Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO & MERU

    A wonderful experience- but you do need to be fit to cope with the final ascents of both these mountains

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of Kilimanjaro and seeing the sun rise over Kilimanjaro from Mount Meru

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Florence our guide was brilliant getting us all to the top of Kilimanjaro and supporting us all the way
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    LHASA TO KATHMANDU RIDE

    A trip or exreme highs and lows: From the exhilaration of cycling high passes, Everest and the epic descent into Nepal to the effects of altitude and bad loos.You gotta suffer for your art ! 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The descent from snow laden mountain top at 5200m through primaeval waterfall strewn landscape down to 600m.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    If Heineken made Exodus leaders then Kumar is it. Kumar and AJ (Batman and Robin)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Epic trip so train to get the most out of it.Pack light 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We had additional unexpected excitement when an Earthquake interrupted our game of Shi*head near Everest basecamp(Jarongbuk). We evacuated to open ground and returned 20 mins later after danger seemed to pass.Unfortunately one of our group had been on the loo during this event and had wondered what on earth he had eaten ! By Gary Thomas (PA to Elaine Burton) 
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    LYCIAN ACTIVITY WEEK

    Fantastic trip! Loved the canyoning soooo much! Brilliant group and guide. Well worth it.
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    GORILLAS & MASAI MARA

    This is an amazing trip. It has it all, Big five, great people, great scenary, mans closest relative, adventure...

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There are lots of great moments on this trip but the best has to be treking to and being close to a family of Gorillas.The balloon flight is also not to be missed. The champagne breakfast ion the Masai Mara after the flight is an experience not to be missed.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The team that looked after us could not be faulted. They were always cheerful and upbeat even when having to cook for 16 people in the pouring rain. You could not ask for more.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be preapred for long journeys. They are worth it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip definitely rates in my top five travel experiences.
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN THE SLOVAKIAN TATRAS

    Peter, the local guide in the Tatras, was superb. kracow turned out to be a very pleasant suprise, i usually prefer mountains to cities! 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On day four we seemed to be high in the mountains, on day five we looked down on the same spot... Wow!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter was superb. very friendly, very helpful, very knowledgeable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Arrange your euros in the uk, buy Zlotys from the dealers in Kracow.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There isn't much variation in the breakfasts, or packed lunches, but good quality.
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    TRAILS OF THE TURQUOISE COAST

    For me,, what a great trip! The guides made it fun, the group all got on, the food was great and the weather was hot! I was already a fan of Turkey but Kas was a fabulous place.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me this trip ticked all the boxes. Good challenging cycling but not too much of it, a day off in the middle to do something different, 2 shorter days in Kas giving me time to explore the place, great food, fun guides, a great group and fabulous weather...What more could anyone want?

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ali and Yasshaf were brilliant.Ali did an excellent job of hosting and making sure people knew what was going on and what needed to happen. He also arranged great group meals out when we arrive in Kas. He never favoured anyone or left anyone out - he did a perfect job.Yasshaf led the cycling and he was great at setting a pace so that the nutters could have a bit of fun but stopped frequently enough and in all the right places to allow the slower cyclists to catch up. He was ALWAYS maintaining the bikes which gave everyone a great level of confidence that everything possible was being done to make sure things were safe!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trip is listed as Moderate because there is a day off in the middle and because the last 2 days are quite short. But this does NOT mean that the cycling is not challenging. So if you think that you are going on a gentle riverside pedal...think again. There are tough climbs and tough descents. I think the notes romanticise this trip a little and make it sound as though it is easy....it's not! 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The one thing I didn't like was the amount of transfer travel at the start of most rides. Most noticeably the transfer from the airport...no details of whcih are given in the notes. It was over 4 hours. I'll be a lot smarter in checking that sort of detail out next time because that was painful....

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    It's great to read that this trip is running well. Regarding the airport transfer, a refreshment stop is often made en route which makes the overall journey time longer than the approximate 2.5 to 3hrs it would otherwise take. Fortunately, with the imminent completion of a road project, the journey time to and from Kas is set to drop to 2 hours, meaning there will no longer be a need for a refreshment stop.

  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO & ZANZIBAR

    I think this trip was one of the best I have ever done.  Physically the last day on Killy is taxing and I would recommend you be cardio fit and have strong legs.  However, the rest is manageable.  The guides were great and the food really excellent!  I was so pleasantly surprised and delighted by the place booked on Zanzibar for our post climb rest I wanted to stay more days.  Bliss!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    My group leader was Joseph and the man was a complete jem.  I felt totally safe in his hands.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack well and take the time to be organised.  It is cold in the tents so bring layers. 
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO CLIMB - RONGAI ROUTE

    A truly memorable trip to Tanzania and reaching the roof of Africa - no better way to spend your honeymoon!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the sun rise at Gilman's point was breath-taking - a welcome relief from the trek up to the summit in the dark and cold. The final hike to Uhuru peak was surpisingly straightforward and the photos at the true summit were amazing - and have no formed the basis of out wedding thank-you cards!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was very experienced. Some of the rules and advice for high altitude trekking may seem counter-intuitive but the leaders explained the kit, clothing and techniques simply and effectively. They all had a great sense of humour and motivated us throughout.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My advice for potential travellers -  1) make sure you are fit! There were marathon runners and tri-athletes in our group - we all found the final summit hard to reach but it was a real team effort to get there.2) Try to keep your water bottles warm during the summit ascent - trying to drink semi-frozen water is a horrible experience when you have to stay hydrated3)  If reaching the summit is your goal do everything you can to maximise the acclimatisation. Arrive a few days early and walk around the local area which will be at more altitude than you are used to.4) Don't forget the suntan lotion on the summit ascent (like I did). Sun at 6000M will burn your face to a crisp - I had chapped lips for days after5) Get a comfortable 35 litre day sack (eg Osprey)
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    YOSEMITE AND THE CANYONLANDS

    Writing my reveiw after returning yesterday....  Visiting the Grand Canyon has been an ambition  since childhood, and I chose this trip as I hoped it would offer a chance to see multiple sites and I believed the camping and walking would provide a real taste of the country.  I was not disappointed but how can any other holiday live up to this experience ... 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery is stunning and seeing the Grand Canyon for the first time  took my breath away and put a huge smile on my face.  All of the  scenery up until Grand Canyon had been amazing and I was concerned that the big one would be a damp squib after Bryce, Arches, Canyonlands, etc etc but it wasn't : )Sunset, Moonlit and Sunrise walks were FAB FAB FAB

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Charles Knowlton and Ryan McCarty were not only competent and well organised they were great fun and such great guys (dudes).  Across San Francisco to the wilds of the desert then to Vegas they were enthusiastic, knowledgable and incredibly patient throughout. They added humour in our visit to the ET Highway and Rachel - hats at the Grand Canyon, enchantment in the moonlit walk in Canyonlands and entertainment at the campfires ....... As a company you should be proud to have such great people working for you - look after them.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get your head around the participative camping and think whether it is for you...  I felt it enabled us to eat some great food and gelled the group (who were all such great folk too). Tte coffee needs to go on, food needs to be cooked and this is before/after busy and long days.  The group I travelled with embraced it and everyone worked together and it resulted in great meals - ably supervised by Charles (making sure we weren't all cooking pasta), shared chores and real communual spirit.The desert is HOT HOT HOT ..... was great to get up early to walk before the midday sun (and I'm not an early bird)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip provides an opportunity to view and experience the Awesome, jaw dropping sceenery in such gargantum proportions,.
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING THE GREAT WALL

    A trip made glorious by the extraordinarily generous, fun-loving, and adventuresome folk it brought together.  Some of the walking was quite challenging, particularly given the heat and humidity-- but I had a brilliant time, and I'd highly recommend it to anyone interested in Chinese food and culture-- and who is not afraid of heights!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring trekking poles: while the trip notes listed them as "optional," I was very glad I'd brought mine, and used them every day.  Both strict vegetarians and die-hard carnivores would do well to bring along some extra nibbles-- for, while we were served relatively little meat, the village cooks tended to be skilled at making a little go a long way (and so the same bits and bobs tended to show up in a variety of dishes).   
Call us on 1 844 227 9087