Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Make 2018 Your Year of Adventure. Save $150 when you Book Now - Learn More >

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed July 2012
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN THE SLOVAKIAN TATRAS

    An interesting trip on well made paths connecting the passes and peaks of the Tatra, with numerous chata - mountain huts - at which to refresh oneself. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The chain supported scramble to the pass of Pol'sky Hreben, beneath the highest Tatra peak Gerlachovsky Stit ,with marmot and chamois amongst the spectators, and the return to the roaring fire at Sliezsky Dom.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic, eager to show off his knowledge and showcase his country in excellent English.His home made local version of a musical horn was expertly crafted and his own photographic skills evident.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Apparently the weather is generally better with later departures, with September definitely drier than July. In July thunderstorms are likely which means avoiding ridges and summits.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The base at the Bilikova Chata was comfortable, but be prepared for 40 minutes walking each way to the local village of Stary Smokovec if you want something different.The day in Krakow was an added bonus.
  • Reviewed July 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLE ALASKA

    A great trip - such a change from the hot, busy places we'd visited on previous cycle tours.Alaska is all about the outdoors - I can't think of a better way to explore it than on a bike.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When the sun came out after days of rain (overall, the weather was actually quite good, but the first few days were rather rainy)Our close encounter with a black bear (perhaps more perspirational than inspirational).Cycling amongst mountains, glaciers and fjords. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both the leader and the driver were very helpful and friendly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't worry too much about mosquitoes.Do expect variable weather, and come with some decent rain gear.And consider buying flights independently - we don't think ours were very competitively priced, and they routed us via Houston!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Although Alaska is very big, with very few people, there are also very few roads, and hardly any backroads. So most of the cycling is on tarmac, and on roads that sometimes aren't as quiet as you might expect.Read a more detailed review here:http://www.simonward.com/cgi-bin/page.pl?large/americas/alaska2012
  • Reviewed July 2012
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC CIRCUIT

    If you are considering doing the MBC stop thinking and book it. It was fantastic, fantastic and fantastic! The Guide Graham Hickman was a truly inspirational man with a mass of knowledge of the mountain area. The trip is well organised and runs like clockwork. The campsites used were all good. The route and scenery is stunning and I wish I was still there.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The climb to the top of "The Col De Tricot" was really tough but satisfying.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Graham Hickman is a splendid chap and very knowledgeable. He has a great sense of humour and nothing was too much to organise. His support worker Lewis Bates (Doc) was excellent throughout the trip. He made some fantastic food and even picks up some excellent wine on his shopping trips for provisions.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book it now why wait?

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I am going back to Chamonix later this year to climb Mont Blanc....can't wait!
  • Reviewed July 2012
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC HIGHLIGHTS

    What a stunning week!  Unrivalled views, excellent hosting by Oliver and Elaine whose care and obvious enjoyment of their work made this a fun, exhilirating and memorable walking holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were several highlights of the trip:  after the somewhat long and, at times, challenging walk to reach the top at 'Lac Blanc' it was worth every minute.  We were privileged to see Ibex who paused long enough for photos posing adjacent to the turquoise meltwater.The trip to Italy was beautiful - the amazing 'balcony walk' through meadows filled with wild flowers identified and described by Oliver, whose extensive knowledge made them even more interesting.Every day was different and memorable in its own right. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Oliver, as our group leader was caring, enthusiastic, knowledgeable and also great fun!  His co-pilot, Dylan, was also amusing (Fox Terrier!).  At all times, we felt safe, included and we could not have asked for a nicer person to make the walks interesting and fun .

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would certainly advise being prepared for changable weather.  One day we experienced all conditions apart from snow!  It was often warm and benign low down needing suncream and sunhats, but at high altitude the weather became cool and wet on two occaions thus needing our waterproof leggings which we had fortunately packed in our backpacks.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would recommend this trip to potential Exodus customers.  As a grade B walk we felt it was about right - some challenging walks and some less so.  However, every day was a full days' walk and the hot-tub and large evening meal (with plenty of wine) was much appreciated.Our third Exodus holiday and more to come!  
  • Reviewed July 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLING THE DALMATIAN COAST

    Amazing views of the Adriatic help with the tough climbs on this trip, and the thought of jumping in the sea at the end has you sailing down the descents. A really exhilarating trip with varied routes and fun downhill curves. You are continually breathing in the scent of lavender fields and pine trees which is absolute bliss. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All the downhills felt inspirational. Other top moments included stacking the bikes on the roof of a boat to go island-hopping, a fish barbeque on board which was cooked using a blow-torch and all of us jumping one by one off the roof of said boat. Another one was deciding at the end of another long, sweltering ride that it was ok to strip down to sports bra and inner shorts to jump in the sea! Totally liberating.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great fun, bubbly and enthusiastic but above all extremely strict about safety so you knew you were in good hands. A dab hand at fixing punctures too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As a newcomer to cycling I found I needed to wear two pairs of padded shorts most days and was very happy I'd brought a camelbak and (don't laugh) a fan for the hot evenings. I took a couple of extra days at the end as Dubrovnik (and all Croatia) is just too fascinating a place to do in a day. Some of us also went down to Montenegro at the end. Otherwise, it can all flash by a bit too quickly what with physical fatigue and the quick pace of the trip. I was also glad I travelled with a backpack, rather than suitcase as some did, and make sure you leave some space to bring back local olive oil and grappa.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Be warned that these trips are addictive, I am now hooked...
  • Reviewed July 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER BURMA

    One of my top three holidays! Burma was an amazing country to visit and the itinerary gave a really good overview of the major sites in an all-too brief time.  

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It's difficult to pick one particular moment. Those that stand out are:  the temples of Bagan- think Angkor Wat without the junglesInle Lake- great fun speeding across the lake and the many passageways on a sort of motorised canoethe cocktails at Tony's pizza restaurant in Nyaungshwegetting up at 4.15am on my birthday to see the sun rise over the teak bridge in Mandalay, having a boat trip down the Irawaddy and then in the evening seeing the Moustache Brothers - a surreal experience- and not forgetting the huge Burmese birthday cake (thanks again everyone!)the people- very welcoming and not yet bored of touristsa journey on the Circle Line train in Yangon to Danyingon- where the whole train station (including tracks) is just one huge fruit and vegetable market- an incredible sight and experience 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    After a previous not great experience in China, I can honestly say that Gabriel was exceptional. Always cheerful, he was keen to share his enthusiasm for his country. He gave us some great ideas for things to do in our spare time (I would recommend any of the optional acitvities). His restaurant recommendations were spot-on and gave us a great opportunity to sample the full range of Burmese food. We also got the opportunity to see a few places which weren't on the official itinerary.  He always gave the impression he was looking out for the group and really nothing was too much trouble for him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Firsly go now! Take advantage of any optional activities- they'll be worth it! Be prepared for some very early morning starts- the plus side is you arrive at destinations early too and so don't waste the whole day travelling. Take a high capacity memory card for photos- you'll need it.One member of our group took a bag of balloons- the children loved them. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip isn't cheap but once you're out there most things are quite cheap so you don't need a huge amount of spending money- though there is lots to buy! Other than that, just enjoy! 
  • Reviewed July 2012
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC CIRCUIT

    Awesome mountains, serene forests,good company, billowing glaciers, clouds come and go into nirvana, we stayed grounded and giggled our way through french pastries and tea-amazing vibes...

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking at le Grand Jorasses from our camping site with fresh snow on top eary in the morning. Brevent /Grand Balcon trail: breathtaking views of Aigille du Midi and le Mt. Blanc Massif to feed mountain addicted eyes, the retina retains more echoes than the slackliner...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Simon:Competent mountain skills (safety, ability, enjoyment), good communicator (briefing/debriefing of day) and excellent manager of interpersonal group dynamics.Ben:Good food and provision of special needs clients. Tents up and hot water without fail after a day of hiking...Thank you Simon and Ben

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be sure to check out grading/difficulty degree. Realistic estimate of own abilities to trip or any other EXODUS trip.Other than that you are in safe hands...

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Yes, have been going nuts already. Believe you got my review on grading and group photo etc. Enjoyabel trip, moderate yes, will be looking for some more challenging options...Thank you for all the info before trip,Keep up the good team work!
  • Reviewed July 2012
    Anonymous

    AMALFI COAST & BAY OF NAPLES

    My wife and I had an excellent break on the Amalfi coast - we were not certain if the location used by Exodus would be the right one but having been there it was a wise decision to be in the village of Bomerano.  The hotel was excellent, the food superb, the atmosphere great, the programme well tailored and we still had time to ourselves.  So well done Exodus!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most stimulating part of our trip was the visit of Herculenium and second the Walk of the Gods - Capri is nice but very touristy!  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Morten was brilliant, very thoughful as every other Exodus guides we have come across.  He was very informative, passionate about Italian life and very knowledgeable. He made a big difference to our holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a rather easy holiday - you may be tempted by the walking holiday on the Amalfi coast but this is a very good alternative and you will also get plenty of walking opportunities in fact (and see more of the interesting sites!) .

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I did look at arranging the trip myself - it would have been cheaper no doubt.  However one has to take into account that this is Italy and driving around the Amalfi coast one has to be a dare-devil - drivers there can be nuts! The company / group we were with was friendly and if you get tired of your companion after a few days then you have some-one else to talk to! So all in all it is a bit more expensive but very enjoyable.
  • Reviewed July 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLING THE DALMATIAN COAST

    A well balanced and varied week of cycling, swimming and sight-seeing amongst some breathtaking scenery.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Island-hopping, taking our bicycles on various ferries, and especially our optional day on Miljet when we cycled around the lake and found a little paradise at the end of the track where we swam in crystal clear turquoise waters...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ana was very much in control of the group and excellent at organising everything including restaurant bills which can be a headache! She has a strong personality but she was also sensitive to other people's wishes and needs, and did all she could to accomodate everyone. Great sense of humour too, and very supportive with people cycling at the back. A group leader one will remember.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for some tough uphills at times, especially on hot summer days and as soon as your first day, but the freewheel downhills are exhilarating and make it all worhwhile! A real adrenaline rush...

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Croatia and its islands are a little paradise and it is great to admire all the work and repair done to the damaged buildings during the recent conflict. I just hope mass tourism is not going to overwhelm its coasts and pollute its beaches and eventually spoil it as it has in other parts of the world.
  • Reviewed July 2012
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC HIGHLIGHTS

    The best holiday I ever had in my life so far. Wonderful scenery, wonderful guide and wonderful group.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The view of Lac Blanc on the third day of the walk. While having lunch beside the lake, I felt for moment that all my dreams are fulfilled. Even after a week from the holiday, I still stare at my photos from that day. It is hard to explain the scenery in one word as you can see the snow caped mountains,beautiful lake, refugee, ibex (mountain goats) etc in single location. For facebook users, you will be confused which photo to be made your profile photo.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    In one word, "perfect". I still wonder how a person can manage these many days of walking in a year.Being my first walking holiday, I was a bit worried about the difficulty of walking for five days. But he set the walk speed in such a way that we never feel the strain of walk. I was even ready for walk on the sixth day also. He kept on interacting each and every member of the walk and made sure the group enjoys the walk. Another thing not missed out is the endless flow of jokes from his mouth, But you have to listen carefully to understand them, which I couldn't do most of the times.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Walk is within the limits of anybody who is used to 5-6 hours of weekend walking. Longest walks are on third and last day. I will be very helpful if you practice multiple days walking as we are tend to relax on the next day of our weekend walk. Being a centre based walking, we have the option of not to walk on any days if we dont feel like. Personally I will advise you not to miss out walk on third day (Lac Blanc). Also never ever forget waterproofs on any day of the walk.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I can not finish my review without mentioning another two important characters in this beautiful holiday. They are Elaine (Oliver's wife) and Dylan (their dog). You will be amazed to see how Elaine caters to the needs of fifteen people for lunch and dinner. It is hard to explain Dylan in one word. He will be the main entertaintment fo the week. He will be with us for three walks and can even take a tiger it it comes in our way. I (sure, the whole group) just loved him.Last but not the least, don't miss out the blue berry tarts at the refugees during lunch time.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087