Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed December 2018
    Jenny Martin

    A stunning holiday!

    If you're looking for a great mix of exercise, wine-tasting, wildlife spotting and camaraderie, this is the trip for you! As this was our first organised holiday we approached it with some trepidation, but our expectations were surpassed many times over. Every day brought new experiences - different landscapes and vistas, unfamiliar but delicious wines, the highest quality local dishes, friendly hosts and quirky accommodation, and a developing bond between all participants as we slogged up the inclines and sailed down the descents.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were too many highlights over the 10 days to mention here, but the satisfaction of riding over majestic mountain passes to be rewarded with beautiful vineyard visits, seeing whales, sharks and penguins up close in their natural habitat, and swimming in the Indian ocean were some of the best.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Peter, really went the extra mile to make our trip special. He offered numerous little add-ons that were hard to resist, e.g. a hike up to a view point overlooking the Whale Coast in Hermanus, and G&Ts above Cape Agulhas at sunset. We left South Africa with so many special and unique memories thanks to the hard work of Peter and his team, Bradley and Voyu.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do get reasonably fit for this trip as, although the distances aren't massive, the route is undulating and, at times, hilly, and it can be windy. You will enjoy it more if you do. You also need to factor in the wine-tasting - this is bound to make your legs a little heavier in the morning! Be open-minded about the accommodation - our hosts offered comfortable, quirky rooms that gave a fantastic flavour of local life. I will never stay in a chain hotel again!
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Vernon Needham

    Sweat, smiles.......no blood, no tears!

    An excellent mix of cycling, touring and nature watching. We were extremely fortunate to have such superb staff. Good accommodation, with the exception of one cold shower, when a hot one would have been great!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    An angry capuchin monkey in threat mode during the boat nature trip at Tortoguero. That stands out, but there were many, many others.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andres Ramirez was excellent: efficient, diplomatic, and with a GSOH. He is an extremely competent cyclist as well as highly knowledgeable, enthusiastic and skilled naturalist. As an example of the latter he would sometimes hear creatures, mimic the call, get a response and then be able to locate and show them. Paulo (mechanic, and ex pro cyclist) was also excellent and got on very well with the group despite his limited English, and our non-existent Spanish. Driver Jose was always helpful and a skilled safe driver, with excellent anticipation of road hazards.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take saddle and clip pedals if you use them. Take quick dry T-shirt(s) to ride in, if necessary putting them on damp in the morning: they soon dry off that way. No point in cycling waterproofs as the rain is warm. Don’t take too much. Be prepared for some big trucks and hills which may be more than ‘moderate’.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you!
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Jerry Dawson

    Comprehensive exploration of the sights of South India

    If you have three weeks to spare and want to see the highlights of South India, this is the trip for you. Comprehensive coverage of the main temples, palaces, hill stations and other attractions of the region. Although the trip packs in all the sights, it did not feel rushed and there is enough time left free to explore on your own. South India seems much less frenetic than the north and the food is amazing! There is a lot of driving but the bus is air conditioned and spacious and from time to time the group travels by train, which is a fascinating experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    In terms of sights, the highlights for me were driving through the tea plantations near Ooty and Periyar, exploring the streets of former French colony Pondicherry, having lunch during a small cyclone in the "Rick Stein" beachfront restaurant in Mahabalipuram, exploring the various flower and vegetable markets, the waterfront at Kovalam, and the overnight houseboat trip in the Kerala Backwaters near Alleppey. The real highlight for me, however, was the food - Indian food all day from breakfast (puris and iddlys) through to dinner - including the several stops at roadside restaurants for thalis at lunchtime, the wonderful seafood in Mahabalipuram and Kovalam, and the cooking demonstration (with active participation) in Thekkady/ Periyar.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rajesh P.K. did a great job. He had a kind and caring personality and was very open with information about India and its customs, religions and culture. All the trip logistics worked out well - which is quite an achievement for India!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are some very long journeys on the bus so do bring a book to read. Although western food is available at all the hotels and most restaurants, it will add greatly to the enjoyment of the trip if you throw caution to the wind and eat the local food - lot of amazing veg and non-veg options! If you want a cold beer with dinner, call ahead to the restaurant to make sure there are beers in the fridge (many restaurants seem to serve beer at room temperature!)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would have liked more time in Pondicherry with a more comprehensive city walking tour to include information about life during the 300 years of French occupation; and also time to see the main sights in Chennai.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    JILL SOUTHGATE

    Costa Rika cycling

    excellent trip with amazing guides and machanic.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    the wildlife

    What did you think of your group leader?

    first class, one of the best, his knowledge was amazing.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    the only way this trip could be improved is perhaps on the last day of cycling, it would be good to finish at the thermal pools but realise you still have a transfer etc.
  • Reviewed December 2018

    Cycling The Cape And Winelands

    A wonderful cycle trip and an excellent introduction to the Cape (and South African wine!). Some great cycling (Franschheok Pass, The Whale Coast) mixed with plenty of wine tasting and a day's recuperation whale watching in Hermanus. The cycling itself is graded as moderate though a grading of moderate/challenging would be more appropriate, especially if you are not a keen cyclist.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing the Franschheok Pass. After having to walk up hills in Central America 18 months earlier it felt wonderful to be the first of the group to reach the top!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Warren was an excellent tour leader and interacted with everyone in the group. A wealth of knowledge and nothing was any trouble for him. Our second guide/driver Adonia is a great guide in the making.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy the trip!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The afternoon trip to the game park was, sadly, a bit of a let down with very few animals visible.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Tricia Simon

    exploring the sights and the countryside

    A wonderful cycle exploration of a fascinating part of India with a great team and group. Mostly quiet roads through countryside and villages, lots waves and smiles from the local people. The sights visited were amazing, surpassed my expectations. great accommodation. cycling was definitely moderate level, a steady pace with few manageable hills along the way. A relaxed pace to enjoy all the sights en route and plenty of stops for tea/coffee in interesting little places. The train ride was very entertaining, full of local life. Lovely to end on the beach, with 'cool down' gentle rides then a taste of the Goan capital.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting the local school and enjoying the enthusiastic greeting. Waving and chatting locals, with occasional requests for selfies. Exploring Hampi world heritage site, Jain temple with statue on the hill and temple carvings at Belur.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Have a look at our daily digest video of our trip here www.stevenflett.co.uk
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Carol Sutton

    An amazing experience

    Vietnam is a beautiful country with wonderful gentle people. This holiday gives an insight into the ways of the people who live in the modern world but respect the ways of the old world.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the day to day activities of the Vietnamese people going about their daily lives, the traffic, the scooters, the noise. The abundance of fruit, vegetables and flowers on display at the markets, Also kayaking in the lagoon at Halong bay as dusk was falling and everyone else had left, we watched the monkeys scurrying along the cliffs and it was silent and magical.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Cong was a lovely patient man who was obviously very proud of his country.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do all the optional trips offered to you, or get out and about on your own in the free time parts of this trip. It feels very safe in Vietnam so don't spend any time in your hotel room unless you are asleep!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Nothing to add, the trip was as described in the brochure/website and met all our expectations and more.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Michael Appleyard

    A Vietnam Experience cycling included

    A Brilliant trip showing all aspects of Vietnams culture, more than a cycling trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    To cycle up and over the Hai Van Pass.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Linh was a brilliant team leader who's knowledge of all aspects of the tour was brilliant. He was very entertaining and looked after all aspects of the tour. The support team were also brilliant and dealt with cycle repairs snacks at stops, and transport.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a brilliant trip, the cycling is not too difficult apart from the Hai Van Pass, however 14 out of 15 team members managed the climb. Be prepared for long Coach transfers.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Michael Appleyard

    A Vietnam Experience cycling included

    A Brilliant trip showing all aspects of Vietnams culture, more than a cycling trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    To cycle up and over the Hai Van Pass.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Linh was a brilliant team leader who's knowledge of all aspects of the tour was brilliant. He was very entertaining and looked after all aspects of the tour. The support team were also brilliant and dealt with cycle repairs snacks at stops, and transport.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a brilliant trip, the cycling is not too difficult apart from the Hai Van Pass, however 14 out of 15 team members managed the climb. Be prepared for long Coach transfers.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Mindy Grantham

    Great trip! Covered a lot of ground

    I was already traveling in India and made a fairly last minute decision to join this tour. I’m very glad I did. We had a small group which made it easy to move around, see things, hear the guides, and have a more personal experience. The guide (Santo) was great! He’s very personable, knowledgeable, and tries to make sure that we have a local experience to the extent possible.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being at Periyar and having the guide start telling our group to be quiet and move quickly as we started running through the forest in order to get to the place where an elephant was spotted.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Santo was wonderful. He’s super nice (all of the time even when there’s a difficult member of the group), he explains things well so we all understand in advance what to expect, he makes sure the trip is seamless for us (even though I’m sure there’s always issues) and he tries to give us local experiences too, which really makes the difference. I highly recommend him! I’d do another trip of his.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087