Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    JOHANNESBURG TO CAPE TOWN

    An interesting and varied itinerary but exhausting with too much to do in the time allowed, this trip would benefit from being at least a week longer. Highpoints included Mozambique, walking in the Drakensburg mountains, the village walk in Lesotho and the boat trip to see whales close up.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the sunrise over the Drakensburg mountains from Sungubala tented camp.Watching the sunset over the crashing waves at Tsitsikamma.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rob was young and enthusiastic and a good listener. He needed to be be more organised. His inexperience was tempered by Sifiso who was very knowledgeable about wildlife and culture plus being an excellent cook and driver.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for long days in a minibus.Check accommodation address for Mozambique visa application as one given hasn't been in use for some time.If you want to 'stuff your rucksack' then the Malealea Developement Trust in Lesotho current wish list includes needles, cotton, scissors etc. for them to start a sewing group and medical equipment etc. suitable for a small clinic.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Tour vehicle not suitable for sightseeing or photography as had a substantial black line at eye height and no drop down windows. It was also cramped for space so it was good that only ten of us were on this trip.Itinerary should be amended as game walk to get near rhinos in Hlane is no longer available. Info supplied re Mozambique visa application accomodation address is incorrect.Food prepared by Rob and Sisiso was excellent.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent Johannesburg to Cape Town trip. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the beauty and diversity of Southern Africa, and appreciate your feedback.

    It is true that this trip does cover a lot of ground in three weeks. Unfortunately the reality is that most people can't afford to take holidays of more than three weeks at a time. This trip has been designed for people who want to see as much as possible of this wonderful region but can't spend more time exploring it at a more leisurely pace.

    With regards to the vehicle's suitability for sight-seeing, this is due to South African regulations dating back to 2004. All vehicles built after this date need to have a bar in place to prevent passengers from falling out of the window should the vehicle roll (or have windows which cannot open). This is certainly frustrating at times when game viewing but is a government imposition.

    Thank you for drawing our attention to the new regulations in Hlane. This is a brand new rule which, apparently resulted from a recent incident. The trip notes have been amended accordingly. We have also corrected the error in the hotel name in Mozambique. I'm sorry if this cause you any distress though rest assured that it is, in fact, only a formality. Numerous tourists cross into Mozambique every day without the right hotel name on their immigration forms.

    I would also like to thank you for the recommendation of items people can bring to the Maleala Development Trust in Lesotho, especially as these are not items most people would think of.

    Tom - Product Manager for South Africa

  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLE THE BACKROADS OF SRI LANKA

    A though but very nice bike tour. With all the major highlights of Sri Lanka.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The wildlife and the scenery are a definite highlight for me

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader has been living in Sri Lanka for the past 20 years. Most of this time he has been doing bike tours in Sri Lanka and India. This really shows in all the little details, every thing is nicely planned. But not to strict to be confining. Surpises are dealt with swift and decisive actions. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do some training before you leave. There are some real though climbs, but they are totally worth the effort. During this trip you will ride atleast 700-800 km and climb and desent atleast 7000m! 
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN MADEIRA

    A very enjoyable week's holiday and a good way to see Madeira. I enjoyed the variety of the scenery and the walking as well as sampling various Madeiran wines with dinner over the course of the week.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bruno is a very experienced group leader and did a good job of looking after us. There was a wide range of walking experience in our group but he managed this very well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My walking poles wouldn't fit in my suitcase but they would have been useful for the descents which are quite steep in places.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Of the 7 nights, you spend 2 nights in the same hotel except for one night, the Wednesday, which is good. I was pleasantly surprised by the accommodation. The only minor disappointment was the buffet on the Wednesday evening. However, the company of my fellow walkers was a great distraction!
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    TRINS: THE AUSTRIAN TYROL

    well organised 6 days of interesting walking

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both Bob and Chris were knowledgeable and adaptable
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO CLIMB - RONGAI ROUTE

    Once in a lifetime, stunning experience....Exodus did it again! 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching Gilman's and realising I could try to reach Uruhu which I thought was beyond me. Also seeing the posters do their ceremony at the end of the trip, watching their faces light up, seeing their appreciation and sharing the donations we had supplied to them.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Awesome! Priscus was not only great with us but also ovserving him with his team, he always seemed really fair, in control and encouraging by letting the other guides get involved in everything. He clearly wanted what was best for us AND for all of his staff. Was really refreshing to see. His knowledge was brilliant, all the guides had amazing knowledge and all did their best to get to know us all and that made us pull together as a team. What an amazing group of people! 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pole, Pole! Slowly, slowly! No need to rush, take your time, enjoy the views. Drink loads and eat pleanty, you need the energy - the food made was amazing throughout the trip so enjoy it!Take some snacks with you, you will especially need something for summit day, so try some sugary type things, squares of chocolate or nuts/dred fruit.Take babywipes and a flannel for 'washy, washy' and a small bar of soap. Might sound obvious but I didn't realise we would have access to a small bowl of water most days which was great.Take layers, also if you have some old clothers that you may not wish to keep after the trip, please take them with you and leave them for the porters once the trip is complete. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was an amazing trip, be prepared to work hard, it might look easy-ish on paper but it's not all easy peasy! It was the trip of a lifetime, the group bonded so, so well and EVERY single porter went out of his or her way to help. The trip is organised brilliantly so you don't have to worry about anything.Stick it out, the views are simply stunning and pictures don't do them justice.POLE, POLE and when you are ready...TWENDE!!!!!!:-) 
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    MT TOUBKAL CLIMB

    First 4000m peak for my wife and first time on an "organised" trek for me so wasn't sure how I would get on being led by someone else but had a ball and would recommend it to anyone - stress free mountain climbing - walk, eat, sleep - superb!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hmmmm.....topping out on Toubkal was great as it was the main objective and it was superb to see my wife Susies happy wee face having climbed it - very proud of her, but I also really enjoyed Toubkals South Summit as I was the only one on it and the day after we bagged Ounakrim which was more challenging and quieter - our group being the only ones there instead of the 50 or so people on the summit of Toubkal the day before.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Couldn't have asked for anyone better. Abdullah was knowledgeable, professional, very experienced and you couldn't meet a more likeable guy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    These things are all relative depending upon your previous experience but, if you are a competent UK hillwalker comfortable on the higher UK mountains, you should be OK. A lot of the terrain higher up is loose and can be steep - think the Scafells, the Mamores Munros, Ben Nevis from the Carn mor Dearg side rather than the tourist path. My Susie has done around 60 Munros and isn't a fan of heights and she managed fine. Doing this the long way around gives plenty of time to acclimatise and get used to the type of terrain you will encounter on summit day. The trip is well supported and you only carry your own daypack. Plenty of food - more tending to veg than meat and typically Moroccan - though we also got chips in the high hut which was good.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As I said earlier this was my first experience of being organised by someone else - I am used to climbing and walking with friends and I usually do the organising which can be stressful at times - accomodation, food, route finding etc. My wife thought that this type of thing might not suit me but she fancied it for her 40th birthday so we booked - she half expected me to spend the week a bit frustrated at being "led". On the contrary I enjoyed the majority of it - eat, walk, eat, walk, eat, sleep was pretty much the order of the day with nothing much else to think about - stress free for me. Certainly helped that we had a great crowd to walk with and Abdullah had his head well screwed on - he knew when to take things a little quicker or slower etc - very experienced in the Atlas mountains. Occasionally it would have been nice to do my own thing but no complaints from me and I think we are now planning on something else for next year - probably Kili.
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    MT TOUBKAL CLIMB

    First 4000m peak for my wife and first time on an "organised" trek for me so wasn't sure how I would get on being led by someone else but had a ball and would recommend it to anyone - stress free mountain climbing - walk, eat, sleep - superb!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hmmmm.....topping out on Toubkal was great as it was the main objective and it was superb to see my wife Susies happy wee face having climbed it - very proud of her, but I also really enjoyed Toubkals South Summit as I was the only one on it and the day after we bagged Ounakrim which was more challenging and quieter - our group being the only ones there instead of the 50 or so people on the summit of Toubkal the day before.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Couldn't have asked for anyone better. Abdullah was knowledgeable, professional, very experienced and you couldn't meet a more likeable guy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    These things are all relative depending upon your previous experience but, if you are a competent UK hillwalker comfortable on the higher UK mountains, you should be OK. A lot of the terrain higher up is loose and can be steep - think the Scafells, the Mamores Munros, Ben Nevis from the Carn mor Dearg side rather than the tourist path. My Susie has done around 60 Munros and isn't a fan of heights and she managed fine. Doing this the long way around gives plenty of time to acclimatise and get used to the type of terrain you will encounter on summit day. The trip is well supported and you only carry your own daypack. Plenty of food - more tending to veg than meat and typically Moroccan - though we also got chips in the high hut which was good.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As I said earlier this was my first experience of being organised by someone else - I am used to climbing and walking with friends and I usually do the organising which can be stressful at times - accomodation, food, route finding etc. My wife thought that this type of thing might not suit me but she fancied it for her 40th birthday so we booked - she half expected me to spend the week a bit frustrated at being "led". On the contrary I enjoyed the majority of it - eat, walk, eat, walk, eat, sleep was pretty much the order of the day with nothing much else to think about - stress free for me. Certainly helped that we had a great crowd to walk with and Abdullah had his head well screwed on - he knew when to take things a little quicker or slower etc - very experienced in the Atlas mountains. Occasionally it would have been nice to do my own thing but no complaints from me and I think we are now planning on something else for next year - probably Kili.
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLING THE EMPIRE OF GENGHIS KHAN

    Once I arrived in UB the trip was very good apart from the last day. I could make nothing but praise for the staff who are the local based company that run this trip on behalf of Exodus

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The endless wide open spaces and big skies

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ganer was excellent, just the right balance between letting you find out for yourself but willing to answer any questions that you had.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I chose to rent a bike from exodus supposedly had front suspension.  My bike only had 1" of travel so was pretty much like no suspension.I Took my own saddle and pedals of which I was glad.Biking was easy smooth technically  not too demanding and 100% ridable. I found the food good and plentiful and the trip staff (cook, driver and guide )very good. There is not that much to do beside shopping and drinking in UB. The local kids love balloons - take some to give to them. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If the Exodus staff in the UK were as good as the staff in Mongoila I would have no problems, but they are very variable in reliability.  I rang quite a few times with queries and on some occasion I was told people would ring back, but they did not. Once I made a complaint, as one guy did not even pass on the message.  Later I was told that no record of my complaint was made. The quality control there is clearly an issue.Exodus booked us flights via Soeul. S Korea- this was a 12 hour flight. On the way out We then had to wait 6 hours for a connecting flight back to Mongolia (which we had flown over on the way. However there was another flight to UB with the same airline that left 2 hours  before our flight. We finished cycling on Thursday, and drove back to UB on Friday arriving at 4 p.m. then off to see a local cultural show which was good. Our flight was booked for Saturday at 23-50. So we had a whole day to do nothing in UB. We all felt that getting the flight friday night would have been better. OR sometime later on Saturday, since we then had a 10 hour wait to get our flight back to the UK.OR do another day cycling so there is not a dead day at the end of the trip.Presumably Exodus do some sort of deal with Korean airlines to get cheap  flight tickets. Their priority should be to minimise transfer time and maximise cycling time.The first two days of the trip is now on road as the tracks were tarmac tarmac-ed 2 years ago. teh loacl guys say they have told Exodus- but the trip notes have not been changed.The trip notes say 'overnight is a comfortable  sleeping compartments on a train. Dinner is taken on the train - the train trip is awful - to be endured not enjoyed. No-one got any sleep and dinner was a sandwich!! - This should be deleted from the trip and travel by road instead. There were only 4 people on my trip. A couple a lady and myself. I rang up four weeks before the trip to get add a single supplement- instead of informing me  it would not be needed as there were only 4 on the they happily took my money.So I suggest to make the best of the trip expect exodus to cause you a few problems, Book your own flight to minimise the transfer times and likely contact the local company direct to avoid wasting a day at the end of the trip. Apart from that you will have a fab time.
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    TIBET EXPLORER

    Learned a lot about Buddhism, Tibetan culture and history.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Tibetan women struggle with up to 80kg on their backs at the Tibet-Nepal border, for up to 2 hours at a time, for the princely sum of £2.50 per trip really made me realise just how fortunate we are in the west.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chatty, personable and friendly. Has a passion for camping and all things Nepalese. Excellent organiser on his home turf but communication was literally non-existent when things went wrong (the phrase "rabbit in the headlights" comes to mind...).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack fast drying clothes that can be hand washed (unless you want to rely on costly hotel services) and make sure you carefully scrutinise the daily room allocation to ensure its fair. Carry toilet paper & hand wash in your day pack (after you visit some of the squat toilets on the Tibetan side you'll thank me).Take disposable foam ear plugs if you're a light sleeper and easily disturbed.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Make sure your 4x4 has working rear seatbelts! It took several reminders before ours were reluctantly made usable.
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    POLISH PEAKS & VILLAGES

    Beautiful countryside. Each walk was different but a lot harder than anticipated.Great hospitality and tasty food. Good standard of accommodation. Leader was considerate guide and knowledgeable about history and culture of the region.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Peace and beauty of the region. Rarely came into contact with other walkers. Lovely to be re-acquinted to a way of life  not totally modernised or mechanised.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good,helpful and knowledeable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Check distances and ascent of walks to check difficulty. Total walking time not good enough!
Call us on 1 844 227 9087