Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Make 2018 Your Year of Adventure. Save $150 when you Book Now - Learn More >

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2017
    DAVID BELL

    Walking in Madeira

    A very interesting and beautiful walking trip led by a very knowledgeable leader, Andre. Each walk was different and Andre provided a wealth of knowledge as we went along. Hotels and food were very good.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All the walks were interesting but I particularly enjoyed day 2 on a levada and then a path high up on the north coast with great views all the way.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andre was very passionate about Madeira and his knowledge of the plants, birds, history, etc. was very good. He was well organised and everything ran smoothly. He was great fun too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Walking poles, good boots and waterproofs are always useful. There are some steep accents and descents but everyone in our group managed the distances okay.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Catherine .

    Incredibly impressed

    As a family we have done many trips with Exodus in Africa (various countries), Canada and most recently my parents attended the Western Explorers trip in America to see Yosemite, Bryce Canyon and The Grand Canyon which Exodus arrange in partnership with Grand American Adventures. We have always found Exodus trips to be incredibly well planned and organised, ensuring that you see the very best parts of the areas you are visiting in the timescales available. The trips are ideal because there is no hassle involved for the traveller and you are guaranteed to meet like-minded people of all ages and backgrounds to enjoy the experiences with. This particular trip was no exception. I write this review however to say a huge thanks to both Exodus and Grand American Adventures as they were absolutely fantastic to my parents and the family back home in England when my father suffered a serious and unexpected illness and had to be rushed to hospital. With specific mentions to Bethany, Monica and the tour guide Charlie, who all went out of their ways to ensure that lines of communication between us, the insurance company and the hospital were clear and effective, to provide my parents with support and to give the family back home piece of mind at what was a very difficult time for us. We will be forever grateful. There is absolutely no doubt that you will be in safe hands with this team.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    .

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    .

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    .
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Guy and Nicky Mason

    Great group, fantastic local knowledge of the guides and great pedalling

    A perfect break taking us away from the daily pressures! Michele and Simone were perfect guides - we learned a lot about Sardinia, Italy and many other things. It was a perfectly pitched level for us, with Nicky being pushed close to her limit whilst also being enough cycling for me as well. Lovely trip to the islands, great hike on one afternoon, wine tasting and a couple of Agriturismos. October weather was kind to us - many sunny days with a slightly challenging head wind for a couple of days - that added to the challenge!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many of the amazing sights

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michele never ran out of energy! Amazing local knowledge. Supported very well by Simone, also a great leader and from Sardinia too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Quite a tough pedal - maybe on the border of 4 rating? But fantastic so don’t let that put you off!
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Dominique Hopes

    Great Wall trip-can not recommend enough!

    Travelled alone on the trip, met some incredible people and shared some phenomenal walks! Exodus made real effort to give us the full China experience, rural walks and tourist excursions. Already booked my next trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Rural walks with amazing scenery

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Humourous, knowledgeable and have plenty of cultural facts. Could have done with a second person as sometimes half the group fell behind as slightly held up the rest of us!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do everything, take on all challenges and you'll be amazed what you can achieve.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you to all involved. Feel the community blog aspect could have been highlighted to those booked as only found one person before my trip which was a shame as a solo traveller.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Ursula Bischoff

    Great Itinerary, Bad Hotels

    The itinerary for this trip is great - you'll get a wonderful overview of Morocco as you'll visit the cities, the desert and the mountains. Our tour guide was knowledgeable as I've come to expect it from Exodus, and the local guides used at some sites were great as well. What let this trip down were the hotels - they're just not particularly good for the Standard departures. Most of them were noisy (the one in Fes is literally next to a mosque) and in need of refurbishment (Meknes), the beds were uncomfortable verging on painful, and in some cities you're not really where the action is as you're not staying in the Medina (Fes/Marrakech). The camp in the desert is very basic (does have toilets, though, but not much else in terms of comfort). Personally, I felt the 2 night stay in the Atlas mountains was a bit pointless - the hammam was interesting as we got to interact with the locals, but otherwise not an amazing experience and the walk was just going back and forth on a mule track.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking at the stars in the desert.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Marilyn Murray

    Marilyn's Review

    A really interesting holiday with lots of variety -loads of archeology and history, lovely churches, quaint hill top towns, nice coastal towns, main towns Catania(pretty) and Palermo(busy), mount Etna, very good group leader and local guides, a comfortable coach, good driver and of course great weather. I feel I have definitely seen the best of Sicily. The accommodation unfortunately was disappointing except for hotels in Catania and Cefalu which were great. We had very damp rooms on two occasions, a B&B, quite basic tourist and tired hotel in Palermo etc. The holiday was not cheap and was advertised as having 3/4* hotels so I expected something better than we had. I would rate it as Very Good if the accommodation had been better.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Villa Romana in Casale - wonderful mosaics ; seeing(amazing views) and being on mount Etna

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent - very knowledgable and enthusiastic about archeology and Sicily in general. Good fun as well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a busy schedule.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Better with more time in Noto and Cefalu(even finish up here)- both lovely and less or no time in Catagirone which apart from the steps was a bit boring. Taormina was ok but quite touristy. It would have been better however if we had a nicer and more accessible hotel especially as it was our last stop.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Cat Conley

    Great trip

    Great trip but a lot of time traveling. Which if you can sleep on buses is great as gives you a chance to catch up. It really is a on the go all times trip. But the locations and different cities is worth it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Loved the kayaking especially in the rain.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Lam was great. Good sense of humour, and the patience of a saint.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I think this trip is accessible to all. I would recommend taking an umbrella. Buying a waterproof case/pouch for phone for the kayaking. Pack of cards. Small hold-all for all the home stays. Most of us just had backpack which we needed to use for walking so ended up with stuff in platic bags.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Well worth doing. I got to see all of Vietnam in a short time.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Mark Bottomley

    Essential Peru

    A comprehensive tour of the best cities in Peru, a lot of travelling but well worth it

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There was something everywhere we visited from Condors and other wildlife to historical sites and remains

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Exodus recruit local people who can offer a unique insight to the country, our group leader was struggling a couple of days but sourced a replacement guide who took his place so we didn't miss anything

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for long drives and early starts but the pay back is getting to see a lot of Peru in a short time

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Try the local cuisine whilst there as it is varied but not all of it is as authentic as you might first think on some excursions
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Malcolm Otter

    Mountain of Dreams

    For me, the best trek I have ever done - that includes Concordia/K2 twice, Everest (both north and south) Annapurna circuit and sanctuary, Nanga Parbat, Hushe and Gondokoro etc., etc. Truly astonishing views, wonderful trekking team, marvellous leader - Valerie Parkinson - and great group of trekkers. What's not to like? We were so lucky with the weather which was superb through out and gave us an unforgettable sunrise on Nanda Devi East and Nanda Devi which produced more than a few tears of joy and wonder at the shear beauty of these mountains. Thank you Exodus for helping me to realize a childhood dream.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Performing a puja at the Nanda Devi Temple above Milam before a spectacular sunrise on Hardeol.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Simply superb.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the 1700 meter descent on the return - your knees will scream!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There are no words to describe this incredible trip - just go and do it!
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Susan Hodgson

    Inca Trail & Amazon Rain Forest + Homestay

    All in all a great trip - I met some great people and saw some amazing sights, but this is no walk in the park and I don't think any of us on the trip fully appreciated just how mentally and physically challenging this trip would be -with a rating of just 3 I think most of us who are experienced hikers - myself and two others hiked in Nepal last year and one of our grp had hiked to Everest base camp thought although a challenge we would not have to many problems - we had underestimated the effects of walking at altitude and not taken into consideration that it would most likely rain as it did for 2 days solid and then having to sleep in tiny tents which let in water whilst wet and cold was not exactly much fun

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Most would say when they reached Sungate and looked down at Machu Picchu for the first time and indeed this was an amazing sight but for me it was on the third day of the hike - i had been walking on my own for the first three days as there was a very fast group which although I do understand everyone has to walk at their own pace this meant that the group was spilt up into fast/medium walkers some in the middle and two sensible couples who took their time at the back - I sat down utterly exhausted both mentally & physically when this beautiful humming bird come and sat right in front of me and sung his heart out - a very special moment for me

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our grp leader Julio - a man with great patience and always a smile on his face. Nothing was ever too much trouble for this young man I do feel however, that Julio could have controlled the hike so that we were not so far spread out - I do understand that there was a great difference in ability from the fastest to the slowest but by letting everyone do there own thing it did for me basically end up with me having a solo walking holiday which is not what I had signed up for.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    oh yes lots! Don't worry about taking clothes for each part of the tour - you can get laundry done in between trips thus cutting down on what you need to take Amazon - take walking boots and flip flops - there are wellies at the camp if it rains. Take shorts and t-shirts to wear around the lodge The trip notes say that you can only take 20kg on internal flights this is wrong you can take 23kg Make sure you take lots of insect repellent The Sacred Valley trip before you begin the Inca trail is a must Take your time on the walk - yes its a struggle and I know some people just want to get to the end but you will miss so much if you don't look around at your surroundings and most importantly encourage those around you who maybe struggling Remember to pack thermal clothes and invest in a good sleeping bag - I would also recommend taking your own roll mat as the one provided is really very small

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Travel If time is not an issue for you ask about the direct flight to Lima - it does mean that you arrive a day earlier /leave a day later then the group flight but well worth it in my opinion. especially on the return journey - our flight back from the homestay was delayed and we did not get back to Lima until gone midnight and many then had to leave on a 18hr journey home at 9:00 - I and two others stayed on a extra day and we were able to rest before the long journey home and explore Lima at our leisure which was quite a change from the fix itinerary we had been on for the past 2 weeks
Call us on 1 844 227 9087