot.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Ian Buxton

    A thought provoking journey

    Iran was an amazing trip– a real eye-opener. it is a country with a long and complicated history. The people are very friendly and the food is out of this world. We covered over 4500km and saw a lot of variety of scenery. It was a great experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our visit to Persepolis

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Navid was very efficient and friendly, his English is excellent and he is well read on the history of Iran. The trip went smoothly without any problems

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a bit of time to read up on the history of Iran beforehand.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A trip well worth doing
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Richard Williams

    Full on adventure

    A busy itinerary covering both rural and city environments.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The contrasts between Odessa, Lviv and Kiev; each unique in their own way. However, this was overshadowed by Chernobyl. The local guide, Anastasia, kept our small group away from the crowds; and was clearly passionate about the area, delivering the tour with warmth and humour.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tomi was very good. Though not a tour guide and relying on locals as advertised; and having never been to either country; he sourced good restaurant recommendations, managed the group and most importantly, was excellent company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There is so much to see in Kiev, if choosing to go to Chernobyl add a further additional day.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Mildly concerned that some travellers may be disconcerted by the openness of escorts in the foyer of the Hotel Ukraine every evening.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087