Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    A relaxing week with a spot of walking

    A really enjoyable trip incorporating 3 lovely Greek islands and a brief glimpse of Athens. The walks are fairly short (4 hours max) and are more like gentle strolls. Plenty of time to relax and chill out or explore further on your own was included.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at Santorini and catching our first glimpse close up as the ferry doors opened. Exploring Paros. Experiencing all the delicious Greek food. Swimming in the beautiful blue Greek sea. Savouring the different ice cream flavours.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Cecile worked hard during the week to accomodate all of our requests and was flexible to changing the itinerary to avoid walking during the hotest parts of the day. She was very knowledgeable on certain aspects however because it was her first visit to Paros and her first time in leading the trip, there were some areas where she was not so knowledgeable and could have potentially provided more information. Having a guide who speaks fluent Greek was essential!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A very enjoyable week. Hotels were nice, food great and weather fantastic. However I am not sure that I would like to travel in high season since it was hot enough at the start of June.Beware of the pick pockets in Athens, particulary on the metro.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The group felt at times like we were guinea pigs because this was only the second or third time that the trip had run however it did not spoil our enjoyment. However the trip notes need to be updated, e.g. to reduce the length of time spent walking. I felt that this was not a walking holiday but a sightseeing holiday with a few short walks. It was a shame that we were not allowed to take the catamaran back to Athens since this would have been a new experience and may have given us a little more time in either Paros or Athens. Also, the ferry which we took was the most crowded of the 4 and less comfortable than the other 3 (which were excellent).2 members of the group had repeatedly requested a single room only to be told that these were already booked up with no more available, however there was plenty of space in the hotels who were only happy to agree to the request for a small fee (nothing as expensive as the single supplement charged by Exodus!).Final point, when booking I was not told that I was not on the group flight - I only realised once the final departure details arrived. On arrival at Athens I was expected to wait 2 hours until the group flight arrived but instead 3 of us shared a taxi to the hotel. When the other 2 group members on the group flight were met, they were put in a taxi too - paid for by Exodus. Why were the 3 of us not told to take our own taxi, either paid for by Exodus or by ourselves to be refunded later? I feel that a refund for this should be provided (45 euros), since had we waited Exodus would have paid for 2 taxis anyway.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    MOUNTAINS & VILLAGES OF EVIA

    I would happily do this holiday again!  I loved the greekness of Karyistos.  It's a working town not a tourist one.  The hotel sits on the harbour front where you can see the fishing boats preparing to go out to sea in the morning.  And in the evening you can eat wonderful fresh fish and drink cool greek wine in one of the lovely tavernas either on the harbour front itself or, our favourite, in the 'little alley' near the town square.  Each of the walks was unique, surprising and inspiring.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The climb to Mt Kliosi, the Acropolis, the Gate and the Cave of St Nicholas we did early in the week.  The weather was cool, despite a hot forecast and the mist rolled over us on the top of the mountain.  This walk was ,for me, like walking with the Gods.  A brilliant start to a great week.  We came down to the village of Nea Styra for lunch, ( a pretty late one).  A hot cheese pie had been prepared for us by the 92 year old lady of the taverna and a feast of greek food was laid out for us - what hospitality!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two; Thanos, exceptional in all his responsibilities.  He is approachable, likeable and extremely knowledgable.  He had to leave after the second day and Cecile took his place.  a French lady living in Karyistos.  She was equally likeable and led some great days out.  She gave us lots of background to life in Kariystos and seemed to know where all the best fruit trees were growing at that time - ripe mulberries off the tree YUM!  Sophoclese her dog accompanied us on the day out to Mt Ohi and the Marble Quarries and gave an added dimension to the day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Keep asking where you can fill up your water bottle and i always carried some snacks as most of our lunch stops were quite late.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I followed this trip immedaitely with 'Walking on the Greeks Islands'.  The combination worked really well with the change over in Athens with an afternoon to see the sights and a night out in the town.More islands, ferries, the blue aegean sea, sightseeing and leisurely walking. I'd just like to mention that we ate like pythons!!  The food just about everywhere was delicious, varied, fresh, and home grown.  and the local wines, which we drank by the carafe - well they just kept comng to the table and we had to keep drinking them.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN TUSCANY

    Great holiday made even better by a great leader - Sarah Bull.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sarah exceeded expectations. I damaged my hip shortly before leaving for this walking holiday so I expected to spend my time by the pool drinking gin and tonics. Thanks to Sarah showing me some shorter walks I was able to join in with the group, on some occassions, without spoiling their walking enjoyment. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The surprise Birthday Party organised by Sarah and the group was great. Ballons, sparkling wine, presents - what more could you want!
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO CLIMB - RONGAI ROUTE

    the head guide emmanuel was excellent and i was surprised at the high standard of the catering on the trip

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    getting to gilmans point

    What did you think of your group leader?

    emmanuel was a brilliant leader giving us plenty of good advice along the way

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    get to know the other people in your group early on

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    just one thing. the hired sleeping bag was good but tended to slid over the under mat too easily and so it would not stay in one position. would need an anti slip surface between them found it difficult to sleep
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLING THE DALMATIAN COAST

    A great holiday that provided some great experiences, but more importantly many pleasant memories.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Completing some challenging climbs, and once at the top enjoying some terrific views of the Dalmatian coast with newly found friends.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely terrific. Nice guy, a good leader on the road, and a good leader in the evenings.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If your not 100% sure whether this type of holiday is your thing, take the plunge as most likely you'll be left wondering why you didn't go before now.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'll go again.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    ESSENTIAL PERU

    This was my first Exodus trip and I was bowled over from start to finish! Will definitely be back for more and cannot wait to be on the next journey!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Machu Pichu was a dream come true and the initial reason for my choosing a trip to Peru. Other main highlights included an overnight stay with a family at Amantani – an emotional & humbling experience, and thereafter the Colca Canyon to view the majestic Condors in flight.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We were so very privileged to have Fabrizzio Cornejo as our Group Leader. His knowledge & understanding of his country and its people are phenomenal and the passion with which he performs his work is tangible. He went the extra mile in terms of taking care of the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prior to departure, I had done a fair amount of reading, particularly relating to cultures, history, and politics of the country and this most definitely made me appreciate & enjoy so much more the significance of all that I was experiencing. I also learnt a bit of very basic Spanish and it was fun putting it to practice!Pack half of the permitted baggage allowance as an excellent laundry service is available in Cuzco, and this also means you will have lots more space for shopping en route – the quality and range of Textiles are amazing and very hard to resist! Read the reviews on the website and be prepared for some long travel, although I did not find this unpleasant as the scenery, wildlife & diversity of the landscape more than compensated. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    For anyone passionate about travel, learning about new cultures and archeologically stepping back in time then move “Essential Peru” to the top of your wish list as this trip can only delight!! 
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    CROATIA: ISLANDS & MOUNTAINS

    I found the footpath's in Krk very stoney and rockey which was hard going for me to keep up with the younger members in the group; the cumulative effect of this was on the last day when the lip of my walking boot was making my ankle hurt and I decided not to do the walk; despite this and a previous tummy upset I enjoyed the holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The stay in Trogir was inspiring..

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Edu is a good and reliable leader with a sound knowledge of plant/flowers and wildlife in Croatia.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    None except the overnight stay in the mountain hut where, if the temperature drops, be prepared to go without a change of clothing for twenty four hours or so.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    A WEEK OF DISCOVERING ANOTHER WORLD

    A brief yet unforgettable journey into another land, a different way of life, and almost another time. Meeting the Bedouin people who remain untouched by greed for wealth despite daily contact with masses of humanity, and manage to remain happy and hospitable despite living such hard lives in inhospitable terrain, was quite a moving experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing 800 - odd steps up a steep cliff face in Petra, feeling exhausted and out of breath upon reaching the top, turning around fully and then discovering the massive stunning facade of El-Deir! A prize worth the hard climb uphill.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Knowledgeable, capable, kind, socially very responsible.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plenty of spares for photographic equipment or electronic equipment in general. It is hard to come by and ridiculously expensive in Jordan.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go prepared to have a great time. I haven't done the cycling or trekking trips, but I don't know if I would want to, seeing that there is so much to discover, especially in Petra. I would much rather spend all my time seeing other places, like Jerash, Madaba and Kerak. I would definitely recommend walking on one of the trails off the beaten path in Petra on the second day - ask your guide to take you to a viewpoint that allows you to look down on the treasury! Oh, and don't miss Petra by candlelight.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF CHINA

    A very well organised trip. We packed a lot into the 2 weeks, saw all the major sights and did lots of the extras as well. The traffic in the cities was horrendous, crossing roads was a nightmare! But I did manage to learn to eat with chopsticks-just about!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I really enjoyed the days in Yangshuo. The Liu Sanjie show was spectacular, the kayak trip was great, we finally got away from the crowds, and the tandem ride was fun, but a bit scary too in the traffic. I was really impressed with my cooking skills too! Also the Shanghai acrobatic show was amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Emma was very good and friendly and managed to keep smiling whatever she had to organise. She went the extra mile to give us a real flavour of the country, helping through all the trips on public transport, choosing lots of different dishes to reflect local specialities when we ate together and recommending extras that we could do.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be ready for very hard beds in most of the hotels! Apparently the Chinese like them, I needed to sleep on top of a duvet apart from in Shanghai. The Great Wall walk is hard work, be ready to bargain with your farmer "helpers", although I was glad of my lady's helping hand on the rocky parts. Beware of mosquitoes in Tongli and Shanghai!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The night boat trip around Guilin was a bit too much like Disney for my taste, but the other extras were worth it. A Chinese massage is also an experience, just what I needed after the Great Wall walk.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    PHOTOGRAPHIC SAFARI

    Stupendous safari with sightings galore, quality comfort and cooking, adventures abound with exciting encounters.  Highest honours to the hosts and proficient Paul's gregarious guiding contributed to a group of contented comparative strangers.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    As a first timer on a "proper" African safari we got off to a brilliant start but every day became special in its own way then the last drive on the last day exceeded expectations with the elephant encounter to surpass all others.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul's own indomitable style kept the group on high alert and his art as raconteur made evenings highly entertaining - his enthusiasm and passion for animals is manifestly evident.  A different judgement of your photography together with samples of his work provides stimulating thoughts and aspirational desires. I hope to have the delight of travelling with him again.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I was the only one in the group NOT to have an SLR - some could be intimidated by this.  Also if you have an ipad or similar for downloading and reviewing work with PG in the evenings - be sure to take it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Following on from the above - consideration could be given to which way a "photographic" trip should be set. Is it for the elite(?) SLR brigade or open to all with a camera who wish to improve their photography? Alternatively aim different trips at different levels?  
Call us on 1 844 227 9087