Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    GANGES EXPLORER

    Wow! This is India at its most colourful, spiritual and food loving best! An assault on all the senses! This trip will stay with me for ever. It really was a once in a lifetime experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Floating down the Ganges was one of the most serene experiences of my life. It was so peaceful and relaxing. Yes there are sights that might upset people (cremations etc) but this is the Ganges. To quote that TV advert - 'you get what it says on the tin'.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I've travelled on a lot of group holidays and have rarely had a problem with the guides. However, Bali makes them all pale into insignificance. He was 'Mr Fixit'. Nothing was too much trouble - from buying snacks for the journeys to finding a Sikh tailor to make up our shirts during the busiest time of the year - wedding season! It was quite a struggle to leave him and learn to problem solve again.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is the real India. If you've never been before, or have only been to Kerala this is totally different, and may not be the trip for you. You're throwing yourself in at the deep-end.You will be witness to and mingle with real people living their real lives. What a priviledge! 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The boat crew were amazing. I never expected to enjoy this part so much. The mattresses were so comfortable I slept like a log. The food was delicious. I still do not know how they knocked up those meals on one gas stove, whilst floating along. The doormat to keep the sand out of the dining area when we beached was inspirational!The lodge in Sunderbans was so quiet, and peaceful. Birdlife incredible. Witnessing peoples religious ablutions so up close and personal was a real priviledge. A very spiritual moment.  The yoga class was an experience. I do a class every week but I still grew 6inches in that one!The train journeys were incredible. The people watching is endless. The sound of 'chai chai coffee chai' will never leave me. If you want unbroken sleep this is not the journey for you BUT if you want a slice of life this is the trip for you.  I could go on and on. I think its one of the best trips I've ever done, and certainly my favourite in India. I could never have done this in 2 weeks independently, and if you have a guide like Bali you'd be missing out so much by doing that anyway.
  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    CROSS COUNTRY SKIING: CHAMONIX

    Chalet Savoy was very comfortable and Elaine had no problem dealing with a vegetarian. We had great snow and the mini bus meant we got to visit a different ski area each day. Oliver local knowledge meant he chose each day's venue according to the weather conditions ensuring there was somewhere warm for lunch especially as the temperatures dropped as the week progressed. As usual a good mix of people on the trip and lots of comparisions of other cross country skiing trips we had done.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When we finally got some blue skies to go with the great snow and could fully appreciate the mountains.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Oliver took us on some nice trails and also helped us to improve our technique. Even some of his jokes were quite good! Both he and Elaine looked after us very well. He was really good with one memeber of our group who had never skiied before.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You will have a good time; take your slippers as outside shoes are not worn in the Chalet but Oliver and Elaine have plenty of spares. WiFi conection was excellent so a good place if you need to stay in touch with work.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Chalet is a home from home especially with Pebbles the cat and Dylan the dog. Elaine's cakes are not to be missed and so easy to justify after a day's ski-ing
  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    CROSS-COUNTRY SKIING: EASTERN PYRENEES

    we went-not expecting to have much snow to play with -but in reality, we had so much fresh snow that it made learning to ski much less sore & much more controlled-much to the relief of fellow participants. who were lovely & supportive to 2 novices.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    -15'c with added windchill,swirling icy sparkly stuff, hands absolutely freezing after lunch ,then getting warmer due to keeping going & the clouds burning off to show the most amazing scenery which was so different from the morning [ well- visible in the first place] & managing to keep up with the experienced skiers. also sitting in the thermal spa pool outdoors when ice was forming on the ground & just gazing at the scenery .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    James reminded me a little of tigger-in his enthusiasm & excellence in tuition. we[me & brendan] benefitted from the almost one on one tuition & were able to progress quickly to join the rest of the group.james & cathy had confidence in us & let us explore our abilities. through the week we had a few 'master classes' & learned all sorts of advanced things like step turns & avoidance of crashing  by managing to step out of the loipe seamlessly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    a good book in case of airport closures due to snow,ensure you take your swimmers to enjoy the spa in AX,look for a way of keeping your camera battery warmif the temperature drops below zero-camelbacks are pretty useless unless you can drink anti-freeze.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    the terminus hotel feeds vegetarians really well. it's an unusual concept in france[or even on holiday] to eat well when not eating meat,fowl or fish. i felt included in the group & never hungry & we all know an army marches on its stomach.
  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLING VIETNAM

    a great time with a fun group of people and an inspirational team leader Danh and his support group - thanks! 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    too many to mention! perhaps the train journey from Hue to Hanoi on the overnight express train! the drinks, the singsong, the pizza! the toilets haha.. anyone one reading this from our group will know exactly what i mean!cycling down from Dalat in the fog!! the descent from 1500m to 200ft, fog, landslides, pot holes, incredible scenery..A WOW! Hoi An was fabulous, could have spent longer there.. we did the Cambodia extension to this cycling vietnam trip -well worth doing, Siam Reap is amazing - the temples at Angkor breathtaking, Phomn Penh was disturbing, exciting, so very sad, the history of the kymer rouge still so very raw, we owe it to the millions that died to know more about what happened there..So, for me the most memorable moments were in Cambodia 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Danh was fantastic!!! how it is possible for someone to be SO happy, super organised, freindly, knowledgeable, such an amazing guide with a fabulous team for support, i dont know, but he did it, commendable! no request was ever too much

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    check the weather carefully before you go. Saigon was so hot which i was prepared for..Hanoi was so cold, from Dalat onwards the weather changed -  Halong bay, damp, misty, cold, (nearly spooky) - was not prepared for the cold, i only brought a light rain jacket which was inadequate! had to buy jacket, trousers etc,  which given the full on schedule, was not easy to find the time once you realised how cold it was going to be!you find your level of cycling easily and for those that find it more challenging, the bus and support team are great! you can do as much or as little of the cycling as you wishbring imodium and rehyration drinks. (thats normal advice thou) bring a silk liner for the train, althou you can buy in Hoi An, they tend to be a bit short if you are tall! 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just enjoy the trip - it is so full on and you are on the move so much, its not till you are home you realise the sense of achievement, the sights you see and the fun people you met. Be ready to be on the move alot - quite alot of bus journeys so bring reading, ipad, ipod etc..Savour the moments!
  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF NORTHERN INDIA

    Really well organised and balanced itinerary - great and informative guide who added some really excellent touches e.g. bollywood film. Will be recommending to others and will consider other exodus trips in the future

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The 'Taj' and seeing a tiger

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent - really added to the enjoyment of the whole experience

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We went end of January/early February - be prepared to wear layers for early starts 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you
  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    GANGES EXPLORER

    A trip of a lifetime to the real India

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The river trip down the Ganges.  The small boats were so comfortable, the fact that they were rowed rather than motorised meant the trip was completely relaxing and peaceful.   We spotted rare gangetic dolphins.  The kitchen boat produced a series of unbelievably tasty meals.  The camping was very comfortable and waking up with a cup of tea at sunrise on the banks of the holy river was an experience I will never forget.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Balvinder Singh is an amazing guide.  He managed to absorb all the stress which I normally associate with travellling in India - he anticipated and dealt with every eventuality - usually before any of us noticed what was going on!    His insights into life in India made me feel like I was really travelling and experiencing rather than being a tourist.  

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    3 overnight train trips might seem like a lot of travelling - indeed it is - but the experience of people watching on the station, ordering a hot chai first thing in the morning and chatting to ordinary people travelling from A to B is a great experience.  However some ear plugs will help you sleep!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you want to get off the beaten track, to see lesser known parts of Incredible India and see ordinary people going about their everyday lives then this  is the trip for you.  
  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    SNOWSHOEING IN THE DOLOMITES

    Great easy trip, good introduction to snowshoeing, lovely scenery lovely hotel.  Food very Germanic, so brace yourself for lots of ham etc.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walk up Mt Piano with wind chill it was about -35!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Karl was very professional and sociable with the group - watch out for the stories and jokes though.......:-)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trip notes do not specify details of the walks which i think would have been useful.  The pace is dictated by the group which was a little slow for me and I got quite cold at times waiting around so wrap up.  The paths are well marked in most cases, so it was a shame there was not more opportunities to go at your own pace so that fitter members do not feel frustrated by the pace and slower members don't feel hurried.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great introduction to snowshoeing - scenery lovely, but if you enjoy striding out and covering the miles like I do you may find the pace not to your liking.
  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC WINTER ACTIVITY WEEK

    I had a brillant week in the Alps and would recommend it to anyone.  The scenery was beautiful and the group leader was great.  It had an excellent variety of activities and was a fantastic way of getting a taster for a variety of winter activites. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On the last day we did a snow shoe walk and had some fantastic views of Mount Blanc.  Very inspirational. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Oliver was fantastic.  He had endless jokes and kept us all entertained. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Some of the activities did require a bit of physical fitness and it is probably worth considering getting a bit on the fit side, as it would make the whole experience a bit more enjoyable to have a certain level of fitness. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was an excellent opportunity to get a bit of a taster for a variety of winter activities.  The whole experience was ace, the region is beautiful and certianly a great way of spending a week
  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER BURMA

    A well-paced introduction to a fascinating country. You could feel the desire for change and it was great to be in the country at such a (hopefully) important cross-roads in its history.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The welcome we received from the people. A classic conversation opener was "Where you from?"  The reply was always met with a wide smile and "Welcome to Myanmar!"Shwedagon - of course - changing colour in the setting sun and those jewels glinting at the summit. The teak bridge, emerging out of the night to be reflected in still, still water, a fisherman casting his net as burgundy-clad monks crossed the lake above his head. Inle Lake with its reflections, narrow boats, canals, temples, craft shops - I could have stayed there a week!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Matt was gradually handing over the reins to Gabriel, the 'local lad', and both worked tirelessly on our behalf. It was lovely to see Gabriel grow in confidence and responsibility as the days progressed. He is going to prove a very able and likeable leader in his own right. We were lucky to have them both.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to spend a lot of time with your shoes off and go soon! It will all change very quickly as tourists flood in. The welcome is warm, the scenery wonderful. There are some early mornings (wouldn't expect otherwise with Exodus!) but the benefits are great. The internal flights are necessary when you see the state of the roads, but are soon accomplished and don't take up too much enjoyable time. Unless flights are changed, be prepared for an interminable stop-over at Kuala Lumpur. At least it's a decent airport in which to kill a lot of time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A run-down of the entire trip would take too long, but there's nothing I wouldn't recommend. You'll come back 'templed out', in the nicest possible way. The Shwedagon will blow your socks off - but you'll have them off, anyway. A beautiful, gentle country, with beautiful, gentle people. Laugh often with them and enjoy the warmth of their welcome as well as that of the sun.
  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    SNOWSHOEING IN FINLAND

    A wonderful trip which I loved from beginning to end. Amazing scenery in a beautiful country. I've finally discovered a winter activity I can really enjoy and if you like the great outdoors I can't recommend this trip enough. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Dog sledging was a real joy and snow shoeing through Riisitunturi National Park was quite literally out of this world.  Spending the night sleeping out in an igloo was a real challenge but certainly worth the effort. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eki (Erkki Ollila) was a real gem.  His enthusiasm for his local area was contagious - he found something "new" around every corner.  A great guide who really brought the day's excursions to life for us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Evenings are long in basecamp which as yet does not have a lounge area. Time is spent sitting on hard, wooden chairs - not very relaxing.  This was the only downside to this trip - don't let it put you off but be prepared.  Husky sledging trip is very expensive but I wouldn't have missed it. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just had one of the best weeks holidays of my life - give it a try and enjoy 
Call us on 1 844 227 9087