Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    YELLOWSTONE WILDLIFE TREK

    Fantastic trip - superb scenery, great wildlife viewing and excellent company

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting rather closer than expected to a young grizzly bear on our first trek was a real highlight, as was spotting a moose the next day. The walks in Glacier were fantastic, with views from every turn. Yellowstone is everything I imagined it would be from the TV series.I'm not someone who would go out of their way to choose a camping trip, but this was excellent - especially the food! 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Parker and Ryan were excellent group leaders. They really knew their stuff, were flexible about the itinerary so that we saw the best of each of the 3 parks we visited & kept the group motivated on long drives. They obviously love their jobs & seemed as keen to get out on some of the newly opened hiking trails in Glacier as a first time visitor.They'd also taken on board some of the comments from the trips earlier in the season, so they had found us an excellent wildlife guide in Yellowstone (although that still didn't mean the wolves putting in an appearance!) and changed to camping on the last night to a much better location. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It can get very cold at night, so bring a warm sleeping bag and some thermal layers. Al toiletries and food have to be packed away on the van every night away from bears, so a separate bag for those is also really useful.The types of walks you do on this trip are weather dependent and as we were on the last trip on the year we were lucky to be able to hike some amazing trails in Glacier NP. I think if you are on the earlier trips then you need to be prepared to be flexible as late lying snow can cause the trails to be closed. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Given that this is the first time Exodus have run this trip I'm hoping that they will be open to making a few changes before 2012. I would question why the trip needs to return to Salt Lake prior to flying back to the UK - as that is 2 days of solid driving. I think it would be better to use one of the small airports closer to Glacier NP. This may result in 1 extra airport transfer, but I think all the group plus the leaders thought it would be better than the lengthy drive at the end.This is a really special trip to some amazing parks. It can only be run over a short period due to the weather, so if you want to hike with bears, wolves and bison then get signing up for next year!! 
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO CLIMB - RONGAI ROUTE

    A truly well organised experience of a lifetime holiday.  Very well looked after in all aspects - the food was just superb - I am not a camper but nethertheless tea in bed in the mornings certainly helped!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The enthusiasm of the guides and their encouragement - "getting to the top is a piece of cake" - I quote

    What did you think of your group leader?

    excellent - well experienced, knowledgeable, caring, considerate with super interpersonal skills

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a nail brush

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just do it with Exodus - you will love it!!!!
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN BOSNIA & HERZEGOVINA

    I don't often write reviews but this time I felt the need to!! This was the best Exodus holiday I've been on in a while, I loved every minute of it and I could have stayed longer.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many great moments including the hike up Maglic which was made extra special by the fantastic weather which made the views spectacular, and our visits to both Sarajevo and Mostar which were made particulary special  by the insights and experiences of our guides. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both of our guides were very professional and showed awareness of the needs of our group members.  They helped to make the trip special, especially as they were prepared to answer all of our questions and share there personal experiences of Bosnia's recent history.  They were knowledgeable and informative about all of our walks and the culture of the area.   I rate them among the best guides I have come across in the 14 years that I have been going on Exodus holidays.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to enjoy yourself whatever the weather!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Of course your fellow travellers can make the difference between an OK experience and great holiday, for me this was a fantastic trip!
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    LOIRE CYCLING WEEKEND

    We experienced lots of organisational problems. When we arrived at our first hotel in Amboise, we were sent on a 20 min walk to another hotel. It took a long time to explain to the management of this hotel who we were. We were told that our bikes would be at the new hotel but they came later. The trip notes said we would collect our bikes from the shop. When the bikes arrived, they did not have an allen key (as promised) so we could not lower one of the seats (which we needed to do) and did not have a front panier with a waterproof cover for maps - as promised. It rained most of the time on our holiday so this was sorely missed. At our next hotel, our bags had not arrived when we got there so we could not shower or change after our cycle ride. They came much later. We were told the taxi had broken down and were offered dinner in the hotel, as compensation (but we had already planned to eat elsewhere). At the next hotel, they didn't know we were meant to be half board so there was quite a bit of negotiating to do. A final point was that we found the directions in the towns we visited to be very poor.     

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The chateaux and the cycle rides through the countryside and the Loire river were amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    There wasn't meant to be a group leader on this trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Potential travellers should make sure that they get to go to the bicycle shop themselves to have the bike fitted for them and to make sure it comes with all its accessories.It would be a good idea to take your own maps of the bigger towns you visit - we got hopelessly lost in Blois looking for our hotel. I'd advise going to the hotel websites as well and printing out any maps or directions that they provide.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The concept of the holiday is wonderful and the places you visit are spectacular; it was a great shame that we experienced so many logistical hiccups. 

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your recent Loire Cycling Weekend trip. I am very sorry to hear of the logistical problems that you experienced. I have been in touch with the local operator who is very apologetic with regards to the mix up with the hotels and the luggage not arriving on time. He has taken this to heart and will endeavour to ensure that this does not happen in the future. With regards to the allen key, we do not usually provide these as there is the risk that bolts might not be tightened properly, leading to potential health and safety issues. On occasions where assistance is needed (such as the allen key and waterproof panniers) we do urge clients to call the contact details provided in the front of the route notes as the operator is always on standby to solve issues such as these. That saying, I am again truly sorry that you experienced these problems on your trip. I do greatly appreciate your feedback and for next season will be including detailed maps of the towns visited as well as the route notes to make the directions clearer.

    Olly - Product Manager for France

  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    GORILLAS & MASAI MARA

    This was the most awe inspiring trip of my life!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    * Trekking to see the awe inspiring mountain gorillas in Rwanda (and having a silverback breathe on my neck) * The genocide memorial and museum: 1994. 100 days. 1 million people. The world stood by and watched it happen.* Spending my bday in the Ugandan bush drinking champagne and toasting marshmallows by the campfire surrounded by warthogs and very noisy hippos.* Hot air ballooning at dawn over the migrating wildebeast in the Masai Mara.* Sleeping in Nakuru National Park as three lions prowl past our tents and rangers need to fire warning shots* Seeing the beauty of lions, elephants, giraffes, rhinos, zebras, impala, water buffalo and wildebeast up close and personal xx * Having a David Attenborough view of a python eating an impala....ewwwgh!* Spending the morning in a rual Ugandan primary school and joining in the song and dance* Meeting amazing and inspiring people and some friends for life. Endless smiles and gut-busting laughter every day. This trip has changed my life xx

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Emias is one of the loveliest people I have met.  He is incredibly knowledgeable, sensitive to group and individual needs, generous to a fault and very funny.  He always has a beaming smile that brightens even the earliest of early starts.  Emias, Leo and Francis were a cohesive team and clearly enjoyed working together.  Leo is a fabulous chef (his guacamole is to die for and how many people can make a delicious lasagne on a BBQ?) and I enjoyed our nightly banter over the dinner menu ("food" was the only answer I could EVER squeeze out of him!).  He also made me a beautiful cake for my birthday. You will definitely not go hungry on this trip.  Francis did most of the driving and if you ask him nicely he will 'fly' over the bumpy parts of the road.  Nothing is too much trouble: if you left your tent open during the day and it starts raining, you wont come back to a wet sleeping bag, if you're sick he'll bring you tea and he's always good for a chat.  Nakupenda sana, Emias, Leo and Francis.  Thank you for making this such a great trip xx

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you have any doubts over going on this trip, don't!  It's amazing and you will have the time of your life.  Don't worry about going on your own either.  I'd never been away on my own before and everyone was so friendly.  I had an amazing roomie who I'd definitely go away with again.Things worth thinking about:* You really need a decent torch.  My duck torch (affectionately known as Dermot) did not cut the mustard one tiny bit!* Take two smaller bags.  It would have been so much easier, especially when camping.* You can never have enough antibacterial gel, wipes and loo roll (and maybe even a peg for your nose!)* You will take thousands of pictures (spare batteries, SD cards and lenses are a must)* If you get sick in Nairobi I would definitely recommend the medical centre there (don't wait, go).  It is stunning: immaculately clean, gorgeous medical team and amazing facilities.  They took great care of my roomie so she was able to get on the flight that night and even gave her a present as she left.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

     Just do it!
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    DORDOGNE FAMILY ADVENTURE - FAMILY HOLIDAY

    A terrific holiday for younger children,varied activities,not a boring minute and plenty to keep the adults interested as well  

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Canoeing down the Dordogne was an amazing experience-just pretend you have it all to yourself!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mark had time for everyone adults and children,had great patience and worked really hard to make sure we all had a good time 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Consider a car if you want to visit some of the other sights while in this amazing part of France such as the cave paintings of Lascaux. However you do squeeze in a lot of sights and experiences in one brief week without a car

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We really loved this part of France.It is packed with history,picturesque chateaux and amazing caves. The scenery is beautiful and this holiday takes you right to the heart of the area.Thanks to Mark and also the other families in our group for a great time
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    LADAKH: STOK KANGRI CLIMB

    A fantastic place and all the better for having Exodus behind us all the way. The organisation was faultless and the support given by the trek leaders was invaluable. Don't believe the temperature graph in the brochure when it says the average temperature in Leh in July is less than 20C, I'm not sure it fell below 30C! Otherwise a great trip and thoroughly recommended. Didn't need to buy all that winter clothing though! 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The breathtaking views above 5000m

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both Valerie and Chospel were fantastic! I couldn't fault the organisation, experience or willing support provided by the group leaders. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    See above - re weather chart! You need to take the winter clothing just in case, but in July it really wasn't needed! The crampons and ice axes weren't used. It good to plan to leave some kit in Leh which can be given to you in base camp. Hence bring another bag if you can. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It would have got 5 stars if I hadn't got sick! I'm not holding exodus responsible but classic is probably not the words to describe my holiday! 
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    NAMIBIA LODGE ADVENTURE

    This trip was excellent value for money. We saw a lot of Namibia, the game park was brilliant and our guides were first class. If you want a trip to get a good snapshot of Namibia this will easily meet your needs.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We saw 30 lions in one day at Etosha - and some were very close to our vehicle! Also, the ancient rock art and petrified forest were pretty amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ronnie and Joseph were excellent - very professional, good cooks, very good at spotting animals and great fun to be with. They worked very hard and looked after our party of 11 extremely well.  

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Depending when you travel to Namibia be prepared for cold nights - the trip notes are very accurate in this respect. Also, Swakopmund is probably the best place for gifts - there is plenty at the craft market on the last day, but if you want to use gift shops Swakopmund is best.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food is excellent and there is plenty of it - also, for the meals not covered in the trip cost there is a lot  of choice and food is not expensive. Be prepared for some bumpy roads - but that is a small price to pay for the sites and animals you will see. The lodges at Etosha are very good (as the upgrade suggests) otherwise our best lodge was at Solitaire with its many "pet" animals. If you go in July/August the days will be clear, sunny and warm (you may get sea-mist at Swakopmund) and there is no rain. As it is winter you have a great chance to see the animals and there are no unpleasant bugs to distract you!
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    SPITSBERGEN IN DEPTH

    The Arctic can be a place of uncertainty.  But the weather, the ice  and the wildlife (polar bears, foxes and millions of birds) did all the right things at the right time in the right places

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were several.  Seeing a mother bear with two cubs out on the pack ice, miles from land, just after they had eaten a seal.  The birds, the rock cliffs and the resulting scenery at Alkefjellet.  Enjoying the silence and the remoteness, floating motionless in a Zodiac (with ten other adventurers and the engine turned-off) enveloped in fog with the ship out of sight

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Graham 'Woody' Wood is a resourceful, pragmatic and flexible group leader with many years' experience of the Arctic and its many changeable moods and conditions.  Whatever had happened to change last night's plans for today, Woody always came up with a satisfying alternative that filled our day and enhanced our experience and enjoyment of the location - the landscape, the environment, the vegetation, the inhabitants, the sea and the ice - that we were in on that particular day.   His enthusiasm inspired us all, passengers and other team members alike.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go prepared to be surprised.  Whatever happens to change the proposed programme, something else always turns up to fill your day and your senses.  The Arctic and Svalbard in particular is a place like no other on Earth.  Empty your mind of any preconceptions and drink in the special atmosphere and all that it contains, remote from the pressures and chaos of 'civilisation', to refresh your soul and your mind  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Under the influence of Woody and his equally enthusiastic team an atmosphere of camaraderie and social inclusion quickly develops.  The joy of sharing your (new) experiences with like-minded people with shared interests from several parts of the world greatly enhances the pleasure and sense of fulfilment that comes form such an adventure  
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    MADAGASCAN DISCOVERER

    An amazing holiday full of colour and interest.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the lemurs watching us in the wild! We were lucky enough to see many of the different types of lemurs in the different locations along with some chameleons, insects, birds & a fossa.The baobabs are stunning against the blue sky and we witnessed an amazing sunset there but away from the crowds of people.The markets were vibrant & interesting and provided great photo opportunities as most people were happy to have their photograph taken.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sol is the best tour leader we have ever had. He went out of his way to show us all that his country has to offer. Many ad hoc stops were made to view the every day aspects of Madagascan life and frequent stops to take photos were offered. Information was freely given but we were never overwhelmed with it. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There is a lot of travelling long distances. The journeys are interesting especially as Sol adds many unmissible side visits to the itinerary but expect to be tired by the end of the holiday. The roads travelled on with the 4WD's are dirt tracks full of ruts so you do get thrown around alot. You need to be reasonably agile to do the Grand Tsingy trek. Sol offered the option of Petite Tsingy to those of the group who felt they were not up to the trek.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Take lots of photos & enjoy!
Call us on 1 844 227 9087