Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO CLIMB - RONGAI ROUTE

    This was a fabulous trip, not exactly a holiday, more a lifetime experience. If you’ve never done anything like this before, or are not sure if it’s for you, I’d advise to just book it quickly before you talk yourself out of it - believe me, it’s not something you’ll regret (apart from maybe on summit night...but that’ll soon pass!). Even if you don't make it all the way to the top, you’ll have an amazing experience which will stay with you forever. We had a great group of people to trek with, and somehow we all made it to to the top. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me, reaching to Gilman’s Point at sunrise was probably the most emotional moment, even more than Uhuru. It’s hard work getting there and the sense of achievement coupled with the sunrise and the sight of actually seeing the curvature of the earth can be pretty overwhelming! 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    When I asked how many times he’d been to the summit of Kilimanjaro, he looked me square in the eyes and told me he'd never done it before  (!) – fortunately he was joking, he’d actually done it over 100 times and his knowledge and expertise were fantastic. The guides too were wonderful, with loads of experience and we had complete confidence in them. They regularly checked everyone for symptoms of AMS, and kept a close eye on those who were feeling it more than others.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t worry too much about it. The vast majority of the walking is not too hard, there’s no rush and and there’s plenty of time to rest and get your strength back each night. However, the summit night is extremely difficult, but do-able – it’s just a case of keeping your head down and keep going. It won’t be the physical exhaustion that gets you – but the altitude might, and you can’t do anything about that! Remember, everyone in the group will be fighting their own internal battles, the slowest people will go at the front and you’re unlikely to hear anyone complaining about that! You only need to be ‘reasonably’ fit – if you don't make it to the top due to altitude sickness (which is the most likely cause), the disappointment is only going to be made worse if you’ve trained as if it’s the Olympics! Also, don't believe all the urban myths surrounding Diamox - some people swear by it and others say it's totally unnecessary - each to thier own. Do your own research regarding pros & cons and make your own mind up.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Summit night was both the best and the worst experience of my life – and I wouldn't change it for the world. The memories will stay with you forever, as will the sense of pride and achievement; something you just don’t get from 14 days sat on a beach.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    GANGES EXPLORER

    In principal, this should be a good holiday but it was spoilt by the tour guide Mr Avtar Singh.  I felt that there was too much time spent on the three train journeys which were very long and suggested that an internal flight could reduce this and that two nights in Varanasi at a more centrally located hotel would have been more enjoyable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There should have been many inspirational moments, but I felt that the group were deprived of these by the attitude of our tour guide Mr Avtar Singh.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ah yes, Mr Avtar Singh, Mr Charm for the first few days turned into Mr Charmless for the rest of our holiday.  He became rude, obnoxious, disrespectful and had no empathy with the group and for most of our holiday the atmosphere was very tense whenever he was around.  He seemed to lack interpersonal and conversational skills.  I have travelled for 20 years to India and other countries with Exodus and other companies and fortunately I have never experienced a bad tour guide. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Check that Mr Avtar Singh is not your tour guide for this holiday.  Re-confirm your return flights a day or so ahead as mine did not exist from Calcutta to Delhi though confirmed by him to the group the previous day and I had to make my own way back.  Exodus have since told me that they do not consider this is part of the tour guides responsibility, though on all other holidays this has been done as a matter of routine.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This holiday should have had great potential but was very badly let down by the tour guide.  It has highlighted the importance of a good guide and has made me wary of holidaying with Exodus in the future and I shall certainly look to other tour operators who offer similar holidays.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    I thank Mrs Taylor for her valued feedback and assure you that we take feedback such as this very seriously. I understand that our leader, on this occasion, has underperformed for this group which is hugely dissapointing. At Exodus, we pride ourselves in having the best tour leaders in the business, so it was very disappointing to learn that you felt Avtar didn't do a good job on this trip. We were surprised to read your feedback as he has led Exodus trips for over 5 years and he usually receives excellent feedback from clients. I have previously been on a trip with Avtar and found him to be very informative, knowledgeable and enthusiastic. In our 2010 Leader Awards competition he was in the top 25 Exodus leaders worldwide, in 2009 he received a high number of votes and we cannot recall receiving feedback previously to suggest that he is patronising or obnoxious. We have carried out a detailed review of this trip with the leader and please be assured that we will continue to closely monitor feedback about Avtar to ensure that he is meeting our expected high standards.

    I also appreciate the feedback regarding the itinerary. I understand the point about three overnight trains however the only route on which a flight could be used would be between Varanasi and Kolkata and whilst we realise that some clients may be happy to pay the additional cost, we feel that this may make the trip prohibitively expensive for the majority of our clients. However I will continue to monitor feedback very closely and review the design of the trip accordingly.

    Katherine Tory - Product Manager for India

  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    TRAILS OF VIETNAM

    An intensive introduction to a wonderful country. Hikes and bikes took us off the beaten tracks. Very well organised and we were well looked after. Thoroughly recommended.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling through back paths on the Mekong delta, where kids rushed out to see us, (as they don't see tourists there), showed us the contrasts of the country, but also how naturally friendly the people are, even those not trying to make a living out of tourists.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Never without a smile, efficient and solicitous, he gave us confidence, and his knowledge of the whole country and its history made the necesary long distances interesting.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Cold in the North, very hot in the South. Tell the guide if you get a dicky tummy, ancient ginger will fix it better than our drugs.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Vietnam is a strange country when you first arrive, especially if you start in Hanoi. Relax and you will quickly find your feet.  Walking was not arduous, cycling stepped up the gears later, but the bus was always around if it got too strenuous. Most of us were mere leisure cyclists, and coped admirably.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLE NICARAGUA, COSTA RICA AND PANAMA

    A varied, enjoyable trip with something for everyone.  Cycling generally to the mderate end of the scale, but with some more significant climbs to add a suitable level of challenge.  Be prepared for some extended transfer spells on the minibus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sitting in the volcanic hot pools drinking cocktails.....  And of course some of the cycling....!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rob was great.  Always aware of the needs of the group and always approachable.  The trip passed flawlessly.  The local guides provided sound support throughout.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for some moisture if your trip is anything like our second week.  It might be worth having an extra set of gear over what you might expect.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A very varied trip, with a good range of activities to supplement the cycling.  Good accommodation and some great spots for evening recreation.  Great scenery.  A bit short on local culture for my liking.  If you're after a full on cycling trip, this isn't it.  But a well rounded holiday that I thoroughly enjoyed.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER COSTA RICA

    A really good insight into Costa Rica and the varied landscapes and wildlife.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The best moments for me were when walking on our own on a trail at Manual Antonio NP where we got to watch a troop of Capuchin monkeys crossing the path in the trees and then were rewarded for climbing further with a group of Squirrel monkeys very close to us as well. The NP here was very beautiful but each place was different and inspirational in it's own right.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gustavo was great! He had a good sense of humour and good knowledge of the wildlife, history and diverse ecosystems of Costa Rica.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a good camera with good zoom lens for wildlife shots.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a good choice of trip to get a feel for Costa Rica and experience the different areas of the country.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF NORTHERN INDIA

    A whistle stop tour of the amazing sights of Northern India. Every place we visited was world heritage standard. After one day I felt like I had been in India for a month as Rajasthan is an assault on the senses but in a good way and I was really glad a booked the tour. Of the 8 nights of the tour 5 were in great hotels, palaces even, 1 dodgy hotel and 2 on the train. So for the price I thought it was good value.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just happened to be there for the Kite festival and came across local dance displays just by accident and every person in Jaipur was flying these little kites and trying to attack the other kites to bring them to the ground.    I thought Sarnath was amazing. It was full of pilgrims not just tourists from Nepal and Japan and it was really serene. Nobody asked to take our photos. It was really moving, with that and Varanasi it was a spiritual trip without any lecturing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sunil was great, he had spent alot of time studying tourism. He came from a traditional Hindu family and was really enthusiasic to tell us all about Indian culture. He knew alot about the history of the sites and spent an enormous amount of time answering our questions as Indian culture is really complicated, or at least it is to me. He was also quite funny which helped on the long days. He took us to the cinema and kite festival which were extras just because he wanted to show us everything. We were a small group just 5 of us, one couple and 3 women and I did feel very well taken care of. The trip is so busy that we were hardly ever on our own.                                                  

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We went on the 12th January in their Winter. Here is a random list of everything I can think of:                                                                      I thought this was a great time to go as I would rather be cold and put on a jumper than be too hot. Weather in January, warm/hot in the daytime but recommend several jumpers for Taj Mahal and Varanasi and game drives which take place early morning and late afternoon. Also take a hat that stays on very well for the game drive.           The most important thing to take is ear plugs.                                                                                     Although the tour guide is knowledgeable about India you can't expect him to understand the British idea of shopping as "lets find a bargain"! Our guide took us to traditional cottage industries like marble and silk. If you really want to find bargains then you will need to go off on your own. The cottage industries were interesting though if you have the patience, and at least I know what to look out for in charity shops now as I couldn't afford some of the products on offer. If you aren't interested in expensive shopping then just say so but you need to be quite decisive. Every area is famous for a special product like Jaipur is famous for gems so if you don't go the next day will be a different product.                                                                    Train is okay but take snacks like peanuts with you, our train was 6 hours late to delhi because of the fog.  Take a lock and chain or even two with you for the train. A suitcase is better than a holdall as it fits under the beds in the train better.Toilets seemed fine everywhere as Sunil was always quite fussy about where we stopped, so don't worry about them, tipping is required of course. I didn't get ill but I think I might have put on weight with all the rich curries!                        I was really disappointed we couldn't go on the Elephants up to Jaipur fort but Sunil was sure the Elephants weren't well cared for so we avoided it.                                                                                                                                                                                      If you are over 35 then you will need to do some exercies as there really is NO exercise on this trip.        Learn how to turn the flash off on your camera before Ranthambore game drive! Everyone seemed to have a problem with this! If you want to see tigers (and we saw 2, one on each game drive) then don't stop for the spotted deer, there are millions of them! The time in the park is seriously restricted and the driver will get a heavy fine if he exceeds it.                                                                                                    We were advised not to tip the beggars or children or mothers as it only makes the problem worse. This was one thing I was worried about before going to India and I did see some unpleasant sights but not nearly as many as I feared.tipping is an way of life in India. Service and tax is not included on the restaurant bill and even though a price is agreed for tuk-tuks and taxis you always have to pay a tip.With the free time in Varanasi go to Sarnath is is truely amazing.                                                         What other people said about this trip is just about spot on, we got to see some of the best sights in the world for only 6 days off work. Every single day is an early morning though so if you suffer from insomnia or jet lag then it will be hard work.                                                                                                      The tour doesn't go to a Hindu temple so if you are interested then you will have to tell the guide so he can arrange something or go on your own.           

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I hadn't heard of half the sites on this tour before I went to India but they are really amazing so if you are looking for a short trip just go for it.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    SNOWSHOEING IN THE DOLOMITES

    A perfect way to spend Christmas - in an amazing winter wonderland. The scenery was stunning and the walks were absolutely fantastic - planned and thought out carefully by our superb guide.  Very little travelling required each day and our guide always played the best tunes in the mini-bus to keep us awake! The hotel was warm, cosy and very festive.  Great to have a swim and a sauna after a day in the snow. A pre-dinner drink in the lounge by the roaring log fire was a great way to relax whilst our guide dutifully informed us about the plan for the next day. I can't think of a better way to spend a winter holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walk we did on Christmas day had the most outstanding views and our fabulous guide suprised us with a glass of sparkly and a slab of Italian cake at the top.  A fantastic memory. Thank you.The afternoon spent sledging - we laughed out loud for many days afterwards!  The Hotel Adler makes the best apple strudel in the world!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Olly Townsend has to be the most committed guide in the world. He was pretty much on duty 24 - 7. He was extremely accommodating, highly professional, well organised and very patient. He had thought carefully about the week and planned the walks accordingly. He also happens to be a keen photographer and spent what free time he had  (very little), editing film and photos that he had taken of us each day. We spent the last night watching the video he had made and enjoying the photos he had taken. An absolutely top bloke who goes well and truly beyond the call of duty.  Oh and he hasn't got a bad sense of humour either! The next guide has a lot to live upto!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes - it should be on everyone's list of things to do before they die!Enjoy the stunning scenery  - you'll miss it when you return. Have a reasonable level of fitness - some of the climbs are real lung busters! Hard work but a great sense of achievement when you reach the top.  If you have a decent appetite you'll enjoy the five course dinner each night. Drink lots of water.Smile and enjoy!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Book it now. I'm tempted!
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    TREKKING IN NEW ZEALAND

    An action-filled three weeks. The trip was well organised to fit so much in the time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I enjoyed the two days in Siberia the most; as well as Milford Sound and around Holyford.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We were guided by exhuberant Kath and wise and understanding Graham. Both were gregarious, and gave of themselves fully.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The minibus was cramped for 11 +1 persons and its windows lacked height for seeing the amazing scenery.An arrangement initiated by the guides to rotate the sitting in the front seats would contribute to greater fairness and reduce tensions.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    VIETNAM ADVENTURE

    An extremely comprehensive trip covering this inspiring country.  It was a real trip of contrasts, from the more conservative and overtly communist North to the more westernised South, so that you can get a real feel of what Vietnam is like today. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Homestay in the Mekong Delta was wonderful, and gave the chance to meet some of the locals and experience life away from the hussle and bussle of the cities.  I loved the Imperial city of Hue, and also relaxed Hoi An - unfortunately we had fairly wet weather whilst we were in the middle of the country, so maybe didn't see them quite at their best - we were lucky to get out on bikes in Hoi An which allowed us to experience the motorbikes and scooters at a different pace than just trying to cross the road - which really is an experience (check out some videos on Youtube before you go).  We also got the chance to visit an orphanage in Hoi An which was quite moving, as was the War Remnants museum in Saigon. Halong Bay is stunning, and it was lovely to get out kayaking amongst the limestone karsts and the overnight boat trip was great.  The train journey from Danang to Nha Trang, whilst long and perhaps a little uncomfortable allowed you to see much more scenery than you ever do in a coach, so great for photo opportunities. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hai was extremely well organised, so all his arrangements went without a hitch and he was really keen to ensure that we all got to experience as much of Vietnam as we could in this busy trip.  He was really knowledgeable, and had some great anecdotes to tell about all the places we visited.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack light, but be prepared that it might well rain a lot whilst you are there.  Leave plenty of space for shopping as there are loads of opportunities through the trip to buy some great things.  You can get washing done easily in Hoi An.  If you are looking for a relaxing holiday, this might not be the trip for you, be prepared for some long days.  As others have mentioned, be really careful of your possessions when you are out and about - it is very difficult for Vietnamese to leave the country, so our passports are very valuable to them as well as to us.  Keep your wits about you in the big cities, but do visit the markets and bargain, you can get some fantastic deals.  If you want to get clothes made in Hoi An, take some pictures with you to give ideas to the tailors, and be prepared to go for two or three fittings - persevere and as long as you have gone to a recommended tailor (ask your guide, they will know the good places) you will get a great result at the end.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Homestay in the Mekong was more comfortable than we had all expected - we were in rooms of max 4 people, and couples got their own rooms.  The food was delicious and the toilets/showers were clean and plentiful.  I would have preferred to spend less time in the cities and more time out in the more rural parts of Vietnam, but if you are a city lover, you will love this trip.  Remember, Vietnam is still very much a developing country, so standards might not be quite as good as you would get on a similar trip in say Thailand, but eating out and drinks are very good value, so you can get much more for your money whilst you are there.  The food is fantastic too!  If you want to visit Vietnam, I'd suggest you go soon, to experience it before it gets too developed and tourism spoils it!
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    EVEREST BASE CAMP

    it was a good trip and I am happy with what I got. I wrote you an e-mail or two after coming back, I hope you have received them, there were a few things there that I pointed out, was kind of hoping for an e-mail back.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Of course the target, the EBC, and we have been extremelly lucky on that day, nice, sunny weather and excellent photos. Kala Pattar was more strenous than I thought but the views were again great. In general the views during the entire trip were something special. The monastery in Dingboche, I have never seen anything like it, so very different from the christian churches we are accustomed to. Stayed for the afternoon service on the return trip, that was something; especially when they sounded those long horns, first time I jumped not realizing what's going on. Namche also was a highlight of the trip and the hotel where we slept, best of the entire trip. Low light, the climb from Namche, that was really awful!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A professional, very helpful, knows his stuff, kept an eye on everything and everybody including the 3 other guides. He's a keeper, make sure you don't loose him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Hygiene is not the best and some of the botttled water may not be safe, we found small particles floating in bottled water. Make sure you have disinfectant pills and make sure you read the label, one pill is enough at 20 degrees plus but two are needed when temperature is below 4 degrees. You must allow the time for the pills to work before you drink!! prepare for cold at night, those rooms in the teahouses are awfully cold, sleeping bag min rating for minus 10, I had to buy one in Namche! there are small hospitals or pharmacies along the route even in places you would not expect them to be, that's one very positive thing. I noticed an ABM in Namche, have not tried it though. Carry US dollars in small bills for tips or donations, I had 100 dollars in one dolar bills. The food was OK, order soups or stews for additional liquid and drink tea, lots of it! sunscreen is a must plus a hat that covers your ears, it burns, have seen that on others. Resign that you may not be able to shower for several days especially if the weather turns bad. Carry wet wipes and a good deodorizer, nobody has died for not having a shower every day (there are shower facilities everywhere including at the last stop before the EBC but they are not heated inside).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Liked the trip, the scenery and the people. Have met a lot of locals and kids, there was not one who approached us begging. They are poor, this is obvious but very dignified, these people were a revelation to me. And they work and keep clean as best as they can. You can see the effects of tourism everywhere, they build new teahouses, small hotels, sweep the path, carry enormous loads on their backs, and everything with a big smile. Maybe I'll come back while I'm still physically fit
Call us on 1 844 227 9087