Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF NORTHERN INDIA

    My first time in India and it was totally fascinating from the moment I landed at Delhi airport. We got many classic tourist experiences such as a Taj Mahal dawn, Varanasi evening prayers  and closeup tiger but most memorable were the hours of coach travel, eyes glued to the window, watching an ever-changing view of indian life pass slowly by. So interesting and so different, the people and the way they work and live, the animals and filth, the colours and noises. No journey was ever too long.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The traffic - roads full of trucks, bicycles, motorbikes, rickshaws, tuk-tuks, cows and cars, all dodging one another, missing collision by millimeters. quite extraordinary.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lovely man, great group organiser, very poor communicator

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be careful about  food and hygiene because the majority of the group got sick at some stage during the trip. Use anti-bacterial wipes and gels. Don't eat or drink anything that might be contaminated with tap water.Don't worry about the overnight train journeys. They are not as dreadful as people say, and are an interesting experience.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    So enjoyable was my trip in the north, now doing Southern India
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    PICOS PEAKS & GORGES

    An excellent unspoilt part of Spain with stunning scenery and jagged peaks. The Picos mountains provide excellent walking and for the most part you see no one else!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent knowledgeable leader who knew his stuff.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We went on the "strenuous" week which we enjoyed but be prepared to be walking for 9-10 hours on a couple of days!
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    UNDISCOVERED ATLAS

    Refreshing, invigorating, inspiring alternative to Christmas!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Maybe it was waking up snug and warm in my (borrowed from friend) 4 season sleeping bag on Christmas morning, realising that - although I love my family and friends dearly - the decision I had made to spend Christmas away walking in the anti-Atlas with a group of like-minded (and not at all wierd) people, was absolutely the right one, and that I had a day of sunshine, great scenery and walking, great company and conversation ahead of me (if only I could face getting out of my sleeping bag!).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdullah was fantastically organised and efficient without ever letting on: everything happened as it should, there was never any stress.  I felt completely safe and confident with Abdullah, and he was very open and welcoming, and happy to talk about Morocco today.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take lots of toilet paper (the facilities- if there are any - are very basic)! Even in the middle of winter take a sun hat - it's bright.Take a head torch and lots of layers for sitting around in the evening.There's not a lot of time in the town at the end (Taroudant) so if you're shopping - know what you're after.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would definitely recommend going to the hamman in Taroudant - it was perfect!  Bucket after bucket of hot water and someone to scrub you to within an inch of your life!  Just what was needed after a week of dusty camping, with only a frozen wet-wipe to try and keep you socially fragrant!
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    GORILLAS & MASAI MARA

    A real experience which I'll never forget.  I'd love to give the trip 5 stars as other reviewers had but it didn't live up to my expectations having read others' experiences - it was let down by a change of itinerary (it was the right thing to do but the alternative didn't compare to what we'd had to miss) and disappointing game drives in the Masai Mara.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the gorillas and watching lion clubs playing at the Masai Mara.Rafting down the NileTravelling through the Rwandan and Ugandan countryside.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chris was knowledgeable, highly organised and a really nice guy. My one criticism was that he didn't travel in the truck with us very often to tell us more about the things we saw on the road. I learnt less on this Exodus trip than I've done on other trips.Tutu (driver) and Sammy (cook) were very nice and looked after us well. The food was very good.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ignore the advice in the trip notes about the lockers as we didn't use them, we had to get our stuff out of our bags which were in a huge "boot" at the back of the truck.Make sure you pack: repellent, head torch, wipes, hand sanitiser, quick dry towel, loo roll, suncream. I also found  taking some medication to help me sleep very useful - in some places it can be noisy (snoring travel companions, wildlife etc).Clothes - lots of layers, zip off trousers are useful and quick dry clothes.If you go rafting, you don't need shoes but I'd recommend wearing socks.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The continual nights of camping and changing location can be tiring, some of the sites are not deluxe. The majority have working shower blocks but warm water is not a guarantee.The itinerary can also change - because of heavy rain Chris decided it was unwise to go to Lake Nburu which was a real disappointment. It was a good decision but the alternative was very poor in my opinion so we ended up with a night in Kampala and 1 in Nairobi (we'd picked this tour to avoid the capitals) and a trip to an elephant orphanage. Rain must be a frequent issue so I'm surprised that there is not a better alternative up their sleeve.Migration is much shorter than the brochure leads you to believe - we didn't get to see the migration as it had already ended.The game drives in the Masai were a frustration. On day 1 our driver's radio wasn't working so he was driving round aimlessly which meant we didn't see as much wildlife as the other groups. On day 2, in the morning we had a different driver and we saw loads. Mid-morning we picked up the balloon riders and from there on the drivers seem to have a set route to follow to get you to the river and back, wildlife viewing is whatever you see whilst en route which was not what I'd expected.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF BOTSWANA

    Great trip with lots of wildlife viewing opportunities - and Victoria Falls!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Victoria Falls was amazing - even though it was low water (October). Well worth doing the helicopter trip over the falls. And you do need to do the optional trip to the Zimbabwe side of the falls. (When we visited there was almost no water coming over the Zambian side!) You can book an organised trip to the Zimbabwe side - but our guide was kind enough to take us (onhis day off!) - so all it cost us was the entry fee to the falls and the Zimbabwe visa.And the Chobe River cruise was also incredible. The word 'cruise' gives the wrong impression - we were in small boat (holds about 16 people), close to the water level - but this makes it far more special because you get so close to the animals. Seeing the elephant family come down to the river to drink was perhaps the highlight. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide (Sam) and driver (Jame) were both very friendly and helpful. Couldn't have asked for more!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make the most of the optional trips. Chobe River Cruise has to be the best value for money. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Expected to come back covered in insect bites - but we didn't get one! (Maybe we were just lucky - or perhaps October is a good time to avoid the mosquitoes.)There were 2 very long - and rather boring - days of driving from Maun to Kasane via the salt pans - and the  salt pans were not as impressive as I expected. But other than that, the rest of the trip was superb.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    LYCIAN ACTIVITY WEEK

    Had a fantastic time on this trip, met some great people and the guide was entertaining and made the trip a dream.  The excursions were well organised and enjoyable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The canyoning trip was exciting, but a little cold due to it being late october.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was approachable and I felt very well looked after in all activities.  Being a single traveller was not a problem.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Advice for travellers, late October can be a little cold on the canyoning trip, but everything else great.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Would like to thank exodus for an exciting, adventurous holiday.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    SLOVENIA SNOWSHOE

    Sunshine, snow and mountain trails, wonderful! Add in the history of the area, and friendly people and you have the perfect combination.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking down from the mountain hut at the valley below, with the lake hidden by a cloth of mist. Clear sky, tinged with gold from the setting sun. Tree clad cliff like mountains sweeping down into the mist....

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Learders were enthusastic and very helpful, but being young, didn't always read the limitations of their older clients well. We always felt safe and well looked after in their hands. We would not hesitate to travel with them again.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ear plugs, for the dorm accommodation at the mountain hut!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Enjoy!
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    PICOS PEAKS & GORGES

    A beautiful part of the world for trekking, and wonderfully varied walks through stunning scenery with a real sense of achievement at the end of the day. Great hotel, great leader, so a fantastic package all round! It helped of course that the weather was gorgeous and the group friendly and fun.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the top of the scramble - wobbly legs, but what a view!Cold, cold beer after a hard day's walk

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was amazing; so passionate and knowledgable about the area and a fun guy to have around. He was so encouraging on the hard bits - "the steeper the shorter!" - running up and down like a mountain goat so he could speak to everyone.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    For single travellers, maybe check before you book the make-up of the group - how many solo travellers, age range etc. I actually didn't do this but I got lucky with a great mix of people, though it may be easy to end up with people who are all much older or younger or all couples (not that this would necessarily be a bad thing of course, but it may be a consideration for some people)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The one thing that slightly worried me before I left was the fact that most evening meals were taken in the hotel - part of the fun of travelling is getting to know the local cuisine and culture and there's less of a chance to do this if you eat in the same hotel every night, rather than explore the town where you're staying. However, the food at the hotel was lovely as were the staff, but maybe it would be good to have the option? (This is a very minor issue though and I appreciate it may be difficult at a small hotel especially the quiet season)
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    VIETNAM ADVENTURE

    It was our first trip with Exodus and we were a bit worried about what we would find/be expected to do! We need not have worried- the organisation was perfect and our guide made sure everyone felt comfortable with what was happening, adapting some activities for some of the group. So much so we are now planning our next trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    - Halong Bay-WOW! - Hoi- An -what a lovely town - Chi-Chi tunnels- so interesting - Mekong Delta- an amazing experience

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide was Lam who was so attentive to everyone's needs and very knowledgable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's quite an active holiday- not a problem for us, but a couple of the group found some of the activities too strenuous. Make sure you have a reasonable level of fitness.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We wish we had built in some time at the end of the holiday to relax (as more experienced travellers had done) This is what we are now planning for our next trip.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    THAI INDOCHINA GRAND TOUR

    We got to see everything that we could have wanted to! The trip was amazing and very hassle free, we had guidance at the borders, didnt have to faff around to find hotels/transport like some of the other travellers we met. Temples, beaches, markets,  monuments -  we saw it all! 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sunrise over Ankor Wat was amazing - just the atmosphere of all the excited people.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Of our 4 group leaders, 3 were amazing! Cam, who we had in Laos was fantastic, he had been a monk for 12 years, so I can't imagine anyone better to guide us around the temples and give us a real understanding of the religion.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Barter over everything, from tuk-tuk prices to souveniers. The locals are way better than us at this, so there's no way you'll rip them off and by the end of the trip you'll come home and not want to pay the advertised price for anything!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We only had 4 people in our group. Which was great in terms of mini bus space, but did get a little claustrophobic after a week or 2 (especially when one person had to fly home unexpectedly).
Call us on 1 844 227 9087