Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed January 2019
    georgina isaac

    we all had so much fun!

    Loved the mixture of activities. Hotel Torrecerredo was very friendly and great location (set above and behind the town centre), they went out of their way to be helpful and to offer guidance, especially on the days I didn't join the group. Hotel food was EXCELLENT! Dinners were substantial, creative and delicious; breakfast was plentiful and varied, even homemade cake! Fantastic choice of excting extras to put in packed lunches. View from our room - and from the dining room - was superb when the clouds went away. Loved the bar area, great for meeting others, and the beautiful garden sitting area too. The drying room was a special bonus, all kit dry and ready to go the next day, even after the river canyoning day!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We'd all answer this differently! We all loved it all but particular favourites: I loved the Fuente De mountain walk best, especially that we were above the snowline in mid Summer. My son would say the canyoning river days, especially the "advanced" session for the very keenies! My husband would say the stunning Cares gorge walk, or possibly the coastal bike ride.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great fun, very helpful, extremely knowledgeable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The Picos multi activity holiday is fantastic, especially for a party with varied interests. Different footwear is helpful - grippy water shoes, plus walking boots or tough trainers - and layers for going up to the snowline, cold at the top even in Summer. Don't worry if you have to miss out on an activity, there's so much else to do.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A minor point in mid Summer - if you have rooms facing across the valley (stunning views!) - if we were last to shower then our side of the corridor ran out of hot water. Oddly the rooms on the other side were fine so once we realised this we showered in our son's room if we were showering late.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Jackie N

    Fantastic - amazing experience

    A bit late with posting this review, but wanted to share how much we enjoyed it. I travelled in early July 2018 with my niece. The group was very sociable, our guide (Nachos) excellent and very experienced and the hotel was really great: small and simple but clean and very comfortable, with excellent food, lovely staff and stunning views when the clouds cleared. The hotel went out of their way to accommodate my niece, who is vegan, and she also loved the food. The weather on our trip was mixed, only 2 days without rain, but this seems to be typical of the Picos area and contributes to the lovely lush countryside.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All the activities were enjoyable, highlights for me were the gorge walk and the 35km bike ride (in the pouring rain, but it was warm rain and we all had a lot of fun regardless).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent, very experienced and we felt very confident with him in charge.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just booked my 4th Exodus trip, hoping it will be as good as the others I've taken.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Trudy Restieaux

    Picos mixed activity

    Brilliant holiday, all the activities were challenging, hotel staff very accommodating and food deĺicious.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking through the rubo gorge in mist and rain.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nacho was amazing, patient, encouraging and looked after us all.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A good holiday for lone travellers or friends but need to be active if not that fit.
  • Reviewed August 2015
    Michael Bailey

    Picos in August

    Superb holiday with some wonderful new friends. Hotel was excellent with spectacular views of the Picos, and 4 course food worthy of a Michelin star. Canyoning, gorge walking and hiking were excellent. Canoeing was at an easy level in what is a very busy river in August. Cycling along the coastal path was just right, with the chance to see different scenery. Javi our guide was brilliant as were the other supporting staff. Highly recommended.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walk along the Cares Gorge was probably the highlight, as I am not good with heights. So it was a challenge. And 24k in warm weather is a good workout. Canyoning is always a favourite of mine and did not disappoint.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Javi was excellent. He has an excellent sense of humour and fun, and went out of his way to make the trip memorable. He also switched the schedule around to make the most of the weather.
  • Reviewed August 2015
    Emma Barthel

    Picos Mixed Activity week

    A fantastic trip, with a good variety of activities. The hotel was lovely, homely and had amazing views. All activities were carried out with a view to safety but were always enjoyable and challenging.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I'm not sure there was one inspirational moment but what really made it was a fantastic group of people. The hotel was great and the food well... 4 course meals everyday! My personal favourite 3 dishes were the local trout, seabass and the surprise winner was Jim's carrot and coriander soup! It was like being on Masterchef guessing the ingredients! I enjoyed all the activities too, although I think I needed a rest after the week. The canyoning was great. I was a bit scared of jumping but you felt really looked after, it was made fun and jumps were not obligatory. Canoeing in the sun was lovely and I spend the free day with a group walking by the coast and swimming in the sea which was great. I think we all particularly enjoyed the cable car and walking day - despite the rain! Felt like being in the Lakes! The pace of the trip was just right with fairly leisurely starts but then really full days. A great balance of activities.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Javier was great! He soon entered into the group sense of humour! (He had no choice with our group!) Always professional but fun, he added an extra dimension to the trip and was always willing to go that step further to ensure things were ok for everyone. He adapted the programme of activities to the weather which maximised the enjoyment gained from each one.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you bring a wide range of clothes. Don't expect wall to wall sunshine. The weather was just right for most of the activities but being in the mountains means we did have some rain. You will need trainers/walking boots for canyoning and canoeing and they WILL get wet! The drying room at the hotel was good but I was glad I had taken a range of footwear and trousers/shorts.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You need to be relatively fit for the activities as some of the walks are fairly long (although not too difficult). However, no activity is obligitory and people were able to go at their own pace. If you are in any doubt - book it - I'm sure you won't regret it!
  • Reviewed July 2015
    Rosalind Fuller

    Miss

    Excellent accommodation, beautiful weather and amazing views.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    One of the optional activities was caving. I cannot recommend it more.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring a backpack, hat, sunglasses. A camelback is also useful.
  • Reviewed July 2015
    Hayley Mallery

    A fantastic week!

    A brilliant week of mixed activities giving something that everyone will enjoy. Northern Spain is stunningly beautiful and totally different from the Spain most people expect. We would thoroughly recommend this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The canyoning day was amazing, especially abseiling down waterfalls and jumping into deep pools.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mike was a fantastic group leader. He was friendly and professional but still retained a wonderful sense of fun and good humour. We had so many laughs with him. He was extremely knowledgeable and confident about all of the activities we did and he was very supportive on the gorge walking day, as due to the weather the gorge heated up like an oven!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Everyone in the group coped with all the activities but they were fairly challenging, especially in the hot weather we experienced. Make sure you are prepared for all types of weather, from rain to very high temperatures. We experienced both rain and 36 degrees in the shade within days of each other.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hotel Torrecerredo is a family run business. The rooms were rustic and quaint and very clean and comfortable. The food was exceptional. We have done lots of exodus trips and it was by far the best food we have ever had. We don't think you could have eaten better in a 5* restaurant. Jim and Pilar were very friendly and really made us feel comfortable and welcome throughout our stay. The bar was cheap!!!