Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed February 2009
    Anonymous

    TIMBUKTU & THE DOGONS

    Fascinating journey to a wonderful country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Camping on the banks of the Niger river was bliss.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent and knowledgeable guide. Looked after us very well even though ill with malaria.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Food and drink was much more expensive than indicated in the Exodus Trip notes.  It really does get very cold on the pinasse and you do need lots of layers to keep warm.
  • Reviewed February 2009
    Anonymous

    SLOVENIA SNOWSHOE

    This was the first trip I had done alone and I thoroughly enjoyed it.  The group was friendly, accommodation excellent and the leaders helpful and thoughtful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking around at the top of the mountain while the snow was falling.  It was exhilerating to be out in the snow with the mountains and beautiful scenery.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ales and Juri were excellent.  They looked after the group well, had a great sense of humour and were able to tell us about the country.  

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would like to have been a little bit fitter - the itinerary does involve walking up hills which can be hard work if the snow is deep.  You need to ensure your walking boots are waterproof - bring your nikwax to redo them if necessary.  Waterproof overtrousers are also a must.  The pension is really warm so there was no need for lots of thick jumpers for the evening.  I would say to anyone who is thinking about it to go for it - I was apprehensive but had no regrets.Bastion (sorry if the name is wrongly spelt) has a lovely pension, he took us on a tour of the kitchen and the new rooms he is opening at the top of the house.  It was warm and spotlessly clean, constant hot water which was particularly welcome after spending a night at the mountain hut and walking back down through the rain and snow. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you think you might lose weight, don't hold out your hopes - the food was very substantial!
  • Reviewed February 2009
    Anonymous

    TIGERS AND CRICKET SAFARI WITH PAUL GOLDSTEIN

    The trip surpassed all my expectation from the location and the quality of the lodge to the drivers, guides and of course the sightings of the tigers was truly wonderful. The other great touch was the cricket match with the school which gave the group another point of interest halfway through the tirp and also provided some fond memories of our short interaction with a lovely community, not to mention the good work of exodus in putting something back to where it matters.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There was one point in the trip where we happened to come across a two young sub-adult tigers two were following a female on heat. The female showed her displeasure and the sounds and sneers from her were chilling and thrilling at the same time. We were all mesmerized by the event which lasted over an hour and left us drained and privileged at the same time.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was a star in ensuring that we all had a good time and learnt something from the trip. He spent time with every member of the group and also made it humorous during the evenings with jokes. His concern for the getting everyone back home with the least impact to everyone spoke volumes about the quality of the trip management and of Exodus the organisation.Balvinder our assistant group leader was a great help, good company and made sure that any problems or queries were addressed efficiently. A star and a great member of a successful team.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just enjoy the whole experience of a trip of a lifetime!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There may be other opportunities to support the local community by getting them to make up a few camera bean bags for the lodges and the jeeps that people can purchase or rent. I had a few made up in the village and knowing that it came from there each time I use it will evoke memories of the trip. More simple ideas to share the benefits of tourist coming into the area will help the community appreciate the value of the park and the tourists. May be it something that the lodge can organise for small personalised items made for Exodus groups depending on the demand at the time. I gave the order for the bean bags at the start of the day and received 6 by the evening.
  • Reviewed February 2009
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC WINTER ACTIVITY WEEK

    Great variety of activities.  Chalet Savoy in the perfect base - great food, hosts and sauna!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    20km of Classic Cross-Country ski-ing in the Val Feret - our second day on skis.Completing all the Cross Country tracks around Chamonix - our third day on skis.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Oliver is a great guide - balancing instruction with encouragement - shame about the jokes...Elaine's cooking is excellent - missing those cakes...

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you're reasonably fit.Take gear for cold - you may not need it, but we had temperatures as low as -15 some days: yet for some reason the trip notes suggest that thermal underwear is not required! Lose weight before coming - there will be plenty of opportunity to put on the pounds ;-)
  • Reviewed February 2009
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC WINTER ACTIVITY WEEK

    great place, great people lovely scenery excellent leader great way to get into a winter holiday if you  have never done one

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    the view's and snowshoeing

    What did you think of your group leader?

    excellent could not find a better leader if you tried keep up the good work oliver

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    just book it and have a great time i can not ski but trying to was great fun and so was the snowshoeing
  • Reviewed February 2009
    Anonymous

    TIGERS AND CRICKET SAFARI WITH PAUL GOLDSTEIN

    I had an amazing time and when I saw my first tiger - - breathtaking.  When he first growled - the earth moved!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Again - having my first glimpse of a tiger in the wild.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent - so, so passionate about the tigers and about us guys being able to take exceptional photographs.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Not really, just a delightful experience, and great fun with the cricket!
  • Reviewed February 2009
    Anonymous

    TIGERS AND CRICKET SAFARI WITH PAUL GOLDSTEIN

    Having been here before I knew a little about what to expect! The trains - well we experienced delays but this is India and the tigers more than made up for a little inconvenience.The Tigers - wow! were we lucky or was it because we put in the time in the Park, had fantastic drivers and accomplished guides - it was a heady mixture of all of the above! The most amazing tiger sightings!The cricket - not a player, oh no! but I became cheerleader for a day - a very memorable day indeed! The match is clearly a highlight for the school and the village of Tala. The Exodus team won - so our cheerleading worked (!) and we got to demonstrate our newly found skills to the school again on another visit!        

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me - it has to be seeing the tigers - I saw 2 on my last trip (2005) with the final sighting being of B2 - the big male. This trip he was my first tiger - and I was so fortunate to spend time seeing him at home in his environment, walking his territory and letting all comers know he was still king (but there is a new kid on the block - and the drivers/guides are already calling him B3!).The cricket is worthy of mention too though and we had a great time at the school - the enthusiasm and committment is there for all to see.  The group - a great bunch of friendly, cheerful people and a lot of fun!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul Goldstein is passionate about tigers and the cricket (and photography, of course!!) - you get swept along with it all. I hope I got some good photos - well, at least one for my wall! Balvinder - the local guide - is worthy of mention - he is fab and did a great job getting everyone where we had to be and on time (perhaps he should be let loose with the trains!) and he played cricket! 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The travelling from/to Delhi seemed a bit long and tiring but it is well worth it when you get to Bandhavgarh - it is a place that has a sense of peace combined with the expectation of seeing that tiger just around the corner.............    

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    An all round great experience - the time of year was right - a little cooler than most would expect for India but tigers are more active then, so ........ we were lucky! I'd do it all again!
  • Reviewed January 2009
    Anonymous

    TIGERS AND CRICKET SAFARI WITH PAUL GOLDSTEIN

    An incredible holiday in every respect. The tigers were magnificent, the group was fantastic, the food was amazing and I have now run out of superlatives to describe everything else

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When I saw my first tiger. It was a very emotional experience to feel so totally priviledged. It was the alpha-male whom Paul hadn't seen for 5 years. He was rolling on his back like a big pussy cat but when I looked at the size of his paws I was dumb struck. Couldn't actually take any photos for a while as tears were streaming down my face.The cricket match was also a highlight. The enthusiasm those kids had for their game was great. Everyone put their whole heart into it and it was good to see what the money from previous years has done. All credit to Paul for his passion and enthusiasm for getting this project off the ground and also for keeping it going.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As usual he takes no prisoners but his dedication, enthusiasm, passion and hard work to ensure we all had good sightings and a marvellous time is admirable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you take your thermals if going in January when it is really freezing cold first thing in the morning. They were absolutely essential on the morning game drives although they were shed immediately we returned for brunch. A warm scarf or pashmina was also useful for both mornings and evenings when sitting around the fire. Ludkily a friend had just come back from India the day before I left and she advised me to take lots of warm clothes. I may not have had these with me otherwise and would have suffered with being cold

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Remember this is India and things can get delayed. It is nobody's fault. Just go with the flow and don't get stressed about it. That way you will have a great time like we did
  • Reviewed January 2009
    Anonymous

    TIMBUKTU & THE DOGONS

    The combination of 3 days relaxing on a pinasse going down  the Niger  towards Timbuktu , followed  by 2 days at the Festival of the Desert -which must be the ultimate in music festivals- and a couple of days going back in time in the Dogon country was not only an adventure - but  a sheer magical experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Festival of the Desert  - enjoying music under the desert moonlight - with Tuaregs, Malians and Europeans all dancing together. Seeing Tuaregs dance to Rap, having camels coming through the camp.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely excellent - (Yaya Keita) was the best, a true gentleman and a star. He looked after us very well and was unphased by changing circumstances beyond his control.His support  of hard working staff drivers and cook were also excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It gets cold in the desert and by the side of the Niger - made use of  the 3/4 season sleeping bag and liners.  Nearly need the thermals!Take plenty of hand gel.Think of things to entertain the masses of children that greet and attach thems selves to you at every village you visit  - take a ball and play?

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    In view of the updated threat of kidnap / terriost attack we would have preferred Exodus not to assume we all would have liked treking in the Dogan. In the event we did not go the Festival it would have been nice to think -with local knowledge - visits to  more convential musical venues (clubs  etc back Bamako or Segou etc) might have been possible.Mali is fantastic   it is definitely a Jewel  - the "Cuba" of Africa!
  • Reviewed January 2009
    Anonymous

    TIGERS AND CRICKET SAFARI WITH PAUL GOLDSTEIN

    If a well known Danish brewery did holidays then this would be it! A trip that exceeded all expectations. Excellent guiding, leaders, local staff and drivers that were outstanding. With so many Tiger sightings it's difficult to pick a defining moment! When is the next trip ?

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    With so many Tigers sightings I think  seeing the park's Alpha male Tiger B2 coming out of the mist early one morning takes some beating!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Local leader Balvinder Singh was excellent always on hand, polite, helpful and courteous. Paul was his usual self, bringing gallons of enthusiasm, commitment and a determination to make sure we all made the most of, if not exceed the photographic bonanza on offer.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring plenty of memory cards and a portable viewer/laptop to download too. Buy/borrow the best lens you can afford a 300mm F2.8 with IS/VR/OS wouldn't be out of place.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The local accommodation, food and staff were excellent. Thanks to everyone of my fellow travellers for making this a special trip that will last long in the memory and a tough act to follow!
Call us on 1 844 227 9087