Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Make 2018 Your Year of Adventure. Save $150 when you Book Now - Learn More >

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2008
    Anonymous

    LAKE TITICACA & THE INCA TRAIL

    A major part of what made the trip so good was the guides that we had throughout, they were all fantastic, all having a great deal of knowledge about their countries and enthusiam in the way they put that knowledge across.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were loads of great bits, probably enjoyed the floating islands the most, very interesting and unusual.  The people on the islands were also very friendly and happy - it just goes to show that you dont need loads of money in order to be happy.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was Flaminia and she was absolutely fantastic.  She was exceptionally organised and there wasnt a time on our trip where we were waiting around or where things didnt flow smoothly. She was also a lovely person and the whole group got on well with her.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There was only one thing that let the trip down and that was the organisation both times when we arrived in Lima.  The people we met at Lima airport both when we landed from Amsterdam and when from Cuzco on our way home seemed pretty disorganised and the whole group was pretty disappointed in them. 
  • Reviewed June 2008
    Anonymous

    LAKE TITICACA & THE INCA TRAIL

    A fantastic trip, very well planned and executed.  A really good itinarary with a balance of activities.  Very good value for money.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It's a cliche, but it has to be the first sight of Machu Picchu from the Sun Gate after four days of walking!  Also the sunrise over the Vilcabamba mountains and Salcantay on the morning of the final day was well worth getting up for!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic, even by Exodus' high standards.  She made the whole trip run so smoothly she made it look easy - though I know it couldn't have been - and was great company.  Also our additional guide in Bolivia was excellent. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The Inca Trail is hard work but well worth it - there are lots of steps so building up your leg muscles might help.  This trip is probably a good option if you're worried about the altitude, because the first few days in Bolivia are nearly as high as the highest point on the Inca Trail and the pace is very gentle to allow acclimatisation.  Prices are lower in Bolivia than Peru so if you want to get an expensive souvenir, it's worth looking here.  On the day in Machu Picchu there's the option to climb Wayna Picchu.  It gives good views but be warned it is very steep (much more so than any point on the trail itself) and requires some scrambling at the top.  Definitely should only be attempted by those with a good head for heights as it's quite exposed and narrow with some very steep drops.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you've always dreamed of doing the Inca Trail and seeing Machu Picchu, this is a great trip to choose as it combines the more visited sites in Peru with the unspoilt beauty of Bolivia.
  • Reviewed June 2008
    Anonymous

    THE TURQUOISE COAST

    A very enjoyable, relaxing holiday with a good mix of culture, walking, swimming, sunbathing and good value additional activities eg kayaking and diving.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the amazing Roman, Greek and Lycian remains in the mountains.  Still vast amphitheatres,  walls and tombs etc remain in good condition despite several earthquakes.Seeing  'wild' tortoises was a good moment for me.The landscape is vast and quite biblical in places with olive groves, goats and donkeys.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The leader was great, very knowledgable about the local history, terrain and the flora and fauna. He also lived in the town that we stayed in so knew a lot of the locals and introduced us to them. Ex SAS so good on survival skills and also very entertaining with tales of 'derring do' and of the people he's met.He was also very patient and good humoured throughout.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Watch out for the summer heat!  It can get very hot and possibly not much walking will get done. I went at the end of May which was getting hot but still just fine. Our highest temp was 37 C but it was dry heat so nice and hot rather than unbearable.The terrain can be a little rough in places but there were 3 hip replacements on our trip and they all made it!Nothing is too arduous.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel was fine, despite bad previous reviews. The staff were friendly (as well as being young and handsome!) and helpful. The hotel was clean and the pool was well maintained and also very clean.Pace is a little more relaxed there so don't expect ultra snappy service; but this is a holiday.
  • Reviewed June 2008
    Anonymous

    Imp China & Yangtze cruise

    A well constructed tour, efficently organised and led by our tour guide. China's ancient history and current progress towards reaching super power status were  sources of continuing fascination.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    An impromptu  joining- in at a mass dancing session in front of the Hall of the People at Chongqing. Culminating in us providing a demo of how we sing Auld Lang Syne which was eagerly taken up by the locals.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Knowledgeable and very efficent. Made a real effort for us to experience travel and eating out Chinese style which we all enjoyed. Answered our many searching questions frankly and honestly. His organisation of our travel arrangements and hotel accommodation was excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't take too much clothes, despite the changibility of the weather. You can easily buy almost anything you want at bargain prices. Do haggle, you are generally asked to pay at least 4 times the price that the seller will eventually accept. Although the Chinese like to be formal and polite they do not share our culture of queuing or waiting one's turn, when trying to make your way in a crowded rail station or a theatre do as they do and go for it !.
  • Reviewed June 2008
    Anonymous

    CILENTO & AMALFI TREK

    It's Rosy, Dennis' partner writing this, and I thought it was a really wonderful trip into the lesser known parts of Italy.  Scenery and food were terrific and all members of the group were very friendly, pleasant people.   Our accommodation exceeded my expectations and was very roomy and comfy.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational part of the trip was nearly every moment due to the marvellous scenery and the peace and quiet of the countryside. Another inspiration was an elderly blind man, who managed to complete most of the walks in fine style, and with a great sense of humour. He also inspired my partner and I, because due to his knowledge of physiotherapy, he managed in 5 minutes to right a longstanding problem with my partner's finger which the NHS physios had failed to do in months.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dave our leader was very fit and efficient and being able to speak Italian was indeed a great person to have around.  Due to injury of the normal tour leader, Dave had had to step in at the last minute to lead us, and did a great job in the circumstances to keep us on the straight and narrow, though I let the side down, with my enthusiasam for a photo, by falling waist deep into a river!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Advice for travellers?  Just go and do the trip.  It's great, but take lots of suncream!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A wonderful experience in every sense of the word.
  • Reviewed June 2008
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF LIBYA

    Enjoyable, though hectic, but I guess the clue to that was in the tour title: "Highlights of Libya". Mostly smooth running, and, more importantly, when mishaps occured (twice, both unforeseeable) Tarek, the group leader, resolved them expeditiously. Only grouse is that receptionist at Yosser hotel does not appear to have posted PCs I left with him.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The frogs at Cyrene.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Competent, but got very ratty when things didn't go quite his way.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Unless Tripoli changes the currency regs yet again you won't need much local cash. I changed 100 sterling into 230 Libyan dinars and was pushed to find things to spend it on. Beyond Gaddafi watches (good stocking filler at less than a fiver) there is little that is uniquely Libyan that you'd want to bring back.
  • Reviewed June 2008
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN PROVENCE

    The holiday was very close to what I expected, having read the information on the website and the tripnotes.  The walking was enjoyable, the places visited interesting, and the group friendly.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Jasper telling us about his sock drawer!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She lacked leadership throughout - from failing to introduce herself at the airport, to always being the last one ready to leave.  There was often a lack of coordination and communication within the group as a result.  She was substantially hampered by not being able to speak French and it was very fortunate that other members of the group were able and willing to take over the leadership role. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do bring the items listed as essential on the trip notes - items like suncream, hat, good boots etc really are essential.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hello to all in the group - it was great to meet you all and make friends.
  • Reviewed June 2008
    Anonymous

    A WEEK IN ANDALUCIA

    Went with a bit of trepidation in light of the fact I was travelling on my own and that I might find myself in a Cortijo with the Manson Family! However upon arrival it turned out we had all gone on our own and not a Manson amongst them! Very pleased with the great people there - Suzy, Neil, Maria and girls, Bill and Anna and of course my fellow holiday makers.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Must be doing Yoga at 7 am as the sun rose over the hills and the quiet walk.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suzy was great, very persobale, an infectious sense of humour and very knowledgeable (especially about birds!) about he towns that we visisted and had a great deal of experience of a range of Exodus trips and so could really talk knowledgeably and share experiences with a well travelled group of individuals 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If opting to pay for a single room then the bed in room 8 isn't the longest in the world, but as I'm only 5ft 6 it was fine for me 6ft + might have a problem. If planning to go to Granada for the Alhambra Palace it takes careful planning as you probably only will only have enough time to go to the Alhambra palace rather than seeing any other sites in Granada.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A very good, enjoyable, relaxing holiday that also showed me the sights of Andalucia
  • Reviewed June 2008
    Anonymous

    A WEEK IN ANDALUCIA

    The yoga was great! The yoga instructor very good. Our trip leader Suzy was also great. The group had a good size: 8 people. The location at the Cortijo Rosario was wonderful, and I will definitely recommend this trip to my friends.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The yoga sessions! Experiencing my own progress throughout the week was very inspirational!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She was great!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think it would be a good idea to combine the yoga weeks with walking instead of going into the big cities after yoga class.
  • Reviewed June 2008
    Anonymous

    PICOS MOUNTAIN ADVENTURE FAMILY HOLIDAY

    An experienced and likeable leader together with a comfirtable and friendly hotel in a beautiful location made for a fantastic holiday for kids and grown-ups alike. We'd go again tomorrow!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me it'd be coasting down an almost traffic-free mountain road on a bicycle after a hard slog uphill or an early morning walk leading to a beautiful view across a flower covered meadow down into the valley. Climbing and canoeing were exciting and satisfying activities and the kids adored the caving. Our only regret was that we didn't have enough time to try out the canyoning.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Victor, our leader, was very experienced and friendly and made the trip very enjoyable. He made sure that all abilities were catered for and had loads of knowledge of the area and about the activities. We shouldn't forget Pilar and Jim, the hotel's owners, who were very flexible with how the activites were arranged the week we were there because of some changeable weather. The other hotel staff were also friendly and accommodating, especially when it came to catering for the kids.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Have a go at a few things you wouldn't normally try. If you don't want your week absolutely crammed full of activities you can relax at the hotel, go into the village or take a walk in the nearby hills. The coast and dinosaur museum are both worth visiting and the sea good for swimming.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is the second Exodus holiday we've taken and have been highly satisfied with both, and are confident that the third we have already booked will also be enjoyable.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087