Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    THE POLISH HIGH TATRAS

    The Tatras mountains were far more beautiful and well provided for than I had expected; the accommodation was good and interesting (!); the group size was perfect and we all got along very well; and our guide, Teresa was brilliant.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Teresa mentioned chains early on in the trip and several of us were quite apprehensive, but when we first reached the chains I found them a huge help for little legs trying to scramble over big rocks, but also quite exciting (I know its not climbing, but it felt adventurous to me!).  I was really pleased and inspired to see so many other walkers about.  Its tempting to want mountain paths to yourself, but in actual fact the emptiness of British walking is rather sad compared to the vibrancy and popularity of the Tatras - it is also fantastic to reach a well appointed hut full of chocolate and fizzy drinks, just when you need them most!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Teresa was great; her english is excellent and she has much to say about Poland, the Tatras and all her experiences.  She is certainly a professional and also very funny and entertaining - she joined us for a game of Scrabble one night and came up with some high scoring words even though she had never played the game before (I lost that game so it wasn't a high point for me!).  She was also brilliant when I was struggling to come down mount Rysy - I was tired and nervous and she stuck by me the whole way, making sure I was completely safe and she held back the rest of the group to ensure we did not get separated.  Then she arranged for the two of us to jump the queue for a horse drawn carriage ride to the edge of the park, which I enjoyed particularly as our speedy driver overtook two other carriages!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Not to be scared by the chains, but you will need to be fit.  The most difficult thing is packing for 5 days - considering what you need, what you can cope with carrying, what your bag can cope with - the Exodus trip notes said all the right things, but it is up to the individual to consider toiletries vs fresh T-shirts daily....

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I just really enjoyed the trip and would have enjoyed a couple more days of walking, though not at the expense of the time in Krakow as I think that was valuable too.The Tatras mountains are fantastic value in my opinion 
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    LEH TO AMRITSAR

    Ladakh is an amazing area! I could have spent the entire holiday visiting Buddhist monasteries! The only downside to the holiday was the unseasonal weather - we could have done without the blizzards, landslides and heavy rain!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Tak Tak festival was spectacular. As much to watch in the crowd as the performance.Hemis monastery was a delight. Visiting in the late afternoon provided beautiful lighting and a very peaceful atmosphere.Reaching Manali was somewhat of a relief, after all the pass closures and dreadful road conditions!Amritsar and the Golden Temple never fail to impress. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dilip was extremely knowledgable, and completely unflappable. He managed to remain completely positive despite the challenges thrown up! Nothing seemed to faze him, and throughout he was charming and affable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take the advice seriously about the potential cold at Tsokar Lake - it was very very cold, and you needed properly warm clothing! Also never go anywhere without a very good waterproof!
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLING THE DANUBE - VIENNA TO BUDAPEST

    A relatively easy cycle ride on cycle paths and mainly quiet roads, accommodation and bicycles excellent. Whilst we were not by the Danube as much as we'd expected, particularly when we were, the scenery was fantastic.  

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The final days cycling which involved 3 ferries across the Danube and, for us, a ferry trip from Szentendre to Budapest ( we were advised by the local Rad Reisen rep to do this rather than cycle into Budapest)We stopped at Lipot and went to open air thermal baths and these were excellent- remember swimming costumes that day  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Self guided so no leader but the representative from Rad Riesen covered all important details at the beginning

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Suggest an extra night in Vienna at the beginning and 1 or 2 nights in Budapest at the endFor us, the airport bus would have been better than the recommended train route to the hotel in Vienna Take swimming costumes for Lipot.Beware that differences between Exodus trip notes and information from Rad Riesen can lead to confusion especially when negotiating routes out of towns.In particular, we were advised to take the train from Tata to Koragom and then cycle along the north of the Danube in Slovakia to Estergom rather than following the route advised by Exodus that day. We were also advised to catch a ferry into Budapest from Szentendre. The instructions for finding the tickets were not very clear.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Overall, very good value holiday and, in particular the bikes and accommodation were fineWe have been on several Exodus holidays and intend to go on more 
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    THE AMALFI COAST

    Everything about the trip was excellent - the scenery, the walks, the knowledge of the Exodus guide, the food, the hotel, the scenery. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Pompeii and Vesuvius!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Enthusiastic, great local knowlege, friendly, worked hard to make sure everyone got the most out of the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A good pair of walking shoes needed and be prepared for sore calves.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would highly recommend a visit to Ravello on your free day - such a beautiful, relaxing place.
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    CARPATHIAN CULTURE AND WILDLIFE

    What an experience! The scenery in Transylvania is spectacular with wildflower meadows, steep valleys and hills, gorges and fields being traditionally worked by farmers who still use a scythe to cut the hay.  Also seeing fortified churches and gothic looking castles adds to the whole transylvania feel as well as sampling the delights of the shepherds by devouring their cheeses and yoghurt in their simple huts.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    "If you go down to the woods today you're sure of a big surprise" - Well we certanly had a surprise.  We saw close-up in their natural habitat, a Mother bear and her three cubs and then a Male bear appeared, all this watched  in a hide.In the bear conservation sanctuary we also saw a number of rescued bears including one from Tibet-all had a story to tell. We also witnesed a altercation between a pack of wolves.  So experiencing closeup bears, wolves, birds and the ocassional dragon fly(to keep David happy!) was the highlights for me.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The experience was made all the better by Cosmin, our guide, who was very enthusiastic and compassionate about animal conservation.  He was able to share his knowledge with us.  Just wish he wouldn't keep stopping for every bloody bird he met (feathered kind I mean)Katrina, was our accomodating host at the guest house.  She equally shared Cosmin's passion for wildlife and always around if we had any questions.  Katrina gave us a guided tour around the bear conservation sanctuary.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The accomodation was excellent. We stayed in a swiss style guest house in Magura in a beautiful valley surrounded by the Carpathian mountains.  I had a balcony view which overlooked fields and meadows and the local church.  The food was out of this world and every evening after each days trekking or sight seeing a different traditional transylvanian three course meal was laid on. There was free beer and wine, courtessy of the help yourself drinks refridgerator, well so it seemed until we added our tallies up on the last day and even then the bill was incredibly cheap.Finally, I met a great bunch of fellow travellers from around the UK and U.S.A who were all very interesting and supportive to one another and who I will endeavour to keep in touch. And congatulations to everyone on the final gorge walk for completing it - in the words of Edmund Hillary "We knocked the bastard off"
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLE THE CAMINO DE SANTIAGO

    Just got back from the Camino de Santiago cycling trip and am filled with enthusiasm for all things Spanish, and all things cycling. Had a wonderful time, with a lovely group of people, and a guide and driver who did so much to make our week fun and enjoyable. The cycling was harder than we expected. There are no flat days, one day was slightly easier than the others but there were strenuous climbs almost every day. The days were long and there was very little 'down time'. There are lots of rough tracks and steep descents on tricky terrain. A few of us felt that the holiday description should give more of an idea of what to expect. To complete every day requires a good level of fitness, determination and cycling experience

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our group varied widely in fitness and cycling. The fitter members coped easily, but others showed amazing and inspirational determination on some of the more difficult days

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was lovely. He was friendly, kind, and helpful, and was brilliant with all of us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try to get some experience of cycling on rough tracks, and be prepared to spend long days on the saddle.
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    THE INCA TRAIL

    A truly unforgettable and magical trip which surpassed all of my expectations. If you're going to take one Exodus trip, this should be it!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many inspirational moments, but to name a few:Finding stunning and incredible views around every new corner.Watching the sun rise over the mountains at the third campsite, hugging mugs of warm tea whilst taking in the panoramic scenery.Walking through the sun gate to marvel our first glimpse of Macchu Picchu; not to mention basking in the magnificence of the lost city itself. Getting the hang of bartering at the market in Macchu Picchu - the selling pitches are much less aggressive here than in Cusco.Sipping nice cold Inca Kola in Macchu Picchu after our 4 day trek. Sitting in the main Plaza in Cusco, watching people go about their daily business.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Juan, was absolutely incredible; his enthusiasm was infectious and his infinite knowledge, his friendly yet professional manner were second to none. He made an already amazing trip absolutely unforgettable; nothing was too much trouble and he genuinely wanted to ensure that everyone had the holiday of a lifetime. What a star!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a warm sleeping bag! I used a 3 season bag and was freezing on a couple of nights. Take stuff sacks - the weight limit of 7KG of equipment meant that our clothes were pretty smelly by the end of the trip; being able to seal them away in stuff sacks prevented the whole bag smelling rotten!  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Book it now!
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO CLIMB - LEMOSHO ROUTE

    A very very hard trip, but thoroughly worthwhile, although not for the faint hearted!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching Uhuru peak after 8 hours of walking in the dark and freezing cold.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abraham was brilliant, he did everything for us, especially on summit night and without him and the other guides our whole group may not have made it to the top.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a lot of glucose tablets, immodium and a platapus.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't take a thermarest, hire a foam matress, blowing up a thermarest at 4000m is not easy! Would definitely recommend the lemosho route, as its longer and gives you more time to aclimatise to give you the best chance at getting to the top.
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER SRI LANKA

    Had a great time, it's a beautiful country with contrasts from the heat of the jungle to the cool tea plantations.  Friendly people and lots of interesting sights to see, and of course baby elephants!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were loads of interesting things - the temples at Dambulla and Polonnaruwa, and the Temple of the Tooth in Kandy.  Enjoyed the elephant ride, and seeing elephants try to push each other into the water at the orphanage.  We were lucky enough to be there at the time of the festival in Kandy which was brilliant.  Also were lucky to see two leopards on the safari at Yala National Park.  Enjoyed the walk on Horton Plains, high up in the mountains, and the Hill Club which felt like being in an Agatha Christie novel.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had Roshan Fernando who was brilliant.  He always gave us loads of info about what we'd be doing every day, how long it would take to get to places and what clothes would be suitable e.g. if we were going to temples or walking in the jungle.  He told us all about the history, culture and customs of the country, always making it sound fresh and interesting.  Loves dropping in jokes and sayings at every opportunity and had us all singing along with him and the mariachi band at a couple of hotels! 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Definitely give this trip a try.  I've never been anywhere like it before and really enjoyed it.  There are some early starts but it's worth it and you get to see a lot, it's a very varied country. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't worry if you're not a massive fan of curry - I'm not and I found plenty to eat.  Most of the hotels do buffets so it's easy to try little bits of everything.  Take plenty of clothes, unusually I wore pretty much everything I took as it's so hot and, in some places, dusty.  A little thing, but you have to leave your bags out for collection in the morning when moving on and there's not always time to go back to the room to brush your teeth, so maybe take a little mouthwash if you like a minty feeling!  If you're there during the festival in Kandy, take a bit of extra cash to secure a seat at the parade, it's worth it as it's quite a long procession.
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    YELLOWSTONE WILDLIFE TREK

    An enjoyable holiday but failed to deliver the experience we had expected from the trip notes.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The thermal and geological features of Yellowstone, in particular Castle geyser and Grand Prismatic. Also the spectacular views from the summit of Mount Washburn. Sitting round the campfire on a perfect starlit night in East Glacier with Parker and Ryan "jamming". The stunning, ever-changing scenery as we travelled through 4 States and around 3,000 miles. White water rafting down Snake River (don't hesitate, just do it, trust me, if my wife can do it then you can)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Parker and Ryan were great guys who did their very best for us at all times. They were experienced and competent guides but this was the first time this trip had run so not the slick operation we have come to expect from previous trips with Exodus. They had to cope with the pressure of a trip that was not fulfilling clients expectations and "fixing it" was not always possible. However, they took on board all our concerns, did the best they could for us at the time and it is all credit to them and Exodus that the subsequent trips have obviously benefitted from our honest feedback.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't forget your cameras (with zoom), binoculars, mosquito repellent and after bite cream. Get a warm sleeping bag (and don't forget to pack it!). Pack light, there is not a lot of room in the tents. Take micro-fibre towels, quick-dry walking clothing (nothing white, it won't stay that way). Prepare to be flexible with the trip notes as the weather is not predictable.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our experience was marred by what we have had to accept as "first trip teething problems". As a result we would not book another new, unreviewed trip. However, as you can see from the excellent reviews from subsequent trips it now appears to be ticking all the boxes for the promised highlights and has the makings of a spectacular trip. However, don't underestimate the amount of travelling by minibus that this trip involves.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087