Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2017
    Michael Bicknell

    My fourth Exodus safari !!!

    I have now travelled twice to both Tanzania, and also to Kenya. On this particular trip we were so fortunate to watch a large pride of, (about 20) , adult lions in the Ngorongoro crater. It was disappointing though, that despite seven full days here, driving hundreds of miles criss-crossing the country, we did not see one solitary rhinoceros at all. We were told that the Tanzanian Rangers had put some of their rhinos into private reserves to protect them from poachers. However, we had several lengthy sightings of leopards during the week.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Perhaps because the Short Rains started early this year, in October, the Great Migration also began sooner. We were all really surprised to see thousands, maybe tens of thousands, of wildebeest and zebra nearly every day of this trip. We also photographed plenty of giraffe, cheetahs, elephants, and the very scary Cape Buffalo.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Leader, Jackson, seemed a little introverted at times, but he did his job well enough. Our Driver however, Julius, was full of local information, and always keen to point out seemingly hidden animals, and beautiful birds, also fabulous flowers and trees. Thanks Julius, you were just so enthusiastic about Tanzania.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take torches, a head torch is really useful. Take hair shampoo, it is not supplied in the two very basic permanent tented camps. Also essential were sunscreen, and mosquito repellent.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is my second visit to Lake Manyara National Park, and on neither occasion have I seen the very elusive tree climbing lions. We were told that they had not been spotted at all this year. Plenty of baboons, and hippos here in this park, though. Later on during this trip we were really lucky to watch a large Monitor Lizard.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Shannah Murland

    So many elephants!

    This was a wonderful safari covering 3 great parks with supported camping.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the elephants bathe in Manyara.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He had great knowledge of the side roads and where to find the more elusive wildlife.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The dust will get everywhere- there is no avoiding it!
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Julie Kersey

    Julie Kersey

    This was not only our first trip with Exodus but our first safari and we were not disappointed. We were well looked after and our leader and drivers were extremely knowledgable which made for a very enjoyable and interesting trip. It was a busy schedule visiting four different areas, Lake Manyara, the Serengeti, Ngorongoro Crater and finally Tarangire Safari Park, each one slightly different. Our group were in two Land Cruisers on Game Drives every day, we could sit and enjoy the scenery and stop to watch an amazing amount of wildlife. It was a privilege to see the wildebeest migrating it was amazing to see them across the plains on the Serengeti as far as the eye could see; a photograph just couldn't capture the image, you had to just spend time looking at the view. I would certainly go on a safari again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing all the large animals elephants, giraffes and the big cats in such close proximity for the first time was amazing. If I had to say which of those was the most amazing I think it would be looking at a leopard in a tree, he was beautiful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jackson our group leader was very helpful and friendly, he did his job wll.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    When travelling on a safari or any other holiday where you are packing and unpacking frequently it's quite useful to buy some packing cubes for some of your clothes. To my husband and I they were a godsend, they kept things well organised.
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Neil Presland

    Tanzania tented safari

    My overall experience of this trip was 'satisfactory' only because I saw lots of animals. Our Landrover though was ancient, slow and needed stones behind the wheel to hold it when parked. We were in a group of 3 vehicles and the petrol tank fell of off one and meant that 7 people had to be accommodated in the other 2 for 4 hours on very rough roads. The breaks on another were so questionable it had to be replace (with another old vehicle) None of the drivers were in charge and because of this departure times etc were chaotic because different drivers have different instructions and would only travel together. The Exodus rep on arrival was poor, reading out the trip notes and giving no additional information. She was more concerned in us appointing a leader who would collect all tips straight away for the whole trip (thousands of dollars) - we refused. We were in tents five nights not four. One of the tents (2 nights) had seen better days. Packed lunches were left for hours in the sun. We spent hours travelling on roads - exacerbated because of the age of the vehicles which could not travel at speed - we were overtaken constantly.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There was no inspection allowed moment though I did see lots of animalsDAiRA

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She was a poor representative of Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are happy to be in old vehicles, don't mind long and bumpy but slow journeys and are happy for there to be no leadership from the trip organisers then book this trip - you will see lots of animals which is the whole purpose of safari

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This experience of an Exodus holiday is so different to 3 years ago when I couldn't have praised them enough. I doubt I will travel with them again following this holiday.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Neil for his review, although we were concerned to learn of the issues this group experienced with their vehicle; following this unfortunate and one-off vehicle breakdown, Exodus undertook an audit of all the safari vehicles used  on this trip.  The vehicle in question has not been used on an Exodus trip since this date in 2016.  As well as the drivers/safari guides who accompany this trip, we have now appointed an Exodus tour leader who handles the general logistics of the trip and is better equipped to deal with any queries from the group.  We are confident these improvements have made this trip an even better experience.

     

    Emma Garrick - Product Manager for Tanzania

  • Reviewed June 2016
    Karen White

    Classic Tanzania Safari

    Best holiday I have ever had! Wildlife in abundance and closer than I could have hoped for and landscape was breath-taking. Great organisation; brilliant guide and fantastic travelling companions.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Apart from ALL of it (!), getting close to two cheetah brothers under a tree; being surrounded by elephants on more than one occasions and being surrounded by a herd of zebra was surreal - to be honest, there are too many inspirational moments to list!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Godsun was amazing. Friendly, great sense of humour, nothing was too much trouble for him. He went out of his way to give us a great holiday and his knowledge of the wildlife and culture of Tanzania was brilliant. I couldn't have wished for a better guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have large memory chips in your camera - I took over 3000 photos - so much to see! Be prepared to be overwhelmed and take each day as it comes because I found every day threw something at me that was even more amazing than the day before.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I never thought a holiday would top the last 3 I have been on with Exodus but this did (and the previous 3 have been excellent)! The abundance of wildlife at close quarters, the varied and breathtaking scenery all blew me away. I have never said "WOW" so many times in a day! Would I go back again? Definitely! Thank you Exodus!
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Simon Millward

    Terrific Tanzania!

    This trip offered an amazing wildlife spectacle! It definitely boosted my photography porfolio which was my objective. Listening to lions roar at night was amazing! Seeing Cheetah, Lions and Leapords all before breakfast was something I will never forget.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me this has solidified my ambition to work with animals and has prompted me to go back to studying. Hard to pick just one moment. However, when about 40 elephants walked within a hands reach from my safari truck, each one of them looking at you was simply fantastic!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    My guide was Julius he was brilliant at spotting the animals for us and had a good knowledge! Juma out camp chef cooked up a storm with only torches to go by and sang Swahili songs.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Listen to your guides, live every second and build a fantastic memory!
  • Reviewed September 2015
    Sarah Turner

    We saw the big five!

    We had a fantastic guide/driver, (Julius), who was a great animal spotter. We saw the big five! However, seven people in one vehicle meant we had to take turns to take photos.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing both the animals in the parks and also the Maasai people around the parks, hearing their cattle. We saw young boys with painted faces, ready for their circumcision ceremony.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely fabulous.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack your kit in a bag with squash able sides as the vehicle has a limited amount of room for luggage. Try to give any leftover lunch to the locals to avoid waste. Never feed the animals. Take mosquito repellent.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A maximum of six clients comfortably fits into one 9 seater vehicle, with the driver, as its inns proprietor to sit in the front seat for game viewing, and it's not easy to see much at all from the middle seat in the back.
  • Reviewed September 2014
    Chris Adams

    CLASSIC TANZANIA SAFARI (Lodge Departure)

    A brilliant trip from start to finish. I was amazed at how much we saw on the drives. There was nothing that we didn't see. Everything from Lions eating, to a Leopard relaxing up a tree, to Elephants rolling around in mud. Not to mention scores of Zebra, Wildebeest, and Giraffe and even a well hidden Cheetah.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Coming so close to Lions, they were literally feet away from us, but so engrossed into tucking into their dinner that they barely noticed we were there. Also waking up early morning and seeing a couple of Zebra grazing just feet away.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The leaders on our trip were excellent. They were very knowledgeable about everything we saw, and knew all the best areas where we would see things. Nothing was too much trouble for them, and they always had a smile on their faces.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make saure you take plenty of camera memory and spare battery. Even if you're not an avid photographer you'll be surprised at how many pictures you will take! Power is not always available for charging things, so its a good idea to have back up batteries.Pack for all weather as well. It can get very hot in the day, but also quite chilly at night and early morning.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The majority of camps where you stay are located in the parks themselves, and so a lot of the time you're surrounded by wildlife. This adds an extra sense of adventure and you never know what you might see! If you're looking for a trip where you're virtually guaranteed sightings of animals big and small, from Lions to small colourful birds, then this is the trip for you.
  • Reviewed September 2014
    Bonnie Burdett

    What an adventure

    We had a great time and saw so many animals on our trip. Never a dull moment. Over the week we saw a total of 31 lions! We managed to see the big 5 although the Rhinos were at a great distance.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Pulling up close to a pride of lions in the Serengeti who had clearly just eaten, satisfied with fat bellies! One was rolled on his back, belly and legs in the air. Seeing so many elephants in Tarangire spraying themselves with water they had dug up from the dry river bed. One of the babies kept putting his legs in the holes to cool himself down, very cute.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Julus was a great guide who had great knowledge of the animals. With over 10 years of experience he was laid back and was always laughing. We felt very safe in his hands.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If going on the camping trip take plenty of spare batteries. Camping on the crater is chilly but I was fine fully clothed in a 1 season sleeping bag.
  • Reviewed October 2013
    Anonymous

    CLASSIC TANZANIA SAFARI

    Quite simply wonderful!!! We did the camping version of the trip are so pleased we did rather than the lodge version. Everything was perfect. We didnt lift a finger. Julius, the guide, and his team were professional, knowledgable, helpful and good company. Juma, the cook excelled in producing 3 great meals a day under difficult conditions. They helped to make this a very memorable experience. Hats off to them.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching a pack of about 20 hyaenas stampede hundreds of wildebeest on a hunt and saw them take down a warthog. Two young lions taking on an old buffalo 20m from the vehicle.The wild camp within the Serengeti was fantastic...beautiful solitary peaceful. I could have stayed there a week.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Julius: Excellent. Friendly professional capable. An excellent driver. Knowledge of animal behaviour and birds superb.Sense of humour. Nothing was too much trouble

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are able to do this trip it really is a must. October was out of season...the migration had happened but we saw vast herds of wildebeest, buffalo and zebra. We had seen the big 5 by lunch on the first day...even black rhino. In fact there was something to see constantly. We were able to watch lions and hyaena hunts on our own without 20 - 30 vehicles lined up and jostling for position.
Call us on +82-(0)02-6320-4111