Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Save 10% off your next Exodus adventure. Click here to learn more. 

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2018
    Sonia Rios

    Amazing Sri Lanka

    It was amazing to discover this beautiful country. The locals, temples, scenery, nature, smells... loved it loved it loved it!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing Adams Peak, elephant safari.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Roshan was THE BEST! So helpful, knowledgeable, kind, funny. It was a pleasure to spend two weeks with him and his team. Thank you Gamini, Nisha and Roshan for such an enjoyable trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just enjoy and be open minded.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Julie Hohmann

    AIL 180415

    Amazing trip around Sri Lanka

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing all the wild animals in the Yala National Park. We even saw a Lepard with her babies having lunch. It was just amazing!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sujan was a great tour guide. He knows his county by heart, is sharing all his knowledge (he was even teaching us some local words). He has great humour and was always there to help if needed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring a lot of sunscreen and insect repellant :) The best is to change your cash at the airport. There are not that many ATM possibilities during the trip

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip is the best trip if you want to discover Sri Lanka in 2 weeks. Most of the places we've visited were full of natives, giving the feeling that we were not just visiting touristic places. The trip has a great balance between temples, sportive activities, free & relaxing time. It's an amazing trip to meet people from different countries.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Michele Greene

    discover sri lanka

    We had an amazing and enchanting tri to Sri Lanka everything was wonderful. The hotels, the guide, the food and most of all the beautiful scenery.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Going on the elephant safari it was just magical

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ruwan was a knowledgeable and patient guide and very proud of his country and was delighted to show us around

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be a Sri Lankan and enjoy yourself as if you were local dont look for western stuff and you will enjoy yourself. Just muck in!
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Pauline Molloy

    Smiling Sri Lanka

    Smiling people, beautiful scenery, wildlife, culture, history, delicious food and great company; our trip to Sri Lanka ticked so many boxes and we absolutely loved it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We elected to climb Adam’s Peak. This was a highlight for me. It was physically challenging, with beautiful views from the top, but to see all of the pilgrims making their way up and down, many of them quite elderly and infirm, was so inspiring.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Roshan was the perfect guide. He was friendly, knowledgeable, informative, patient, helpful, funny and entertaining, He really added enormously to our trip and we were very grateful for his services.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travellers need to know that even more expensive items need to be paid for in rupees. I had expected to be able to pay for these items (eg rafting and whale watching) by credit card but this was not the case. Had we known this in advance we would have changed a lot more money at the airport.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No great trip. We will definitely be travelling with Exodus again.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    David Cowle

    Discover Sri lanka

    This was a wonderful holiday experience Beautiful lush country Abundant wildelife The locals were very kind and helpful- never felt unsafe Sights and scenes were so varied and the itinerary so diverse each day something new and exciting to experience Cycle on local tracks to sample a village lunch - very tasty Safari - elephants, leopards Whale watching Temples Tea plantation Train journey Sandy beaches The warm Indian Ocean The food/ delicious I could go on... Our tour guide - neelaka - fabulous so knowledgeable and enthusiastic with humour This is a must holiday who loves to explore and sample new cultures and environments Can’t enthuse enough about it Thank you exodus!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Experiencing a new cultural experience
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Felicity Iredale

    Sri Lankan Discovery

    I thought the trip was very well organised and our guide Ruwan was excellent

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a leopard in the wild . I also enjoyed The 3 visits to the houses of local people and having the privilege of them cooking a meal for us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent could not have been better. He was kind thoughtful and very capable with a very good knowledge of local history.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t expect a relaxing holiday there is a lot of travelling on this trip and some early morning starts

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Personally I could have done without the trips to the gem factory and spice garden. I also found the turtle hatchery quite distasteful. The turtles are kept in very small bare tanks. Some cannot be released back 8nto the wild ans so may spend the next 90 years in one of these awful tanks. I see a visit to this place is not now included in your itinerary.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Julie and William Knuckey

    Discover Sri Lanka

    We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of this trip. It was very varied in experiences from Buddhist temples to a taste of the local culture and life of the villagers. The contrast of the busy noisy towns to the tea plantations , national parks & forest areas. The whole experience was made extra special and interesting by our excellent guide' Bob'( his Sri Lankan name is impossible to pronounce), who explained clearly the history, culture & life of Sri Lanka, illustrated by his own personal stories. Hotels were of a good standard and the food & service were on the whole good. The train ride was an experience, expect to stand for 2 hours, though some local women made a small seating space for me and I enjoyed hearing their life stories and they generously wanted to share their snacks with me! Yala national park was very good and we did see a leopard however, the game drive in Kaudulla National park was too crowded with other viewers.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a Leopard in Yala National Park, Seeing blue wales, the white water rafting, and visits to local villages where we were served local food and drank from freshly cut coconuts. As well as the Buddhist Temple of the tooth.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent, the best we have had yet, so informative without being over powering, always smiling and his own personal stories brought to life the history, religion and culture of the Island. I would live to go on another trip led by him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure that you have a light fleece for the hills of Nuwara Ella. Have plenty of sun cream & after sun for the coast. Be ready for sudden downpours. Trust your leader he knows the best time to arrive at attractions which might mean an early start! Just enjoy all the different experiences

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I feel on our last day we could have explored Galle for longer and It was a shame that we had to end our holiday at the hotel Mirage in Columbo as it was situated on a very noisy road and our last breakfast was very poor, which was a disappointing note to what had been a fantastic experience.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Kenneth Garrod

    Mr. Ken Garrod

    An absolutely wonderful trip. Full of enjoyable activities and varied, excellent and interesting hotels. Would definitely recommend.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking up Sigiriya Rock Fortress with the very knowledgeable tour leader.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The best - well planned, knowledgeable and fun

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We did all the optional activities except Adams Peak and really enjoyed them all.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    One of our best holidays
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Dennis Jenkins

    Discover Sri Lanka

    A superb trip with so many varied experiences and one which although most of the major sites were visited also included chances to see day to day Sri Lanka and meet the people whose ever smiling personalties are one of the hallmarks of this beautiful country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many inspirational moments that prioritising some of them proves rather difficult. The temples, climbing to the top of Sigiriya Rock, the ancient site of Polonnaruwa, exploring Kandy, especially the ceremony in the Temple of the Tooth, but above all seeing a wild elephant emerging from the forest of the Kadulla National Park and then seeing such large numbers of elephants, many with young, on the open plains of the park. Also, seeing a leopard, all be it for only a few seconds, and the other wildlife in the Yala National Park. The whale watching was also another highlight.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Roshan has won many awards for running this trip and it is easy to see why. He was able to remain calm at all times, his instructions were always very clear and he drew the group together so that although we were all strangers at the beginning, by the end we felt we had known each other for years! His hidden talent of singing on the penultimate night will always be remembered! He was able to rearrange things at a moments notice, for example when it was obvious that doing the Horton Plains trek was not really feasible in the thick mist that we encountered at the start, he managed to still get us the train ride(well worth it), and a walk to Little Adam's Peak which was at lower altitude and so therefore meant we did get some excellent views.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Most of the general advice has been given in previous reviews but one useful extra we did was to extend our stay by 2 nights to include Colombo which wasn't on the itinerary. Roshan, however, was very helpful to us by changing our extra 2 nights in Colombo to an excellent hotel resort called the Suriya just north of Negombo and getting our transfer there to include a Colombo City Tour. A relaxing way to end a busy tour!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Contrary to some of the reviews, we did enjoy our stay at the Hill Club and eating in style on the first night there. It is quirky but the whole experience is to relive a bygone age and shouldn't be missed. To find your room prepared for retiring with a hot water bottle in the bed was truly retro! On our second night we had an excellent Thai meal at the Grand next door. There was some excellent food on this trip. The curries prepared by the families we visited in the villages were so varied and tasty and many of the hotel buffets similarly had a wide variety of curries available as did some of our lunch stops.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Dennis Jenkins

    Discover Sri Lanka

    A superb trip with so many varied experiences and one which although most of the major sites were visited also included chances to see day to day Sri Lanka and meet the people whose ever smiling personalties are one of the hallmarks of this beautiful country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many inspirational moments that prioritising some of them proves rather difficult. The temples, climbing to the top of Sigiriya Rock, the ancient site of Polonnaruwa, exploring Kandy, especially the ceremony in the Temple of the Tooth, but above all seeing a wild elephant emerging from the forest of the Kadulla National Park and then seeing such large numbers of elephants, many with young, on the open plains of the park. Also, seeing a leopard, all be it for only a few seconds, and the other wildlife in the Yala National Park. The whale watching was also another highlight.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Roshan has won many awards for running this trip and it is easy to see why. He was able to remain calm at all times, his instructions were always very clear and he drew the group together so that although we were all strangers at the beginning, by the end we felt we had known each other for years! His hidden talent of singing on the penultimate night will always be remembered! He was able to rearrange things at a moments notice, for example when it was obvious that doing the Horton Plains trek was not really feasible in the thick mist that we encountered at the start, he managed to still get us the train ride(well worth it), and a walk to Little Adam's Peak which was at lower altitude and so therefore meant we did get some excellent views.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Most of the general advice has been given in previous reviews but one useful extra we did was to extend our stay by 2 nights to include Colombo which wasn't on the itinerary. Roshan, however, was very helpful to us by changing our extra 2 nights in Colombo to an excellent hotel resort called the Suriya just north of Negombo and getting our transfer there to include a Colombo City Tour. A relaxing way to end a busy tour!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Contrary to some of the reviews, we did enjoy our stay at the Hill Club and eating in style on the first night there. It is quirky but the whole experience is to relive a bygone age and shouldn't be missed. To find your room prepared for retiring with a hot water bottle in the bed was truly retro! On our second night we had an excellent Thai meal at the Grand next door. There was some excellent food on this trip. The curries prepared by the families we visited in the villages were so varied and tasty and many of the hotel buffets similarly had a wide variety of curries available as did some of our lunch stops.
Call us on 0800 643 997