Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Word - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a personalised review link. Click the link and post your review. Simple. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous
    Cuba was a magical island, the scenery , weather, the food and especially the friendly people we met were fantastic. Everywhere we went music was playing which made for a fabulous atmosphere. I would love to go back to a few of the places we visited.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Eating out at gorgeous restaurants with fabulous food and a great atmosphere.Walking through the Sierra Maestre to see  the headquarters of the revolutionariesVisiting the Granma memorial in Havana, and seeing the vehicles used to start the revolution

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Freddy was fantastic.  He made the holiday what it was.  He was always very enthusiastic and full of energy to make sure that we made the most of our experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Learn to dance before you go.  The type of dancing they do is like Ceroc with more hip movements.  The locals will be very impressed when you can show them a few new moves.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just relax and enjoy yourself.  It is fantastic !
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous
    A really great wildlife adventure.  Rain Forests, beaches, volcanos, hikes, swims, adventures and plenty of birds!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There was more than one moment.The green turtle nesting and returning to the sea with the moon rising above the Caribbean sea with thunder and lighting in the distance.The humpback whale breaching in the Dulce Gulf again and again.The sea crashing through the trees where the rainforest touched the ocean.The lighting storm over the cloud forest whilst looking to the pacific ocean.The iguana falling out the tree by the bar in Tortuguero.Scarlet Macaws flying over the mangroves.Being woken up by Howler Monkeys.Need I say more?

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Berny was fantastic.  Warm friendly and knowledgable.  He went above and beyond with many more activities than the trip notes described.  In particular his early morning bird walks were a highlight for me.Without him the trip would not have been the success is was and I will always remember and be grateful to him for making my journey through Costa Rica memorable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go. Don't wait. Go.Be prepared for high humidity and take walking shoes with you - you will need them.Biting insects are everywhere - if you are prepared with long trousers and cover youself you will survive! Even though I did get some bites they did not detract from my wonderful trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Costa Rica is spectaular.Take every opportunity this trip offers.  Do the night walks, take the optional extras it will enhance your experience. 
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous
    What a wonderful experience! Excellent group members and excellent guides who made the whole trip an unforgettable experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Whilst plodding up to Stella Point in the dark and cold, feeling more than a little weary, the guides broke into song which raised the spirits enormously. Who would have thought that a cup of warm water could be such a welcome drink when we finally reached Stella Point? After a few minutes to regain our energy, the final hour to Uhuru seemed endless in the rarified air, but we finally made it! A moment of sheer exhilaration.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Samuel was undoubtedly the most experienced guide on the mountain. He dealt with everything in a calm and dignified manner and seemed to be respected by all other guides and porters. He was a fantastic group leader and we all felt very safe in his capable hands. His genuine concern for our welfare was second to none.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We were all rather surprised to have our Yellow Fever Vaccination Certificate scrutinised on entry to Tanzania. It seems this is essential if arriving via Addis Ababa. On arrival at Kilimanjaro Airport we were advised by the local rep to change some dollars into shillings - this is not at all necessary and indeed proved difficult to spend as everywhere is set up to take dollars.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't procrastinate - book the trip of a lifetime.
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous
    I learned, loved and laughed - it was an adventure with so much to awaken the senses - brilliant trip and highly recommended

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    You know that you have so much visiting these countries and it humbled me into realising this and that I should not get worried about the little things.  The people in these countries have little but seem the happiest I have ever met.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nee was the best tour leader I have known in 7 years of cycle trips.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Let them do everything and enjoy every moment.
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous
    A fantastic trek in the Himalayas with amazing scenery every minute of the day, this was a high altitude journey with the exciting opportunity to peak my first 6,000 metre mountain. I loved it!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing Stok Kangri was the most difficult thing I have ever done - but just the best experience ever! Every magnificent step. And a stunning sunrise I'll never forget.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Valerie Parkinson is extremely experienced, knowledgable and caring. She ensured that each group member achieved their best. She builds a great team of local staff around her, who together ensure that the camp is 'ship-shape' and the whole trek runs smoothly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a very challenging trek, and the final summit attempt of Stok Kangri is graded correctly as 'Tough' - don't underestimate it. Experience of crampon walking essential. Most people experienced altitude sickness of some kind, so be prepared and follow all the guidelines and support on offer from Valerie and the other staff.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you to everyone - I had such a great time.
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous
    This trek was through the most jaw dropping scenery! It was hard to take in the magnitude of the mountains, I felt privalaged to be able to do it.The trek itself was not too difficult but it was made tougher by the altitude and the heat at the start of the trek. The leader was superb as were all the staff, nothing was too much trouble and Ngima is possibly the most patient man on the planet! Amazing food on the trek including three birthday cakes baked at altitude.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably when we climbed up the first pass, I was feeling the altitude but the view when I finally made it was awesome. Everyone on our trek was very supportive of each other.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    What more can I say, a true professional and a real 'people' person. I felt very safe with him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is not a walk in the park, you definitely need a good level of fitness and expect some long days trekking. Also you can't know how you will cope at altitude but we all made it in our own time coaxed along  by our leader.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go for it, you will be rewarded by incredible scenery, meet lots of lovely people and there is a good chance you will lose weight for your efforts, what more can  a girl ask for?
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous
    A wonderfully well-crafted week's walking in an exceptionally beautiful and inspiring area.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    That cold beer after the long descent from the Lac Blanc; the leisurely picnic lunch on the Aiguillette de Brevent on the last walk with the opportunity to savour the stupendous view of Mont Blanc close up and the views over to earlier walks; the pink of the setting sun on the snow on Mont Blanc from the Chalet window.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Oliver is endlessly patient and good-humoured. Our group was of varying abilities and experience but he brought out the best in everyone. He manages the tasks of shepherd and host in a very relaxed way.  And he really knows and loves the area. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have a good level of fitness to enjoy the ascents. On a couple of days there are both long ascents and descents. If you are a very fast,fit walker you may need to accept that others are not and that you have to accept the necessary discipline of walking as a group. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This holiday exceeded my expectations in every way. For those doubtful about their ability to do a hut-to-hut in the high mountains it is a really good option. The Chalet isn't luxurious but it is comfortable and well set-up for walkers. And above all, you will have fun and be very well fed.
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous
    Fabulous trip taking in the wildlife of Kruger and Zimbabwe and the amazing beaches of Mozambique. Lots of driving but worth the wait as you travel from place to place each one with it's own character and memories. Mozambique was particularly special a Caribbean oasis on the coast of Africa - who would have thought that you could enjoy Mojitos at 11am on a beach! The people in 'Mozi and Zim' were welcoming and friendly and are their country's greatest assest in terms of tourism.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All inspirational! The crew were the best ever with T the greatest chef ever and Japhet the world's best driver who treated us to daily 'African Massage'. Seeing a cheetah in Kruger was awesome as were all the lion activities in Antelope Park. The trip out to the island on the Dhow in Mozambique was fantastic and the snorkelling was superb. Vic Falls was adrenaline fuelled as ever, having tried white water rafting last time in Zambia got persuaded to do the Flying Fox! The sunset cruise on the Zambezi was a nice ending to the trip with some of the nicest people that I have met travelling - Nina and the Cutest Canadian honeymoon couple!! to mention a few!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Crispen is the best tour guide I have ever come across as a seasoned traveller. Right from the start he shared his culture and history with us and was kind, humourous and generous. His 'truck is moving' and 'alllllright' cath phrases kept us entertained on long distances. Also Crispen was always willing to 'make a plan, for sure' about anything and everything! Crispen, T and Japhet went from 'crew' to good friends of ours in a short space of time and made the trip the best ever!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We went in August and unseasonable snow in Jo'Burg meant that it was freezing at night and in the mornings. So be prepared if you travel at the time of the year to bring extra clothes, good sleeping bags and when necessary uprade along the way - we did. Be prepared to muck in as this helps everything move along and gets you from A to B quicker. Bring extra padlocks for lockers on truck. Headtorches are a definite must and stock up on rusks and Mrs Balls along the way!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Wakanaka!! xxxxx
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous
    A great trip because of the people, the sights and the country but mostly the people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The smiles of the wonderful Burmese people, who despite having nothing welcomed us wholeheartedly.Getting soaked in a downpour in Yangon.The magic of Bagan and its thousands of temples.The Irrawaddy cruise allowed us to relax after a hectic few days and watch the country slip by.The beauty of the countryside around Kalaw.  The ride in Tommy's 1960 Land Rover!The day on Inle Lake was fascinating.Jasmine tea with cashew and chocolate brownie in The Strand hotel.My fellow travellers.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gabriel was a sweet and charming man who ensured that everything went smoothly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go now before  the innocence disappears.  If you go during the wet season make sure you have a huge umbrella! Be prepared to be exhausted, amazed and captivated in equal measure.Mint condition US dollars are essential otherwise they will be rejected.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a wonderful trip to a fascinating, beautiful and charming country.  The hotels were all comfortable with plenty of hot water in the showers.  All had a TV in the room, however, some international news channels disappear for periods of time when the news items concern Burma!The food is good, varied and cheap.  $300-400 for two weeks should be enough unless you are a huge shopper.
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous
    Unbelievable views and walking through a spectacularly beautiful country. Go for it!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to meet new and interesting people and the summit.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader Abdullah was knowledgeable, very personable and extremely trustworthy.  Three traits I found to be invaluable and comforting given how much you depend on them during the more remote sections of the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Only 1, get change in the form of coins and small notes.  Nobody outside of Marrakech will take 100Dh or 200Dh notes as they can't change it.  Even our Hotel didn't want them when trying to buy water.Also take a Platipus/Camelbak type hydration system as there are sections of long decent which both hands free for 3 - 4 hours and dehydration in the Atlas environment is too easy.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just go for it, I can promise you will not regret it.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087