Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Make 2018 Your Year of Adventure. Save $150 when you Book Now - Learn More >

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    Thought provoking village.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably the descent to and staying in the remote village of Bara Bhangal. After a steep and very dusty descent reaching the river and being able to have a good wash was much appreciated. The following day we visited the local school much to the delight of both the local children, in their uniforms, who enthusiastically posed for pictures  and ourselves. This village is cut off for 6 months of the year by snow and most of the inhabitants come in over the Thamser pass in the spring to spend a summer of hard work on the terraced fields that covered all the nearby hills rising very steeply from the river, yet there is now hydroelectric power in the village and a satellite phone. This did lead me to think how long this way of life would continue and how many of the young school children would wnt continue with this way of life.The most thought provoking part of the trip was the comments from the tour leader about how much the glaciers had shrunk in the past few years and how little snow cover there was.   

    What did you think of your group leader?

    "Dibs" was very proficient and friendly, making us all feel at home very quickly. He worked well with the porters and local guides to ensure that the all trip ran smoothly and we all arrived safely at each days campsite pretty much together. I enjoyed his company and chatting to him whilst walking.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are fit before you go or you will not enjoy the experience and Indian driving and roads are somewhat unsettling , so if you are  a nervous passenger bewarned.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    My first trip to India and I am looking forward to going back again for more walking in the same area in the next few years when I can afford it.
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    Maasai Mara - There is no better

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole experience just got better every day, even when we thought we could not top a day's experience the next day kept raising it to a new level.We saw a herd of 150 elephants; a cheetah kill; two wildebeest river crossings; white and black rhinos plus (mating black rhinos, lions and ostriches), a serval cat, dik dik and many many other 'normal' wild animals and birds. Also living in a bush camp was exciting and the care and food was of teh highest quality.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jonathan Scott was involved with the group every step of the way. His experience and information on the Mara, the animals and photography added wonderfully to the experience. He could not have been more helpful particularly when we spent the day with him. Johnathan was always available for questions and not once did he complain about being asked question at any time of day or night.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have enough memory cards for the trip or a means of downloading them. I found I was using on average 4/6GB in a full day when saving in JPG format.
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    From rain-lashed to sun-burned

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    climbing up the side of the gorge when the path had been washed away in the downpour;interaction with local people;ancient rock carvings 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    they were both very friendly and so proud to be berber. they clearly love their home region and were proud to show it to us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    if you're vegetarian, you might like to take some meusli bars or something to break the monotony of carrots, potatoes and zucchini tajine. dont expect 'peregrine' or 'jules verne' standards.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    a value-for-money holiday.I'd have prefered to do the trek in reverse so that we started with the 'coc-cola' trail to Toubkal and ended with the beauty and drama of the High Atlas at Jebel Mgoun.
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    Desert Storm

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sheer emptiness of the landscape and the colours and the silence and the sky becoming mad with stars at night.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohamed was very friendly, but some of the group occasionally found his pace a little merciless, and there was a lack of breaktime treats - just a few sweets, or sweeteners of some kind, would have meant a lot in the middle of a scorching route-march, or, indeed, at the end of a long day's trekking.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a plentiful supply of sugary chews or tracker bars for those blood sugar-plunging moments. And a comfortable pair of walking sandals would probably serve you better in the desert than a pair of clunky walking boots.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was probably a little tougher walking than I expected - for sheer heat & duration rather than particularly challenging terrain. But running up and down the dunes was great fun, and it was, overall, a truly elemental experience. 
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    Realisation of a dream

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I chose this trip because I wanted to see Everest. See it I certainly did, & watching the sun rise over the Everest range from 5400m was a dream realised for me.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent - experienced, capable and inspired confidence. Nice guy too!The Sherpa guides were also a major plus factor, they could not have done more for us and were wonderful characters, I really enjoyed getting to know them.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't think its all going to be easy once you get to the top. Some parts of the trip down are just as hard as going up! Spend as much time as you can getting to know Nepali people & how they live - its well worth the effort.Check how much things are going to cost before you do it - especially taxis.In Kathmandu the Monkey Temple & Bodnath are worth seeing. I liked Baktapur but its a bit 'touristy'  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I did the Chitwan extension and greatly enjoyed it, lots of wildlife and a chance to relax after the trek. It gave me a couple of days in Kathmandu also which was a bonus.
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    A taste of the Middle East

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the turtles on the beach was worth every penny of the trip ...t..o be so close to such a unique activity  was a wonderful experience

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Highly knowledgeable about Oman which gave a useful insight into a country trying to move into the current century

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Omani people were hospitable and friendly ......in one hotel I met a Judge who had studied in England and chatted for quite a while. .....he insisted in paying for me as 'You are a guest in my country' ...imagine someone in Yorkshire offering to do that to travellers!
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    Penguin's and Parties!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All of it!!!! Seeing in the New Year on the deck of the ship in full daylight!  Being the first group to try the new sport of 'Speed Camping' on the ice - speed camping because we had to evacuate after 20 mins due to high winds!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Woody was fantastic ... would go on a trip with him as a leader anytime!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack your essential cold weather clothes across more than one bag ... as several cases go missing on nearly every flight to Ushuaia.  Wear your coat and boots on the flight to be on the safe side!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    An amazing experience on the white continent ... every day we saw new sights and had new experiences which we'll never forget.  The crew and leaders were knowledgable and fun to spend time with.  There were just the right number of people on the boat and we never had to wait to get off the ship for excursions. 
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    Saharan splendour

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved all of it, but the time in the Sahara was just great. Despite the many hours of driving, the scenery was wonderful and camping the desert was really good fun.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdul was fantastic - wonderfully enthusiastic, very knowledgable and good company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a good torch for in the desert, and a water bottle, and dont forget your sunscreen.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Libya was a really interesting place to visit, and the people are very hospitable and friendly. Go! You'll love it.
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    Anyone for a tuna sandwich and Miranda?

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The archaeolgical sites were fantastic and there was such a strong sense that we were seeing something that the rest of the world knows hardly anything about.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Somewhat limited in anticipating the group's needs and communicating key information.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for some pretty basic accommodation and cuisine.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Be prepared for a great holiday with hospitable hosts and unique sights and scenery.
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    A truly beautiful place

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Beautiful area. Lovely hotel. Great food. Friendly people. And, oh that first beer in the bar after day one!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    First class. Friendly and knowledgeable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do this one

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A word of thanks to Pat, proprietor of  Hotel "Els Frares" , for his assistance on the last day when I was unwell.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087