Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO CLIMB - RONGAI ROUTE

    A brilliant trip with a great bunch of people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The midnight start of the summit day with the heart pounding and adrenaline flowing. I would say the summit photo but I was so knackered by then I can hardly remember it!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    An excellent guide and a great guy to chat to. Very knowledgable, very calm and a good laugh

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Prepare well, grit your teeth and you will get there!
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    THE ZAMBEZI VALLEY

    As a family, we had a great time and for the girls, an amazing experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to share...elephants by the river, camping under the stars, great friends (old and new), great guides and a holiday that stretched every sense!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    CB and Julius were such great blokes and knew their stuff

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take as few clothes as possible, don't be scared to get dirty and eat and drink everything!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Looking at the next trip!
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    CROATIA: ISLANDS & MOUNTAINS

    The trip was a fairly relaxed yet thorough exploration of Croatian mountains along with a visit to its coastline. Its a well balanced trip that won't leave you needing extra sleep but will still let you get in some good walks and great scenery. We had two elderly people with us who were able to enjoy the more casual routes when the group decided to go for more vast inclines

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Camping overnight in the Velabit National Park. It was in the heart of the Croatian mountains but we were high enough so that we could see the coastline. The group really got to know each other and the scenery was fantastic. The weather was great and it was a really special experienc to be able to sleep up in the heart of the mountains. Lodging was comfortable and warm, I preferred it to the hotels on the shore!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was enthusiastic and caring and had a lot of knowledge of the local area. A great guide

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a fairly standard walking trip, nothing special you need to consider or take.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food on this trip is fairly average, we bought our lunch provisions from local supermarkets. though the evening restaurant choices were quite good and seafood was fantastic
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    FINNISH WILDERNESS WEEK

    Stunning scenery, friendly staff and varied/fun activities

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Learning to Cross-country ski - something I've wanted to do for a while.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hanna was amazing - organising almost everything,keeping the group together, whilst having a laugh with us all.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take some Marshmallows for toasting on the many open fires!If you have your own ski gloves - take them.The ice climbing was really hard, but don't be discouraged if you don't make it to the top (I didn't). I've perviusly ice climbed on glacier ice (heavily compacted snow not frozen water) and made 4 climbs in a few hours.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We went looking for a cut-down our own christmas tree, made our own decorations and dressed the tree.I made a reindeer skin Shamen drum - fantastic!We built and slept in our own igloo (quinzhee).
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    THAI INDOCHINA GRAND TOUR

    A lifelong dream holiday realised. Could not have asked for more

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Tubing dwn the River Song.Angkor wat at dawn 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    All excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    With hindsight I would have investigated booking my own flights out to Bangkok and from back Siem Rap since the flights that we asked for took us to Kuala Lumpur and we then had a three hout wait on the way out for a comnnecting flight to Bangkok and an 8 hour wait on the way back

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think a ballon ride over Angkor Wat would be a hugely successful addition
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    EVEREST BASE CAMP

    great people. great trek. great guides.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    GALAPAGOS ISLANDS

    A long journey to get from UK to the Galapagos but absolutely worth it.  Trying to describe our experience on the islands is a bit like trying to tell someone what a beautiful piece of music is like - you have just got to experience it yourself.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having never snorkelled in my life before I had a go from fantastic beach on the island of China Hat.  I was joined by two sea lions who clearly just wanted to play.Travelling by panga propelled by paddle through the mangroves enjoying the silence and being surrounded by birdlife.  Watching the frantic activity of a shoal of fish as a heron flew low overhead.  Seeing and above all hearing two sea lions sleeping and snoting in the branches of the mangroves - just unreal and truly wonderful.Photographing Galapagos hawks, and iguanas really close up and seeing a Galapagos flycatcher sitting inside a friends lens cover.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    In Quito Gloria was quietly efficient.  Our half day city was  interesting but a bit indigestible with just too much info to take in.Sylvia our naturalist and guide on the islands was first class; patient and knowledgeable she shared her enthusiasm freely and with great good humour. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travel as light as you can, the cabins on boeard are small with little storeage space.  We used factor 50 sunscreen and still managed to get burned.  Forget about late nights and parties, by 8.30pm you'll just be so tired bed is the only real option.Be prepared for early mornings and every moment filled with stimulating activity.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We found the hotel Sierra Madre in Quito a bit cold and damp.  Tha staff were great but overall service was poor.  Quito is an exciting city; use taxis at night and make sure that you have the full name and address of the hotel with you- our taxi driver got lost so we had an evening tour of the city for $5.00 for the four of us. If you're thinking about going to the Galapagos Islands do it asap as tourism is increasing apace.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO CLIMB - LEMOSHO ROUTE

    Brilliant experience. It will no doubt end up being the best and worst thing you've ever done.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Turning the corner on day 2 and seeing Kibo covered in snow basking in the African sunshine. Overall it's a far more beautiful trek than I expected and the summit itself was breathtaking - literally!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Simon was very organised and experiences having climbed Kilimanjaro over 200 times. He had lots of very good advice for us and made sure we were well taken care of. He was also keen to make sure we gave them feedback to ensure that the trip was going as well as possible.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure and go out of the tent occassionally at night! It's not tempting but the starlight views at midnight and dawn (around 6am) are breathtaking. Take more wet wipes than you think you need. Also Aquaphor cream is great for sunburn, windburn, chapped lips, and very painful runny noses which you will probably get on summit day! For night visits outside it's good to pack essentials into the pocket of your down jacket (wipes, headtorch etc) so you can just grab it and go. Sheepskin boots are really comfortable after a day's walking and always warm - even in the higher camps. Take a sigg or similar to use as a hot water bottle (but check they've purified the water so you can drink it when it cools down)And if you have them it's worth taking a pair of goretex socks in case you do end up with more rain than you expect (umbrella is also handy as the rain just pours down)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You don't need to be superfit but you should do as much walking up (and also down!) hill before you go particularly with a bit of weight in your pack. 3 or 4 litres of water can make a big difference over a few hours of walking. Worth remembering that you get 7 days to do the uphill but you'll be coming down over 4000m in 2 days and no amount of time on the stairmaster at the gym will help with that!One downside - the group flight had a really long layover in Ethiopia on the way back which was far from ideal - it's worth trying to check and if I was going again I'd be tempted to arrange my own flights.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    CUBA: LA ISLA GRANDE

    A great way to experince a fascinating country which allows you to get a great feel of the place and people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably in the mounatins, looking at where Castro et al planned the revolution, which also made for a good walk after so long on a coach. Santiago was also amazing. Imagine going to school in a place with bullet holes to remind you of the history. The music was everywhere and great, the people friendly and chatty, not hassling you. The catamaran trip was the best way to spend new years eve.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great - really helpful, fun and informative. Would have been nice if he and the driver socialised at dinner with a bit more.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The food is better and more plentiful than the trip notes suggest, even if not varied. There was chicken, pork or some form of fish/seafood pretty much every night, sometimes extra seafood, occasionally beef. I also found it less expensive than I thought it might be - but ATMs were as scare as they said, so take plenty of cash. It's a really safe place and I never worried at all about carrying all it around with me.The optional trip to Vinales was not widely taken up because people had enough of coaches by then but it was great - but be warned, we got back at neraer 8pm, not 5pm as suggested, so Tropicana was a bit of a rush if you wanted to eat. The Catamaran trip was fabulous, and good value.Tropicana was expensive, but a real spectacle and the rum was the good stuff! If you have one take your snorkel as there are some fantasic sites for it.  It you get travel sick do not book a two week coach tour.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Cuba is fascinating, and I suspect anyone who has been in the last 50 years will feel they saw it an an interesting time, but you really did get a sense it was unique, so go before reforms make it too much like the rest of the world.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    TRAILS OF VIETNAM

    A great way to see Vietnam, with a little activity thrown in.  Vietnam had it all with history, culture, friendly people and amazing food too!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Kayaking in Halong bay was amazing - tranquil waters with incredible island scenery and the sun setting, and seeign the moneys on the cliff above

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Thuy was great.  He was attentive to the needs of the individual group members sorting out little issues when they arose.  He was passionate about the history of his country and this showed.  He made sure we had fun on new year's eve and it was agreat night out, and the group stuck together til 2am.  He also got us singing karaoke on our halong bay cruise.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    leave space in your suitcase to bring stuff home.  I had a suit had in hoi-an which is lovely and i'm pleased with - for £200, also lots of opportunity to buy paintings and embroidery, and with all the amazing foods we tried most people wanted to take home something, even if it was coconut toffee or banana chips or fish sauce.The internal flights officially limit to 20kg but in reality don't really get too stressed if you are at 23 or 24kg

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip notes sound like there will be more walking and cycling than there actually was.  There was nothing that was wrong on the notes but one needs to understand there is a lot of travelling on the bus on this trip which then limits the amount of time doing activities like the walking and cycling.Of all the things we did, I was least inspired by the stay in mai chau, as we all had to share one room sleeping on mattresses on the floor, and there wasn't much to do (we paid some local teenagers to put on a show and drank lots of rice wine which made for a good night in the end).  I think a tour of the same length but without mai chau might be better as then could spend more time in halong bay or hue, for example.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087