Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed January 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN ANDALUCIA

    A great holiday if you want to see a bit of the real Spain.Interesting countryside and a chance to wander round villages not geared up to tourism.The accomodation was basic but very pleasant and wonderfully situated on a hill overlooking the village.The staff were local and you felt,through them, you were contributing to the local economy but not spoiling the area.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing vultures in Europe.Watch real flaminco dancing from a teacher and her pupil in the village.The Spanish Government are encouraging youngsters to be involved in this traditional form of dance similar to initiatives in Scotland.Moorish Seville

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Friendly and knowlegable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't expect to buy much except on your day in Seville.
  • Reviewed January 2011
    Anonymous

    LEBANON LONG WEEKEND

    Exodus really scraped the barrel to find the hotel. There are so many nicer hotels in Beirut.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Drinking cocktails along the Corniche

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fine
  • Reviewed January 2011
    Anonymous

    GALAPAGOS & AMAZON

    I have no regrets in taking this trip and if I could turn back time I would do exactly the same again. You already imagine this is the trip of a lifetime and for me it was.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Amazon was easily the highlight of the trip. The accomodation at the lodge (Napo Wildlife Centre) was superb and the guides were of the highest quality. Particularly in the Amazon. It is difficult to highlight the best bits of the holiday. Everyday was different and I can't believe so much happened and I experienced so much in 3 weeks.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I had numerous group leaders throughout my stay in Ecuador and all were very good. The Amazon guides are the best guides I have ever been with.On a more personal note the leader in Quito, Estaban, was fine as you would expect for the main part of the trip. However I extended my stay both at the start and end of the trip and Estaban was extremely helpful with giving local advice about backpacking opportunities and local tourist trips, sites and attractions. My luggage arrived late and when it arrived I was on a 2 day tour miles from the airport. Estaban, the Quito leader was able to collect my luggage from the airport on my behalf. He was clearly very passionate about Ecuador and his clients and when things go wrong (through no fault of exodus) he was able to go the extra step.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Lots, firstly some possible myths. I spent 12 months researching the country and came across lots of advice indicating that Ecuador is a very dangerous country. I arrived a week after the shoot out between police and the presidents army in October 2010. There were no signs of any violence and after a couple of days settling in I felt very safe. Even walking around the streets alone.When the notes say Quito can get quite cold. They are telling the truth. Sometimes it felt freezing with temperatures as low as 5C although generally it was comfortable in pants and a long sleeve t shirt and fleece.In the Amazon you imagine lots and lots of insects and that may put people off. Yes there are lots of large insects and spiders (you can hear them all the time) but this should not put you off. It's not like you trip over them. The beds have mosquito nets so nothing gets in. There are literally thousands of ants, but they congregate together and you can easily see them and step over them. The lake at the lodge is of a make up that is safe for humans but which mosquito's can't stand. As a result the resort is almost completely free from mosquito's. We chose to do the easy walking routes through the Amazon which lasted around 2 to 3 hours, each at a very gentle pace. The paths were clear and easy to navigate alllowing you to look at the wildlife rather than watching every step. The wildlife is very well camouflaged and whilst if you blink you will miss something the guides were always pointing something out. You need binoculars to get the most out of the Amazon.Learn Spanish, a little bit of Spanish will go a long way as they (the locals) do not speak very good English. I bought a teach your self DVD for £ 10 ish and got on fine. It enhanced my holiday experience.Do some research on Ecuador and if you can afford to stay a little longer it is deffinately worth it. The cloud forest was particularly exceptional. It was not advertised in the Exodus brochure and I feel they should at least offer it as an optional extension. I heard about Bellavista Mindo Cloud forrest through a popular travel guide book. I asked if exodus could book a trip in advance. They emailed me several different trips with itineries and prices. Exodus booked everything from the UK and it went like clockwork. I would recommend the 2 day trip because the bird life is very lively at sun rise (cost was around £ 200.00 all inclusive for my trip).The advice regarding how much to tip varied a lot. I still don't know what the right tip percentage should be. I would just be aware that you may tip more or less than the Exodus brochure recommends.I spent around £ 70 on malaria tablets (Malorone) which was the most expensive and I think the yellow fever was about £ 40. I was never asked to show the yellow fever certificate. That was my only medical expense (plus suncream)Jet lag and altitude sickness varies from person to person. I felt some jet lag but it did not effect my enjoyment of the holiday. Everyone in our group was aware that the altitude was effecting them but for us it was never a problem and walking at normal pace was OK.Local food is pork and chicken usually served with corn or rice and whilst I personally will eat anything that is put on a plate. There was nothing extreme and if you are a (can I say) difficult eater you will not have any problems in Ecuador. On the galapogas trip, some of the group had special dietary requirements and I was worried I would be eating soup the whole time. The chef was superb and everyone was well catered for with a large variety of food for everybody. That said if you want to try different foods, they have fruits that are not just better than in the UK but not available in the UK. A potato and cheese soup is a local speciality which I would recommend you ask for. Others include Mura Juice and a fruit called Grenade fruit (it's yellow about the size of a large orange but breaks open very easily and contains seeds much like our passion fruit.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I took a night flight and arrived in the morning which is what I would do again if I went back.I had a 2 day trip to Bellavista Cloud Forest to see the humingbirds which was excellent. Panaramic views of mountains covered in forest was also excellent.I went on a day trip to Cotopaxi and a local market which was excellent (the local leader helped me arrange this on the last minute, I deliberately left it late to see how I handled the altitude).On the first day of arrival our group ascended the cable car which they advised was enjoyable but exhausting because of the altitiude on there first day (I was at Cotopaxi that day).I first met the group on the day we flew out to the Amazon.On the free day after returnign from the Amazon we had the city tour which finished at around 11.30AM, had lunch at the hotel then me and 2 others went to the Equator line exhibition. It was very touristy as you would expect but the part around the corner (ask the guide and then ask locally) was much smaller but worth every minute. You go in and a guide will greet you and give you a 40 minute tour with experiments that seam like magic and give you an insight into the local life of years gone by and also the Amazon local life. The taxi driver (booked from hotel) waited in the car park for us and was excellent. In the evening I went to a football match (not organised through exodus, spur of the moment from a friend I met) south american cup quarter final. The atmosphere was amazing and there was no trouble. It may be possible to organise this through the hotel, the ticket was $6 and the football shirt on the stands outside was $5. All paid for on the day.Galapogas trip was amazing, the notes don't tell you about the excellent food on board and doesn't tell you that actually there is a certain pleasure in riding the big ocean waves in a very small boat. It was certainly interesting trying to take showers whilst on the move. The Galapogas part of the trip is pretty much exactly as described in the trip notes and there is not much I can add. Your hands reach for the camera all the time.After Galapogas I went to Otavalo for 2 days and this was very good (more so because I took the local bus and stayed in a run down hostel that didn't speak any English to try and get a true traveller experience) and the town was nice and friendly and small (especially when compared to Quito which is huge). The Market was very good (it wasn't even market day). There was a parade which made the trip extra special. Although Otavalo was a good experience it didn't have any special charm and I wouldn't go overly out of my way to see it. If you likle markets you'll like Otavalo.Overall I was very glad I did what I could in Ecuador, the country has so much to offer that I could have spent an extra week there easily.
  • Reviewed January 2011
    Anonymous

    KAYAKING ON THE TURQUOISE COAST

    Great holiday! Combined enjoyable exercise and activity, with good company, sun, sea, fresh air. Good food and entertainment - a disco complete with glitter ball in the cockpit of the gulet was great fun.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sleeping under the stars on the deck of the gulet. Disco on the gulet. The gulet barbecue and of course the exercise to work up an appetite.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dave was a lovable character. Ex SAS and slightly older than us, he was fit as a fiddle and very easy to get on with. He was also mindful of our safety. His side kick Yasser came up behind the flotilla to look after stragglers.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This was a mixed group of various ages. We represented the senior end of the group. Before the holiday my main worry was keeping up, but my wife and I shared a double kayak all week and when we got into our rythm we kept well ahead of the bunch.This holiday was advertsied as 3 nights camping and didn't mention our gulet escort and mothership. We slept on the deck although those who wanted to could camp on the shore. You only need the thinnest of sleeping bags to stay on the gulet, blankets and pillows were supplied.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you are reasoanbly fit you will enjoy it!
  • Reviewed January 2011
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    Petra was the magnet that drew me to going on this trip. It was sensational. Much larger than I had expected and so full of atmosphere. An experience I will never forget.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    In the evening, as we lay by the camp fire, looking up at the stars, waiting for a shooting star to fly past, the guide would tell us stories about Moses and his people as they wandered through this actual desert looking for a home. It was a living history lesson. And then of course there were the adventures of Lawrence.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    An eccentric character that was very easy going. This worried some of the people on the walk

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A relatively easy and throughly enjoyable walk. There is plenty of support and a vehicle is always on hand just in case.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It a very friendly and welcoming country.
  • Reviewed January 2011
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO CLIMB - RONGAI ROUTE

    This was most definitley the best trip of my entire life! What an amazing adventure. I was in two minds as to whether this was the trip for me, right up until I arrived I guess. The whole experience, from the people I travelled with, the inspirational guides and porters who looked after us, to the incredible feeling of reaching the summit, was just one that I will never, ever forget. Both Exodus and The African Walking Company inspired complete trust and confidence. Nothing was left to chance and, despite feelings of intrepidation about various points of the trip, I felt completely safe and thoroughly looked after. This is definitely a trip of a lifetime.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There are more than a few inspirational moments, but I will name the most oustanding here; Firstly, the group with whom I travelled were so supportive and friendly; it felt like I had known some of them for years! The guides and porters who demonstrated immense dedication to our welfare and enjoyment throughout the entire trip. Reaching Mawenzi Tarn campsite and the amazing views on our acclimatisation walk - if you are wondering which route to take I would definitely recommend the extra day, both for acclimatisation and for the views from Mawenzi tarn. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely amazing! Meke, was clearly extremely experienced and a natural leader who always endeavoured to ensure that everyone was happy, healthy and safe. On the final ascent, noone could want for anything; the guides were incredibly helpful and were the reason that many of us made it to the summit.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Once you start feeling the effects of altitude, I would defintely take Diamox. I was in two minds as to whether I should take Diamox, but, following the head guide's advice I decided I would take it. I firmly believe this was a huge factor in enabling me to reach summit. Everything was planned so carefully by the guides to ensure that we had the best chance of reaching the summit; I would say follow all of the advice given and you can't go far wrong.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    An awesome trip!
  • Reviewed January 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING THE GREAT WALL

    Overall a wonderful exprience - the contrast of being out on the wall and the hustle and bustle of Beijing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being out in the most amazing scenary when the only man made object you can see is the wall you are standing on and you've either walked or going to walk all you can see.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He took a bit of encouraging to walk with the group, but once he did he was friendly and good company. He didn't know a great deal about the wall and we had to rely on him to join us to translate the local guides. But their knowledge was sometimes limited.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it!I've not got a head for heights, but coped OK with that. The food and people are wonderful.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    just do it!
  • Reviewed January 2011
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER ETHIOPIA

    Just read Ron Glantz's review. He has captured everything I would have said only a lot more eloquently! Exodus have tailored the trip to a sub-£2000 price so most of the hotels are pretty basic- just be prepared; you get what you pay for! We could have done without the trip south of Addis. Ethiopia is an outstanding place to visit and I would not have missed it - highly recommended.
  • Reviewed January 2011
    Anonymous

    PICOS PEAKS & GORGES

    Comfortable, friendly, 'laid back' hotel with great food - loved the generous provision of packed lunches as well as the evening meals.  Very competent and knowledgeable local guides.  Stunning walks and scenery well worth the challenge of the steep uphills!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing on the peak of Macondiu and slowly taking in the astounding 360 degree panorama of the Picos ranges.Taking a well earned lunch break on a high sunny meadow and hearing nothing but the sound of cow bells.Taking off my hot sweaty boots and feeling the lovely refreshing icy cold water on my feet as we picked our way across a faster than usual flowing river.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Victor - an absolute gem. Fantastic local knowledge personalised through his family connections.  Excellent communication skills. Sensitive to the needs and varied abilities of the group.  Hot on health and safety without belabouring it.  I had complete confidence in him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for some challenging but rewarding walking.  Check the dates on the trip notes as some weeks are upgraded from 'moderate' to 'challenging'.  I didn't and got a bit more than I bargained for, but I'm told that even the 'moderate' rated weeks are still quite tough if you're not at your fittest and/or used to long, often steep uphill walks.  The clue's in the name, really "Peaks and Gorges"!
  • Reviewed January 2011
    Anonymous

    CAPE TOWN TO VICTORIA FALLS

    The trip was very well organized, with a spectacular start and endpoint. All the more accessible sights were covered such as game parks, historically significant sites, and deserts and dunes, with a couple of days in a B&B on the coast of Namibia to recuperate halfway through and at the end in Cape Town (needed after weeks in a tent in the desert). Cape Town was a great place to finish the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Namibia’s vast openness and desert scenery and game viewing in Etosha was amazing – we were lucky to see the big five (even a leopard running along the road not hiding up a tree), zebra, hippos, antelopes of all shapes and sizes (both to see and eat), a cheetah with cubs, and countless birds. Moreover, we went on several boat trips which gave us a different aspect of the animals, village life and the changing landscape.Swakopmund is a lovely seaside town with good restaurants, pubs and cafés great place to stop for a few days and freshen up - we arranged a sea-kayaking trip at Walvis Bay, where we were surrounded by seals (they’re so much more fun in the sea than on land) and some Benguela dolphins happily played with our kayaks. It was a truly uplifting experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader (and camp assistants) were very good - great characters who added to the trip. They looked after you very well and made sure you were prepared for the next day's experiences.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a washing line and plenty torches/batteries. Drink the water from the van - it is alot more environmentally friendly and fine.Learn to rise at dawn, find the toilets/shower first and be ready to go within 30 minutes...Relax and enjoy the trip - don't miss out on any of the games drives as you can guarantee that will be the one time when the rarest animal shows up!Do the trip starting in Victoria Falls finishing in Cape Town not the other way round. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You are unlikely to gain an in-depth knowledge of the countries you travel through but it will show how much Southern Africa has to offer.  
Call us on 1 844 227 9087