Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

551 Reviews

  • Reviewed November 2019
    Rosie H

    Brilliant Safari

    Botswana & Zimbabwe Lodge Safari is a brilliant holiday. Exodus have put together a great itinerary. The game walks and drives in Okavango Delta, Chobe, Matopo & Hwange National Parks are well organised and we saw loads of animals including 4 of the big 5. The variety of lodges and the delta camping were all comfortable. We had an excellent holiday and would definitely recommend it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The early morning game walks in Okavango.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rowan is efficient and Sifiso is a good driver. Both were great at spotting wildlife for us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get some small notes if you can. We took US dollars & changed into BWP in Botswana. We spent approx. $700 (USD) pp total, of which approx. 1300 pula pp cash in Botswana. (includes delta flight & Zambezi cruise but not Vic Falls flight). We put the Maun flights & Zimbabwe supermarket shopping on plastic. Plug sockets were mostly South Africa round pin. It was very hot in October, but dry so mosquitoes were less of a problem.
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Lance Berryman

    Wild Namibia

    Dear Exodus: I have had the most wonderful expedition. I’d like to say a few words about the people that made it happen. Firstly I want to thank the support crew. Simson, Umbarra, Fritz, Matthias and Asa. These gentlemen turned camping into an art form. I’ve stayed at the best hotels and resorts around the world; this crew is second to none. Their attention to detail and service oriented guest first attitude is superb. They brought such an infectious positivity to the camp that it was impossible not to enjoy yourself. Did I mention the food? Asa catered to our every want and surpassed expectations every single night. This man is a genius on a camp fire. Absolutely remarkable. Hands down the best crew an expedition could want. I could go on and on about these guys. I don’t know how much you pay them but they are worth their weight in gold. Thank you to the crew, their efforts ensured this trip was a raucous success. Next I’d like to thank Tracks and Trails. I wouldn’t dare go into the wildly remote areas we ventured into without a solid plan B. Tracks and Trails seemed to have not only a plan B but a plan C and D for every possible scenario. The vehicles were the best and when the inevitable setbacks that will happen in this rugged environment occurred, they had our back every time. I was very impressed with how quickly they reacted and problem solved. I felt confident knowing I had a team working in the background that could solve any issue at the snap of a finger regardless of the distance, environment and terrain. I felt like nothing could stop us. Very well done Tracks and Trails. PJ. What can I say? The man is as legendary as Tarzan. His positive attitude combined with his no nonsense polite but stern business approach had all of us paying attention to the details that kept us safe. He was the pack leader. I have a great deal of respect for this man. PJ’s tracking skills were a marvel to behold; When he was tracking the desert lions I felt as if I was in a movie. He found us every animal we dreamed of seeing, then got us a better angle. Pj’s knowledge base is ridiculously extensive, I’d gamble he knows more about Africa than the Encyclopedia Británica; history, botany, geology, astronomy, flora and fauna, tribal ancestry.. the only thing he didn’t talk about was religion and politics. The only question he couldn’t answer was, “PJ, is their anything you don’t know?”. PJ catered to the group and the individual, birds for the birders, terra formations and geological history for the rock hounds, biology for the plant lovers, history for the scholars and everything you could want to know about mammals, reptiles, birds and insects. He even ran around overturning rocks to find us a scorpion when an interest was expressed. PJ is a gem, his leadership and people skills are enviable. When I come back to Africa I will find out what tour he is guiding and do that. I cannot say enough about his skills. Lastly, I’d like to thank Exodus. You’ve done an amazing job of pairing us with the very best local guides, support staff and logistics professionals. I’ve never travelled with Exodus before, I’ll never tour with anyone but Exodus from now on. Very well done. Superb. Thank you once again to everyone involved, I’m looking forward to my next adventure. Sincerely, Lance Berryman.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Black Rhinos.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The best... see my other comments

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Dear Exodus: I have had the most wonderful expedition. I’d like to say a few words about the people that made it happen. Firstly I want to thank the support crew. Simson, Umbarra, Fritz, Matthias and Asa. These gentlemen turned camping into an art form. I’ve stayed at the best hotels and resorts around the world; this crew is second to none. Their attention to detail and service oriented guest first attitude is superb. They brought such an infectious positivity to the camp that it was impossible not to enjoy yourself. Did I mention the food? Asa catered to our every want and surpassed expectations every single night. This man is a genius on a camp fire. Absolutely remarkable. Hands down the best crew an expedition could want. I could go on and on about these guys. I don’t know how much you pay them but they are worth their weight in gold. Thank you to the crew, their efforts ensured this trip was a raucous success. Next I’d like to thank Tracks and Trails. I wouldn’t dare go into the wildly remote areas we ventured into without a solid plan B. Tracks and Trails seemed to have not only a plan B but a plan C and D for every possible scenario. The vehicles were the best and when the inevitable setbacks that will happen in this rugged environment occurred, they had our back every time. I was very impressed with how quickly they reacted and problem solved. I felt confident knowing I had a team working in the background that could solve any issue at the snap of a finger regardless of the distance, environment and terrain. I felt like nothing could stop us. Very well done Tracks and Trails. PJ. What can I say? The man is as legendary as Tarzan. His positive attitude combined with his no nonsense polite but stern business approach had all of us paying attention to the details that kept us safe. He was the pack leader. I have a great deal of respect for this man. PJ’s tracking skills were a marvel to behold; When he was tracking the desert lions I felt as if I was in a movie. He found us every animal we dreamed of seeing, then got us a better angle. Pj’s knowledge base is ridiculously extensive, I’d gamble he knows more about Africa than the Encyclopedia Británica; history, botany, geology, astronomy, flora and fauna, tribal ancestry.. the only thing he didn’t talk about was religion and politics. The only question he couldn’t answer was, “PJ, is their anything you don’t know?”. PJ catered to the group and the individual, birds for the birders, terra formations and geological history for the rock hounds, biology for the plant lovers, history for the scholars and everything you could want to know about mammals, reptiles, birds and insects. He even ran around overturning rocks to find us a scorpion when an interest was expressed. PJ is a gem, his leadership and people skills are enviable. When I come back to Africa I will find out what tour he is guiding and do that. I cannot say enough about his skills. Lastly, I’d like to thank Exodus. You’ve done an amazing job of pairing us with the very best local guides, support staff and logistics professionals. I’ve never travelled with Exodus before, I’ll never tour with anyone but Exodus from now on. Very well done. Superb. Thank you once again to everyone involved, I’m looking forward to my next adventure. Sincerely, Lance Berryman.
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Hilary Droy

    Tigers WOW!

    We had such a good holiday, it was wonderful seeing tigers in their natural environment and visiting the Red Fort and the Taj Mahal at the end of the holidays was a special experience. There were only 6 of us in our group and our fellow travellers were lovely friendly people and we all got on well. Our trip started a day later than usual because of Diwali so we didn't get the chance to do an optional game drive (we'd have done a 16th drive just to maximise any tiger sightings) as Bandhavgarh park is closed on Wednesday afternoon so our 15th drive was on the Thursday morning before leaving for the train. And, again because of the day's delay, we went to the Taj at sunrise rather than at sunset and were treated to a beautiful blue sky and lovely light. We saw tigers on our very first game drive, a mother and her cubs were resting on rocks at a bit of a distance but easily spottable once we got our "eye" in. We saw a glimpse of a stripey back on drive 2 but then nothing tiger-wise until drive 8 when a magnificent male briefly stepped out in front of our jeep before melting back into the bush. We saw a leopard in the far distance on drive 14 and then on drive 15 at the very last minute we had a tiger dash past all the waiting jeeps into the bush. The other jeep with our fellow travellers had a wonderful tiger sighting in Bandhavgarh (the jeeps did different zones) and, I must admit, it's hard not to be envious when others have an experience that you don't. We were happy for them but.....

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing tigers, especially when the sightings were so hard-won. A pair of wild dogs following our jeep was also special and sitting underneath an Indian Roller preening herself in the sunshine and flashing her beautiful iridescent feathers made for an excellent photo-op.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Himanshu (Bagde) was just the best group leader. He was professional, charming and cheerful at all times and worked tirelessly to ensure our holiday went without a hitch. What he doesn't know about tigers and photographing them isn't worth knowing. He took us to the local village so that we could see the Diwali celebrations and we also visited the market in full swing which was an interesting experience. He looked after us and made sure we had the best experiences possible on our holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Although this is classed as a "leisurely" holiday as you don't actually walk anywhere, it is full-on as every drive day starts before dawn and the jeep rides in the parks are extremely bumpy (not a trip for anyone with a bad back!). It was also cold early in the morning (November) so warm jackets were needed until the sun came up. There is downtime between morning and afternoon drives which we used to rest rather than have lunch as you get plenty of eat for bush breakfast. Lunch is Indian buffet-style at the lodges but there is the chance to go a la carte and order omelettes/fried eggs if preferred. Tipping is an art-form in India so a group kitty managed by the group leader is definitely the way to go, it made life so much easier. We changed money up at Nagpur airport after landing, you get fleeced on the exchange rate but there really isn't an opportunity to change up sterling after the airport as you don't hit a city until the very end of the holiday and, obviously, the rural villages don't have ATMs. Shops air-side at Delhi airport on the way home take rupees (contrary to what we had read) but as rupees are a restricted currency you need to change them up pre-security if you'd don't want to spend them. Prices air-side are typical of airports world-wide, not Indian prices. You need to carry your passport on all game drives as they are taken and checked against the register of who's in which jeep. Do not take a bag/handbag to the Taj Mahal as you have to put it through a security scanner and then leave it to go through the separate frisk queue which can take some time and you can't see where your bag has got to. Put your camera round your neck and your valuables securely in your pocket and you'll be able to bypass the scanner queue. You can take a bag to the Red Fort as it's checked manually rather than through scanners. The local people in small towns (and on game drives) will ask to be photographed with you. Most people were upfront and friendly about this so it really isn't a problem, just smile and go along with the experience. Some people were a little more sneaky, filming "surreptitiously" but as you'll never see their photos/videos ever again it doesn't matter. The train to Agra is an experience but one that shouldn't put anyone off this holiday. We were in 2nd-class sleeper berths, the bedding and (western-style) toilet were clean although the beds were rather hard. Some of the group slept, some didn't. We were grouped together so, apart from people passing by doing a double-take on seeing us, we weren't disturbed once the curtains around the bunks were closed. Luggage is stowed under the bottom bunk and a packed dinner was provided by the lodge to eat on the train as you really do not want to purchase food from the vendors at the station. After the peace of the countryside the train is full-on India so is a good addition to the holiday. All the hotels used were all of a good standard, no-one got ill on our trip, just a few rumblings due to innards getting used to curries at every meal. We were told when water was filtered and drinkable (the water at Bandhavgarh smells strongly of iron so bottled water is provided). Wine was expensive, soft drinks and beer were cheaper options.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't expect to see tigers so that when you do it's a bonus. Tigers can melt into the bush surprisingly easily for big animals. Remember to just relax and enjoy the beauty of the jungle and the other animals rather than focussing just on wanting a tiger/leopard (the leopards are more elusive than the tigers!) and have a good time.
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Hilary Droy

    Tigers WOW!

    We had such a good holiday, it was wonderful seeing tigers in their natural environment and visiting the Red Fort and the Taj Mahal at the end of the holidays was a special experience. There were only 6 of us in our group and our fellow travellers were lovely friendly people and we all got on well. Our trip started a day later than usual because of Diwali so we didn't get the chance to do an optional game drive (we'd have done a 16th drive just to maximise any tiger sightings) as Bandhavgarh park is closed on Wednesday afternoon so our 15th drive was on the Thursday morning before leaving for the train. And, again because of the day's delay, we went to the Taj at sunrise rather than at sunset and were treated to a beautiful blue sky and lovely light. We saw tigers on our very first game drive, a mother and her cubs were resting on rocks at a bit of a distance but easily spottable once we got our "eye" in. We saw a glimpse of a stripey back on drive 2 but then nothing tiger-wise until drive 8 when a magnificent male briefly stepped out in front of our jeep before melting back into the bush. We saw a leopard in the far distance on drive 14 and then on drive 15 at the very last minute we had a tiger dash past all the waiting jeeps into the bush. The other jeep with our fellow travellers had a wonderful tiger sighting in Bandhavgarh (the jeeps did different zones) and, I must admit, it's hard not to be envious when others have an experience that you don't. We were happy for them but.....

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing tigers, especially when the sightings were so hard-won. A pair of wild dogs following our jeep was also special and sitting underneath an Indian Roller preening herself in the sunshine and flashing her beautiful iridescent feathers made for an excellent photo-op.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Himanshu (Bagde) was just the best group leader. He was professional, charming and cheerful at all times and worked tirelessly to ensure our holiday went without a hitch. What he doesn't know about tigers and photographing them isn't worth knowing. He took us to the local village so that we could see the Diwali celebrations and we also visited the market in full swing which was an interesting experience. He looked after us and made sure we had the best experiences possible on our holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Although this is classed as a "leisurely" holiday as you don't actually walk anywhere, it is full-on as every drive day starts before dawn and the jeep rides in the parks are extremely bumpy (not a trip for anyone with a bad back!). It was also cold early in the morning (November) so warm jackets were needed until the sun came up. There is downtime between morning and afternoon drives which we used to rest rather than have lunch as you get plenty of eat for bush breakfast. Lunch is Indian buffet-style at the lodges but there is the chance to go a la carte and order omelettes/fried eggs if preferred. Tipping is an art-form in India so a group kitty managed by the group leader is definitely the way to go, it made life so much easier. We changed money up at Nagpur airport after landing, you get fleeced on the exchange rate but there really isn't an opportunity to change up sterling after the airport as you don't hit a city until the very end of the holiday and, obviously, the rural villages don't have ATMs. Shops air-side at Delhi airport on the way home take rupees (contrary to what we had read) but as rupees are a restricted currency you need to change them up pre-security if you'd don't want to spend them. Prices air-side are typical of airports world-wide, not Indian prices. You need to carry your passport on all game drives as they are taken and checked against the register of who's in which jeep. Do not take a bag/handbag to the Taj Mahal as you have to put it through a security scanner and then leave it to go through the separate frisk queue which can take some time and you can't see where your bag has got to. Put your camera round your neck and your valuables securely in your pocket and you'll be able to bypass the scanner queue. You can take a bag to the Red Fort as it's checked manually rather than through scanners. The local people in small towns (and on game drives) will ask to be photographed with you. Most people were upfront and friendly about this so it really isn't a problem, just smile and go along with the experience. Some people were a little more sneaky, filming "surreptitiously" but as you'll never see their photos/videos ever again it doesn't matter. The train to Agra is an experience but one that shouldn't put anyone off this holiday. We were in 2nd-class sleeper berths, the bedding and (western-style) toilet were clean although the beds were rather hard. Some of the group slept, some didn't. We were grouped together so, apart from people passing by doing a double-take on seeing us, we weren't disturbed once the curtains around the bunks were closed. Luggage is stowed under the bottom bunk and a packed dinner was provided by the lodge to eat on the train as you really do not want to purchase food from the vendors at the station. After the peace of the countryside the train is full-on India so is a good addition to the holiday. All the hotels used were all of a good standard, no-one got ill on our trip, just a few rumblings due to innards getting used to curries at every meal. We were told when water was filtered and drinkable (the water at Bandhavgarh smells strongly of iron so bottled water is provided). Wine was expensive, soft drinks and beer were cheaper options.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't expect to see tigers so that when you do it's a bonus. Tigers can melt into the bush surprisingly easily for big animals. Remember to just relax and enjoy the beauty of the jungle and the other animals rather than focussing just on wanting a tiger/leopard (the leopards are more elusive than the tigers!) and have a good time.
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Graham Wright

    The trip that just keeps on giving.

    Whereas nothing can be guaranteed this trip was one that just kept on giving. It surpassed all expectations and we were extremely fortunate to see and experience all that we did. Wildlife in abundance exhibiting some distinctive behaviour . The big 5 was seen in the first two days and with the animals being used to seeing traffic in the game reserves and National Parks they were almost within 'touching' distance from the truck. I have lost count of the many species of animals and birds seen throughout the journey. Equally spectacular was the scenery in the three very different countries visited. All the game lodges used enhanced the experience with buffalo even grazing outside (security procedures in place), Wild Waters set on an island in the middle of the Nile offered luxury not expected but was well received and was in the right place at the right time for our day of optional activities. The chance to meet and take part in local communities along with the extremely knowledgeable leader and driver all added to the 'adventure' of a lifetime.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many. A stand off with a rhino just yards from the truck. A similar approach from a bull elephant. A family of 4 cheetahs walking past the truck, lions asleep, hyenas at home in the mud by the track, a leopard resting within a tree posing for the photoshoot, visit to a Masai village and the work being done by Helen in trying to confront and re-educate a patriarchal society, a surreal experience of a hot air balloon safari followed by a cooked breakfast around tables on the Mara served with an abundance of Prosecco and herds of Zebras in the background. White water rafting down the Nile- an experience not to miss (even at my age). The spectacular Murchison falls, being charged by a hippo whilst cruising on the Nile. Don't forget the chimpanzees, the walk was easy and they made an appearance for us. I suppose the most inspirational moment was for our entire group to be in the middle of a family of 8 mountain gorillas with the babies playing at our feet, mother breast feeding just a few feet away and the giant alpha male less than 10 feet away demonstrating all the behaviour seen on documentaries. A truly special time and we were so privileged to be accepted into their environment. Last but not least, a sobering visit to the Genocide museum in Kigali, one should not avoid hearing about the history because one is on holiday, it helps to understand and see how far they have come.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gilbert was an extremely lively, enthusiastic, knowledgeable and passionate person who was always keen to impart his knowledge about the countries, culture and wildlife visited. He was readily available to deal with any questions or issues that arose. He was keen to support and use local resources whenever and wherever available. At the same time he was able to protect himself from unnecessary demands of his time. It was noted that he was constantly trying to meet the needs of the group when changes were inevitable. His partnership with Stoney, our driver, was a perfect combination as they both sought to make the adventure as perfect as possible. Perhaps because he tried to keep everybody happy, he needs to realise that in all group situations, not everyone can be as reasonable or respectful or polite as they should be. That is the nature of people and groups- it is not a reflection of him and his abilities.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware of early starts, long drives along some 'bumpy' roads. Expect the Gorilla trek to be more challenging. Read the trip notes carefully and you will not be surprised. It is a group experience, be prepared to be respectful to the other members of the group. The more you share with the group, the more you will get out of the adventure. Acknowledge that some areas you will be going to are a very different cultural experience to what we are used to
  • Reviewed October 2019
    David Scott

    Rhinos and Deserts

    A trip into the deserts of NW Namibia to experience the desert landscapes and wildlife. The emphasis was on desert adapted animals, before moving to the rich wildlife of Etosha later in the holiday. There is a lot of mileage covered, and some long days, but Namibia is a big country. The ability to go off road in a 4WD onto the gravel tracks and dunes when wild camping provided an atmosphere of adventure which you don’t get when staying on tarmac roads.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I found the whole trip inspirational, by its very nature what you see on any particular day isn’t guaranteed, but watching 3 desert lions having an argument over the springbok they have just killed, and watching a cheetah gorging itself on its kill was riveting. I had hoped to see a black rhino and we saw one on the first evening, got out of the vehicle and sat and watched it, after that we saw black rhino every day we were in rhino areas. Watching desert elephants meet up in a canyon and just sitting around the campfire of an evening reflecting on the day, with the stars above and the desert around were also highlights.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    PJ was an excellent group leader. He worked extremely hard to try and ensure we got as much out of the trip as possible. He had a good knowledge of plants, insects, birds and geology as well as the larger animals and tied in our wild life watching to the environment in which they lived. He worked hard, with the camp staff, (who were also excellent), to put a good meal on the table in camp every day, and let us know what was happening, what to look out for and review what we had seen and learnt about.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The Swakopmund extension, which we did was on the whole worthwhile, but we hadn’t worked out before hand that it is around a five hour drive there and back, so in fact it is only one day in the town itself.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a trip with a real sense of adventure as going off road into the Palmwag concession gives a sense of isolation. The Namibian people are very friendly and I look forward to going back someday.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    valerie crompton

    Where the wild Things are.

    I have just returned from this trip which was very good indeed. We were a very diverse group and I don't think we were very easy for our leader Anthony but he coped very well with a difficult person and a demanding situation. H was helped by the crew Melo an excellent cook and Ronald and KT who worked so hard and were always kind and helpful. We were all struggling with the tremendous heat and I would not recommend october as the best month. it was exceptionally hot, drinking hpt water was something we had to get used to, to keep from dehydration, very diddifcult indeed, We had elephants in camp which was a treat and at night could hear the lions and hyeanas outside the tents. We saw numerous birds and wonderful lions also saw a cervil a real treat. Dont expect it all to be easy but it is worth it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The mokoros, the elephants and the surroundings.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Anthony was very capable in sometimes difficult circunstances.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Please take wet wipes because you cant always get the chance to wash, sunhats and scarves which can be soaked and wound round the neck in extreme heat. rehydration powders were very useful too. You dont need many clothes but as it is hot and sandy everything gets covered a few pairs of socks are good as they get very dirty. Just read the trip notes on clothing and that should be enough.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You must go with the right attitude you will be part of a team so looking out for others safety is important, I broke all my nails trying to do the tent zips up they are very difficult, just a warning!
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Paul Daly

    An African Adventure

    Long travel days, early mornings, tough tracking terrain, beautiful scenery, very changable weather, history lessons, amazing animal sightings, upset tummies, Masai and Batwa villages, hot and cold showers, trucks in ditches, border crossings, picnic lunches, and sooooooo much more

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many memorable moments from the Rwandan Genocide Memorial which was heartbreaking, the silent power of the Gorilla family we tracked, seeing a leopard ( 3 actually ), black and white rhino, jumping and spear throwing with the Masai, speaking with Helen who rescues young girls from FGM.....

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gilbert was an excellent all rounder with vast local, national and historical knowledge. All information was given clearly and our nightly meetings to tell of the plans for the following day often ended in stories about previous trips, historical figures and African culture. The other members of the team were super too. The driver, Stony, was unreal and Albert and James, the chefs, made sure nobody went hungry. If you are lucky enough to have this team looking after your group, you'll have a fantastic trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Please, please, please, don't underestimate the level of difficulty involved in the Gorilla trek. The trip notes do not adequately reflect the gradient of the slopes, the neccessity of a porter, or the toughness of the terrain. Having said that, its an amazing day and a once in a lifetime experience. I'd absolutely recommend doing the reverse trip. Get the gorilla trek done in the first few days and then you can enjoy the wonders of Lake Nakuru and the Masai Mara in comfort.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just go!! Don't overthink it and just go. It is a great trip with so many different things to see and do. One thing to avoid however is the optional trip to the source of the White Nile. A huge disappointment for the money that was paid. Be prepared for medical problems like reactions to malaria pills, upset tummies, sunburn, and frankly, a roll of toilet paper in your bag could very well be your best friend.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Stuart Robinson

    A very good holiday

    A very good but exhausting holiday with long truck journeys, heavy rain, early wet mornings but with magnificent sightings of all of East Africa's animals. The crew were exceptional with each member doing their job diligently and were a great help to us travellers. The following day's program were clearly explained each evening with questions asked and answered. Although I had no regrets about going on this holiday, I was just grateful that I did the reverse journey as I'm not sure that I would appreciate a six hour trek to see the gorillas at the end of the holiday - at 67, I'm not sure that I would have made it. Overall, I'm glad that I went.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sightings of the gorillas - I could literary touch one - and we were privileged to see three leopards in Uganda and Kenya.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gilbert was an excellent group leader, giving clear instructions to the group each evening and providing a talk on many relevant subjects displaying a deep knowledge of local current affairs, African culture and history. He always had time to answer any queries and resolve any problems that occurred.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The gorilla trek could be a problem for travellers who have fitness problems. The first trek took six hours up and down hills in hot weather. I booked a second gorilla trek which only took two to three hours as the animals were located near one of the gorilla centres - however, this was just as arduous due to the steep terrain, the thick vegetation and the slippery, muddy conditions. But, for me, it was worth it.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Susan Price

    Safarai in Kenya,and Tanzania followed by 3 days in Zanzibar

    This was one of the most fantastic holidays of my life. Crew on the truck were excellent and Clara the tour guide was a brilliant leader. The other guests were great and we all got on and they supported me as the oldest in the group. Unfortunately Zanzibar was not as good. After a hectic time on safari with early mornings and sometimes long drives it would have been better to go to the beach bungalows first to recover before going to Stone town which was so busy with it's narrow streets and always in danger of being run over by car or scooters. I would rather have had a day in Nairobi to recover from the overnight flight rather than getting off the plane at 4.30 am and being driven to Kembu Farm campsite. One day less in Zanzibar would have been good especially as it rained hard on the last day and we were just hanging around until 4.30 pm drive to the airport.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many awesome moments on the safari to single out one. There were incredible sightings of animals who were just relaxing and not running away.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Clara was a great leader well informed, always looking after our interests and safety. She was fluent in Swahili and was able to smooth our journey.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for early starts sometimes 5 am. Know that the campsites mostly are not fenced and at night animals wander around them sometimes roaring (hyenas) and you may unexpectedly meet an animal when moving about after dark, in my case an elephant was walking through a large campsite with many tents when I was walking to the toilet block at 9 pm. Take a really good head torch, rechargeable seem to be best, mine with it's 3 changeable aaa batteries was not good enough.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Hotel in Stone town had dangerous bathrooms with an approximately 8 inch step down immediately in front of the toilet. I fell down this and luckily only suffered a badly bruised arm. At least one other guest fell down this twice.