Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2017
    Rachel Harrison

    A superb trip with breathtaking views.....

    This is a superb trip. Fitness tested but did improve as the week went on. A "fast and light" way to achieve the Tour du Mont Blanc with only a weeks leave. I enjoyed it from start to finish. Many thanks Exodus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking down into Orzieres and finding our quirky little hotel with a friendly manager and lovely food. A beer in the local cafe rounded off the day. Waking up in Italy to bright blue skies and phenomenal views that we hadn't seen the day before. The coffee in the refuges was a highlight and a welcome pit stop. This is a challenging trek and completing each day left you tired but happy (and nursing the odd blister!)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nick was an excellent leader with extensive alpine knowledge. He looked after the group well, altered plans as required and kept us entertained!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travel light! The hardest bit is carrying 10 kgs on your back. You really do not need much. I managed to wash a tee shirt and trousers and they dried (just) overnight. If your feet are at all vulnerable, protect heels and toes with tape (zinc oxide/kinesio tape - learnt from my fellow travellers) as walking with open blisters can be very challenging!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Excellent trip. Made all the more fun by a really great group of people who got on well and supported each other.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Janet Gibbons

    Highlights of Albania

    A wonderful trip to a country emerging from very difficult times, accompanied by a good group and fab guide.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Most days there were great experiences. Berat and Gjorokastra were stunning cities, beautiful mountainous scenery, the Blue Eye, the icon museum at Korce, having lunch with a lovely family in Dhoksat, archeological ruins at Butrint, etc. I could go on. And then there was friendly welcome from the Albanian people.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Klodi was an exceptional guide. Passionate about and proud of his country, extremely knowledgeable and professional, caring and very good company with a great sense of humour!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Nothing in particular.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Changing hotels every night might seem daunting but it was a thoroughly enjoyable and quite relaxing. Moving on was not a problem. I would thoroughly recommend this trip. Albania has so much to offer.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Susan Hely

    Great way to discover southern italy

    I recommend this tour of two regions of southern Italy - Basilicata and Puglia and our wonderful guide Guissepe. Relaxing walking off the beaten track together with great local food and wine. Guissepe took care of all the details including organising gluten free food. I was particularly impressed by his plant knowledge as well as history, particularly of ancient Matera. Good amicable and interesting group. Highlights included staying in the Masseria, home cooked feast of food from their garden, swimming at a beautiful sandy beach after a long hot walk followed by a memorable seafood lunch. And dinner at a farmhouse where they kept cows and made all their own cheeses.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sunset at Matera - really beautiful

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Loved Guissepe. Never had my Coeliac's disease looked after so well. Very helpful. Good knowledge.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Maybe ask for different rooms. Webput up with a very damp and airless room at the sassi hotel - room 610 - and the third night I was really sick with a cough and had to sleep with my daughter who had a lovely room - 502. Should have asked to change!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Sarah Byrom

    Cycle Cilento, Amalfi Coast

    This was the first Exodus trip I've done and I can honestly say it's one of the best holidays I've ever had. Our tour guide, Alessandro, was EXCELLENT, so helpful, hard working, knowledgable and friendly. Nothing was too much bother, he really did go the extra mile to ensure we all had a great holiday sharing all his local knowledge and taking us to some fantastic places. If you like mountainous national parks, stunning coast lines, amazing food and some golden sun then this is the tour for you! The only thing I would say is that there are definitely some steep ascents involved so if you're not feeling 100% energetic an e-bike might be a good option for you (as I opted for & highly appreciated - although all the others in my group who opted for a normal bike seemed fine with this option too so just a personal preference at the end of the day). I should also say, Raffaele, our driver was GREAT too. A fantastic trip - highly recommend and a big thank you to Alessandro, Raffaele and all at Exodus!!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cilento national park Amalfi coastline Ravello Amazing food!!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Maggie Burghuber

    Chianti walking and wine

    The setting in the converted farmhouse is absolutely idyllic - but remember that September is the beginning of autumn and the altitude is high, so you really need to pack something warm for the evenings. The staff are really friendly and very helpful and the accommodation is clean. I did find the twin beds narrow and the shower a little cramped : but then you get used to it. The meals at Castella were excellent, especially the antipastas, and the buffet on the first night was to die for - but overall I was disappointed at the vast amount of meat and the lack of fresh salads/vegetables. We found the same trend even when eating out ..... meat, meat , meat. Perhaps the wine compensated for it? I'm sure I got my 5 -a-day from the wine alone!! it flowed! Oh, and don't forget the gelatos! I must say we had a fantastic guide- nothing was too much for him. We'd slog away at the "undulations" (the in-word on our tour)and spent 2-3 hours relaxing in the town, while he'd WALK back again to pick up the minibus. And the wine-tastings were brilliant: we've all learnt about chianti classico. Fantastic cheeses and delicious olive oils were provided. No tasting was the same! Honestly, we all got on so well. Thanks Mark for making our tour so enjoyable and such fun.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery was so beautiful. Vineyards and olive groves lining the hillsides. Tall, slender Cyprus trees pointing their way up to the sky - hilltop villages, many of them walled. While walking the vistas would open up, one after the other and I never grew tired of taking them all in

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mark was fantastic. He had so much energy : was up early, kept the timings so that the full itinerary was completed and more; his sense of humour was encouraging. We all know the Italian for "undulating" now - some of them were "cheeky undulations" - or a "little bit of an undulation". What I really found good was the way Mark would drop back and walk with the slower people to encourage them on. After we had walked 9 or 12 km he'd leave us at a town, so we could get a bite to eat, while he'd walk back to fetch the minibus up. Or he's run on ahead to bring the bus down to a meeting point. Incredible- he must be so fit. And whilst out on the walks he carried extra supplies of snacks for the group, so we could up the sugar intake and find our energy for the next etappe. I couldn't believe the extra mile he went to deliver pizzas on his day off. We were sitting in the town and saw him bent on a mission - staggering out with a pile of pizzas for those who chose not to leave the villa His planning was meticulous and he was so knowledgeable about the area. I would say he helped to make the tour so enjoyable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack rainwear - Pack a torch Take something warm to wear in the evenings

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just thank you to all who contributed to making this tour happen
  • Reviewed September 2017
    John Shorney

    Tougher than expected

    This trip certainly deserved its 2 rating. Its description of "easy to moderate" underated the cycling as we found it was 'at least' moderate on all days but the last. The hotels were generally of good standard. But two of them were "out in the country" so there was no alternative but to eat in the hotel itself. The cyles themselves were good quality with handlebar and rear panniers. An electric bike for one member proved a blessing, although it did break down once in the trip [may have been our fault]. Very detailed route maps and instructions were daunting at first, but if you followed them carefully they proved to be very accurate.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Firstly, getting to the Hotel Randa after a long and tiring climb. Secondly, cycling along the Pollenca Bay seafront.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Not applicable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Regard this as a 'moderate ' ride rather than an 'easy' one.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Neil Hatherley

    Good holiday, Rubbish Equipment

    Excellent holiday. Hotel wasn't bad, Equipment was crap, we had a bike mechanic that didn't care and didn't know what he was doing. Should of better bikes and if we had more people on the holiday, then I wouldn't know how they would of coped.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Went to Petra to see all the temples.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I've had better before. The first group leader never rode with us

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take more money for the add ones.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Neil for his feedback, although we are very sorry to hear that he was disappointed in the quality of equipment provided for the trip. The safety of our clients and quality of our bikes and equipment are of the upmost importance to us, and we will be investigating the issues Neil has raised in order to ensure all equipment meets the high standards we expect from our local operators.

     

    Monica Princic – Product manager for Jordan

  • Reviewed September 2017
    David Bruce

    The Italian Dolomites: Self Guided Walking

    Dobbiaco was a tremendous centre and the Park Hotel Bellevue was everything that we would have wanted. The guidance notes for the walks were excellent and each of the itineraries gave us a different view of the Dolomites from rolling pastures to jagged peaks. I would unreservedly recommend the holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking in the Tre Cime was beautiful and quiet with glimpses of marmots and alpine, wild flowers hanging on to the rugged terrain. Other walks were almost as spectacular and each had a different character and high point.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    N/A

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are up to it, always choose the longer walks. They are quieter and allow you to work off some calories in preparation for the excellent food at the Park Hotel Bellevue.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thankyou for a great holiday.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Joan Desrosiers

    TSX-Walking Wild Greenland

    This is a unique trip to a very remote part of the world. Not exactly on the beaten track. So glad we had amazing weather to hike in. Aug/Sept seems to be a good time to travel here to experience the profusion of both flowers & berries. No polar bear interactions but our guide was prepared for that. Everyday we were out hiking to areas that gave us a true sense of the wildness. A totally awesome experience!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Realizing just how remote we were in this part of SE Greenland. Also, how disconnected we are with the land because we live in cities. The people living here live off the land.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader Christian was stellar. He was a natural leader that was sensitive to all our needs. Always felt safe with his guiding.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The weather is changeable so bring layers. Definitely a good rain jacket that can double for a wind jacket. If you are a hiker you probably don't need trekking poles. I hauled mine all that way & didn't use them once. For the boat trip bring cash to pay or you'll need to use the ATM as they don't accept credit cards. Lots of time off the trail so bring travel games or a good book(s). Don't forget those sturdy sport sandals because you will need them. You will be hiking in a bug headnet that will be given to you. The tiny flies were not biting but annoying on our trip.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Joan Desrosiers

    TSX-Walking Wild Greenland

    This is a unique trip to a very remote part of the world. Not exactly on the beaten track. So glad we had amazing weather to hike in. Aug/Sept seems to be a good time to travel here to experience the profusion of both flowers & berries. No polar bear interactions but our guide was prepared for that. Everyday we were out hiking to areas that gave us a true sense of the wildness. A totally awesome experience!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Realizing just how remote we were in this part of SE Greenland. Also, how disconnected we are with the land because we live in cities. The people living here live off the land.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader Christian was stellar. He was a natural leader that was sensitive to all our needs. Always felt safe with his guiding.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The weather is changeable so bring layers. Definitely a good rain jacket that can double for a wind jacket. If you are a hiker you probably don't need trekking poles. I hauled mine all that way & didn't use them once. For the boat trip bring cash to pay or you'll need to use the ATM as they don't accept credit cards. Lots of time off the trail so bring travel games or a good book(s). Don't forget those sturdy sport sandals because you will need them. You will be hiking in a bug headnet that will be given to you. The tiny flies were not biting but annoying on our trip.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087