Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Make 2018 Your Year of Adventure. Save $150 when you Book Now - Learn More >

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    INCA TRAIL, TITICACA & NAZCA

    This was my 1st Exodus trip and I would definatly go on another.  The trip was really well organised and I loved every minute of it.  There is a lot of travelling, but it's worth it and the treck was an amazing experience. An expensive holiday, with some expensive extras, but the prices on the tickets justify the price Exodus charges.  The only negative was probems with the connections onthe way home.  For anyone wanting to do the Inca Trail the extras on this trip are really worth the extra time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The trail was the reason I booked it and I wasn't let down by it.  Amazing views

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Really good.  Very knowledgable, could answer all questions and very patient

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLE INDOCHINA & ANGKOR

    even if your not an experienced cyclist you'll be amazed at how much you have covered in miles and thought

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    seeing all the children welcome you to their villages

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Al was fantastic he had alot of patience as i tend to linger at the back, i was always taking photographs

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    don't be put off trying to keep up with the group, you soon catch them up at the next stop and there is always somebody behind you to show you the way

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a great cycling holiday lots of milage but well spaced out with lots of time to visit and chat to the locals
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLE THE BACKROADS OF SRI LANKA

    Sri Lanka is a country with beautiful scenery, delicious food, lovely weather and friendly people. What better way to see it than by bike? The cycling was just as described, moderate to challenging and the 3 days in the middle of the holiday are certainly on the challenging side and very rewarding as a result.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Completing the 100km ride from Kandy to Nuwara Elia up a 2000m climb. As I’m not much of a cyclist it was much longer and steeper than I ever imagined. Also being about 10m away from a wild leopard when we went on the safari.  This apparently was a very unusual sight. Also, climbing to the top of Sigiriya Rock. This rewarded us with spectacular views of the surrounding countryside.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh was always very helpful and put our comfort and safety above everything else.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The quality of the hotels we stayed at varied greatly from lovely to rather poor. Also everything seemed to close at 10.30pm, even the bars/restaurants/hotels, so if you want to eat and drink go early or go hungry and thirsty. Not such a bad thing when there are many 6am starts.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The holiday describes “Terrain and route: 95% tarmac, 5% unsurfaced road” which in my opinion is a bit of an exaggeration. Many of the “roads” for long stretches were nothing more than potholes in one particular direction. Whilst it no doubt had once been surfaced that was a long time ago and it had not been maintained. To be honest the unsurfaced roads were generally smother and nicer.
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN MADEIRA

     Exactly what was described. Great variety of comfortable walks to all the places you would want to go in a week with a knowledgeable and practical guide.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

     On the first walking day we went out on the Sao Lourenco peninsular. The weather was at its best and the volcanic landscape and the wild Atlantic added up to a breathtaking experience.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andre was knowledgeable and passionate about his island. He was patient and adaptive changing the itinerary when the weather intervened and spoilt the original plans.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It can rain in April (and presumably at other times) so be prepared for cold mountain tops and wet weather. All the nice wine from the supermarkets came with real corks so take a corkscrew!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You won 't have a lot of time to take photos on the walks so set to auto and fire away and sort out the rubbish later. The levadas are fantastic works of engineering and the tunnels on the walk to the waterfall are low so don't bash your head. Admire all the empty motorways linking the island's small villages by tunnel and viaduct. Enjoy your Euro Billions at work!
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    LAND OF THE TIGER

    A truly memorable trip offering the opportunity to see and hear a wide variety of bird and wildlife in three of India's National Parks. Excellent opportunities to see the main drawcard - tigers!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Witnessing a tiger approach a small water hole along a dry river bed and then drinking from it only metres from our jeep. Then followed by a second tiger minutes later! Only 4 or 5 jeeps present making the experience even more magical.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Krishna was an excellent group leader: professional, knowledgeable and patient at all times. He brought so much more to the trip through his knowledge and love of his native country, enriching the tour with details of society, religion and food and drink as well as an incomparable knowledge of bird and wilidlife.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy the experience! It's a privilege to experience these animals at close quarters and worth taking some time away from the frenzy of getting the perfect shot to simply enjoy the presence of the tigers.
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    EVEREST BASE CAMP

    This was my second Exodus trek to EBC. Another brilliant trek, excellent guides and sherpa's.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Actually camping and experiencing EBC with other climbing teams. Summiting Kala Pattar, and Nantkarshang, both over 5100m mountains.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Val Parkinson - what can I say that hasn't been said already? Her enthusiasm for the Himalaya is infectious, Valerie is never to tired or otherwise occupied, to answer questions and talk about her experiences. She clearly cares about the Sherpa staff we had with us, and is clearly very popular with the Nepalese lodge owners, who all know her by name; the three sherpa's - Chewang, Lapka and Yuba were superb, and great company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Lots - go slowly, you will get there; drink plenty of water, at least 4 litres a day. Last time I did this I didn't drink enough and struggled.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The holdalls provided are not fit for purpose, mine ripped before I had booked it into Heathrow. The strap came away and tore the fabric. Why not have some bags made to the same standard as Mountain Equipment holdalls, saw loads on thetrek, have one myself, never let me down.The luggage label for life - isn't. Mine broke, as did nearly everyone else's. We saw lots of other trekkers, identifiable by their hats, T-shirts, etc, all with their travel companies logo's emblazoned on them; how good would your trekkers look at Base Camp all wearing an Exodus T shirt.Also, a distinct travel label for hand luggage would be good, as fellow Exodus travellers can identify one another at the point of departure. 
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    A WEEK IN JORDAN

    This was was an amazing opportunity to experience such a historic landscape and a privilege to meet such friendly Jordanains with a fantastic sense of humour.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra exceeded my expectations. I was so pleased that we were able to spend two full days there to marvel at the history and explore the challenging landscape. The site is much bigger than I had realised and you cetainly need sturdy footwear and a lot of energy to get the most from it, but there were suprises round every corner and views to die for!The night in the desert will also stay with me, sleeping out under the stars next to the firepit after a truly amazing meal. Don't forget to take a torch!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Khaled was very well-informed about all aspects of his country and answered all our questions with patience and humour. His ability to organise us all without it becoming overbearing, meant that everything ran smoothly and we learned so much.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You will be in the sun all day at Petra, so don't forget to wear something very light, possibly with sleeves to protect you. Some necks got very burnt but those who had bought the light white scarves kept cooler and were protected. Whatever you wear, it will be a deep shade of Petra-pink by the end of the day, including your shoes!There seemed to be plenty of sleeping bags and blankets available to borrow at the desert camp, so perhaps a sleeping bag liner would be sufficient to take and cut down on that luggage.For the female travellers, don't take too many changes of clothing for the evening - clean pair of jeans and three or four prettier tops will be plenty. You might need a wrap from time to time but there are plenty of these to buy everywhere.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Jordan is situated in a troubled part of the world but we felt safe at all times. Our tourist policeman who had to travel with us at all times was funny and friendly and very useful when getting us through the heavier traffic and helping us over rougher terrain.I will carry the images of the arid landscape with me for a very long time - the rock formations, the desert, the camels, the enormous views and the closeness to all those biblical places we learned about in our childhood.
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    THE AMALFI COAST

    A brilliant mix of walking and culture. The walks were exciting but relatively easy with lots of interest and fantastic scenery to see. We had a very knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide to show us around both Pompei and Herculaneum.  We climbed to the summit of Vesuvius and looked into the crater.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    From a cultural point of view visiting Herculaneum was fantastically interesting for me.  The "Walk of the Gods" down to Positano and swimming at the bottom was also thrilling.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group was lucky in that we had a truly exellent leader. I have been on many trips and he was one of the best I have encountered

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read up about Pompei and Herculaneum and Vesuvius beforehand (Wikipedia is a good start).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Try the pastry " pastiera sfogliatella napolitena" which is a Naples speciality.  Three of us walked back up from Amalfi while the others took the bus. It took us 3 hours but was good fun. 
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    This is the trip for anyone wanting to get away from it all for a few days - no mobile phone signal, no Internet, no pollution in the desert and back to basics!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sleeping under the stars in the desert, after a satisfying dinner sitting round the campfire, and well-deserved after a few hours of walking and scrambling! Spending the days eating, walking and napping when it was too hot to walk around lunchtime. Standing on any three of the Rock Bridges we climbed up to. Walking up to the Monastery in Petra. A Bedouin turning up at the camp with a gigantic keyboard and staging a little party for us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Danny was a walking history book (in a good way!) and knew everything anyone would ever want to know about Jordan. My favourite were his amazing (and according to him, 100% true) camel stories he told us around the campfire at night.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you have a dust allergy, take lots of tissues and some anti-histamines! Take a few days before or after the trip to go to the Dead Sea - it's really close to Amman and pretty much on the way back from Petra.
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    SICILIAN VOLCANOES

    Best one-week vacation I've had in a long time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Both the Strombolian eruptions and the hike on Etna were inspirational moments; although that's not to say that the build up during the week was something to be missed. The earlier hikes, and restaurant visits added to the overall experience, and provided context for the later trips.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great! Turi was an exceptional group leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If travelling in May, take extra warm windproof gear for both Etna and Stromboli, and hot-weather gear for the rest of the trip. Etna is 3000m so could be 18 degrees colder than at sea level, and the Stromboli visit happens at sunset, and is on an exposed ridge. Also checkout advice on the net for photographing Strombolian eruptions (and take extra camera batteries).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Do it!
Call us on 1 844 227 9087