Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN TUSCANY

    I knew the landscape would be beautiful. I knew the trip would be well organised. I knew for sure that the food and drink would be divine. What I didn't reckon on was the stunning mountain scenery, our inspirational guide, Sara Bull, the warmth of the Italian people and most of all the frienship and camaraderie of the group itself.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On a scintillating sunshiney spring day climbing up through dappled beech forests and patches of virgin snow to the precipice and a vista of thickly wooded Tuscan hillsides - and on to the sea beyond. Truly heaven.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    One word - inspirational.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Come on this trip and enjoy. It will exceed your expectations.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    (I would have liked a map before I came !)
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN MADEIRA

    Having read the trip notes I was expecting an exhilarating walking holiday with views along the coast and from mountain ridges. Due to poor weather, path closures and forest fires what I got was endless levada walking, backtracking along paths and walking with no objective or destination. Only one day followed the published itinerary.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Had some great sea food. Beautiful island and friendly people.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Knowledgeable about the island and local weather conditions. Good leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would not call this holiday moderate walking. More easy/ sight seeing.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Please update your trip notes.
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous

    ATLAS ADVENTURER - FAMILY HOLIDAY

    An absolutely wonderful holiday contrasting between the calm, quiet settings in the mountains with basic facilities and great scenery, walks and various animal sounds with that of noisy and chaotic Marrakech with traffic and haggling. A great eye opener for kids and adults.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All walks were wonderful. The scenery varied each day. The kids had a great time, enjoying the walks and the company of the other children. When they were tired they could be carried by the mules which was an experence for them in itself.The last day far exceeded our initial expectations with exhilarating zips across the canyon and over valleys.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was a local mountain berber and very experienced in local culture and hiking. He was safety conscious and able to respond to queries though not very forthcoming or chatty.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We were uncertain what to expect from the mountain accommodation- so did not bring chargers for cameras etc. They all had electricity although one did not have running water so washing and particularly toilet facillities were rather limited- although certainly made a bush in the mountain more appealing.We did not find the city tour particulary interesting and it may be more worthwhile having the whole day to do your own thing unless you (and your children) are very interested in history.It would be practical to wear walking boots for the adventure day- we had put ours away when we arrived back to Marrakech and it was rather muddy and slippery (and rainy and cold)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We are not generally one for camping and basic facillities and intended this holiday to be an exception... but having come back we got out the brochure to plan our next!
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLING THE DALMATIAN COAST

    Breathtaking scenery, great cycling, good food and excellent company!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The cycling on Mjlet was lovely. So peaceful, beautiful and relaxing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ana was a great tour leader. Enthusiastic, knowledgeable and well-organised. She also made sure we ate in great local restaurants and quickly sorted out issues when they occured (such as the one restaurant that ran out of red wine!!)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't be lulled into a false sense of security by the short distances - there are regular hills with some particularly long climbs - nothing too difficult but do do some training before you go and you'll enjoy it more. The fabulous descents make up for all the climbing. We went in April it was glorious sunshine in the daytime but got quite chilly at night - take something warm!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It's a very beautiful country - enjoy it!
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN TUSCANY

    Amazing, wonderful group of people, fantastic group leader, excellent home cooked meals using locally sourced ingrediants.  And, oh yes almost forgot it was a walking holiday.  The walking was exceptional and varied, we literally had the place to ourselves.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing on top of Mt Prado, over a mile high, the highest point in Tuscany. The remains of the winter snow about us, views every which way and nothing but silence, no bird song, nothing, just silence.  Save the only birds to get that high are Eagles.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely fantastic, professional, faultless.  A truly amazing lady so enthusiatic about all she does and sees.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes carefully and follow them, they are there for very good reasons.  That way your enjoyment won't be spoiled. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Yo!! Exodus you're the people!
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN ANDALUCIA

    Very good walking, with a range of scenery. Good guide, very knowledgeable. Good accommodation. My only criticism was it was somehow predictable. 20yrs ago we did a similar holiday with Simply Crete and it had far more suprise elements in it (eg lunch in locals' homes) so I think I was left a bit underwhelmed after Andalucia

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I enjoyed Setenil village.I loved the delicious evening meals. (but they were really late and I was so hungry I'd have eaten anything)It wasn't really an inspirational trip, more a pleasant, interesting, relaxing one.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    very good. Relaxed, low key. knowledgeable, sensitive to the group and their abilities. Flexible, able to adapt walks depending on the weather. Good ideas for Sevillle, but never pushy and over organising.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take waterproof jacket AND trousers. We needed them.Take your own snacks to keep you going between pakced lumch at 1pm and dinner at 8.30pm. The bar prices for drinks and snacks are very high.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think that being offered a glass of wine on arrival, without any nibbles seemed a bit mean, given that we had all travelled for several hours by the time we got to the Cortijo. Just some crips would have been welcoming. We were cold in our rooms and it took a few days before we were given duvets.   The windows rattled at nght and were very draughty. The towels were quite old and threadbare and the showers nice and hot, but not very high standard.  I know that we were not to expect 'hotel style' accommodation on this kind of trip, so was rather disappointed that the bar prices were really high - certainly hotel style!!    We were a captive audience so had no choice but to pay 1.30 euros for a bottle of water - that seemed a tad exploitative.It was nice to have biscuits , tea and coffee availalbe during the day - a very nice touch indeed. But why were the dinners so late? I know this is the Spanish habit, but it was hard to go from packed lunch to 8.30pm dinner with a couple of biscuits. Either offer a more substantial snack when we get in from a long walk, to keep us going, or make dinner earlier.II don't think the owners enjoyed cooking for us on the first two nights. The meals were very simple indeed. The rest of the weeks the meals were gernerally excellent. Plenty of food, bags of flavour and authentic Spanish, of course. Wonderful. A highlight of the trip.  (but I think 12 euros for the cook book too expensive)
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous

    KERALA & TROPICAL INDIA

    A lot of variety - some great sights and places. The cycling was enjoyable and a good workout most days. A very pleasant and active trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling down from Ooty was a blast.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Safi, and his assistants Shibu and Shaka were excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring a gel seat cover!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Some of the hotels were basic and the rooms very small. Single beds were often not separable (space constraints) which was not great when sharing with someone I didn't know. Hot water and/or water pressure were sometimes elusive. Rooms did vary in the hotels though and some places were very nice. We were asked to pay a kitty of 8,000IR to cover all meals, snacks, water and tips for hotels/restaurants.
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous

    ANNAPURNA, CHITWAN & EVEREST

    This was an amazing trip. We really enjoyed the walking even though it was very hard at times. Our extension trip around the Golden Triangle (Dehli, Agra and Jaipur) was equally inspiring and totally different to the peace and quite of the mountains.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We cried when we saw Everest. It was an ambition from childhood to see the Himalayas and one we never thought we would achieve. My husband's serious illness last year inspired us to do this.We also thought seeing the Annapurnas especially Fishtale inspirational and also the Taj Mahal. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lakpa Lama is an absolute STAR. He is caring and encouraging for all the group and makes sure weaker members like myself do not feel under pressure to catch up. His knowledge of the mountains, flora and fauna and the culture of Nepal is superb. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Moderate rating does not sum up some sections of this walk. Climbing a 1 in 4 slope for 650m at altitude is physically very demanding so make sure you are fit! The lodges/ teahouses were far better than we expected being clean and comfortable, however it does get cold at night and there is very little heating (a wood burning stove in the main room) and sometimes there is no hot water for showers as there has been no sun so take baby wipes!On the Golden Triangle extension be aware of the noise and traffic. There are no rules on the road and custom is to us your horn constantly. Traffic is chaotic with 5/6 lanes of traffic on 2 lane carriageways. We were also hassled by beggars and sales people and this is quite aggressive at times. Advice is do not even talk to them not even to say 'no thank you'. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Nepal part of the trip was wonderful. The Guides were superb and I feel that the Sherpas Pemba, Nawang and Phurba need a special thank you on the Everest part of the trip as without their encouragement and help I would have found the walking almost impossible. Equally, on the Annapurnas the Sherpas Pemba, Chewang and Nima were so helpful.Kathmandu is a vibrant interesting city (noisy and chaotic too) and visitors should make the most of seeing the temples, Durbar Square, Thamel etc. Also the are alot of really good restaurants!We were unsure about Chitwan and were not convinced about how the elephants were kept chained in the breeding centre. The guide did not seem to make a good case for this. However, were did enjoy being with the elephants, seeing the village and learning about the culture and enjoyed the canoe trip.The Golden Traingle extension: The guides were informative and the guide for the Taj Mahal was superb and went out of his way to make the whole experience more interesting. The guides for Jaipur and Fatehpur Sikri we felt only did what was necessary and we sometimes felt rushed. We did have some complaints about our driver and the hotel at Jaipur which we have contacted Exodus about.
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN TUSCANY

    This part of Tuscany was a complete surprise and a total delight. Not only did we have the typical walking through rolling pastureland covered with wildflowers, we also had many walks through shady forests decorated with sun streaming through the new green leaves and over a floor of last years copper leaves before we emerged onto high ridges to enjoy stunning views over still snow clad peaks. A total delight. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The ridge walk to Monte Prado was excellent. Not only the highest peak in the area, but the residual snow from last winter forced us to a higher route over the ridge summits. A wonderful roller-coaster of fun with unhindered views in all directions.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara Bull is one of the finest leaders I've had the pleasure of dealing with. She was always willing to go that extra mile for everyone and managed to strike the right balance with the more experienced party members and the those on their first real walking tour.My free day was made far more enjoyable by her description and hand-drawn map of a simple valley walk from Braccicorti to Lago di Pentecosi and up to Villeta before returning.On the easier walks which were completed at a reasonable time of day, Sara volunteered to drive us into Castlenuovo for a celbratory cone of gelati.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ensure you have plenty of room in your cameras.In early spring, expect snow snow on the higher tracks, its handy to ensure your boots are waterproof.The Limone gelati in Castlenuovo is a real beauty! As is the Pistachio...and the Hazelnut...Hell, they are all good.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The tour of this quiet, crowd free part of Tuscany provides many walks which are a fun mix of easy and the more demanding. The latter only due to the steepness of ascent or descent which may test the less experienced. But don't be deterred, persevere, take your time and you'll enjoy a great reward for your efforts.
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous

    SINAI TREK

    A great trip and small group (7). Basil our guide was incredibly attentive and met our needs. We were not shy to ask, which was a good thing. The only uncomfortable part was some very long 4wheel driving that had to be done. The jeep was a bit cramped as we 7 + guide + 2 Bedouins. Basil improved it by securing another truck. But for anyone contemplating this, be prepared for hot and dusty when you are not trekking!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Taking in the scenery every step of the way.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Basil was fabulous, probably one of the best I've had so far with many trips under my belt.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    3 season sleeping bag is a must. There are loads of mosquitos and ants, so I took with me a bugliner for my bag which was the bomb. I was the only one that didn't get bit to pieces. 1 pole is plenty; half the group used 1 pole and others used none. All the locations are fixed camps with toilets and showers. We had hot water every place we went. Mats were also provided at each location, so no need to take your own.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    For the first time on an Exodus trip the Trip Notes were spot on. It seems that they had been revised about 1 week before the trip and everything was accurate, including the detailed itinerary. If you've never been to Egypt before, I highly recommend arriving a few days early or leaving a few days after the group. The hotel is comfortable and a short trip to Giza or North Saqqara. One can also easily do the sites of Cairo (Citadel, Old Cairo, museum) in a day. The hotel did a great job contacting a driver who I hired for 2 full days. And to anyone worried about 'unrest' don't be!! Western media tend to blow everything out of proportion. If anything, it's safer as the military are running the country instead of a corrupt police force. Go For It!!!
Call us on 1 844 227 9087