Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed December 2012
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN ANDALUCIA

    This was a great trip. The Cortijo Rosario was a wonderful place to stay in a beautiful location, with excellent traditional food, and welcoming hosts. The walks were varied, with great views especially in the Grazalema mountains and El Chorro Gorge. It was a good group to spend the week with, and the leader was excellent - entertaining, informative and helpful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking in the Grazalema mountains, watching the birds sweep through the El Chorro Gorge, looking at the stars late at night, being in the winning quiz team!, meeting great people, drinking Andalusian sherry, eating delicious food, learning lots about the region, visiting Seville - especially the Alcazar, chatting into the night, and sitting by the pool in the sun.....

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had an excellent leader - he kept us entertained over the week, led the walks at the right pace, knew an enormous amount about the places we visited, and was organised but also relaxed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would recommend this trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a great place to stay. I would have loved some longer walks, but booked knowing not to expect that, so for me, I'd love to go back and do some longer walks around the area.
  • Reviewed December 2012
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN ANDALUCIA

    Set among olive groves in the lesser known part of Andalucia, the Cortijo Rosario farmhouse is the perfect setting & launchpad for walking in this landscape. The rest of the population just gets on with farmiing the fertile soil, or tending their herds, whilst still extending a warm welcome.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the olive harvest first hand in November 2012. It made me feel so close to something we take for granted -ie olive oil!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Inspiring and  knowledgeable, always good natured but genuinely interested in his clients and their lives.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you would like to try a quieter part of Spain, with a mixture of walking, culture and good food and wine in a tranquil setting, then go for this trip.
  • Reviewed December 2012
    Anonymous

    ANNAPURNA IN LUXURY

    Fabulous views and fantastic accommodation with a good variety of activities made this a perfect trip. It was almost like having three holidays in one, trekking rafting and then finally wildlife spotting.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Everest. The views of Annapurna were amazing. Spotting a tiger from the back of an elephant in the early morning mist. The local life style from city hustle and bustle to the peaceful villages still living a simple subsistence farming life.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Keshar is a great guy, he is very professional and knowledgeable. He is very passionate about Nepal and ensuring we all had a good time. We loved his optional walks in the afternoon and wherever we went people seemed to know him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You don't need to take shampoo or shower gel it is provided in all the lodges and the river camp and as you would expect in the hotels also. Water bottles are provided at the start of the trek and the down jackets hats gloves and crocs at the lodges are great. Once you start walking in the mornings you soon loose your fleece layer and the porters carry rain ponchos so you don't need to pack a raincoat. In fact you need very little other than a couple of changes of clothes. We visited a local school, it would have been really nice to have had some pens/pencils etc to give them. The Everest flight was brilliant, top of the world. Although the trip is graded leisurely the are a couple of days of quite strenuous trekking, especially if suffering with tummy trouble. Most of the trek is on uneven stone steps. I used a walking pole for the first time and found it quite useful both up and down, you don't need to take one as this is also provided at the beginning of the trek. The was a hair dryer and power points in each of the lodges and generally the water was lovely and hot.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food was excellent and abundant and a good variety at the lodges. Food in restaurants in Katmandu and Pokhara was more western and generally not quite as good. The accommodation in Chitwan is not as nice as the lodges but it was worth it to see a tiger. The Nepalese are lovely very friendly people. When shopping you are expected to barter which I normally hate but it was more of a friendly agreement at a price and the Nepalese are not aggressive or pushy. If you like great mountain views and walking but prefer a bit of luxury at the end of the day then go for it.
  • Reviewed December 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER BURMA

    A holday of golden pagodas and warm scented air, of far eastern food and lots of fruit. There is so much of interest to see in this green and pleasant land.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All the days were brilliant in their different ways but the best was spent on Inlay Lake. We glided across the lake under a clear blue sky and watched the local Shan fishermen trapping fish and leg rowing. We visited a pagoda and markets and walked through a bamboo forest. Later we were taken by boat to a restaurant on stilts and ate a loevely lunch while looking across the water and to the distant mountains.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader, Andrew, was fantastic. He had an extensive knowledge of everything we saw.  His English vocabulary was excellent.  Not only did we visit all the sites on the programme but on learning that there was a festival one day he took us off route to visit it. Also seeing some farmers winnowing hill padi he stopped the bus and we climbed a hill to watch them close up. He seemed to know instinctively what would interest us Europeans.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I did not see a single mosquito.  Buy laquerware in Bagan, Jade in Mandalay.  The girls selling tourist items are amazingly charming and polite but quite a lot of what they sell e.g. mother of pearl, has nothing to do with Burma.The Burmese are all very polite and never once did I feel uneasy on the crowded streets or exploring villages on my own.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would like to return and go to the teak forests.
  • Reviewed December 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER BURMA

    An amazing holiday in a fast changing country. As more people hear about Burma and tourist numbers grow it is inevitable that some of the charm of this wonderful country, which has been brought about by 64 years of isolation, will be lost. On the other side of the coin, democracy and freedom for these wonderful people will inevitably happen in due course

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The vista of the shrine/temple landscape of Bagan is truly one of the wonders of the world

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. An extremely knowledgeable and experienced guide

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring plenty of high capacity SD cards/memory sticks. Consider a spare camera

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Expect to be educated and surprised on this trip
  • Reviewed December 2012
    Anonymous

    ESSENTIAL PERU

    This trip certainly covers the ground and gives you an excellent taste of Peru.  There are long travelling days but the rewards from the scenery make it all worth while.  Early starts but you don't feel rushed as there are plenty of stops to enjoy the scenery.  The bus was very comfortable and even had it's own loo.  

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Machu Picchu is magnificent and lives up to the hype.  Best to go in the early morning to avoid the crowds.  The site is much bigger than I expected.   The other highlight for me was the home stay with a local family on Armantani Island in Lake Titicaca.  We were welcomed with open arms and well looked after while there.  Seeing the condors at Colca Canyon was another highlight.  Magnificent birds soaring effortlessly on the thermals - wonderful.   The Ballestas Islands on the first full day is another highlight.  The boat gets you quite close to the wildlife so good photo opportunities there too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Juan was a star - well organised, very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humour.  Everything ran very smoothly and his knowledge when visiting all the archeological sites was second to none. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take your camera and lots of memory cards!  As others have said, pack light; take layers and remember a sun hat.  There are laundry facilities available at the hotel in Cucso - excellent value at 7 soles per kg.   Money changing is easy too; change some at the airport but there are plenty of money exchanges in the towns as well as ATMs.  Take US dollars as sterling is not always accepted even in banks.  Dollars can be used to pay some of the entrances and tours.  The Sacred Valley of the Incas is an optional tour but I would recommend it; Ollantaytambo and Pisac are worth it. Follow the advice about drinking lots of water as it does help avoid altitude sickness.   There are shopping opprtunities everywhere and the goods on offer are well made and cheap.  I didn't have the heart to bargain too hard when the prices were low to start with.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Food was excellent all round.  In Cusco we tried some of the smaller local restaurants; good value for money and delicious.  Pisco Sours went down well as did Peruvian beer (which we've found here since getting home). 
  • Reviewed December 2012
    Anonymous

    EVEREST BASE CAMP & GOKYO LAKES

    Great trip, very hard and may need re evaluating by Exodus

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing up to the top of Gyoko Ri and looking over 4 x 8000m peaks

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was great, and very well supported by our assistant guide. My wife got altitude sickness at Gorak Shep and they did a brilliant job in looking after her and in the end we went down to Lobuche that evening. As Exodus are one of the biggest groups in the region, they were able to borrow an assistant guide from another group so the remainder of our group could continue, but we could go down with 2 people and be safe. Amazing service and can't recommend Exodus highly enough.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The TNE trip is really hard and the days that you do Gyoki Ri, Cho La pass and Base Camp need all th energy you have.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I truly believe that this trip needs to be re evaluated as doing Ri, Pass and BC are too hard back to back to back. The Cho La pass is now much more difficult with boulders coming down from the mountains and it takes a long time to get over. I think that it would be much better having an extra rest day before Cho La would help get over that and leave energy fork base camp and kalar pattar. This trip only has 1 rest day at Namche Bazaar but that is on the 2-3rd day and there is another really hard 12 after that.
  • Reviewed December 2012
    Anonymous

    ATLAS PANORAMA

    Great holiday - not too strenuous so plenty of time to feel like I was getting some 'rest' (albeit whilst walking!). The mountains were peaceful and remote. Just what I needed and no stress of packing everything up every day - a nice change from other holidays I've done.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking back towards the village on the last day in the mountains, seeing the stark contrast between the barren brown mountains against the lush green of the irrigated land in the low sun. Whilst we walked and talked, we passed many of the villagers walking into the 'fields' to work. It looked beautiful and it was humbling to see the locals go about their daily lives.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Leader was good but could perhaps have been more accepting of our questions about what was happening - us Brits like to ask lots of questions about what the plan is for the next day BEFORE it gets to the night before!!However, besides above, Hassan was very modestly and quietly caring, looking out for EVERY member of the group at all times. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you're going in November, don't underestimate how cold it might be in the evenings!! It wasn't ridiculously cold, I admit, but I was still FREEZING in the late afternoons/evenings in the gite - probably due to the temperature change more than anything else. I needed full thermals and as many jumpers as I could squeeze on. I wished I'd taken a warmer jacket (I left it at home thinking it wasn't needed). However, the gite does provide really warm blankets, which you can use any time and I was more than warm enough at night with a 2-3 season sleeping bag plus their blanket. The temp in the day was more variable but there was a definite chill in the air even in the sunshine. Quite pleasant when walking but could be a little chilly when stopped.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't forget that you can leave things in the hotel in Marrakech when you go up into the mountains so if you see anything you want to buy in the souks in the first day, buy it then or you may not find it again when you go back! They are a maze so you probably won't get back to exactly the same stalls....
  • Reviewed December 2012
    Anonymous

    GALAPAGOS WILDLIFE CRUISE

    One can always count on Exodus to provide the best way to discover new territories, and the Galapagos wildlife cruise aboard the "Cachalote" was awesome! The captain & crew are fantastic, I was even able to steer the yacht at Latitude 0! Our guide Darwin was exceptionnal, and the wildlife was..... WILD!!!!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking on the lava fields and imagining how it must have been when the earth was booming with activity. It made me feel very humble towards the magnificence and power of our planet. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Darwin rocks!!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't hesitate: just GO! But do not forget to take good earplugs as the engine is really loud in some cabins.I had a long wetsuit and was never cold, so consider bringing one too. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We had a fantastic holiday! The opportunities for getting up, close & personal with tortoises, turtles, iguanas, sharks, dolphins, mula-mulas, sea-birds.... are incredible. Everywhere you look, there is something going on! Watching baby sea lions just a couple of hours old sucking away without any worry in the world was so lovely. I just took so many photos and video, it is going to take me weeks to sort them all out! (sorry, not very well said, but I am french...   Anyway, just GO and see for yourself!) 
  • Reviewed December 2012
    Anonymous

    DELHI TO KATHMANDU

    An excellent trip, great experiences, many highlights, great memories (and photographs) - also great value for money.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sunrise at the Taj MahalSunset & evening prayer on the Ganges at VaranasiEarly morning on elephant back in Chitwan ParkSunrise at the Annapurnas from PokharaPashputinath at KathmandhuRickshaw rides through the mayhem  !!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Harish was first class, took care of everything ! Helped us get to see the "real" India by stopping at local markets and family homes en route. Picked out good restaurants. No "Delhi Belly" for us ! Good personality, sense of humour & knowledge.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I`m sure people considering this kind of trip will realise it`s not a holiday, you probably won`t come back feelingrested and refreshed ! But you will come back having had a great travel experience, seen and done really memorable things, with plenty of tales to tell.We always felt safe and welcome, with the local people always ready to try and talk to you,  even if they needed to get over some initial shyness first.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just do it !! If you`re not sure and worrying about this or that - just take the plunge !!We`re going to book a "Tiger trip" with Exodus soon ! 
Call us on 1 844 227 9087