Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed February 2018
    Helen Burrell

    Tropical South - An Adventure

    Our visit to Kerala and Tamil Nadu was a busy and enjoyable experience. There are several long journeys, but our bus was very comfortable (there were only 9 of us so we could spread out!) and there was so much to see on the way, the colourful towns, the traffic! the busyness of India. Cochin was a lovely start ; we arrived a day early. A tuk tuk driver gave us a grand tour of 2 hours for 100 rupees! The drive to Munnar was lovely through the mountains, but to describe Munnar as a beautiful hill station is stretching it - we thought it a most unattractive town. However the trek through the tea plantations and hills was wonderful. It is quite a strenuous climb and good grip shoes are essential. The picnic at the top was memorable. The rest of the trip unfolded with some visits not on the itinerary, a visit to a family brick making enterprise, heavy work in incredible heat, a school, a lovely temple on the roadside.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The trek in Munnar The early morning walk around the markets in Madurai. It's early, but don't miss this! The early morning jungle walk in Periyar. Some climbing to spot a wild elephant! The homestay with lovely home cooked food. The houseboat, peaceful, so much bird life to see, people living on the banks, fishing, washing clothes and themselves in the river. Boats carrying various cargoes, fruit, shopping, canoe ferries transporting families and schoolchildren across the river, even small boats carrying bricks and stones. Kovalam, much nicer than we expected, lovely shops, good beach, friendly people.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Manoj was an extremely efficient, informative and friendly guide. He set high standards everywhere we went, hotels, restaurants and trips. He advised us on menu choices so that we had a full appreciation of local food. No matter how early we got up, he was there! He gave us an insight into Indian culture that no guidebook can give. We were very impressed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Southern India is hot and extremely humid in the evenings. Don't forget sunscreen and a hat. The sun is very strong and sunburn can happen in minutes. Mosquitos are pretty well everywhere so spray well! I got a more natural spray in our health food shop called Incognito. It worked just as well. Bring tissues everywhere, there's never any loo paper on coffee/lunch stops! And hand gel, often no soap . The masala chai is lovely, I had it at every stop.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Indian people are very friendly, and if you engage with people, you get a lot back. I could never remember the Indian phases we'd been told, so a Good Morning will always be returned. We were frequently asked where we were from (Ireland) and a conversation often followed. In cases where I asked if I could take a photo, it was always agreed, and I'd usually show them the photo I had taken. The friendliness of the Indian people was one of the highlights of the trip for us. The hotels are fine, standard and comfortable (which only means as far as we could see the 2 that had a swimming pool). Every hotel had a redeeming feature. The Ayurvedic massage is lovely, I had two, and the last hotel in Kovalam was particularly good. The cost is very low.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    David Collins

    A week in Jordan

    An interesting week with plenty of cultural experiences and great scenery. Our guide Zahair was full of local knowledge and a great ambassador of Jordan. The highlight was definitly the two full days in Petra. Early wind and rain had resulted in Petra being closed until late morning with a warning of flash floods. In the end all was well and our group enjoyed seeing the monastery, the high point of sacrifice, the Siq and lots of tombs and caves. Wadi rum was great but the Bedouin camp was a bit of an ordeal but rescued by the great evening meal. Lack of sleeping bags and vertually no running water made for a primitive and unpleasant wake up call in the morning. Aqaba was warm, the Red Sea had good snorkelling too. The visit to the Dead Sea and seeing Jordan's Grand Canyon was not to be missed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The two days in Petra, especially the walk on the second day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Zahair was attentive full of stories and had great local knowledge and a great ambassador for Jordan.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The week in Jordan was very interesting, varied and well worth a visit. However some of the accommodation was very poor and should not be part of the itinerary. Out hotel La Maisson in Petra was one of the worst ones I have stayed in for many a year. The shower cubicle was tiny, it completely flooded the floor when we showered. We had to mop the water up with the hand and bath towels each time. The breakfast was a matter of first come first served. The food was not replenished, tables not cleaned and no clean cutlery. Staff simply disappeared when perople asked them for anything. Our group were all put in the basement underneath the dining room. The noise from scrapping chairs, stamping feet and clanking cutlery began very early and was deafening and annoying. The coach we had all week was very old, pretty smelly and grimy. It broke down on the motorway 50 miles from Petra. The driver tried to fix it but to no avail. We waited 90 plus minutes for a replacement bus. Our driver was left overnight with the old bus. We endured a white knuckle ride to Petra along winding roads and hairpin bends eventually arriving at La Maisson at 9.30pm. Our old bus was repaired and we used it for the remainder of our stay.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We have been with Exodus travel twice already, both trips were excellent. Petra was our third trip plus we are booked to climb Macchu Picchu in the summer. The poor accommodation and bus has made me unable to recommend the trip to our friends. These problems were pretty significant and has made the trip poor value for money too.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Eileen Phillips

    Cycle the Backroads of Sri Lanka

    An amazing experience with Exodus & Suresh as tour leader.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The challenging ride to Nuwara Eliya & feeling a great sense of achievement. Visiting the impressive rock cut Buddha statues at Buduruvagela.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh is a Legend. His deep passion for his country & wealth of knowledge ( historically & geographically) made the trip a memorable experience. Suresh greeted us every morning with a broad Sri Lankan smile & would give a short briefing before guiding us safely through the back roads to the next overnight stop. With Suresh's expert guidance we also visited World Heritage sites, spotted animals on Safari & was delighted by his culinary skills in the kitchen. During the trip any requests were dealt with immediately- organising massages, early morning runs, bird watching at dawn, to name a few. Nothing was too much trouble. Suresh is one in a million & a first class Tour Leader for Exodus in Sri Lanka.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A good fitness level is definitely required.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Highly recommend the trip but would have preferred the premium option.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Jill Barker

    Cycling in Vietnam

    A great holiday. The organisation of the trip was excellent and we were very well looked after by Long and his team during our stay. Long was so cheerful, knowledgeable and helpful. Our bikes were great, but I was very pleased I had taken my own saddle. I would highly recommend this holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Completing the Hai Van Pass!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was brilliant! See comments above

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring your own saddle if you have one that's comfortable.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Emma Dart

    Great way to see the nature of south Sri Lanka

    This was a fantastic trip which gave great opportunities to see the diverse wildlife and landscapes of Sri Lanka. It was hot / humid when we went so the air con on the bus and the majority of the hotels was welcome. It was nice to have a couple of nights in most hotels. The stay in the rainforest lodge was incredible, and the rooms in the Talalla hotel were unusual and enjoyable. The bus journeys between accommodations were not too long, and the scenery was very enjoyable. There is so much birdlife and wildlife to see here.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a blue whale. We also loved seeing the fireflies in the rainforest and at Tallala. There is not much light pollution there so the stars were incredible.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dilshan was fantastic. He was so engaging, knowledgeable and well organised. The naturalist on the trip, Devaka, was enthusiastic and highly skilled.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Many of the plug sockets accommodate do UK plugs. Where they did not, we were glad to have purchased an adaptor as our multi adaptor did not cater for Sri Lanka plug sockets. We did not see many mosquitoes, but were careful with using deet and covering up. The sun is very strong as well. The rainforest lodge provided leech socks, which seemed to work very well. There were only a couple of times where we encountered small leeches and the guide removed them easily.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food is fantastic, a lot of choice in the buffets.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Catherine Ellwood

    Like going on holiday to Narnia!

    An amazing holiday in a beautiful landscape. It was like being in a Christmas card.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved snowshoeing and cross-country skiing. On our free day, I walked the Little Bear trail with another member of the group and it was a great day. The huskies are beautiful, and I enjoyed snowmobiling. The evening snowshoe across the silent, dark frozen lake was amazing. Building the quinzee was fun, although hard work! For me, there was just enough taster of all the activities, and the option to do more of them if you wanted to.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Elina was lovely. She explained everything to us really well, made sure we were OK and knew what we were doing. She is so enthusiastic about her job, nature and country and shared it all with us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I had been thinking of doing this holiday for a while and it was fab. So do it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I definitely overpacked! You get all the outdoor clothing and aren't cold at all, so you only need a couple of jumpers/jeans for the evenings. Maybe take a travel hairdryer if you really need one.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Martin coles

    Strenuous

    Beautiful scenery, decent but not outstanding hotel, very professional guide, but be aware that the walking is very strenuous with a lot of extended uphill sections, and not, as advertised, moderate.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The day of rest!
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Wendy Pillar

    Introduction to cross-country skiing

    Dobiacco is a really beautiful place and there is lots to do outside the skiing. The skiing tuition is very good, and flexible, as on the level 1/2 week you can move between groups if necessary. Although the loipes feel remote, they are mostly not far from a bus route, so you can stop early if you have really had enough.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Day 2 of skiing it came together and I felt I could actually do it, it was a beautiful sunny day and we were skiing through a gorgeous valley through the mountains, and it was magical. The free day was also pretty special, with snoeshowing and riding the ski gondola to the top of the mountains for a 360 degree view

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz was a very enthusiastic and good instructor, who made sure everyone made a lot of progress, even a ski skiver like me! She was very good at balancing the needs of the different abilities, and always full of information.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Cross-country skiing is hard! Don't assume it is easier than alpine, there is quite a lot of technique to learn before it really starts to flow, and quite a lot of falling over on the first day. You need decent fitness, and strength in upper body and core as well as legs helps. Doing some work on your balance before coming would pay dividends. You'll definitely go home fitter! Alpine ski clothes are too warm. You need a lighter coat and lots of layers, as the variation in temperature between waiting for a bus and skiing up a long hill is considerable.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Elizabeth Guard

    Unforgettable week

    A truly memorable week packed with up-close animal encounters in their wild and free environment. Really helped us understand animal behaviours and the urgent need to preserve their precious habitats.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing 7 male cheetahs together in a group- even our guides were amazed!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both leaders very friendly, knowledgable and respectful of rules of the reserves.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take large SD cards! It’s a full-on week, game drive from the day you arrive . Some in our group went to Nairobi 2 days early to rest and acclimatise to the heat .

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Small size group (ours was 11) is perfect
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Paul Downie

    Blissful escapism

    Beautiful walking in the Sierra de Aitina. This is really a hidden gem of an area. It is incredibly scenic area and the walking is interesting and varied and the length of the walks are about right I’d say. The accommodation is in the most truly stunning setting. To have exclusivity of such a place was a real treat. We were looked after incredibly well. The service and value for money for this trip is excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Aitina Natural guesthouse and it’s owner Natxo, one of the nicest people I have ever met whilst travelling. Exodus are lucky to have him! The accommodation is in such a beautiful setting. It really is true escapism. We were looked after so well. Nothing was too much trouble. We were served a three course meal every evening and the food was amazing including the packed lunches.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Self guided so not really applicable, but the owner of the guesthouse managed everything we needed perfectly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We felt this trip gave us fantastic walking in a beautiful place and the accommodation and food was superb. This is an unknown area so there aren’t lots of people but it is truly a scenic area. The almond blossom was spectacular and we were lucky to be there when it was in full bloom. Just very simply a W onderful holiday. Can’t commend this holiday enough. Go!!!!
Call us on 1 844 227 9087