Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Make 2018 Your Year of Adventure. Save $150 when you Book Now - Learn More >

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2012
    Anonymous

    PHOTOGRAPHIC SAFARI

    An utterly amazing week of wildlife viewing and photographic opportunities

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Without a doubt it was seeing a female leopard with 3 young cubs climb a tree; I feel incredibly lucky to have witnessed this.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul seems to have endless energy and enthusiasm on these trips!  His simple mantra of getting up early and doing time on the plains of the Mara well and truly reaps rewards.  I personally wouldn't do a safari any other way.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a laptop and external hard drive to download pictures.Pack light - there is an excellent laundry service at the camp. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The staff and guides at Bush Camp are amazing; the tents are extremely luxurious, the food as good as you will find in any top class restaurant and the camp managers extremely welcoming.  This, combined with the superb skill and expertise of the guides make for an incredible holiday.
  • Reviewed October 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLE MOROCCO'S GREAT SOUTH

    An excellent trip with plenty of cycling and good company. Get it booked!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    My favourite days were cycling from Tafraoute and then the following day from Imouzzer. The scenery was just spectacular and at times, you felt like you had the whole valley to yourself. Ok I confess to enjoying the climb to Tizi'n'Test as well!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Richie was just great. There were safety checks and cycling tips. He was excellent at making sure the whole group were briefed about the day ahead. Thanks to Richie and the local guides, the whole trip ran extremely smoothly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to be woken about 5ish each day by the early morning call to prayer.Take long sleeves for the evening and for cycling late on in the day. Be prepared for alcohol deprivation!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The only disappointment on this trip was the food. Any more chicken tagine and I would have sprouted feathers! You wont starve though and there are plenty of snack stops during the day to sample several of the tasty Moroccan chocolate bars.There are a couple of transfers missed off the trip notes. I would have liked to maybe miss out a transfer and finished the trip by cycling into Essaouira and arriving at the Ocean though not sure if this is possible logistically. 
  • Reviewed October 2012
    Anonymous

    PHOTOGRAPHIC SAFARI

    Wow wow wow. The Mara is a truly amazing, Kicheche is the icing on the cake of an amazing trip. 'I've been to Africa eight times and saw no Leopards. I came to Kicheche and saw Nine..'  Nothing more to say really, its Leopard Heaven. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

     So many moments on this trip, its hard to summarise but 3 that stand out.  Seeing my first Leopard, simply jaw dropping beauty. I couldn't believe this was on my first game drive and i had a full week ahead. I knew this was going to be a special trip.The time we spent with the female Leopard and her 3 eleven week old cubs. An amazing experience seen by so few. The early mornings spent with the lions and the morning rolling mist. Photography heaven..

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Well what is there to say about Paul Goldstein.   EnergeticCharismaticStraight Talking  Just a mere 3 things that might give someone an idea about his character. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared: Early Starts / Long daysFantastic wildlifeAmazing campSuperb hospitalityStupendous guides This trip will result in a complete imagefest, bring many many cards. You have been warned.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you've looked at Africa and are thinking of going, then there is no better place to see wildlife then the Mara. There is no better place to stay then Kicheche and there are no better guides then Charles, James and Patrick or hosts Emma and Darren at Bush Camp.. 'Don't delay, book today' You wont be sorry.. 
  • Reviewed October 2012
    Anonymous

    GORILLAS & MASAI MARA

    An unforgettable trip with some remarkable experiences.  But some long drives and days with limited activities.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Without doubt the top and tail of the trip: Gorillas and Masai Mara.  Also really enjoyed the walking safari in Lake Mburo and the game drives around Lake Nakuru.Rwanda was completely unexpected, a beautiful, clean, safe country and one we would recommend without hesitation.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Julias was an amazing group leader.  He was funny, caring, knowledgeable and dealt with any problems quickly and efficiently.  The rest of the crew, Mike, Ken & George were equally fantastic.  They made the trip as comfortable as possible (not easy with some of the more basic facilities and conditions).  I was the only vegetarian in the group and Mike catered for this by preparing special meals.  The food was varied and we even had some home comforts, everything from Weetabix to Chips!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    1)  Take ear plugs, some of the camps are very noisy into the early hours and with early morning starts sleep can be limited.2)  Take a couple of warm jumpers, a lot of the trip is at altitude, so sitting outside having an evening meal can get chilly.3)  For the lockers a normal TSA type padlock is suitable; but make sure it's a combination lock!4)  Do not leave any valuables in your tent, especially in the campsites with permanent tents.  Always lock them on the truck.  Unfortunately there was an incident in our group where a tent was broken into and belongings stolen.5)  Take a smaller bag to pack enough clothes etc for a couple of nights away from the truck (at the Masai Mara).6) Take something to do on the long drives.7) If you are planning to do any of the activities at Jinga, check your travel insurance before you go.  A few of us had to spend the day in the camp as we didn't realise we weren't covered until we got there.  The Rafting contains Grade V rapids, so you will probably need to tell your insurance company in advance.8) Before we went we specifically asked how much money we should take for tips, additional activities etc.  We needed a lot more than advised and would have preferred a trip where tips were organised by the tour leader.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We did the reverse itinerary and would recommend this.  It means you do the Gorilla Trek at the start of the holiday when you are still feeling fit and well!  We then finished at the Masai Mara which was a real high point to end the trip on.We gave the holiday three stars as the trip notes didn't give us an appreciation of just how much time would be spent either driving, or in camps without organised activities.  It was an absolutely fantastic holiday, but if we were to recommend it to a friend we would say do the Gorillas and Masai Mara and miss out the middle section. Whilst you shouldn't expect any level of home comforts (definitely no Power Showers there!), the facilities were not as bad as we were expecting.  And in many of the camps we were able to upgrade to rooms, cottages and even dorms, although this was probably because it was after the main season. 
  • Reviewed October 2012
    Anonymous

    Closer to gods

    Don't expect any comforts. Ignore headaches. And you will be rewarded with one of the best treks in the world!!! After a few days you might be tired of the Ama Dablam (I'm never tired of these!) or Mt Everest views - just in time to cross the Khumbu glacier that is going to keep you awake! This trek is not just about mountains - valleys are amazing as well, so don't think that the Renjo pass is the last point - the Bhote Koshi valley is just superb and this is where I took a LOT of photos (I put a few on my profile)!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Pretty much every day had a WOW moment. There was such a variety of landscapes and weather that we were constantly surprised! If I was to pickup one moment - it must be the Cho La pass. We woke up early that day just to see... snow! And then this quiet walk through the valley before the sunset, surrounded by white mountains. Amazing! And then a bit of rock climbing, glacier crossing, scree. Awesome!Also the helicopter flight we had to take was quite an experience!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jangbu had a very tough job:* Due to the monsoon our flight to Lukla was delayed possibly cancelled and we had to look for an alternative (at the end we hired a helicopter two days later).* Our guide had to stay in Kathmandu and when he eventually caught up with us, he suffered badly from AMS* Because of AMS we lost one of the porters* We were delayed, so were missing all our reservations.But together with the amazing assistant guide - Kusman - they put all together and we did the whole trek! Jangbu is a very good mountain guide and team leader. It would be nice if he told us a bit more about the country and that's the only bit of criticism.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a tea-house/guest house trek. Exodus ensures that certain basic hygiene standards are met, but they are not running them (with one exception) and conditions in some of them are really basic - you might even have a problem to get a bowl of water. If you can't live without shower every day - don't do this trek.Also this trek is for experienced trekkers - everyday you will be pushed further and higher. You have just a night to recover and due to a headache there are a good chances that you get just ~4 hours of sleep. Can you see yourself walking after a night like this? At this altitude?

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Enjoy the trek! For us it was the best trek we did to date and it is going to be a difficult one to beat!
  • Reviewed October 2012
    Anonymous

    EGYPTIAN DISCOVERER

    A really enjoyable well paced holiday with a knowledageable guide. A good mix between tourist sites and local flavour with Kahed taking us to some "local" eating places!. If you are expecting Europe 5 star then prepare tp be disappointed but on the whole the hotels were good especially the Luxor Jollie resort. The Nile cruise was a bit of a let down as we spent it moored in Aswan on Day 1 about 800 yards from our better hotel room we just left!. The rooms on the boat were not 5 star but it was still enjoyable once we got moving. Fantastic sights sounds and smells throughout teh trip made the better as tourism has not returned to 2010 levels.      

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It has to be the optional Balloon ride, but you have to be up early , we left at 04:30!!. Well worth it though, also Abu Symbol we flew which is much more expensive but again much easier than 3 hrs on a coach.Other sites , the tombs, Karnak, etc all breath taking. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Khaled took some time to warm up but had a great sense of humor and really knew his history, great host when he took us out at night.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Have an open mind, dont read loads of guide books as there is more in Egypt than you can possibly fit into this trip so you might feel that you missed things, but let the guide take you to teh highligts and trust.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Get used to being approached in the Valley of the Vendors and practice your not interested face.
  • Reviewed October 2012
    Anonymous

    THE LOST CITY OF PETRA - FAMILY HOLIDAY

    Amazing to think that floating in the Dead Sea didn't make it in to our top 3 activities for the week. It was trumped by 1. Sleeping under the stars by a camp fire in Wadi Rum, 2. Snorkelling in the life size fish tank that is the Red Sea and 3. Petra by candle light - magical.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Experiencing sleeping outdoors under the shadow of the towering rock faces of Wadi Rum and being able to clearly see all the stars, including the Milky Way next to the warmth of the camp fire. And then wake up for a camel ride. And to be able to able to share this exparience with your children.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ala was a good and informative leader who seemed to know everyone, everywhere. Most things ran smoothly and when they didn't Ala was able to rustle something up. His knowledge of the sites and history was excellent but he didn't always participte in all of the activities with the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Jordan wasn't particularly cheap and eating out (except some places in Aqaba) was quite pricey. There is quite a bit of travelling and a couple of packs of cards were essential. Ipods were also a god send - especially as a couple of the hotels had free wi-fi.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    What was refreshing was the ability to see fabulous historic sites and for there to be few health and safety restrictions/signs. This allowed the kids to run free and explore castles, Petra and the cliffs of Wadi Rum. The kids absolutely loved the freedom and this allowed the parents to discover things at their own pace and take the time to hear about the history without impatient kids. Our group ranged from children aged 7-14 and the activities allowed them to mix well and discover what being a kid used to be like - learning from playing outdoors.
  • Reviewed October 2012
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF CENTRAL EUROPE

    This was our first trip with a group of people on a bus trip, and also the first with Exodus, and my husband and I had a really great holiday.The trip had a perfect mix of city sightseeing, picturesque UNESCO world heritage sites and a trip into the Tatra mountain range, with a hike down.  

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our favourite stop was Cesky Krumlov in the Czech Republic, where we had a fantastic view from our bedroom window across the river and the village.  Second to this was our stop in the Tatra mountain range, where again the view from our room was breath taking. We also loved the walks through the cities, with the local guides giving us a potted history on our walking tours, with Prague and Krakow being our favourites. Budapest was also interesting, but the weather was rather hot for sightseeing, so a return trip to here is definitely on our ‘to visit’ list.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The tour guide Erik was really good, keeping our interest and making sure that everyone was enjoying themselves.  He always found traditional restaurants for the organised meals so that we could sample the local delicacies. Our coach driver was a very considerate and safe driver, and also joined in with little jokes, even though there was a language barrier.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My only advice would be to have some sensible shoes and a small amount of each local currency with you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

      The was a good mix of organised meals, and as the group got on so well many of us still went out for meals together on other occasions.  There were also opportunities to do independent sightseeing and meals if you wanted to. All in all a very enjoyable holiday, and I would highly recommend this trip for anyone that enjoys visiting historical cities with revitalising breaks along the way.
  • Reviewed October 2012
    Anonymous

    SIERRA DE AITANA TREK

    This was our first  hiking trip and it certaintly won't be our last as it beat all our expectations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking down the valley with a beer in our hands with fantastic company after an amazing 8 hour hike, sheer bliss!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jose was friendly, professional and his love and enthusiasm of Sierra was superb and we learnt so much and experienced amazing walks.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As this was our first hiking trip we were so relieved to find we kept up with some very experienced walkers, and walking poles are great and help with the steep descents.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    My husband and I were so unsure of this trip but from the people we met, to our fantastic guide,to the fantastic views it was as my children would say truly awesome!!!!
  • Reviewed October 2012
    Anonymous

    A TASTE OF CUBA

    A very enjoyable, varied, easy-going holiday, with a range of different activities balanced with free time to mix with other group members.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Trinidad - the atmosphere of the town seemed like.a good overall expression of Cuba itself. A bit run-down, a bit of a struggle for the locals who were nonetheless phlegmatic during the day and then flamboyant during the dancing at night. An interesting society, not at all hierarchical, so poor but inclusive and well-balanced in human terms.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lazaro was good, interesting and gave us a true appreciation of the attitudes of Cubans. I believe he reflected their reality in a straight-forward way, without too much personal gloss.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No, I think the description was accurate, and it's just a case of going, seeing for yourself, and maybe getting it right or getting it wrong in your own understanding.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    For this length of holiday, I think the balance was good. Some things didn't quite work out, but that is always going to be the case. The group was great, so that made the holiday great as well. A good mix of people who let things be, and aren't too prescriptive in their attitudes, or too judgmental overall.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087