Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2018
    Kathryn and Peter Murray

    Experiencing this ‘pearl of the Indian Ocean’

    In 15 days we enjoyed many varied experiences that enabled us to gain new insights into this exciting, challenging place. Our accomodation was mostly very luxurious, the food tasty if somewhat predictable in hotels; eating food prepared and served by locals in villages was enjoyable as was playing some traditional village games. Cycling in the countryside and taking to the water gave us a different perspective again. July was a great time to travel and we saw very little rain ; the temperatures on the west coast were high but the hill country pleasantly cooler - no need for jumpers or coats at all. Although we missed seeing a leopard at Yala N.P. elephants, warthogs, water buffalo, spotted deer, monkeys, crocodiles and many different birds made up for that. We even saw a mongoose.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Elephants coming right up to our hotel’s electric fence was a highlight. Walking on Horton’s Plains was special as was exploring the ancient sites of Polonnaruwa and Sigiriya and watching festivals and ceremonies.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had an excellent guide who gave us relevant detail about the country’s cultural, political, socio-economic and geographical situation. We felt we learned much about this fascinating country. However, the amount of plastic waste littering the country was a cause for concern.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with an open mind but don’t expect to be able to do much walking in smaller towns or on beaches near Colombo, which are polluted and not always accessible. Tuk Tuks are the easiest form of transport. Check whether you need to worry about dengue fever when you travel. We didn’t in July so could have had more short sleeves and shorts.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our group was very cooperative, welcoming and mostly like minded although we came from 4 different countries.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Melanie Clark

    Ups and Downs

    I wasn't bothered about only having breakfasts included as assumed there would be places to explore and eat out most nights. Very wrong to assume!! However nice the food in the hotels is, for me I can eat hotel food in the UK. For me Sri Lanka lacks something that I have experienced in other places and that is SOUL. I'm still not sure what Sri Lanka is all about on a day to day basis. I was quite disappointed with the rubbish all over the beaches, it is not the 'Paradise Island' Sri Lanka states it is. The trip itself is fine (somewhat underwhelming) but for me too many temples and too many hotel restaurants. Most of the group seemed happy with the hotel in the evenings but for me the holiday could have been way richer with more of the 'real Sri Lanka' being shown. Elephant and normal Safari are fine if you like lining up with MASSES of other trucks to see one illusive Leopard or family of elephants. Personally I like one off experiences with limited people... More of a bespoke feel...which is exactly what I got when I did Namibia with Exodus. For me the trip felt commercialised and over crowded which is not for me.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I do not feel inspired by Sri Lanka....maybe the views on the way to the tea plantations.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good, what a hard job!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are a seasoned traveller this trip will seem a bit too 'organised' and not free flowing enough for you. Very bland in comparison to other places, its a 'nice' trip...not awesome or exciting.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Mike Brooks

    Sri Lanka

    We had a great holiday and were very well looked after by our tour Guide: Ruwan Balasuriya

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When the elephants swam across the lake and came ashore. They were within a few metres of the hotel. Absolutely wonderful!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic. He took great care of us and was a wonderful source of information about all aspects of Sri Lanka
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Sonia Rios

    Amazing Sri Lanka

    It was amazing to discover this beautiful country. The locals, temples, scenery, nature, smells... loved it loved it loved it!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing Adams Peak, elephant safari.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Roshan was THE BEST! So helpful, knowledgeable, kind, funny. It was a pleasure to spend two weeks with him and his team. Thank you Gamini, Nisha and Roshan for such an enjoyable trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just enjoy and be open minded.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Julie Hohmann

    AIL 180415

    Amazing trip around Sri Lanka

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing all the wild animals in the Yala National Park. We even saw a Lepard with her babies having lunch. It was just amazing!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sujan was a great tour guide. He knows his county by heart, is sharing all his knowledge (he was even teaching us some local words). He has great humour and was always there to help if needed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring a lot of sunscreen and insect repellant :) The best is to change your cash at the airport. There are not that many ATM possibilities during the trip

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip is the best trip if you want to discover Sri Lanka in 2 weeks. Most of the places we've visited were full of natives, giving the feeling that we were not just visiting touristic places. The trip has a great balance between temples, sportive activities, free & relaxing time. It's an amazing trip to meet people from different countries.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Michele Greene

    discover sri lanka

    We had an amazing and enchanting tri to Sri Lanka everything was wonderful. The hotels, the guide, the food and most of all the beautiful scenery.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Going on the elephant safari it was just magical

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ruwan was a knowledgeable and patient guide and very proud of his country and was delighted to show us around

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be a Sri Lankan and enjoy yourself as if you were local dont look for western stuff and you will enjoy yourself. Just muck in!
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Pauline Molloy

    Smiling Sri Lanka

    Smiling people, beautiful scenery, wildlife, culture, history, delicious food and great company; our trip to Sri Lanka ticked so many boxes and we absolutely loved it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We elected to climb Adam’s Peak. This was a highlight for me. It was physically challenging, with beautiful views from the top, but to see all of the pilgrims making their way up and down, many of them quite elderly and infirm, was so inspiring.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Roshan was the perfect guide. He was friendly, knowledgeable, informative, patient, helpful, funny and entertaining, He really added enormously to our trip and we were very grateful for his services.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travellers need to know that even more expensive items need to be paid for in rupees. I had expected to be able to pay for these items (eg rafting and whale watching) by credit card but this was not the case. Had we known this in advance we would have changed a lot more money at the airport.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No great trip. We will definitely be travelling with Exodus again.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    David Cowle

    Discover Sri lanka

    This was a wonderful holiday experience Beautiful lush country Abundant wildelife The locals were very kind and helpful- never felt unsafe Sights and scenes were so varied and the itinerary so diverse each day something new and exciting to experience Cycle on local tracks to sample a village lunch - very tasty Safari - elephants, leopards Whale watching Temples Tea plantation Train journey Sandy beaches The warm Indian Ocean The food/ delicious I could go on... Our tour guide - neelaka - fabulous so knowledgeable and enthusiastic with humour This is a must holiday who loves to explore and sample new cultures and environments Can’t enthuse enough about it Thank you exodus!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Experiencing a new cultural experience
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Felicity Iredale

    Sri Lankan Discovery

    I thought the trip was very well organised and our guide Ruwan was excellent

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a leopard in the wild . I also enjoyed The 3 visits to the houses of local people and having the privilege of them cooking a meal for us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent could not have been better. He was kind thoughtful and very capable with a very good knowledge of local history.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t expect a relaxing holiday there is a lot of travelling on this trip and some early morning starts

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Personally I could have done without the trips to the gem factory and spice garden. I also found the turtle hatchery quite distasteful. The turtles are kept in very small bare tanks. Some cannot be released back 8nto the wild ans so may spend the next 90 years in one of these awful tanks. I see a visit to this place is not now included in your itinerary.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Julie and William Knuckey

    Discover Sri Lanka

    We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of this trip. It was very varied in experiences from Buddhist temples to a taste of the local culture and life of the villagers. The contrast of the busy noisy towns to the tea plantations , national parks & forest areas. The whole experience was made extra special and interesting by our excellent guide' Bob'( his Sri Lankan name is impossible to pronounce), who explained clearly the history, culture & life of Sri Lanka, illustrated by his own personal stories. Hotels were of a good standard and the food & service were on the whole good. The train ride was an experience, expect to stand for 2 hours, though some local women made a small seating space for me and I enjoyed hearing their life stories and they generously wanted to share their snacks with me! Yala national park was very good and we did see a leopard however, the game drive in Kaudulla National park was too crowded with other viewers.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a Leopard in Yala National Park, Seeing blue wales, the white water rafting, and visits to local villages where we were served local food and drank from freshly cut coconuts. As well as the Buddhist Temple of the tooth.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent, the best we have had yet, so informative without being over powering, always smiling and his own personal stories brought to life the history, religion and culture of the Island. I would live to go on another trip led by him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure that you have a light fleece for the hills of Nuwara Ella. Have plenty of sun cream & after sun for the coast. Be ready for sudden downpours. Trust your leader he knows the best time to arrive at attractions which might mean an early start! Just enjoy all the different experiences

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I feel on our last day we could have explored Galle for longer and It was a shame that we had to end our holiday at the hotel Mirage in Columbo as it was situated on a very noisy road and our last breakfast was very poor, which was a disappointing note to what had been a fantastic experience.
Call us on 0800 643 997