Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2018
    Nigel Camille

    Discover Sri Lanka

    The discover Sri Lanka trip offers a great mix of learning, seeing and experiencing what Sri Lanka has to offer, mixed ample opportunities to simply relax by the pool trying to decide what mixer to have with your large glass of Arrack

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I really enjoyed visiting Lions Rock, which after getting your breath back after climbing all the stairs offers wonderful views of the surrounding area, as well as an insight to Sri Lanka history. I also enjoy the unscheduled visit to Little Adams peak, after rain meant that Hortons plain was not viable, this was a great alternative and offered beautiful views of Sri Lanka

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Roshan, was great, he gave a very good in depth introductory talk on the first day and provided us with an excellent history lesson of Sri Lanka, as well as being very knowledgeable in terms of the fauna and flora of the various regions.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There is very little street food or dining out culture in Sri Lanka with the exception of Kandy and less so Nuwara Eliya, therefore you will be eating the vast majority of your meals in hotels, with buffets being the easiest choice but it does make it more expensive. A la Carter is an option at most places but service tends to be slow and therefore often requires pre-ordering.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Due to the fact that so many meals are eaten at the hotels, to make things easier I would have included these the trip price. I think that during the introduction clients and guide should set up a WhatsApp’s group, one for the sharing of info, but also to help with the running of the trip, I.e. start times after free days extra or arrange numbers for optional extras
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Hilda Dumpleton

    Discover Sri Lanka review

    An excellent holiday with so much to see and do.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many inspitational moments but if I had to select one it would be seeing the procession in Kandy. Excellently arranged by our guide even to sorting our evening meaL. The fire dancers and highly decorated elephants were a sight to behold. The drommers and dancers added to the occasion.I will never forget it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Roshan was superb. He was highly skilled in getting the group to see as much as possible of his country. He was also quite relaxed letting us have enough time to see the sights e.g. around the temples and the statues of the Buddha. His instructions were always clear and explanatory. But most of all he was fun! An absolute brilliant guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take clothes to cover up but only needed for temples. But dress respectfully at other times.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Hilda Dumpleton

    Discover Sri Lanka review

    An excellent holiday with so much to see and do.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many inspitational moments but if I had to select one it would be seeing the procession in Kandy. Excellently arranged by our guide even to sorting our evening meaL. The fire dancers and highly decorated elephants were a sight to behold. The drummers and dancers added to the occasion.I will never forget it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Roshan was superb. He was highly skilled in getting the group to see as much as possible of his country. He was also quite relaxed letting us have enough time to see the sights e.g. around the temples and the statues of the Buddha. His instructions were always clear and explanatory. But most of all he was fun! An absolute brilliant guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take clothes to cover up but only needed for temples. But dress respectfully at other times.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Bryan Mason

    Fabulous variety and rich culture

    A very broad tour of the principal cultural and wildlife sights. Fantastic sights ranging from Buddhist sculptures, tea plantations to leopards and elephants in their natural habitat. Great food, landscapes and experiences.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The best moments include visiting the Buddha’s tooth relic in Kandy, spotting leopards in Yalla National Park and travelling on a packed train from the Hill country to the valley while viewing stunning scenery through the (open) train carriage door.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Neelaka was consistently upbeat, exceptionally informative about the country and always on hand to smooth out any issues and enable the tour to get on with enjoying the country.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the rain and cold In Nuwara Eliya, to eating a lot of delicious food and to open your eyes to an extremely wide range of scenery, climate and wildlife.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We did travel in a large coach, unlike the usual minibuses used on other Exodus holidays and occasionally this gave the impression that we were on a coach tour rather than an adventure holiday. Most hotels were very good and the food in some - especially Sirigaya, Manders Rosen and Bandarawela was excellent. Some welcome rest time was built in and we loved lazing around for one whole day at the coast.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    sarah shorter

    Sri Lanka Summer 2018

    In 2 weeks we managed to see most of the main sights in Sri Lanka. It was going full tilt mostly staying one or two nights in each place. We really enjoyed all the places that we visited and found them very interesting (apart from the gem museum which was very dull and boring and high pressure sales). The accommodation was more luxurious than we expected, having been on tours with other companies. The nice thing about this was that almost all hotels had pools and very pleasant surroundings. The downside of this was that they were often outside the population centres so that you forced to eat there and had less scope for exploring local towns and villages and using their shops and restaurants. It also therefore added to the expense of the trip. The transport was comfortable (coach) and the driver did a really good job in such adverse and hectic driving conditions.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our favourite moment was watching the elephants splashing and playing at the waterhole at Kaudulla national park. This trip was optional but we all did it. It was actually a better trip than Yala which is included in the itinerary. We saw crocodiles there which don't move (no leopard) and loads of birds at both but there was more birdlife at Kaudulla. The most enjoyable activity was walking on Horton Plains, looking at plants, wildlife and the amazing view.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was excellent. He went out of his way to explain about the history and natural history of the island, using his own visual aids! Nothing was too much trouble and he was constantly looking out for our welfare, from health and safety to making sure that we were served the drinks we had ordered. He also helped us to organise our onward travel at the end of the Exodus trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Sri Lanka is an amazing place full of friendly people but in most places there are no pavements or streetlights so if you are out after dark, take a torch and/or flag down a tuk tuk (very cheap). Not all ATMs will give very much money - some restrict it to less than 40,000 rupees (£200). Hatton National Bank (HNB) will give you up to 200,000 rupees and charge 200.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Sri Lanka is a fantastic and varied country and 2 weeks is a very short time to spend there.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Kathryn and Peter Murray

    Experiencing this ‘pearl of the Indian Ocean’

    In 15 days we enjoyed many varied experiences that enabled us to gain new insights into this exciting, challenging place. Our accomodation was mostly very luxurious, the food tasty if somewhat predictable in hotels; eating food prepared and served by locals in villages was enjoyable as was playing some traditional village games. Cycling in the countryside and taking to the water gave us a different perspective again. July was a great time to travel and we saw very little rain ; the temperatures on the west coast were high but the hill country pleasantly cooler - no need for jumpers or coats at all. Although we missed seeing a leopard at Yala N.P. elephants, warthogs, water buffalo, spotted deer, monkeys, crocodiles and many different birds made up for that. We even saw a mongoose.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Elephants coming right up to our hotel’s electric fence was a highlight. Walking on Horton’s Plains was special as was exploring the ancient sites of Polonnaruwa and Sigiriya and watching festivals and ceremonies.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had an excellent guide who gave us relevant detail about the country’s cultural, political, socio-economic and geographical situation. We felt we learned much about this fascinating country. However, the amount of plastic waste littering the country was a cause for concern.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with an open mind but don’t expect to be able to do much walking in smaller towns or on beaches near Colombo, which are polluted and not always accessible. Tuk Tuks are the easiest form of transport. Check whether you need to worry about dengue fever when you travel. We didn’t in July so could have had more short sleeves and shorts.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our group was very cooperative, welcoming and mostly like minded although we came from 4 different countries.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Melanie Clark

    Ups and Downs

    I wasn't bothered about only having breakfasts included as assumed there would be places to explore and eat out most nights. Very wrong to assume!! However nice the food in the hotels is, for me I can eat hotel food in the UK. For me Sri Lanka lacks something that I have experienced in other places and that is SOUL. I'm still not sure what Sri Lanka is all about on a day to day basis. I was quite disappointed with the rubbish all over the beaches, it is not the 'Paradise Island' Sri Lanka states it is. The trip itself is fine (somewhat underwhelming) but for me too many temples and too many hotel restaurants. Most of the group seemed happy with the hotel in the evenings but for me the holiday could have been way richer with more of the 'real Sri Lanka' being shown. Elephant and normal Safari are fine if you like lining up with MASSES of other trucks to see one illusive Leopard or family of elephants. Personally I like one off experiences with limited people... More of a bespoke feel...which is exactly what I got when I did Namibia with Exodus. For me the trip felt commercialised and over crowded which is not for me.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I do not feel inspired by Sri Lanka....maybe the views on the way to the tea plantations.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good, what a hard job!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are a seasoned traveller this trip will seem a bit too 'organised' and not free flowing enough for you. Very bland in comparison to other places, its a 'nice' trip...not awesome or exciting.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Mike Brooks

    Sri Lanka

    We had a great holiday and were very well looked after by our tour Guide: Ruwan Balasuriya

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When the elephants swam across the lake and came ashore. They were within a few metres of the hotel. Absolutely wonderful!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic. He took great care of us and was a wonderful source of information about all aspects of Sri Lanka
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Sonia Rios

    Amazing Sri Lanka

    It was amazing to discover this beautiful country. The locals, temples, scenery, nature, smells... loved it loved it loved it!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing Adams Peak, elephant safari.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Roshan was THE BEST! So helpful, knowledgeable, kind, funny. It was a pleasure to spend two weeks with him and his team. Thank you Gamini, Nisha and Roshan for such an enjoyable trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just enjoy and be open minded.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Julie Hohmann

    AIL 180415

    Amazing trip around Sri Lanka

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing all the wild animals in the Yala National Park. We even saw a Lepard with her babies having lunch. It was just amazing!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sujan was a great tour guide. He knows his county by heart, is sharing all his knowledge (he was even teaching us some local words). He has great humour and was always there to help if needed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring a lot of sunscreen and insect repellant :) The best is to change your cash at the airport. There are not that many ATM possibilities during the trip

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip is the best trip if you want to discover Sri Lanka in 2 weeks. Most of the places we've visited were full of natives, giving the feeling that we were not just visiting touristic places. The trip has a great balance between temples, sportive activities, free & relaxing time. It's an amazing trip to meet people from different countries.
Call us on 0800 643 997