Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2017
    alexander culbard

    the silk road

    a simply amazing tour.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    not sure about describing this tour as inspirational but to see part of the old silk rd was/is part of our desire to see as much of it as possible.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    in Uzbekistan, Dilshod was as good as you could possibly get. For the rest of the tour the guide was very helpful and friendly but sometimes difficult to understand.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    definitely have medicine for upset stomach. . You will need to be reasonably fit. Take warm clothes for the mountains and bathers for the fantastic Issyk Kul lake.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    we hope you have a tour from Uzbekistan say Tashkent- Kieva-Mary-Ashkhabad then into iran
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Winnie Tang

    South Korea unmasked

    As this is only my second group trip I have a limited experience with comparing these types of trips but I thoroughly enjoyed this experience. Our guide was knowledgeable and filled any gaps in our itinerary with valuable insightful excursions. All key sights were covered in the trip. Unfortunately we did not get to go to the JSA, however this did not detract from the the overall visit to the DMZ. The DMZ felt very surreal and to be able to peak into North Korea was an experience. Seoul is your typical city, traffic included but the subway system is very easy to negotiate and cheap and clean. There are plenty of lively markets to immerse oneself into the culture and to sample various food on a stick. I would recommend catching the Nanta show. This was amazing. The scenery was breathtaking especially in Seoraksan National Park and Jeju Island. For a country that had to completely rebuild it is amazing how the government was able to cultivate such wonderful green spaces. The food on offer was second to none and I did not find the food too spicy at all, although when given the option I chose the least spicy option.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment was learning all the history behind South Korea. Admittedly I did not much about Korean history but I found the topic fascinating. It was uplifting to learn how through adversity the Korean people were able to achieve all they have in such a short space of time. It was not only the infrastructure that was rebuilt but the green belt too. The fact that the government even thought about constructing green spaces demonstrates how forward thinking a government can be. The temple stay was a highlight too, especially the conversation with the monk. It was interesting to hear about how an enlightened person thinks about the modern world.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mirium was an exceptional group leader and she always recommended good restaurants that were not expensive. She was always providing us with background to all the places we were visiting and her in depth knowledge of the history was very compelling. I don't think I know English history as well as she knows her Korean history. What was also good given that we were visiting during elevated tension levels with the North, she not only gave us a daily briefing on what was on the news, as on a couple of days we had no access to English channels. She also offered an insight of the South Korean mindset regarding the North. She also made sure that everyone was accommodated and was willing to flit between restaurants to ensure everyone was able to order what they wanted. Her instructions on where and when to meet were very clear and I felt she went above and beyond her duties. At all restaurants she would recommend the items on the menu which she knew were the local dishes and good. This sort of knowledge is priceless.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a lot of walking on all types of terrain and eating good food.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Colin Spence

    Walking in Andalucia

    Just returned from a wonderful trip to Southern Spain. Alexis our guide was truly wonderful and the whole group were treated like personal guests .The food at the farmhouse was superb our thanks to Maria and her staff. There was a really nice variety in the walks and the research that had obviously gone into this trip by Alexis and Exodus shone through. Having sole use of the farmhouse was a real bonus and the group got on really well. We do hope the two dogs have a secure future when the new owners take over we will always remember that smile! Our thanks to Alexis for making the week a truly special one Colin and Jill

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The rope walk through the Gorge!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Truly outstanding and a credit to the Company

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book early and you may get a room with a Balcony but they are all nice rooms
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Jenny Hicks

    A great trip of two very different parts

    This trip is in two parts. Four days on the Jaguar houseboat looking for jaguars, the boat's a bit cramped and you spend all day on the river, but the sight of your first jaguar makes it all worthwhile. Then the fantastic Araras Eco Lodge, which is spacious and relaxing and the bird life is amazing! You need to be prepared for long days and you need lots of patience, but it's definitely a fantastic experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sight of our first jaguar of course, as well as a mother being suckled by a young cub. But also the kingfishers, the storks, the skimmers, the sight of a potoo completely disguised in a tree - load of special moments!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tony was great at spotting jaguars, but I think his real passion showed through, which is birdlife. He has a great knowledge of the local wildlife and birds.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It can be windy (and cold) on the early morning boat rides, so take a fleece, sunglasses and moisturising cream. Take long trousers and 100% deet mosquito repellent as they bite through your clothes. You get so hot and dirty, but if you rinse clothes through at night they are dry by the next day. Be prepared for very long boat rides looking for jaguars (sometimes 6 hours) and you need to be patient. You may sit looking at a jaguar for a couple of hours, during which it hardly moves! The lodge is wonderful - spacious, relaxing, great food, wifi and amazing birdlife everywhere. Horse riding and kayaking and a night drive are included at the lodge and part of the Exodus itinerary. Brazilian electricity sockets have changed in the last 18 months and in hotels and the Lodge they are recessed - you need to buy an adapter locally.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Amazing trip - a long journey to get there and you have to rough it a bit on the houseboat, but it's definitely worth it! Exodus arranged an Iguassu Falls extension which we did before before our group trip which was fantastic - worth spending some extra time in Brazil if you can.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Mary Robinson

    Walking in Puglia and Matera

    Marinella was a great guide, knowledgable, patient and very fit! The walks and the restaurants she found us were outstanding for food, wine and price. Thank you

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A few of the meals! The company

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Outstanding

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you can walk 15 km in high temperatures in the full sun if you go in summer!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would choose Exodus again
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Melissa Mason

    Rongai Route - Kilimanjaro. WOWIE

    I have just returned from my amazing adventure of climbing Kilimanjaro using the Rongai route. Don't believe people that say its easy. It isn't. But, it is 100% worth it :). "The greatest things in life aren't things" Is it challenging - Yes Is it 100% worth it - Absolutely Yes! Should you do it - Yes definitely!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The mountain is beautiful! The ever changing scenery as you ascend, the nights sky, the moon, the clear fresh air, the tweeting birds - It's really special. The summit night is very challenging but its all worth it when you reach Gilmans Point and see the most incredible sunrise. If you have the reserves left and make it to Uhuru Peak, there are no words to describe the feeling! Just incredible and one that will be very hard to replicate. The porters can't go without mention. You don't fully appreciate what they do until you see it for yourself. Its truly remarkable and inspirational. Their strength, stamina and wonderful smiles is really amazing. The expedition wouldn't be possible without them. The group - meeting 12 other strangers to make the journey to summit Kilimanjaro. We couldn't have had a better group. It felt like a family and we all supported each other and kept laughing all the way - as well as crying in some cases. Its all part of the journey. The people made this trip and the memories will last a life time!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Makake was a good guide and had a great support group with him. He was very organised and made sure everything ran smoothly. With Makake and his teams guidance, 93% of our group reached Gilmans Point!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I trained by walking up and down my apartment block stairs with my back pack - all 40 flights, as well as gym work, weights, running, cycling etc. The best practice however, was the stairs! What I found on the hike was that, although I am fit and healthy individual, its the attitude that will affect you the most. It effects everybody differently and so you just don't know how you react until you get there. I took Diamox for the altitude sickness and when my headaches began, took paracetamol and Ibuprofen which took the edge off. Top tips:- Pole Pole. Don't be tempted to go fast. Take rehydration supplements to add to your water. Take a hot water bottle for bedtime. Its cold. Ensure you have a warm sleeping bag and decent sleeping mat! I also took a travel pillow! Take a few bin bags for your clothes. Take silicone ear plugs ( get them from Boots). Take a small body wash to wash your hands / face etc. You get very dusty and dirty and its nice to clean up! Take Compeed! I took some herbal tea bags - was nice to have a bit of luxury! Respect the kit list and don't try and save on things - I used everything on it! Most importantly - take small change in $'s for tipping at the end. The porters that leave on the last day will need to take their tips so don't take big notes. Take $5's and $10 etc to make it easier for them to split the tips.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A big THANK YOU to Exodus and The African Walking Company and the porters for making our trip possible! I will never forget it! Asante Sana!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Penny Linemann

    Namibia 4WD and Desert Safari

    This was one of the best Exodus trips I have been on and this was largely due to the great organisational ability of Koos and his team of Andreas, Magnus and Simpson. These guys were so helpful and good natured and dealt with every situation that arose in a truly professional way. We saw the most incredible scenery, and the camping experience was amazing. It really was glamping compared to some of the trips I have been on, and our tents were up, beds made, and everything ready for us every night when we arrived back from safari. The food was fantastic and the camping areas were great, especially when we were wild camping. All the food was inclusive, even when we ate in cafes and small restaurants and there was no restriction on what we could order. All we had to pay for throughout the trip was drinks and souvenirs.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We were lucky enough to see a pair of rhinos in the Palmwag Concession and could creep up to within about 50 feet of them because we were downwind. They had no idea that we were there. We also saw large groups of desert elephants in the river bed in the Concession and were able to get up very close to them without disturbing them. The waterhole at Etosha was fascinating but a little bit spoiled by people talking on their mobile phones loudly when other people were trying to concentrate on watching the elephants and rhinos which came to drink. Still a great thing to see though. I have never seen as many giraffes in such large family groups as we did in Etosha, and the amount of wildlife we saw there was wonderful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Koos Hartslief was a terrific leader and apart from having a great sense of humour and an inexhaustible supply of jokes, was unflappable in unexpected situations such as when the vehicle broke down - he was able to arrange replacement 4WDs at short notice and this was in fact a blessing as the substitute vehicles were far more roomy and comfortable than the original. He knew all the best places to camp, and he and his team provided us with such an incredible experience through their knowledge, professionalism and attention to detail. The food was varied and delicious, and even the packed lunches were great. I couldn't fault any of the team and they certainly provided one of the best camping and safari experiences I have had.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just relax and enjoy it, you will be in very good hands.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Fiona Mcintosh

    highlights of the Dolomites

    This walking holiday was excellent, We were very well situated in the Val de Fassa for the local bus and all the gondolas and chair lifts. Most of the walks started at the top of a lift so the scenery was spectacular all of the time. We were very lucky with the weather but even so it would be difficult not to be impressed with the area. We had a choice of a grade 3 or grade 5 walk each day and we chose to stick to the grade 3 which was strenuous but without any scary bits! Every walk was different in scenery and terrain so always interesting. The shortest walk was 7 miles and the longest 11 miles but it was not rushed. The hotel good and had everything you need and their food was great and plentiful. It was situated in the centre of the small town of Campitello which had a supermarket and quite a lot of outdoor shops (handy if you forget to bring and important bit of kit) and quite a few bars and restaurants.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery had the wow factor.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both our group leaders Albert and Ingrid were great. The grade 3 groupwas lead by Ingrid all week and she was really lovely, calm and very easy to get on with. Both Ingrid and Albert knew the area really well and I had total confidence in them both.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't forget your camera!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Michael Fogg

    Italian Lakes: Como and Garda

    A very enjoyable week, in a beautiful location, with an interesting and varied itinerary, good accommodation, with excellent meals and friendly staff. Laura, our guide, was charming and efficient, ensuring that our entire visit ran smoothly, without a single hitch. Would have no hesitation in recommending this destination.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were several memorable moments, but having grown up in Stratford on Avon, possibly the visit to Verona, a beautiful city, which our excellent local guide said owes a lot of its fame to Shakespeare, as author of, Romeo and Juliet and Two Gentlemen of Verona.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Laura, was outstanding. Always. charming calm and efficient, whilst ensuring that our entire visit ran smoothly, without a single hitch.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Difficult to think of anything which would have improved our experience.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Lizzy Mullings

    Amazing Week

    I have just returned from my weeks trekking in the Atlas Mountains, 3-10th September. All I can say is the experience was everything I hoped it to be. The staff at Exodus have been fabulous. Said our guide was fabulous, and the group of people brilliant despite mixed abilities. What I can say is that I did prepare for this trip and would not have been able to have done it if I hadn't spent time improving my overall physical fitness. I am ready to book my next trip with this company already...looking to go to the Simien Mountains Trekking,

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the Top of Mt Toubikal

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was a wonderful, supportive individual, understated in his nature, ..what a nice man

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is not easy, and you need to train for this trip and have a good level of fitness
Call us on 1 844 227 9087