Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Make 2018 Your Year of Adventure. Save $150 when you Book Now - Learn More >

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2010
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO & MERU

    The most incredible experience. Challenging. Rewarding. A beautiful country, stunning scenery, helpful guides, friendly porters, a fun group. Awesome!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit of Africa's highest and tenth highest peaks were, of course, the most inspirational moments of my trip. In fact, so incredibly rewarding that I shed a tear. Looking down from above the cloud line across African plains felt almost unreal, and watching sunrise from the top of Kili created an unforgetable memory. Each day of trekking brought with it a different kind of landscape to admire, and it was exciting to see wildlife such a giraffe, zebra, antelope, buffalo, warthogs, and various monkeys on the trip up Meru.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guides were all fantastic: good fun, encouraging and knowledgeable. They even sang throughout much of the night-time walk to the top of Kili, which was a very moving distraction from each tiring step. The leader, Musa, was particularly good. He had a great sense of humour, was incredibly helpful and very reassuring. He took great care of us and was very responsible. We were in safe hands.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I highly recommend adding the Meru trek to any Kili climb. Not only is it an equally impressive yet very different experience to Kili, but I have no doubt that climbing Meru first significantly helped us to acclimatise ensuring that we all reached the summit of Kili. I also recommend that you take some good 'summit snacks' for the summit climb on Kili. It is a long and tiring day and I found that the energy drinks and caffeine shots I took were invaluable. Furthermore, be prepared for extremes of temperature and take everything on the kit list Exodus supplies. You will use it all.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Do it! You won't regret it.
  • Reviewed November 2010
    Anonymous

    INCA TRAIL & GALAPAGOS ISLANDS

    Just the most fantastic experience, trek to Machu Picchu followed by (as one of my fellow travellers put it) a 'wildlife overload' on Galapagos.  Will never forget the three weeks they were that special!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    After having to dig deep on the Inca Trail, especially as we crossed Dead Woman's Pass, it was a stunning sight to see Machu Picchu below as we walked through the Sun Gate, a very emotional moment. On Galapagos it would have to be snorkelling with Pacific green turtles and sitting close to the almost prehistoric looking marine iguanas.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Arturro on the Inca Trail was very supportive and gave lots of advice about how to cope with altitude.  He had a good sense of humour and looked after us really well.Monica on the Galapagos Islands was a very special lady.  Her love of the islands and its wildlife was obvious.  She had so much knowledge and we came back having a real understanding of the islands, its environment and the incredible wildlife.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There's a book called '50 places to see before you die'.  Along with Mount Everest, which I was fortunate enough to see last year, these would be my top three destinations.  Go!!When walking at altitude go slowly and drink plenty.  There's always enough light during the day to take your time and just enjoy being in beautiful surroundings.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was our first booking with Exodus and it will not be our last.  The whole holiday was well organised, everything went smoothly and it was great value for money - we even had banana flambe as a pudding on the trek!
  • Reviewed November 2010
    Anonymous

    INCA TRAIL & GALAPAGOS ISLANDS

    The trip was defonately a trip of a lifetime. The trek was amazing and the views just spectacular! We didnt even mind when it rained on our final day! The atmosphere on the trek was superb and we were always very well looked after. I didnt think anything could top this part of the trip, then we reached the galapagos islands...

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was all very inspirational, the whole trip but the best moment for me was seeing the penguins on the galapagos. Also seeing the spectacular Boobies synchronised diving was a sight i didnt expect to see.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leaders were brilliant. Their local knowledge was second to none and their commitment to looking after us and ensuring our every need was catered to. On the last night of our trek our leader organised celebratory beers for us from the nearby town! :)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book now! Its definately a trip of a lifetime and will give you the travel bug. The only advice i have is make sure you have a well fitting back[ack for the trek as it will make your life a lot easier!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Worth every penny! I'm now saving up for my next trip...
  • Reviewed November 2010
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF LIBYA

    enjoyed all the trip with 1 or 2 reservations.The air con in our room didnt work,it didnt bother my wife and I,but some people it might.Your booklet suggested taking U S dollars.Ifyou are resident in Britain take sterling

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Leptis Magna I thought was superb.I first read about it 30 years ago and  wanted to visit all that time.I fulfilled a dream

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mr Nasser wasalways available to answer questions.I thought he did a very good job.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Dont try to cross on pedestrian crossings the way you do in Britain.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed November 2010
    Anonymous

    JOURNEY TO PERSIA

    The trip was run very smoothly with high standard of transport and accomodation provided. Iran is an amazing country that I would recommend visiting.  The local people were very welcoming.  It would have been great if more time could be allowed for interacting with local families. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The first glimpse of the Naghsh-e-Jahan Square in Esfahan - amazing!  Soooo beautiful.  Would go back again just to spend more time here. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was very experienced in running tours in his home country. 
  • Reviewed November 2010
    Anonymous

    A WEEK IN OMAN

    I have already written to your Customer service manager about the appalling flight arrangements which are the remaing memory of this Exodus holiday. A discusting way to be treated.
  • Reviewed November 2010
    Anonymous

    TUSCAN DELIGHTS

    This was a great holiday - friendly welcome at Bracciorti, a good mix of walks, discovering the area and relaxation.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking around the Bracciorti area, led by Sara, the group leader. Wonderful autumnal chestnut woods, the mist hanging in the valleys and a relaxed pace, with Sabena/Spottie and Pitch (the family dogs). We really felt in touch with the landscape of the Garfagnana taking in the views, passing vineyards and villages, farms and woods. But so many highlights - vibrant Lucca, the chestnut festival at Castellina with all the towns people, market day at Castelnnuovo, excellent expressos/gelato and wine and the quiet walled city of Barga..plus Florence of course!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara was excellent - rarely have I met such a dedicated and knowledgeable group leader. She really gave everything her all, not just in answering questions about Tuscany, but organising everything to pinpoint detail for our day off and serving at dinner (delicious hearty food from "Mamma"). Nothing was too much trouble for her.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Leave plenty of space in your luggage for presents to take home (particularly local produce). Despite quite short distances and relaxed pace, there was still so much to take in. Have an idea of what you'd like to do on your free day (Lucca, Pisa and Florence were the choices taken by our group). Train travel times are quite long given the location of Bracciorti.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would really recommend this trip, particularly if you want to combine some sightseeing of the "big"  sights (such as Lucca and Florence) with smaller, friendly towns, and walking and relaxing in well known places such as busy Cinque Terre but also tranquail Garfagnana.
  • Reviewed November 2010
    Anonymous

    PETRA & PALMYRA

    This trip takes in the best of both countries. Amazing historical sites, history, culture and the real chance to meet local people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There are a few!  Sunset at Palmyra was definitely a highlight for me, as was spending a night in the desert at Wadi Rum. Sleeping out under the stars is a wonderful experience. Visiting the crusader castles in Syria, the souks of Aleppo, ice cream in Damascus, drinking tea with a Bedouin stall owner in Petra...I could go on. But the one experience that stays with me was an afternoon visit to the Omyyad Mosque in Damascus. The sense of peace in that place was wonderful after the busy streets.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Syrian guide Adnan was brilliant.  He is very knowledgeable and went out of his way to make sure everyone was comfortable and happy. Watching him organise waiters in restaurants was great fun. Yousef in Jordan was also a great guide and made sure to include a couple of side trips that werent on the itinerary and really added to the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Petra - on the free day get there early. The site opens at 6am so get down as early as you can to avoid the crowds. We were there at about 7am and had the Treasury to ourselves. Talk to the locals - Syrians and Jordanians are some of the friendliest people I have ever met and more than happy to welcome you to their country.  It's a good idea to learn a few Arabic words.Dont be put off by travelling during Ramadan. I was there during the last week but it didnt affect the itinerary at all. There are some places open during the day to get lunch and water, and once the sun goes down everything opens til late.Take cash - you can easily change pounds on arrival and along the way in both countries. The ATMs in Syria are not reliable and dont accept foreign cards. ATMs in Jordan work fine.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Both Syria and Jordan are wonderful countries that offer lot to travellers. The history is immense so definitely worth investing the time to read up before you go. Go soon! Syria especially is just developing as a tourist destination so I would recommend getting there before the coach tours invade.
  • Reviewed October 2010
    Anonymous

    XC in EASTERN PYRENEES

    A great trip the skiing is suprisingly varied (I'm more used to the alps) although if you like inn to inn valley bottom skiing tirolean style you might be dissapointed, however the views on a clear day are worth it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I finished fitter at the end than I was at the beginning.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The tours aren't lead as such as its a mixed ability trip, you don't have too keep up if you don't want to, however James always seems to pop up to direct you along the route, he must be traveling at least 5 times the distance of everyone else at three times the speed, so his skiing ability is not in question. At the beginning he stops frequently to allow people to catch up and fills the time with handy tips and demos.At skiing he's a master but a group of individuals who dont know each other or the town could probably do with a bit more prodding on the night off when you have to eat out, he should have a default suggestion to offer and rope people in more positively.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get fit first, for various reasons my normal walking/cycling fitness routine had been disrupted the year before the holiday and I had not skiied XC for 5 years so I didn't get the best from the first half of the week.  Given the terrain available you always start the day with an up.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel was very clean, the rooms, well roomey and comfortable, the staff made you feel very welcome.
  • Reviewed October 2010
    Anonymous

    TUSCANY SINGLETRACK

    Good hill climbs if you're up to it - challenging rather than moderate I'd say. The accommodation and leader are very good.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Fitness training!
Call us on 1 844 227 9087