Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    ESSENTIAL PERU

    Very good trip and much better than expected as the organisation was excellant including the general standard of accommodation. The experience gave us a better and clearer understanding of the people, history, agriculture and landscape of the country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The early morning overall view of Machu Picchu and the appreciation of the planning and construction of the lost city. Also having the experience of staying one night on the Amantani Island with a local family.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Juan, our group leader, was first class and he really made the trip very interesting and very enjoyable. He was always very happy,friendly and good fun to be with throughout the trip. He considered everyone and always gave assistance where necessary.We would definately recommend him as the best guide we have ever experienced on any previous trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Mke sure you have the correct medication for the particular country being visited and take the advice of the guide especially in high altitudes.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The "local" people were friendly and very colourful. The poorer people living in the countryside need the tourest to make purchases to help their economy even although one might bargain on the price!
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    EVEREST BASE CAMP

    This holiday was the most amazing holiday ever. The views were out standing ,wonderful. The Exodus team looked after us very well. I would recommend this holiday to any one who loves to trek, but you do need to be fit. The group of people that were on this trek were brilliant and they helped make the holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many amazing things about this holiday . The flight to Lukla was incredible and the views were out of this world.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader Prem was wonderful. He told us lots of information along the way. We had fun with him and the other sherpas. They helped to make this an incredible journey.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You must be fit. This is a long slow walk up and up but its worth it. Take something like Albus oil with you to help clear your head but also to help on the odd occasion with smelly loos.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The weather was at its best when we went , clear blue skys and brilliant sunshine. So i would recommend going at the begining of October. Loved it, loved it, loved it.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    IMPERIAL CHINA & YANGTZE RIVER CRUISE

    An absolute full on itinerary, giving not only a taste of China, but also the full flavour of it.  A country so diverse, both modern and old.  This was my fourth trip to the country, and it most definitely won't be my last.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to note - the pandas in Chengdu, the scenery of Yangshou county (the Li River and Yu Long River), Shanghai with its imposing skyline, tallest building in China, Bund and frantic shopping areas - also returning to the Terracotta Warriors, which I had visited ten years ago - they still hold the magic they always did.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dragon was amazing - totally unflappable despite having to get 16 of us through numerous stations, on and off trains and from one place to another.  He was very informative, knowledgeable and very approachable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This tour gives you everything you need from the China experience, and it will also make you want to return again and again to a very diverse, although imposing, country.  It is full on, but bring an open mind with you, and you will be rewarded in the end.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I opted for not taking the Yangtze cruise, and did my own itinerary around Yangshou with a private guide.  I would recommend perhaps extending at the end of the trip and trying something like this, as the experience was absolutely breathtaking.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLE MOROCCO'S GREAT SOUTH

    Overrall a well run and efficiently organised trip. Experience of cycling and/or good level of fitness is a must as some of the climbs and descents ar not or the faint hearted 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On the fourth day of cycling when thinking there was no gas left in the tank by mid afternnon  being encouraged by the leader to carry on and experience what was further on up the road on bike rather than in support vehicle. Gave greater sense of achievement once finished

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent leader. Organised, efficient and didnt bulls**t you if there were changes to plan. Always kept group informed and provided the encouragement to keep going when necessary. Ensured health and safety adhered to by all and  definitely made trip more enjoyable. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Dont go unless you have a decent standard of fitness for your own enjoyment's sake and that of the group. It would help to have some bike experience too

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The 'free day' should be spent in Essouira and not Maarrakech. It is infinitely better place to relax and wander around than Marrakech. The beach is nearby and its an added bonus of course. To make the trip more attractive this has to be considered by Exodus planners .
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    ATLAS DESCENT

    Atlas Descent:- Did exactly what it said on the tin! Absolutely loads of off-road descents. Beautiful scenery. Remote location. Great trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Single track steep descent on the 4th day... warmed up and ready for it from previous days of riding... steeper than all other pistes. Hair raising - technical enough - exilerating and fun!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz was a top guide. Tiny lass with big personality and the legs that jet from the gladiator would be proud of! Really enjoyed the routes and rides of this trip; lots of variation .. some of which Liz said she had discovered on her days off! An inspiration- loved her cycling trails and top fun lady.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you have time, it would be well worth extending your time after the trips finish day and go to nearby Marakesh for a flip side of husstle and busstle of Morrocan life.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    CLASSIC NEPAL RIDE

    Fantastic experience - excellent leader, good group, good countryside, sights and views - hotels were better than expected - all in all accommodation was sound 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Himmalayas at sunrise

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good indeed - suited everyone, full of information - and good fun  

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The first 3 days (especially day 3) are tough - after those - piece of cakeAlthough a road trip - many of the roads are unsurfaced and strewn with boulders

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Extremely friendly place - really back to before the Industrial revolution in farming, weaving etc etcGreat lager though! 
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER SIERRA LEONE

    This tour currently offers the opportunity to see Sierra Leone before it becomes full of tourists - and I recommend it on that basis.  We completed the second only tour and this does show in places with Exodus needing to work on itinerary and tour guiding.  Value for money feels questionable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Tiwai Island - camping out in the jungle with my new travel mates.  An evening of torrential rain easing the heat and humidity and then the stars came out - just perfect!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Olivette tried her best, but I think there is a difference between the tour guide experience that we expect through Exodus and the reality of the capability of local tour guides in Sierra Leone.  An Exodus guide alongside a local guide is really essential for this tour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Sierra Leone is no more dangerous than any other African country, but it is really lacking in infrastructure.  You need to be flexible, happy to cope with long, hard, hot days and you'll enjoy exploring this beautiful country. 
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    AMALFI COAST: POMPEII & PIZZA - FAMILY HOLIDAY

    If you are thinking about booking this holiday just do it - you won't regret it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our 8 year old son would say watching football with the Italian family who owned the hotel! We particularly enjoyed the walk of the gods and the superb barbecue, visiting Pompeii, and swimming in the sea with the beautiful background of Positano.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Paula could not have done more for us. She even came with us on her day off to show us round Naples! She was very enthusiastic. She got on well with everyone and ensured we all gelled together. She was very informative and great fun. Paula got on well with the children and ensured that they were well catered for. We would recommend her most highly and would be interested in undertaking other tours she may lead.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Relax, go with the flow, take lots of cash with you to pay tips etc.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This being the first holiday of this type that we had undertaken we did not know quite what to expect. We had a fabulous time with lots of excellent experiences, but also time to relax on the beach. The family that run the hotel were great, meeting everyone's needs, in particular making our 8 year old football mad son part of their family. The food was excellent, with the hotel able to cater for a diverse range of needs and happy to change dishes for children if necessary. If you are thinking of booking this holiday do it - you won't regret it!
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF NORTHERN INDIA

    It was the most amazing experience, enjoyed every moment of each day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Everything was fantastic the forts the palaces, seeing a tiger in the wild, the rides in mad traffic in rickshaws and tuck tucks. However, for me nothing compares to the sunset on the Ganges watching the Diwali festival unfold. It just took my breath away! The memory will stay with me forever

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Atvar was ace, he was so organised and helpful he made it such a joy for us, he took away all of the hassle of touring.  He did all of the  hard work, no way could we have done and seen so much had we done this trip alone

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    travel light, you dont need much.  To see everything is  exhausting BUT so worth it, you can catch up on sleep the rest of your life!.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Fantastic trip of a life time, its fun, its exhausting, its educational, its cultural, its everything you can want all rolled in together!!!!
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    TUNISIA EXPLORER

    A packed trip that offers a thorough introduction to the small but delightful country of Tunisia; a good mix of sightseeing and activities which provide an opportunity to understand and appreciate the country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I most enjoyed visiting the oases in the Sahara and the camel trekking, visiting a traditional Berber home was a special moment as well. I fell in love with Sidi Bou Said and was really glad to have seen Carthage. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was very professional, knowledgeable and had a good sense of humour. Couldn't have asked for more!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are a lot of sights and activities packed into the busy 8 days and it is a essentially a tour of the best bits of the country hence there is a fair amount of time spent on the road some days so bring a book or be prepared to gaze at the scenery out of the bus window! Some of the hotel rooms had bits which didn't function properly and for some of the meals you didn't get a choice about what you were given to eat but these are only very minor points.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you go on the trip from Oct onwards bring layers as one day it was warm and the next day not, a bit unpredictable!
Call us on 1 844 227 9087