Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    MT TOUBKAL WINTER CLIMB

    Great trip .7 strangers , 2 Johns 2 Phils and 2 Mohameds as guides made name learning easy. The group varied in fitness from the never hill walked to ultra marathon participants, from mid 20's to 56 (me), but the guides set a pace that we could all manage. The Mountian hut cold in the afternoons after completing the day's walks. All 3 high level walks  exhhilarating including  a great snow gully decent and the trip was supplemented by a Morrocan Hamman (steam room and massage) arranged by the guides at  a very modest cost in Imlil the mountain village at the start/end of the trek. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the summit depite my anxiety re my personal fitness

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Friendly and experienced  both re the mountains and also re his country

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    be reasonably fit, pack warm clothes  for the evenings, brinks some books and playing cards

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If the official flights dont tie in with where you live/times  book easy jet and arrange own transfers
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    MT TOUBKAL WINTER CLIMB

    A good mix of bizarre bazaar (Marrakesh souk) and pristine mountain air (Toubkal). 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Morocco is a special place. In terms of the distance from UK to culture shock ratio there surely isn't anywhere to beat it. Work your way to the tannery at the heart of the Souk and you'll know what I mean. I also feel I lucked out with the company - what a great bunch of people to be hiking with. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Everything well planned, nice chaps too - thanks again!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared - the mountain refuge is VERY basic. We were there early January which meant constant cold. This is the boot camp portion of the holiday - you'll relish the moment when you can get outside, put your crampons on and get hiking up the slopes (at 7am).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The climbing is not hard or scary so don't be put off by the trip rating. 
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    FINNISH WILDERNESS WEEK

    A great week in a beautiful place and a great opportuity to have a go at a number of different new activities, snow-shoeing, cross-country, husky sledding, ice climbing etc.etc.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I think just the scenery - I was worried about the short days and low light but it was actually quite magical. Soft snowy hazy days, everything coated in a thick layer of super soft powdery snow and sparkling ice

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eki was a great group leader - very cool, assured and capable.  He looked after everyone in a very easy-going way, he knows everything about the area and dealt with a large group seemingly effortlessly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Rest assured that all the equipment and absolutely everything but your thermal underwear can genuinely be provided there so don't bother loading up your bags with stuff that you can borrow there (and certainly don't bother buying anything specially). Stuff for evenings and travelling is really all you need. If you're keen on photography, a good camera and tripod are recommended to make the most of the beautiful light. Oh, and bring lots of heavy-duty moisturiser (yes, both girls and boys) as being outdoors all day in that weather is tough on your skin. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Have a go at everything, be prepared to spend a bit of extra money on the additional activities, and enjoy.  The food is great, rooms comfortable and the location, just fantastic.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    SAHARA DESERT TREK

    I enjoyed this trip so much the first time, I did it all over again a year later!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I think the desert landscape is beautiful.  Walking through the Sahara with the camel team is a real privilege.  I don't think I could ever tire of this trip. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohammed is a great group leader - knowledgeable and good teacher; caring for the welfare and enjoyment of all the individuals in the group; a super musician.  He was the group leader the first time I did this trip and I was so pleased to learn he was the lead when I did the trip again.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Stop watching your clock; let go of the schedule; relax, and just follow the camels through this beautiful landscape.& on a practical note - its cold, so take lots of layers (thermals and fleeces, woolly hat, gloves, good sleeping bag).  There are no bathrooms, so take baby wipes and don't forget 'nappy sacks' so you can take your litter out of the desert.... leave nothing but footprints!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip was even better the second time around.  I really think Exodus should support Free Tunisia by offering more walking holidays - what about longer desert treks, or the mountain ranges? Come on Exodus, do your bit to support those countries where real regime change for the better has and is happening.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    CROSS-COUNTRY NORDSETER

    Nordsetter is an excellent venue with great ski de fond trails.  The hotel used was very friendly with dedicated staff and very good food, always a couple of hot dishes, good salad selection and desert. Tea and coffee available in the evenings.   Breakfast was buffet and lunch bags provided so you could make up sandwiches and flasks to take out for the day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The 'locals' are amazing at cross country skiing.  We still have some way to go to reach their level of effortlessness!!  More time on skis required :-)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The trip would be better using local guides so you can benefit from their knowledge of the area, country and snow conditions to give a more rounded experience. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Request a local guide and take a refresher lesson on the first day to get back into ski de fond quickly if its been a year
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    HISTORIC ANDALUCIA

    The balance achieved between visiting some amazing places and relaxing in the comfort a very peaceful environment, was just excellent.  We were also blessed with fantastic weather!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Taking the opportunity to walk up a mountain on the "free day" and being surrounded by nothing but spectacular views and the circling vultures!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andy was great - he kept us informed of what we needed to know when we needed to know it.  He had a great style of being relaxed, informed but in charge
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    SOUTH AFRICAN WALKING SAFARI

    Fantastic trip, with great walks, awesome sights and great opportunities to get pretty close to the wildlife. This trip highlights what a diverse country South Africa is when you contrast the high lands with the lowlands. It is truly an experience that will be treasured for life.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It's hard to pick just one. South Africa was always a dream for me so just being there on a private game reserve with all the wildlife in natural habitat was awesome. Being within 20-30ft of a male lion as it roared. Watching him summon the roar from deepin the pit of his stomach. The hair still stands up on my neck when I think about it. The contrast in the country, from pine forests and lushness in the Highveld to the barren sparseness of the Lowveld was something I wasn't expecting. Also on our trip we had a change in the itinery and ended up in St Lucia and I wasn't disappointed. All those crocs and Hippos and the Indian ocean breaking in the background as you tried to sleep.The spectacular Drakensberg, and the glamping. The scenery here is breathtaking. The hike up "the ladders" was amazing. Seeing people conquer their fear by going up and the whole group, who were complete strangers a couple of weeks before, totally encouraging each other as if they were friends for years.  Also on our hike in the Drakensberg we had snow. I didn't expect to see snow in South Africa.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bongani, was our leader, and was aided by Shawn and Semanga. Bongani, was great. He put the group at ease. He's got a great sense of humour that might take you a day or two to figure out but when you do he's a lot of fun. He also works hard to make sure the group enjoy themselves. He genuinely cares that everyone have fun and enjoy the trip and looks for feedback every night around the fire and prepares the group for the next day. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There is a lot of travel on this trip between places so be prepared for some long days in the bus. Don't expect to get out of your armchair and enjoy this trip. You need a small level of fitness as some of the walks are long and over undulating terrain and it can get really hot at times. Good shoes or Boots are essential. Some of the campsites only have cold showers so if you don't fancy them take wet wipes. Also a decent headlight/torch because sometimes the tents are a small distance for the facilities. Take a decent camera too.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I did this trip as a single person and was a little nervous. However I ended up with a fantastic group of people and all those concerns were gone in an instant. The nights around the campfires and the stories will stick with me for a long time. This trip gives you a unique insight into the country and its fantastic scenery and wildlife. I was a little wary of the food, but group leaders did a great job, sometimes in harsh weather conditions, to give us all really good food. It's not five star but for campsite food it was great. I guess the biggest thing I can say about this trip is I didn't want it to end. Like I said, South Africa was  dream of mine to visit, and having done this trip I'm yearning for more. I'd recommend this trip to anyone, who likes the outdoors and has even a mild sense of adventure. 
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    SOUTH INDIA EXPLORED

    An amazing tour that requires patience and stamina! Long days of travel are needed to cover so much of south India, but it's a wonderful experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having dinner in the home of a local family where we participated in the cooking and ate our meal on banana leaves. Stopping many times to see local cottage industries. Having a thali for Christmas Day lunch! Seeing so many amazing temples. The tea plantations of Munnar (not on the itinerary but a bonus of a 7 hr detour we had to take). Being treated as an exotic species and having our photos taken by and with countless Indian families!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh Moni's skills and knowledge made the tour a very special one. He was always patient, courteous and attuned to the needs of the group. We could ask him anything about the country, culture, history, daily life, plants, animals, birds, etc and he usually knew the answer. His commentary as we travelled 2,800km was always interesting and informative. When we had to rise at 3am, and travel an extra 7 hrs in order to cross safely from Tamil Nadu into Kerala, the group did so without complaint as we knew Suresh was concerned for our wellbeing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I am in my 60s and found this tour tiring, mainly due to the long days of travel and only staying in a few hotels for more than one night. It was a wonderful way to see a lot of south India and I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to see more than Kerala. The spicy food was great, but you need to have built up some intestinal fortitude before tackling curry two or three times a day! Would recommend eating Indian food frequently in the month before starting the tour so your system is not overloaded in the first week.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I usually travel solo and this Exodus tour was only the second tour I have done in more than 20 years of travel. It was a very positive experience and Suresh has set the standard for how a tour leader and guide should perform. Most of the other 14 people on the tour had been on many Exodus tours, which is a recommendation in itself.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    SNOWSHOEING IN THE DOLOMITES

     This is my 2nd trip with Exodus and was simply fantastic (as was the first), I would thoroughly recommend it.  It was extremely beautiful being in Villabassa at Christmas time, the Hotel Alder was wonderful, both management and staff very welcoming/helpful and friendly, gorgeous 5 course dinner each night.  Aperitifs on our first evening & Christmas Eve in reception along with carols was gorgeous.  The snowshoeing was such brilliant fun walking in a winter wonderland (thankfully the snow fell the Friday before going), each walk gave us beautiful scenery and "THE" most amazing views having the weather on our side most days, even though a couple of the walks involved “chuffin steep climbs” the views totally made up for it and coming back down is always the easiest whichever way we did it by walking/sledding or in my case sliding upside down head first when unable to stay on the sled but had soo much fun though, felt like being a child all over again J 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The climb on Christmas day was a great walk giving the best views in the world (well it certainly felt like I was on top of the world) truly stunning beautiful day enjoying the gorgeous Pandoro & Prosecco to toast Christmas day thanks to Olly our great leader!! Of course we had to eat/drink it all so he didn’t have to carry it down again.  The whole experience was truly amazing also having a great group made the experience too I never stopped laughing. On our day off some of us had a go at cross-country skiing thanks to Eric & Heather for allowing us to participate with them for the day, particularly to Heather for taking us on in the beginners group, my first time putting on any form of skis on and loved it!! Especially the hot chocolate in the cafe at the end of the day. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Olly was fantastic very kind, lots of fun (although he needs some more cheesy Xmas tunes) and helpful to all of the group who weren’t quite as quick up the hills as the rest, he looked after us in every way he possibly could whether that was giving out tape for our poor blisters or lending me his jacket to keep me warm, he certainly has the best job in the world!! Thank you Olly for making the video too (check it out) such great memories!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take the right kit with you along with you and plenty of layers even though walking up makes you extremely hot and having to strip off, you certainly need to put the layers back on again when stopping or reaching the top as it can be extremely cold. Most of all go with the intention of having fun, even though you might find it hard some days there is always the sense of achievement in reaching the top and enjoying the views and remember you are getting fitter by the day and there is always the lovely spa in the hotel to look forward too at the end of the day so just enjoy it!!!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I had the most amazing holiday, the Dolomites are awesome, met some lovely people/friends.  I’m so glad that I never missed a day walking, you’re only there once (unless you book again) so make the most of it and be happy :-)
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    CROSS COUNTRY SKIING: CHAMONIX

    Excellent range of cross country skiing areas within an hour's drive or less from the Chalet, mainly in France but one in Italy. All were very well prepared and signed, and some offered relatively challenging track skiing. If the weather is kind - which it was for us - then the views of Mont Blanc and other local ranges as you ski are stunning.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Skiing on the fringes of the tree line above Les Saisies one day, and above Praz de Lys on another, with cloudless blue skies and superb views of Mont Blanc.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Oliver has very good local knowledge, and put together a good programme for the week. He organised the skiing effectively for a group whose demands varied: some people wanted to develop their skills and be led around the domains, others wanted to explore on their own. That is not always easy to achieve, but Oliver did it well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Footwear that grips in icy conditions is highly desirable, whether it be designed as such or achieved by fitting spikies.  And take a head torch if you want to see what you are eating in the evening - the light bulb in the dining room struggles to illuminate the corners!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Remember this is a homely, small chalet rather than a hotel, and adjust your expectations accordingly.  Also, to take advantage of the more distant ski areas can mean long days, and not all the domains have cafes at convenient points for lunch; simple picnic lunches (provided by the chalet) can be the order of the day, and so you may want to take a flask for a hot drink.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087