Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    I've lost my heart in Tibet, so I have to go back to find it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the vast emptiness, the endless skies, the mountains, the people we met on the way, the children, serious and playful at the same time!   I read a lot before going there and have read a lot more since coming back, and would recommend this to anyone travelling there.   It helps you to understand the current situation and to be a respectful and sensible traveller. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was great!  He is a responsible, loveable person and he is a great asset to Exodus!I do hope when I travel with Exodus to Mount Kailash next year, that I have the same group leader and local guide !  They worked very well together (hint!)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would strongly advise potential travellers to read up on Tibet before going there.I would recommend Tibet,  Tibet by Patrick French and Last Seen in Lhasa by Claire Scobie as both books give you a good understanding of how to behave and when to keep quiet.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go with an open mind and an open heart.  It is an unforgettable experience.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Nothing could have prepared me for such an amazing experience

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visit to Varanasi.  Atmosphere was amazing---bells, chanting, so many people who were obviously devout .  Boat trip at dawn.Who could fail to be inspired by the Taj Mahal?Every day brought another fantastic experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic! Shail was so helpful and informative.  He has a wonderful sense of humour and fun.  Poor soul had to look after 6 women.  I look forward to seeing him next year when I go to the "Tropical South".

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be open-minded, take probiotics to help prevent "Dehli Belly", don't look at the hawkers.  Our guides told us not to give to beggars--very difficult.  BE CAREFUL when crossing the roads---there's SO much traffic of all kinds.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No complaints whatsoever.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Totally awesome!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whale watching trip that we took in Tofino was incredible.  I felt incredibly priveliged to watch those fantastic creatures in their natural environment.  Seeing bears, elk, bald eagles, a moose and a wolf in their natural habitat was also amazing.  All the activities we took part in were really enjoyable especially the white water rafting, mountain biking and horse riding.  Kayaking to an uninhabited island where we spent the night on a gorgeous beach was so much fun and gave a great sense of achievement.  As we approached the island we were joined by several porpoises who swam alongside us for a while - awesome.  The scenery at Mount Edith Cavell was stunning and the Canadians were all so friendly - genuinely so.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She was great fun to be with and kept us motivated throughout the trip.  She worked incredibly hard to ensure we took advantage of all the opportunities we could.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware that there is a lot of travelling between destinations so a lot of time is spent on a minibus - take music etc to brighten up your journeys.  Take a range of clothes including thermals, hat & gloves even in summer - we experienced freezing temperatures and snow at one point - in August!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was a truly incredible trip that I'll never forget and I made some great friends too.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    My first paraglide!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Fantastic coastline, great scenery, holiday had a terrific variety of activities - walking, sea kayaking (my favourite day), visiting archaeological sites, eating (wonderful food), the Turkish people were so friendly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you aren't used to walking in the heat, it would be best to do this holiday in the spring time when it would be glorious doing the walks. There wasn't much shade and it's difficult to take enough water for the length of the walk.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was one of the best holidays I've been on and I can't wait to go back to Turkey again. I just wish that Exodus offered more trips exploring trips in Turkey - the 14-day one to Cappadocia etc involves some very long bus drives
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Oy choy oy

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is hard to pinpoint one area, but the highlights were definately the below:1. Staying with locals on trekks to get a real feel of the culture and people2. Halong Bay, but could have been an extra night  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Truong Long was brilliant, he entertained us as well as showed us the highlights of his country with a wealth of knowledge on all aspects.  It is always hard to keep up the motivation when people are tired etc.. but he always managed it.  He also was on hand to deal with our hundreds of questions and helped book other tours for us when needed.  He seems to get on well with all the locals as well, which made our trip even more enjoyable. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Got to Vietnam!!  Also I had a week before in the South and Central parts which are also great areas to visit.  Try everything and you will get to know Vietnam properly

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would suggest that although the Mauseleum was good, it is an optional tour and it is replaced by the museum of Ethnology before the trek as this gives a great insight into Vietnam and some of the tribes you meet on the trek.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    great trip thoroughly recommend it but don't underestimate the difficulty - its tough!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Really enjoyed the climb of Aneto  -  tough but absolutely fantastic!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Guide was very knowledgable however she tended to keep pushing on and frequently left people some way behind. There was very little rest and she did not take account of the slower members of the group - at times it felt more like a route march for some people though i enjoyed the challenge!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't underestimate this trip its tough and you have to be fit to get to the top of Aneto but the scenery more than compensates!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A rest day before tackling Aneto would have helped some people. Six days walking with little rest plus two days of 13 hours back to back was very tiring!
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Tremendous experience

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The opportunity to meet the local herders during the course of the trek. Found these interactions truly life-altering and was struck by the "culture clash" of 15 western European trekkers crowding into a traditional Mongolian ger. On the one hand found their way of life so different to mine that it was difficult to comprehend what their life is like, but on the other hand, was struck by our common humanity. Certainly couldn't have been more hospitable and it was great to exchange gifts with them. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely fantastic. Can't imagine a better leader of a trek. He adopted a relaxed yet highly professional approach, I guess because it was clear that each and every part of the trek had been organised. Was impressed by some of the simple touches, like the placement of a washing point mid-way between the toilets (complete with toilet seats!) and the camp that was kept topped up with warm water and supplied with clean towels. Was importantly someone who was easy to get along with and also who was tremendously knowledgeable about Mongolia and the region through which we were trekking.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take it easy on the meat when you first arrive. I over indulged over the first couple of days and paid with an upset stomach for the the next few days. Also, when purchasing duty free at Chinggis Khaan Int'l airport, make sure that you get a receipt. We didn't and promptly had it confiscated in South Korea.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    All-in-all my first trek was very memorable and a great success. Has certainly encouraged me to go on similar "adventure holidays" in the future. Like the way in which Exodus in this instance sub-contracted the trek to a local company (Karakorum Expeditions). Then you have the security of booking with an established company as well as the detailed local knowledge of a local company. An ideal combination!
  • Reviewed October 2007

    Wow - what a walk!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of the passes and seeing the Pyrenees spread out before you. Also the sense of acheivement -  when you looked up some mornings to where the route was to go for the day, you thought I would never make it, but you did and the view was great! 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very fit! Was good at encouraging you if you found it tough, looked after the group well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you do the miles and height gain before you go as this will help with the distance and ascents involved. Don't take kit that you have never used before on the trip, like some of the people on my trip - it was bad news for them! Take a warm sleeping bag as the nights do get cold.....do not pitch your tent near any of the stone walls and the snails will be all over your tent in the morning!
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Waterfalls, waterfalls

    .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The amazing scenery of Iceland offered something different every day from waterfalls, to geysirs, to glacial lagoons.Our children loved the opportunities to see new natural phenomena and try new experiences such as glacier walking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader and driver were very friendly and seemed to genuinely enjoy the week as much as us. The trip was very well organised with the needs of children paramount. Our boys fell in love with the group leader and spent most of the week marching up paths with her well ahead of their parents.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try it! Go prepared to get wet, (even though we had amazing weather we got soaked by waterfalls most days), good footwear and waterproofs were very useful.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    I'll never forget afternoon tea with my seven lovely ladies

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably the friendships and comararadarie that exsisted on the trip, the vital ingredients to this delicious cocktail were seven lovely ladies, Heidi, Caroline, Mickey, Nic, Jo, Louise & Helen that made afternoon tea a different and a way more pleasurable experience, the ten North Walians whose friendly humour always refreshed and the ebulient tour leaders Kim and Paul who always had the correct amount of cheer and professionism with all groups in all circumstances

    What did you think of your group leader?

    If prior to the  trip I had to describe the qualities a tour leader should have. Amongst other vital traits I would list  intelligence, proffesionalism, humour, compassion, efficiency, adaptability, reliability. This is not an exhaustive list of my requirements or the qualities Paul our Tour Leader displayed in abundance. I could not have wished more from a tour leader. Kim as the assistant was a beautifully natured lady who was a constant help and socialised and assisted with all members of the group with a very high degree of aplomb. On top of doing thier job brilliantly, I found them to be both good friends who could be relied upon.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes book up as soon as possible

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Can you believe that in Oxford Caiprhinias are £4.50. I know a lady who can make a whole cooking pot full for that price.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087