Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Make 2018 Your Year of Adventure. Save $150 when you Book Now - Learn More >

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    KENYA & TANZANIA ADVENTURE

    This was a birthay present to myself, that surpassed my expectations!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I was truely over awed when i came up close with 2 big elephants drinking water round the back of the camp site we were staying at! I think it must be the most surreal experience of my life. Mind you, seeing the beautiful Indian Ocean from our balcony room in Zanzibar was also magnificent.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Oh my Godaness!! Linda was fantastic, totally my kind of woman, she really helped to make the trip the sensational experience that it was.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I was a complete novice to this holiday, and so read all the reviews before I went, which were all helpful. However I would add, that i wish I had taken a pair of binoculars with me, I am looking to buy a pair before my next trip, and I will certainly be booking more trips in the future :-)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would say to anyone thinking about booking this trip just go 4 it! Dont worry if you are traveling alone, or never done anything like this before, it was truely fantastic, and I will never forget it.
  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    EVEREST BASE CAMP

    WOW!  AWESOME!  At 64 years young, I was very apprehensive about reaching Base Camp, as were a few others in the group. Yet everything went really smooth. The trek was out of this world as was the organisation by Exodus and especially the Sherpas who got me there.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many, but the fact that all 16 of our group made Base Camp was special. Many, many other great moments, with the best for me being :-1.  Reaching Namche, realising I was in the heart of Sherpaland after a long day mainly trekking uphill.2.  Standing outside our teahouse at Tengboche on a beautiful, clear, sunny day with Nupste, Everest, Lhotse and Amu Dablam in the background.3.  My favourite - an 'optional' walk after trekking to Lobuche, which took us to a ridge from the teahouse to watch the sunset on the Nupste Wall. No colour at first, then the sun began to set, turning the Wall to yellow, then gold and eventually red.     

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sherpa Pasang was brill. He even organised taxis for us in Kathmandu to go sightseeing ! Nothing was too much trouble for him on the trek. Everything was explained to us the night before trekking. He made sure the pace was correct ( hence everyone made it to Base Camp ). Everything was sorted for us at the teahouses, packs ready in our rooms on arrival at the end of the day and collected early next morning. We even had a flask of tea at Base Camp. Of course, all of this was with the great help given by his team.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have a good level of fitness. You will stop for a breather on the treks uphill, everyone did. Therefore stick to the pace your Sherpa tells you to do. You can do it - there were four over 60 year olds in our group and we all made it.We had mainly beautiful, sunny days ( late November ), but it was cold at the trek start in the morning and freezing in the evening, so plenty of thin thermal layers ( I slept in mine plus leggings and walking socks ), a good down jacket and sleeping bag.Age is no barrier, you won't be walking fast. The food is excellent in the teahouses with a tremendous variety. Just keep loading up on the carbos.If you fancy the trek, don't think twice - JUST DO IT - if you don't, you'll always wonder - what if ?  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    My only disappointment is that I don't think this trek can be surpassed, therefore where do I go next ! You do not have to be superfit, but climb those mountains beforehand, it will help. The most common word used by the 'kids' and by the 'golden oldies' on trek was - awesome, as we saw sights which now unfortunately put our mountains to shame.Take wetwipes ( for various uses ), lipsalve, a hot shower every few days is a luxury - expect a cold outdoor shower !I wish I was back there now.
  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    GRAND TRAVERSE OF THE INDIAN HIMALAYA

    For me the trip was a wonderful first experience of the Himalaya, well deserving of its Tough grading. The remote location, altitude, wild scenery and Tibetan culture combined to make it a fascinating and unforgettable holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Going over the passes, particularly the Parang La via the Parang Glacier.The brightness of the stars seen through the cold clear night-time air. The power of water, both in the rivers we had to cross and in the effects of the recent floods on the landscape.The good company and food in the mess tent.The sense of achievement having completed the trek.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant! In Valerie Parkinson we were indeed fortunate to have such an experienced and knowledgeable leader, who looked after us well. She encouraged us, made sure we drank plenty of tea, made sure no one got too far behind, and even added up our restaurant bills for us. She knew a tremendous amount about the region and was able to answer pretty well all our questions. It was also very interesting to hear about her nearly successful attempt on Everest!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't rush, even after you have acclimatised. "Plodding" works well. Watch where you are putting your feet; some of the trails are rough with loose steep scree. A down jacket is worthwhile; it gets very cold in the evenings. Take plenty of camera batteries and memory cards; you will want to take lots of pictures. River sandals are essential for the river crossings.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was an amazing experience, and has inspired me to visit the Himalaya again. Ladakh is just like Tibet, except that you don't have to go to China. If you go on this trip, I hope you have as good a time as I did. Don't expect it to be easy though. It is a challenge!
  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    AOC is a great trip

    A fantastic trip that lets you see the best of Laos and Cambodia, and Bangkok.  The trip also seemed very relaxed throughout, but also packed an incredible amount in.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were several highlights to this trip: from watching the local tribe people going about their daily lives on the banks of the Mekong as we slowly cruised down river; to the temples and monks of Luang Prabang; to taking a hot airbloon ride at Vang Vieng; and finally to the immense Angkor Wat.  The Killing Fields and S21 were harrowing but equally an important and must see.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had 4 leaders for our tour.  You spend most of your time with the Laos and Cambodia leaders and both these were absolutely fantastic for us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take US dollars in low demoninations, and do the optional hot airbloon ride at Vang Vieng (its an amazing sight).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Do the hot airbloon ride, but expect a bumpy landing :-)
  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    SLOVAKIA DOGSLEDDING WEEKEND

    The most amazing and empowering experience ever! I'd definetely do it again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Driving your sledge through the amazing forests, totally in control, you hear nothing other than the noise of the sledge ripping through the snow. It's just you and the dogs. Then you reach the town of Bully, everything covered in snow, and the locals come out of their houses in silence to see you wizz by their front door. Priceless. The most amazing feeling, trying to describing will not do it justice, try it for yourself!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The Group leader, Daniel, was a character. He didn't speak English at all - which was a shame - because he would've been good fun to talk to and would've had a few stories to tell us!! The Exodus representative, Katerina, was lovely and really professional. I have to say that if Exodus organises a trip for British people it has to ensure that the mushers and guides all speak at least a bit of English; only the Exodus representative was able to communicate with us. I speak 7 languages and none of them were of any help on this trip!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plenty of layers as it gets pretty chilly when you are the one sitting down on the sledge! But when you are pushing the sledge you definetely warm up!When you go out for the day or afternoon in the forest you do stop for lunch but your second stop is in the middle of nowhere so i recomend you take some water with you - you will not feel hungry but you will definetely feel thirsty.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Dogsledging in Slovakia involves more 'pushing of sledge' than you would expect - terrain is more mountaneous than in Finland or Iceland - so i definetely think it is important that you are reasonably fit. The food is phenomenal, everywhere you go you eat and drink well. Traditional deserts are to die for...but i can see you would struggle if you are a vegetarian! p.s. dumplings are their traditional food, theya really nice but not what you expected - what they call dumplings we call gnocci!!The Pension du Mars was where we stayed was very well set up, a tipical mountain pension, and the food was great. Try the lentil soup - divine!!I would recomend that even if you have done dogsledging before, that when you are to go out with the dogs you choose to pair up with a musher/experienced guide as opposed to someone else from your group. Even if all he/she does is sit on the sledge and you drive all the way you want to make sure that in case something happens he helps you take control of the situation. You may feel you can do it all yourself and even take others with you but remember you are not there to prove anything to anyone - dogsledging, like skiing, horse riding or bodyboarding - is an extreme sport and you don't want your inexperience to be responsible for causing an accident. Slovakia is not as commercial as other places you may have gone skiing in like France, Austria or Switzerland, so although they are very well set up, their main customer base is local people. Be respectul of their customs and of the fact that they are giving you the best they have to offer. I would DEFINETELY recomend this trip.
  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    CHAMONIX SNOWSHOE

    This trip was just what i needed for a winter getaway - birght blue skies, wall-to-wall sunshine, cosy warm chalet, excellent home cooking and baking, great walks, scenery, brilliant guide and a fantastic group - not to mention the extras including a hot tub , cake every day, log fire..... 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day had brilliant views and excellent photo opportunities. Even though there had been no snow for a month Oliver always seemed to know where to take us to benefit from some great walks and he always managed to find us the sunshine - much appreciated!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Oliver was calm, professional, knowledgable, laid back and kind. You did feel very well looked after as he had so much experience of the area. His bad jokes are really that bad - but funnily enough by the end of the week they were kind of a bit infectious and we found us a group starting to come out with some just as bad.....

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just book it and enjoy......Couple of practical things: Take some flip-flops or light outdoor shoes to run from the chalet to the hot tub!A flask is a good idea for the outdoor picnicsIf oliver can organise at such short notice, you might be able to do some dog-sledding on your free day. Four of our group went and it was absolutely briliant - the dogs were adorable!  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A top class holiday, the only slight criticism is that occasionally we had to walk on ice rather than soft snow just because of the total lack of recent snowfall in the area. Nothing anybody could do, apparently the mild weather they had been experiencing was very unusual.A big thankyou to the lovely elaine - can definately see why oliver married her, ha ha. Her cakes are amazing and were the perfect end to a days walking!
  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO CLIMB - LEMOSHO ROUTE

    Definitely the hardest thing I've done in my life but certainly not the least enjoyable! Had a good time climbing on the Lemosho route and would definitely recommend it if you've got the time. Great guides as well- read a review before climbing saying to trust the guides as they know far more than you do- definitely true!
  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF MOROCCO

    Excellent itinerary which meant you could see a huge portion of the country in a short space of time. A couple of long days on the minibus....but i enjoyed watching the changing scenery!! Due to time constraints it did sometimes feel a bit hurried but again we did get to see the country's many highlights!! 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    New Years Eve in the Saraha Desert was an excellent way to welcome in the New Year, one i won't forget for a long time.  Watching the sunset from the top of the Sand dunes, then star gazing round the camp fire.  Atlas mountains ~ really enjoyed walking through the Berber village and then relaxing on the Gite's balcony reading my book.Essaouira a wonderful seaside town, easy place to shop and lovely fish restaurants!!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mustapha was excellent!  Very knowledgeable and gave plenty of recommendations and advice.  Great sense of humour!Ali the bus driver didn't speak much but was an excellent driver!!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Best to layer your clothes, in December it did get quite chilly at nights in the desert, gorge and the mountains.Toilet roll and anti-bacterial gel a must in your day bag!!! Advisable to have coins ready for the toilets.When haggling start your price below 1/2 of the price the seller is starting with, that way you can ensure you won't be overpaying and get a fairer price.  Souvenirs at the desert are very overpriced but as long as your happy with the price your paying its's all good!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Met a great bunch of fellow travellers which made the trip even more memorable!!!
  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    WINTER WALKING: TRINS

    Totally exceeded my expectations! I had never been on an organised holiday before so was naturally apprehensive about what to expect. From arriving at the airport I felt entirely 'looked after'. We were a small group who were soon at ease with each other and as each day passed we gained a small insight into our individual lives as well as enjoying a shared interest (a few shared interests if you include food and drink!).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Without a doubt - the stunning scenery and fresh alpine air! When describing my trip to friends and family I have been unable to put into words how I felt each day walking through the snow with that scenery all around me. Truly awesome!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bob's THE man! A gentle and patient man who was considerate of the individual needs and differences of the group. His knowledge of the area is vast and his passion clear. Under his guidance and care I felt that I had a comprehensive and varied overview of the area. From being collected at the airport the only decisions I needed to make all week was whether to have meat, fish or veggie for my tea and I loved it! Bob sorted the rest!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take thin layers. The weather was unseasonably warm which was great for us as there was clear blue sky and sun each day but the differing temperatures as you went in and out of the shade meant you were either peeling off layers or putting them back on. The hotel and rooms were very warm so no need to wrap up in the evenings. Don't forget your sunglasses and suncream. My face took on a nice subtle tan which looked a bit odd on my return to work as my neck and arms had obviously remained lily white!Nice to have sucky sweets to enjoy on your walks but don't bother with any other snacks - there is more food than you can shake a stick at. You will NOT go hungry!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Clearly I had the most fabulous time. I have never felt so relaxed from a holiday. It passed at a nice pace and one week on I am still feeling the love! I would certainly recommend this trip to anyone who enjoys walking, talking, drinking and eating. I am hooked - want more!
  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    SOUTH INDIA EXPLORED

    A varied itinerary with a good mix of activities.  A busy tour that covers lots of South India at a good pace.  South India is much more relaxed and less frenetic than Northern India.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Very difficult to say.  Seeing elephants in the wild at Periyar.  The Sri Meenakshi temple in Madurai - a city in itself that was an assault on the senses.  Tipu Sultan's summer palace at Mysore was superb for those interested in the history of the period.  The wonderfully friendly people. Some of the best moments were things we did along the way - seeing jaggery being made in a field, watching bricks being made, seeing fruit bats in a tree etc. Personally, one of the most memorable moments was arriving at a statue of an ancestor on the beach at Chennai, with the rest of the group being very tolerant in including this impromptu stop in the itinerary.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gopal was very attentive and worked very hard to answer our questions and make sure the holiday was what we all wanted it to be.  We did our best to be good students of all there was to know about Hindu gods.I would add that our bus driver Danesh and Sudir his assistant were exceptional and our transport was comfortable and super clean.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travellers cheques were a bit of a hassle, easier to exchange cash.  Don't take too much luggage - we managed to have laundry cleaned at the stops we spend 2  nights.  Buy silk in Kanchipuram.  I didn't and regretted it later.  Be prepared for some long days.  Hassan to Bangalore by bus followed by train to Chennai was a bit of a killer.  It is hard to spend money here.     People who don't like Indian food will struggle to find alternatives.  If however you like curry - hurrah!  Eat a masala dosa if you can.Read a South Indian Journey by Michael Wood before you go.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you can spare the 3 weeks required go.   It would have been better if the boats on the Kerala backwater trip were smaller, we were restricted to the larger parts of the waterway, but this was a minor gripe.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087