Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2018
    Kevin Daws

    Tigers, tigers everywhere

    I recently returned from the Tigers in Focus trip which focused on the Tadoba Tiger Reserve where over 6 and a half days and 11 drives we saw lots of tigers - some on their own but some times in twos or threes. We were fortunate enough to see the famous Maya and her cubs. We also saw two Sloth bears I was in a small group of 4 people and we got on together really well during the. We had an excellent guide - Himanshu Bagde - and stayed at the Mahua Tola which was located about 15 minutes drive from the Tadoba Tiger Reserve. I would like to thank Laxmikant Shukla and his team for making us so welcome and making our experience absolutely fantastic. I am a vegetarian and I can say without hesitation that the vegetarian meals - breakfast, lunch & dinner - were all delicious, tasty and a pleasure to eat, Thank you. I was located in a double double room, that is, there were 2 double beds in separate parts of the room as well as a large bathroom and plenty of extra space to move about in. There was also air conditioning plus a ceiling fan. It was a pity that I only stayed for 1 week, I could easily have stayed longer and hope to return in the future. Our guide - Himanshu Bagde - did everything he could to make our holiday a success from helping to spot the tigers and sloth bears; to telling us about the amazing work of the Tiger Foundation to arranging for us to visit a local school because 3 of us were teachers and tutors. What can I say other than that it was an amazing experience which I did not want to end. Thank you Laxmikant Shukla, Himanshu Bagde and Exodus

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing so many tigers and seeing some of ghem very close up but I have 3 highlights: 1) Seeing lots of tigers 2) Seeing 2 Sloth Bears 3) The food at Mahua Tola was outstanding and say th

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Himanshu Bagde was excellent and I could not have hoped for a better guide

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book now and enjoy an amazing experience seeing tigers
  • Reviewed October 2018

    Tigers, sloth bears, dholes and fabulous food.

    In 2014 I did the same trip, but to Bandavgarh, and didn't see a single tiger. Nor did I see much else. It was with a certain amount of resignation that I booked this, but the contrast was astonishing. We saw tigers on six days out of seven, eight different individuals, and some fabulous photo opportunities. Two sightings of sloth bears, and one of dholes. Himanshu, our guide, has an encyclopaedic knowledge of tigers, and I couldn't imagine a more informed leader. The accommodation was terrific; the four of us had the resort to ourselves, and my husband and I had a bungalow of our own, with loads of space and a great shower. The food was Indian, but beautifully cooked with lots of variety, and many vegetarian options. It was a magical holiday. Some previous clients have expressed dismay on the treatment of elephants, but we never saw any. I still have a smile on my face.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Making eye contact with Maya, Queen of Tadoba. It was the closest Himanshu had ever been to her, and he's been following her progress for eight years, ever since she was a cub, and writing articles about her. This moment was special. We never felt threatened, and she seemed merely curious - but busy doing her own thing, which was marking out her territory. Seeing dholes was fantastic too, as Himanshu made a good call to leave all the rest of the gypsies (jeeps) waiting for a tiger to appear, which he predicted would run across the road some distance away. As we drove off we saw that happen behind us, but consequently we were on our own when we came across a pack of five Indian wild dogs.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Himanshu was wonderful. He understands tigers so well that he could predict what they were going to do, and have us in the right place at the right time. He's very likable, his English is excellent although his accent can be a bit hard to understand sometimes. I couldn't have wished for a better group leader, and as our small group all got on so well we will all stay in touch.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring warm clothing for early morning game drives, and your own alcohol if you want a drink before dinner. There are excellent fridges in the rooms, so we took some vodka in a metal bottle which we packed in our luggage - really good in small ice-cold quantities! I also took some fingerless gloves, which keep your hands warm but mean you can still use your camera.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There isn't a pool, but to be honest I'm not sure I'd have had the time to use one.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Ian Loftus

    Holiday Not As Expected

    Having been on the same trip as Richard I can only confirm what he has said, to see Elephants with chains around their front legs and others with heavy chains trailing from their back legs is totally unacceptable, mahouts screaming and shouting and waving heavy sticks is not what should be happening. This certainly put a damper on the holiday and caused some mixed emotions amongest our party of travelers. We were fortunate that our room, I would not call it a chalet did not suffer from the unwanted guests. The Exodus tour guide and also management of the site were very blase over these unwanted guests in the accommodation, It's India what do you expect was there answer. We have written a formal complaint to Exodus over various subjects of the holiday and have had a holding reply but are still waiting for their final response. the loss of a passport of one of our fellow travelers was not what you expect and especially as he was almost blamed for this happening. The guide did not even bother to accompany him back to the camp but continued on the afternoon game drive, not what should have happened. Very disappointed with a number of aspects of this holiday, just waiting to see what Exodus finally have to say.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our 90 year old fellow traveler, would not have done it by myself.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nothing, he was not up to the standard you expect.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not book on this tour and do not stay at Camp Serai

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No comment
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Kevin Tappenden

    Tigers in Focus, Tadoba

    We have been considering a tiger watching holiday for a number of years, and decided to go ahead with the Tigers in Focus trip as Tadoba sounded like a less busy national park but one which offered good opportunities for tiger sightings. We were not disappointed! We had set low expectations perhaps just having a brief glimpse of a tiger crossing a track, however we achieved so much more. We had great sightings on the first 4 days of the trip, overall on 5 of the 11 safaris, and in total saw 10 individual tigers, 4 adults, 2 sub adults and 4 cubs. We were also able to enjoy the other wildlife with sightings of leopard, sloth bear and wild dog and many birds. The accommodation at V Resorts Tadoba was very good, especially taking into account the isolated rural nature of the resort. The rooms are all air conditioned and clean and comfortable. The resort is a 25-30 minute jeep ride from the gate to the national park, however this journey helped give a greater insight into rural life in India. The food at the resort was very good and varied, with varying levels of spiciness.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    With such good tiger sightings it is difficult to choose one, but probably the time we spent with Sona and her 4 cubs who are about 3 months old.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gordhon Singh was an excellent leader, who provided a good insight into life in rural India and was very knowledgeable about the local wildlife.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for very early starts, you set off at 5.30am each morning, but seeing a tiger makes up for the effort. Be prepared for the safaris being very dusty, and as you sit in an open jeep during the safaris you will get very dusty, and take some protection for your cameras.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Tadoba seems to be a quieter national park than others in India, and is mainly used by Indian visitors so do not expect to see many European or American visitors, and for us this was one of the attractions of choosing this trip.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Richard Dyason

    Tigers in Focus

    Tadoba National Park is made up of a great deal of woodland, an ideal habitat for tigers but less ideal for spotting tigers unless you visit in the dry season however we not only saw a wide range of animals and birds including a wild dog pack chasing a deer (it escaped by swimming a lake) but we also had some close encounters (5 feet) with tigers with some great photos to take home The park is let down by the use of elephants, hobbled by heavy chains which prevent them from extending their stride, being used for tourists. This is unacceptable anywhere and especially in a wild life sanctuary The accommodation at Camp Serai, badly designed, shoddily built and poorly maintained was also notable for wild life, unfortunately in the rooms, not just every conceivable creepy crawly but also rats which damaged some guests property. Sadly the site owner was totally complacent dismissing as to be expected in a jungle camp. From experience in a camp in the Amazon jungle well designed and maintained huts do not suffer rats ingress or even snakes as poisonous species had been found nearby The guide's organisation was poor and managed to lose my passport on the way to the park on our last day, later found lying at the roadside

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching a 91 year old lady member of our group who was an inspiration to us all

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A waste of space

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not go to Tadoba park until they retire the elephants to a sanctuary and also until Exodus find alternative accommodation to Camp Serai
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Samantha Gargour

    Tigers in abundance

    11 guests, 11 game drives, 10 sightings... I always keep my expectations low in order not to be disappointed. This trip was anything but disappointing. Having wanted to join a tiger trip with Paul since 2012, my timing always seemed to be off. Not this time. Through the efforts of both Paul and our local guide Himanshu, we managed to be at the right place / right time on all game drives. It was hot, very hot, and worth every second of sweat and tears (yes, there were tears...especially with my first tiger sighting). You have to be patient and know that, as the title of the trip suggests, the focus is mainly on tigers, but the rewards....well....10 sightings, enough said.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    To all intents and purposes, I have always wanted to see a tiger in the wild. Few people care enough to keep them there as much as Paul. His passion and efforts over the years to raise awareness of the plight of the tiger, the education and charity work he does towards preserving this species is the inspiration. Seeing them in the wild and understanding his motivation was humbling and a true privilege.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Passionate, opinionated, doggedly determined - able to entertain the group at all times with an abundance of energy. Whether you are new to photography or have done it for years, there is always something to learn from Paul - you just have to keep the thick skin on.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is hot, drink lots of water. Bring one of those dry hydro fibre towels with you, lightweight and quick drying to keep the sweat out of your eyes when trying to focus through your viewfinder. It is also very dusty, bring some sort of protection for your camera / lens (lightweight scarf or dust cover) - maybe even to cover your mouth and nose. Be patient, accept that wildlife is unpredictable and ask questions, the local guide's (Himanshu) knowledge is second to none. Make sure you have your travel insurance details to hand as this will be asked of you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Tip graciously, this is their livelihood and the more incentive the locals have to appreciate tourist arrivals, the more efforts go into preserving the national park. A big thank you to all who made this possible. As always, Exodus customer service and follow up was very efficient and friendly.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Nicholas Dale

    Tigers in Tadoba

    Great chance to see tigers, although less focus on the other animals, so you have to be prepared to wait around a long time...

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting back and discovering a couple of great shots of the tiger.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent if sometimes irascible. He's a great raconteur, and you need that when you're hanging around waiting for tigers to appear.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring the longest lens you can, as some of the sightings are quite far - up to 500 yards away!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The rooms were enormous and even had sockets that took European plugs, which was handy as my Botswana adaptor didn't work in India!
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Sophie Smither

    Tigers Take Two

    I did Land of the Tiger last October and was not satisfied with my 1.5 tigers in 17 game drives (the half being backside only view!) so I decided to try again. A better return (4 and a glimpse in 11 game drives) and sloth bear and leopard as well this time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Two afternoon game drives: the first when we saw 2 tigers, one very close and the second dragging a dead cow away to eat as well as a sloth bear, and the last when we got in a different (prettier) bit of the park, saw a tiger and on the way out a leopard!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hemel was good at keeping us on time and positive and was always happy to chat!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes if you go in April it is REALLY hot. Take a towel from the lodge soaked in water and drape it over your head - keeps you cool for about 45 mins and can be topped up whilst on the move! As others have said it is really really dusty so something to cover your mouth and nose (and camera?) is a good idea. And don't expect to feel properly clean all trip! No internet and minimal phone reception at the Lodge. Minimal money needed - you get 3 Litres of bottled water a day, can buy soft drinks and the souvenir choice isn't too vast.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Game drives can be frustrating and sightings can be down to luck. Others in your group may see more than you, try not to get too jealous!! Also be prepared for a lot of waiting for no clear reason. At Mumbai airport on the way home be warned you may not be allowed through to the Departures side until a few hours before your flight so have to wait and the transit/Check in side has not much to do.
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Caroline Fielden

    Tigers in Focus and more...

    An amazing holiday in a remote and unspoiled part of India. We were fascinated by the range of wildlife, despite visiting towards the end of the dry season. There is a huge wealth of bird life around the beautiful lake, the tigers didn't disappoint, we saw 8 different individuals (including numerous sightings of some tigers) also sloth bears, wild dogs and a beautiful male leopard.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Nothing prepares you for seeing a tiger in the wild for the first time. However, the most memorable moment was watching a tigress hunting a young gaur (bison) which had been separated from the herd, I wasn't sure whether to root for the tiger or hope that the prey escapes - which it did by the skin of it's teeth- my heart was in my mouth. We were also lucky enough to see a young tiger retrieve a kill and drag it across the road. If you love wildlife this holiday is for you.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hemel was friendly and as excited by any tiger sightings as we were.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a scarf or buff to cover your nose and mouth as it gets really dusty. Also remember that this is a very rural and poor part of India so be prepared for failures in the electrical supply and very little English spoken.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The craziness of Indian bureaucracy takes some getting used to - especially at Mumbai airport.
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Laura Savill

    Tigers In Focus

    This is a very full on trip - 2 games drives of approx 5 hours a drive. Up at 0530 every morning and in bed by 2130 in the evening, but it is really worth it to get sightings of tigers and other animals that are in the Park. However do not go with any preconceived ideas it is totally different that African games drives. There is method in the madness that one finds on the drives. However be prepared to spend up to an hour waiting for a tiger to appear and then one may only get a glance but the excitement is very catching.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Out of the 11 games drives there was only 2 that no tigers were sighted. Game drives 9 and 10 were the best. In the morning of game drive 9 we were up to see a tigress and her 4 cubs close up and spent about 45 mins observing them. In the afternoon we were waiting around a waterhole and a sloth bear came down to drink with her cub on her back - both a breathtaking moment.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Krishna was excellent. From the moment he met the group at Nagpur Airport he was friendly and informative. He took time out to listen to every member of the group and accommodate suggestions to improve the stay at the Camp. His knowledge and enthusiasm of the animals was wonderful to observe and spread over into the group. If I ever go to India I would go on a trip that he was leading.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It can be very very dusty to take or purchase a snood with you to cover your hair, nose and mouth. Take a small camera bag to place your camera in when out on the drive. Be prepared to sit and wait for a sighting of tigers - remember this is a totally different experience compare to Africa. It can be pure luck that you actually get a good shot of tigers so do not feel let down.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Camp is very comfortable and can come across as basic. The staff are very friendly and the food is very good but do expect curries every day and no international cuisine but that is the charm of spending time away from cities.
Call us on +82-(0)02-6320-4111