Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Flash Sale - Save up to 15% on any Guided Group adventure (and 10% on any Self-Guided adventure). Learn more

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2018
    M B

    Japan trip

    A great introduction to Japan , covering several major cities and lots of shrines/ temples . Fortunately still caught some of the cherry blossom which arrived early ( 2018 ) .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Different things at different times, from wandering ancient streets , going into shrines and seeing acts of devotion , the food , the perfect presentation of everything in department stores , the level of service on transport / shops , friendliness of locals.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tatsuro was very laid back but carried out his duties , ensuring all travel ( train / subway / bus / tram ) was completed on time and without losing anyone ( from a group of 18 at busy times on transport network ) .

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Number one would be to carry a small cloth i.e. face flannel size to dry your hands after washing them ( toilets) . All Japanese seem to carry them and hot air dryers or paper towels are in the minority Tokyo metro map initially looks confusing but it makes sense very quickly as the train carriages have direction of travel and time to next station displayed on screens . Combining that info with line colour and also station number and name and it starts to make sense . There are hardly any rubbish bins on the street - but practically no litter either - as apparently Japanese take their rubbish home with them . Most food purchases include a plastic bag to put the rubbish in . In addition , its unusual to walk and eat , even purchasing food from a street vendor and there is likely to be a small bench that you sit on to eat your purchase before moving onwards. In Tokyo visit the Sun City shopping plaza Observatory ( 60th floor ) for amazing views. Cost was 1200 yen ( April 2018 ) but easily worth it. You can also go to the Tokyo Metropolitan Government building near Shinjuku , both towers have an observatory ( 45 floors) and there is no charge . Stays open in the evening for night time views .

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Shinkasen trains ( high speed ) have very short stops in the station so make sure you pay heed to "upcoming stop " info and music prompt in order to be make a rapid exit . Make sure you plan ahead for your free time as there are many sites to visit , so you may need to compile your own top 10 list .
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Cerian Mellor

    What are you waiting for, just book!

    Beautiful scenery, wonderful people, tremendous food and days packed with activities and smiles. Traditionally, as an independent solo traveller, I wasn't sure about a group trip. But, attracted by the idea of a cycling holiday and in need of a hassle free adventure in an amazing location, this seemed like the perfect solution. It absolutely did not disappoint. From the friendly and efficient booking process, through well organised travel and transfers, to an immediate and warm welcome upon arrival, the Exodus arrangements could not be faulted. The cycling built up over the first few days allowing acclimatisation to sun and saddle, so whether good cyclist or weekend warrior, this trip is very achievable for those with a general fitness. Son Nguyen and his team offered superb support throughout the trip, and facilitated access to local people and experiences that are mostly not afforded to two-week tourists tied to hotel chains, bus tours or backpacker haunts. Vietnam has so much history, culture and culinary delight to offer and being part of a great group of like-minded people, game to try as much as possible during their adventure, made this trip just perfect. Thanks Son and crew, for making us so welcome in your country!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many moments stand out that it would be unfair to say which was the most inspirational. Hanoi is a magical city I shall undoubtedly visit again for its vibrant life, but it might not have been appreciated so much without having passed through beautiful, tranquil countryside full of colour, laughing children, and stunning scenery. The camaraderie around achieving the 100km mark and the 10km Hai Van Pass was a highlight too!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Son did a great job at bringing Vietnam to life for us. Patient, organised, thoughtful and a good leader even when the weather meant changes to the plan - to us it felt seamless, and there was a smile & laugh for every occasion. He also did a good job of pricking our environmental consciousness with good reminders about single use plastics - keep up the good work!
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Clive Okill

    Walking in the footsteps of the Incas

    It was the first time we toured with Exodus Travels and was one of the most marvellous trips I have ever taken. The scenery was breathtaking, the guide was outstanding, the trip organisation was beyond reproach, and the best thing I can add to that is that my wife and I are now planning our next holiday (possibly to Vietnam) with Exodus travels.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing up 'Dead Woman's Pass' and seeing the spectacular ruins of Machu Picchu in the mountain mists below us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Rolando Saico was simply outstanding. Helpful, courteous and knowledgeable in every way. His assistant on trip TPT 180405 Javier I think that's how you spell his name) was also very good.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with Exodus Travels. But if you take the Inca trail and especially the High Inca trail, take good care of your knees. As a trail, it's not too difficult but there are lots of steps which can tax your thighs and knees and if you are not familiar with high altitudes then pace yourself as oxygen levels are reduced.
  • Beautiful sea views. Wonderful people

    This is a self guided 6 day walking holiday. You stay in a wonderful hotel the whole week on a half board basis.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views and the colours of the sea are mindblowing. The location of the hotel cannot be beaten. We were right next to the sea. We found the people charming, gentle and friendly. Blue Hole Park - red cardinal birds and resident white eye vireos Spittal Pond - peaceful nature reserve Crystal Caves - fascinating and awesome stalactites and stalacmites Gibbs lighthouse - panaramic viesw of the whole island The history of the islands is very interesting - it was uninhabited untill 500 years ago

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tim was very informative and enthusiastic about his adopted homeland. To be honest we just got on with it - and this is what the set up was. We had no problems so we didn't need to contact him after the first meeting.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    To be honest Bermuda isn't, in my opinion, a natural choice for a walking holiday. It is 24 sq miles with 64,000 inhabitants ( and their cars). Everywhere was pretty busy and you're never far from the noise of traffic. However we did find a few oases of quiet. ( Helped by the excellent walking notes). Beware the cruise ships which disgorge up to 3,000 passengers at a time. They fill up the buses, which then don't stop if you're not getting on at a terminus. Other that this the included travel pass was great. Bermuda is eyewateringly expensive - cheapest bottle of quaffing wine from hotel list was $45 + 17% gratuity - about £40. They add 17% on to all bills. A simple lunch set us back $50 - no alcohol. The meals at the hotel are good, but the dinner menu didn't change for the week. I am vegetarian. However they let you mix and match and also choose stuff off the lunch menu - or cobble something together with a couple of sides. There's a fridge in the room so you can stock up with pre dinner drinks if you want. Money is easily available. The day you leave you have the whole day free, so you can fit in a couple of bits you missed during the week - or loaf around the pool/beach.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We had a wonderful time and thoroughly enjoyed our 25th Wedding Anniversary treat. They say that it's so romantic even the sand blushes!!! ( there are some wonderful stretches of pink sand) We cherry picked the walks and activities to make the most of our time.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Joyce Cheyne

    Awesome adventure

    If you want to see the best of Borneo this trip's for you. Beautiful country, great food, lovely friendly people and oh boy did we see wildlife! So many highlights. The incredible proboscis monkeys were hilarious and so much fun to watch, silver leaf langurs including a mum and baby, red leaf langurs, long tailed and pig tailed macaques, pit vipers, monitor lizards, orang utans (of course) in Sepilok and also in the wild (very special moments), Bornean sun bears at their rescue centre (definitely worth a visit), mouse deer, Northern Bornean gibbon family in the wild (utterly brilliant to watch), Bornean colugo (flying lemur - which isn't a lemur), red giant flying squirrel which we watched flying with a beautiful sunset backdrop - really special, slow loris, leopard cat - what a find! - sambar deer, loads of frogs, lizards, the most amazing insects ever, a huge 3m long salt water crocodile, baby salt water crocodile, flying lizard, bats galore in the most amazing caves at Mulu and Gomantong which also has the swiftlet nests and of course the bat exodus from Deer cave at sundown, had the most amazing experience watching Borneo pygmy elephants swimming in convoy across a river, young ones too with trunks up, heard them trumpeting and watched two mums with young ones feeding right at the water's edge - so special. Then there's the birds! Hornbills galore, eagles, hawks, Buffy fish owls, sunbirds, kingfishers, broadbills, storks, egrets, flycatchers, bee eaters, flowerpeckers, bulbuls, kites, sandpipers, herons, doves, mynas and more. The bird watchers were very happy. Night walks and the night drive were a revelation, so much comes out at night from scorpions to stick insects. Not scary at all just fascinating. Boat trips were excellent, saw so many birds and monkeys in the trees. Loved staying in the longhouse, an experience not to be missed. The Borneo Rainforest Lodge in the Danum Valley was exquisite, 5* in every way; the rooms, the food, the attentive staff, the massage, the local guides, the drivers who also spotted wildlife and the red leaf monkeys in the forest having their breakfast at the same time as us.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the wild gibbon family and orang utans in the Danum Valley was pretty special. It was a hike to get there but the guides pace the walks so well pointing out all the wildlife, birds and important trees/foliage used in cooking and medicine so always interesting, worth every step. Watching the pygmy elephants swimming across the river in convoy, trunks up, babies in tow and feeding at the water's edge while others were trumpeting was an extraordinary experience. Bat exodus from the Deer Cave in Mulu was pretty special, waves of bats that went on for ages. Watching the flying squirrel. An experience I'll probably not repeat.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Superb trip and we were very fortunate to be in the hands of a truly exceptional trip leader in Rony. He went the extra mile every hour of every day to make sure we had the trip of a lifetime and he succeeded. We all trusted Rony completely, he earned that trust daily.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do everything! Even if you don't particularly like insects or bats by a few days in you'll love them, they're so incredible. Drink loads of water! Makes all the difference in the heat and humidity. I was a bit worried about that before I went but it's fine, doesn't stop you walking up hill just take your time, everyone did. There's plenty of air-con or fans to give you a break from it. Trip notes advise cash to take. I adopted an orang utan at Sepilok, had a fantastic massage in the Danum Valley, went snorkelling, bought a few souvenirs and still came home with £120. Rony found us great food and beer at local prices so it's very cheap to eat. He also told us the best snorkelling trip for value for money. Take videos on your phone and camera. They are so good to watch when home and convey behaviour that a photo doesn't. Get your laundry done it's so cheap. Got all mine done before I came home for £4 and that was with a tip! (Not at the Sheraton!)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go! So many species endemic to Borneo, you won't find them anywhere else so you need to go. You'll be glad you did.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Susan Keane

    Mules carrying luggage

    Although I’ve been back home a while. I still have memories of seeing a mules loaded up with our heavy suitcases. Their legs buckling underneath. A taxi brought some of our group up the mountain so it was possible to transport our luggage down in a vehicle. I still don’t understand while animals are used to do this. It’s not quaint - it’s abuse. PleAse look at PETA. In Jordan a collapsed horse carrying suitcases is kicked in the face by its owner. It’s time to stop this abuse. Please check no animals are used on your next holiday. Sorry Exodus but you did not change the situation in Morocco when I complained.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All of it except the use of mules.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Check no animals are used on your trip. We saw donkey viciously kicked by member of staff on trip to Roman site. He worked at the site.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don’t let others abuse animals on your behalf.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    andrew longley

    Everest Basecamp & Back

    Amazing experience! Loved everything minute of it from Namche to basecamp and back. Our Guide Bikash was fantastic, creating a great group atmosphere and taking care of everyone with professionalism.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching Basecamp

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bikash was a great leader
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Ted Cornell

    Amazing Trip!

    The trip was really amazing. The itinerary was perfect, with long and short rides, a variety of interesting places to see and to stay. The group was very compatible, and we elected to eat all dinners together. As said at our final meal, we really became a team over the week having fun together and looking out for each other. Our leader, Michele, was terrific and kept us all together with friendly and upbeat manner.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were several high points, including touring Matera and Lecce and staying in a trulli and a farm house, as well as the views of the coasts.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michele was the best! As a leader he kept us together in a friendly, gentle way and was always upbeat and positive. He knew all of the cultural attractions, and would stop to show them to us on the way or walking around town after dinner. Michele also arranged some great dinners for us. He really made it extra fun for all of us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Good idea to spend an extra day in Matera and Lecce, lots to see there.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would re-examine two hotels we stayed at. Rooms were fine but very hot, as they hadn't turned on the air conditioning systems yet.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    GILL BLACKGROVE

    A great week af culture and long journeys

    The trip involves a lot of travel, but the Sahara and Gite experiences were worth it. Take the itinerary with a small pinch of salt [which the food also needs] and enjoy the experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    sleeping out under the Sahara stars, with Bedouin musicians softly drumming me to sleep. I loved the gite too - Walking up to the gite, especially along the river and seeing the villages as we walked. I chose not to go on any walk and enjoyed relaxing in the superb views - the 3-4 hour walk came back in 5 hours...... I enjoyed the ad-hoc school visit too. Ait Ben Haddou at sunset was beautiful

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdul was fun and funny - though his timings and distances were more Moroccan than British. the Hamman at the gite was "just next door" and turned out to be 10 minutes up a very narrow rocky pathway - hazardous as we came down in pitch dark, some people in flip flops. He was full of enthusiasm and organised us well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    ITINERARY - go with the flow as far as itinerary and trip notes and timing are concerned. MONEY - We arrived on a Saturday and could change no money until Monday, so I'd advise you to change some money at least on arrival or before you travel. I also lost £150 somewhere between arrival and Ouerzazete [day 1 and day 2] - could have been carelessness, but it was probably stolen. No ATM anywhere would give me money, so I had to borrow. Although we ladies had a huge hilarious laugh at the hammam experience, I'd not do it again - I can scrub myself thank you and am not one who enjoys the stripping off / manhandling experience.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    there is no formal visit and hand-over of the "pack with a purpose" goods listed in the trip notes. We did visit a school classroom - all very last minute as we passed, and handed over the pens, cards etc. I had packed some gloves and paint brushes which weren't all that appropriate to the school's needs. Expect very ordinary food [ chicken or lamb stew] and a carb overload. Vegetarians beware - there is no understanding of the concept and our vegetarian was expected to fish out the vegetables from the chicken tagine. The alternative is omelette 3 times a day. this is a great trip, slightly whirlwind trip and if you are prepared to be flexible you will love it.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087