Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2013
    Anonymous

    SPICE TRAILS OF KERALA

    What an amazing trip; everything I hoped it would be and more!  I've done a few of these sorts of trips before and this one is up there as probably the best.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting away from the tourist trail and being up-close to the local people, flora and fauna.  The back-waters of Kerala are absolutely beautiful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Arvind was friendly, approachable and well-informed even though this was not his regular tour.  He was very good at keeping the group under control and making sure we got the most out of the trip.  He even included some interesting trips that were not on the trip schedule.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It was very hot and humid when I went at the end of March, so be ready for that.  The camping is fairly basic, including the sanitary arrangements and it was a good thing that we did it at the start of the trip so that the remainder of the time could be enjoyed in a personally clean condition.  The local support guys for the camping were brilliant anf the food they produced for us was incredible.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip title does not fully decribe the range of experiences on this trip.  It would have been nice to have the hotel in Cochin in the older part of the city (Fort Cochin) instead of the newer part.  Otherwise 'well done' Exodus, I will be back again for a new adventure.
  • Reviewed May 2013
    Anonymous

    CUBA: LA ISLA GRANDE

    What we liked: The people, forest walking especially in the Sierra Maestra to Fidel Castro's hideout, the old colonial architecture, and the multi-coloured houses and palaces. Transport - old cars, lorry buses, bullock carts, bicycle taxis, horse and cart taxis.No so good: Standard of plumbing: having to put all toilet paper in a bin rather than the toilet. No water at times to flush toilet or have a shower.  Water dripping from room ceiling - though compensated for by hotel management with a bottle of rum!!Lot of driving but the coach was comfortable and air conditioned and Ernesto our driver was an excellent driver and we did get to see a lot of the countryside.  

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting Fidel Castro's hideout in the Sierra Maestra. The meal we had at a farmhouse in Santo Domingo. The canon firing at El Morro Castle in Santiago de Cuba.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Enio was always cheerful and full of local and historical information. He answered all our questions no matter how silly!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Cuban tourist cards are available in Gatwick Airport (Virgin Atlantic desk) if you make a mess of filling them in and have no time to get another one from Exodus. However, they will cost you £30. Our advice is to fill it in immeediately you receive it from Exodus rather than leave filling it in the day before you travel.
  • Reviewed May 2013
    Anonymous

    CLASSIC RAJASTHAN

    This was our fourth Exodus trip and, once again, the experience lived up to our expectations.  The balance of guided tours to free time and exploring cities and exploring countryside worked really well and provided us with wonderful memories.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On being greeted at the airport by our tour leader Jatin, who said that if I was still smiling at the end of the holiday then he would feel happy that he'd done his job.  That set the scene - the Indian people were lovely - and I was still smiling at the end of the tour!Seeing the Taj Mahal at dawn - it didn't matter that I'd seen it in the media a thousand times before - here it was for real!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent - a sense of humour, very knowledgable and very professional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you get some small denomination notes or coins as soon as possible for tips - everyone seems to give you large denominations.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    More time in Delhi.  A lot of the time we spent driving around in a mini-bus, with very little time to explore. This is an observation rather than a complaint, as I appreciate the enormity of the place together with time constraints.We were subjected to the usual Exodus visit to a (carpet) factory and some other emporiium (which I refused to go in).  My wife and I don't like what still seems like an obligation to buy despite protestations from the employees. It's not just an English thing - our group of 6 were from England, Wales, Ireland, Scotland, Canada and USA- and none of us enjoyed such visits!
  • Reviewed May 2013
    Anonymous

    GET INVOLVED: MOROCCO VOLUNTEER

    This was my first trip to Morocco and my first time on one of the Get Involved trips.  We got to see the work that was previously done by the groups on prior trips which was inspiring...then we got stuck in and started on the current projects.  Working along side the locals in Tighza, Imlil and Tafedna was a wonderful experience -- at time exhausting but so very rewarding.  Having a good laugh with the locals and sharing lunch and tea breaks made the experience one I will never forget.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    What always amazes me is the ability of people to communicate and connect with each other inspite of language and cultural barriers.  Often the results are things that will live in memory for a life time.  Working with the locals was the most inspirational bit and seeing how those who had been in previous years were welcomed back as "old friends".  I look forward to returning again myself and continuing my connection with the country and it's people.Specifically the trip to the Hamam in Tighza - only the ladies who were there will really know what an experience it was.  Thank you to Fatima for her hard work!The ingenuity of the local people.  Coming from a technical background one has expectations on how things will be done.  However the best was is often the simplest and often we forget this.  The locals did a brilliant job  of getting the job effectively and efficiently and it was a constant wonder for me to watch them in action. Realizing all that was accomplished at the end of the day.  Often at the start (especially with digging) it feels like you're getting no where fast, but then at the end of day to see how much the team and locals were able to accomplish together was so motivating.  As was the amazing scenery that was around us at all times. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andy is very passionate about the charity work and is an inspiration himself.  He obviously has a great relationship with the local guides and the people in the communities that Baraka work with.  He did a great job of managing the needs of both the individuals and the group collectively while keeping in mind the purpose of the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with an open mind, be ready to work hard, go with the flow and have fun.  You too will want to return again and again. Be prepared for windy roads, washing your hands regularly, and possilbe stomach upsets.  Pack wisely so that you can bring / wear older things that at the end of the trip you can donate...this will also make your bag lighter and/or leave room for shopping in Essouaira. 
  • Reviewed May 2013
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER COSTA RICA

    A great overall and varied introduction to an amazing country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being in such close proximity to beautiful hummingbirds

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Johnny is a wonderful guide and ambassador for Costa Rica.  If he didn't know something, (which was rare) he would find out and let you know the answer. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go! You will not be disappointed.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We had a great time.
  • Reviewed May 2013
    Anonymous

    CYCLE NAMIBIA

    I thought after the first day of cycling I was going to hate this trip, but it got much much better. Being on the ground cycling through the dunes or with a random zebra crashing through a fence and bounding across the road in front of you is an amazing experience. Well worth the sometimes challengin cycling.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery is amazing. You can feel like you are the only person in Namibia as you don't see people or cars for very long periods of time. Cycling gives you a feeling of being imersed in your surroundings that you won't get from sitting in a bus all day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sven, Rodger and Robbie were extremely organised and got us going on time every day down to the minute. The food was beyond expectataions, expecially the fish curry. All 3 were knowledgeable about the landscape, animals and history of namibia.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Probably best to bring a gel cover for your seat. The roads can be bumpy on your bum. Also a good idea to prepare yourself for riding on sandy gravel roads. A bit tougher than I expected. Well worth it though!
  • Reviewed May 2013
    Anonymous

    LANGTANG & GOSAINKUND

    A fantastic trek through changing ever scenery.   Snow capped moutains, beautiful lakes, river valleys with waterfalls and rhodedendrons in full flower, together with many  birds and animals; so much to look at. We had a great leader in Sukman who made sure we all  had a really enjoyable trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many! The unspoilt beauty of the area. The absolute silence in the mountains. As always, the friendly, smiling local people for whom nothing is too much trouble and whose lives seem so hard in comparison to our own. I felt both amazed and humbled.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sukman was marvellous. He was professional, always friendly and cheerful,  highly organised and I felt that nothing was too much trouble for him.  He was both proud and knowledgable about his country and was happy to share infomation and to answer questions.  He made sure that he was aware how each member of the trek was feeling, and, if additional help and support was required (as in my case) it was arranged.  Both he and the guide Pemba helped me considerably for which I am very grateful. We had a good team looking after us who all worked hard to ensure we  had a great trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The lodges are basic but quite adequate.  Take wet wipes. antibac gel, but most things like snacks and toilet rolls are obtainable. Make sure that you are fit - the days can be long

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was a wonderfuk trek in a truly beautiful part of the world,  a great bunch of people and a superb leader. If you get the chance - go for it!!
  • Reviewed May 2013
    Anonymous

    A WEEK IN JORDAN

    An excellent holiday, you see as much as you can of Jordan in 1 week.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra of course, the main reason for going, we get 2 whole days to explore which is plently of time.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Dont worry about the camping night, mattresses are very comfortable. Blankets looked clean and warm, but I did use my own sleepng bag.Snorkelling from the Royal Diving club in Aqaba is excellent, in case you dont fancy the optional boat trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    go!
  • Reviewed May 2013
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM BY BIKE

    Great group of like-minded people, good balance between cycling & sight-seeing, and very helpful and fun tour leader & support team

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    cycling down to Dead Sea

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good - consciencious, good sense of humour. Knew his stuff!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Only minor niggle was difficulty finding info/ contact for group visa before clearing immigration at Amman.Hotels surprisingly good.
  • Reviewed May 2013
    Anonymous

    GALAPAGOS WILDLIFE CRUISE

    Wonderful experience, exceeded my expectations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Cachalotte is a superb boat and the staff are exceptional, the chef needs a medal the food presented was far superior to any hotel I have stayed in.  Nothing was too much trouble , especially  helpful getting into the panga's!!  Juon was a very knowledgeable guide, friendly and socialable.The wildlife exceeded all expectations we saw it all as per itinerary, I had never snorkelled but managed to and saw fabulous fish , inquisitive seals and penguins darting round me, turtles and much more.  Weather was perfect, no rain, sun protection is a must, only one suffered sea sickness (mildly) Land wildlife, flowers, scenery superb tooLong journey to destination, Iberia OK but boy was it worth it.  Quito - go to old town lovely, Cuba hotel was excellent.Highly recommended.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Juan was so knowledgeable really showed his 25 years experience, very friendly and efficient. Sat with us in the evenings to discuss with us what we had seen that day. All transport, transfers went like clockwork

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Sea sickness was not a problem on our trip, but there are tablets available.  Altitude in Quito not a great problem just keep drinking water .  Bellavista was a nice trip from Quito but only if not raining, it can be very cold and damp there and not a lot to do/see if wet. Must go to the Palace in Quito old town, free guided tour and photo.Be aware that despite transferring from one plane to another @ Madrid your alcohol will be taken away, insist shops put it in sealed bag, mine was treble wrapped in bubblewrap and they still took it , I lost $52.If poss take a pillow for the boat, mattress and pillow on hard side!! You can use it on the plane too .

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you have never attempted to snorkel here is the perfect chance, all the equipment and superb opportunities almost every day- twice a day.  I cannot swim but still had a go with a life jacket, had one beach and the mammal's/fish to myself last day !! Superb experience
Call us on 1 844 227 9087