Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed December 2017
    Kingsley Barlow

    What an Experience!!!!!!

    From the moment we landed in Lukla and started the long journey to Base Camp, we were in awe of the scenery and the atmosphere of the mighty Himalayas. It is very much like going back in time. The nepalese people life very basic lives and are so hardworking, this adds to the experience. it was a demanding trek, And we were affected by altitude sickness at times. Overall one of the most rewarding things we have ever done.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The immense size of the Himalayas.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tenzig was brilliant - he was caring, personable, organised, with a great sense of humour. Always having our best interest at heart. Ably assisted by Pindu, Pema and Nima. They were truly a great team.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A reasonable level of fitness is a must. Do not under estimate the cold. The tea houses only have heating in the dining room, the bedrooms are very cold so be prepared to sleep fully clothed. It is very dusty so a buff around your mouth helps.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Enjoy!!!!!!!
  • Reviewed November 2017
    DAVID STEEL

    MY COMPLACENT BUCKET LIST TICK TO EVEREST BASE CAMP!!

    Gotta say, this was an absolutely brilliant trip! The group, 14 of us in all, was a very eclectic mix with Canadians, Icelandic, Dutch, Irish, a couple of very entertaining "Cor Blimey" guys, and the rest of us were Northerners, but fortunately none of the others seemed to hold that against us! Me and the 2 Cor Blimeys were mates who had embarked upon this jaunt in virtually complete ignorance of quite what was in store for us, so we thought our preparations of a couple of leisurely jaunts up Snowdon followed by a couple of pints of Guinness in the same PYG pub frequented by Edmund Hillary and Tenzing Norgay 65 years earlier would stand us in good stead. I confess that the complete ignorance I referred to above was mainly down to me not having read any of the reviews, but to be honest, I am glad I didn't read them because it would probably have put me off going and I would have missed a truly great experience. The other 11 people were all seasoned trekkers, who were rather surprised by our inexperience (and stupidity?) in embarking upon this full-on 18 consecutive days High Passes Trek which is widely regarded as one of the toughest available. However, despite me picking up a dose of food poisoning in the UK even before we flew to Delhi, we ALL made it across ALL of the High Passes, due in no small part to the expertise and skill of the Trek Leader, Pasang Lama, who I have to say was brilliant at coaxing, encouraging and looking after us - not surprising really, given his 21 years' experience in the role! The scenery of course is second to none, and on a few practical points, supplies like toilet paper, snacks, drinks, sun cream etc. are readily available throughout the trek, plus the food available in the Tea Houses was far better than I had anticipated, which is more than can be said for the general standard of ablutions, but hey, even they were manageable. I am 70, but reasonably fit I suppose, so my advice would simply be get fit, shed a few spare pounds, do a bit of aerobic exercise like jogging or riding a bike, make sure your boots are comfortable and go for it! The Altitude thing is a bit of a lottery so no point in worrying about it, although it may be prudent to have a try-out at altitude somewhere before you go to see if you may be susceptible to it? Some of us took Diamox, some didn't, but nobody had any significant symptoms of AMS apart from the odd headache, a bit of nausea, and a little bit of water retention. Loss of appetite is quite common at altitude, and the only thing which bothered me was the inability to sleep when we were above 5,000m - which we were for 10 days in a row - so actually quite debilitating!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sense of satisfaction in overcoming the challenges and hardships of oxygen deficit and lack of sleep for days on end. Oh, and yes, OK, I suppose the magical sight of such a legendary panacea of scenery was pretty cool too . . . . yes . . . . that too!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was brilliant. He inspired confidence, was amusing, direct in his manner when it was needed, and conciliatory when it was appropriate. Full marks Pasang!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just Do It - but get fit!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Enjoy!
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Rich Clubley

    Everest Base Camp/Kala Patthar

    An awesome and successfull trek to Everest Base Camp

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The early morning ascent of Kala Patthar for amazing views over Everest and surrounding peaks Also the trip to the Edmund Hilary school was a real insight local life and the history of the area

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Leader Tsherten was excellent, nothing was to much trouble and he looked after us superbly, truly passionate about his work in the mountains and helpfull in everything over the 12 day trek along with awesome local Guide “RB” who looked after us on the mountain. We couldn’t have done it without these guys!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes and research what you are about to do, this definalty set our expectations before we departed (which were exceeded) and made for a successfull trip
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Gill Hoare

    An Excellent Adventure

    Myself aged 61 and my husband aged 58 decided to tick this item off our bucket list. We trained reasonably hard for the trip giventhe lack of mountains in Dorset. We set off for Nepal with a degree of trepidation. After surviving the chaos of Kathmandu airport we were met by Nirmal our tour guide from that point we were so well looked after all our fears were allayed. We met our fellow travellers And the next morning set of for Lukla to begin our trek. After a 24 hour delay we arrived in Lukla where we met our guides. The trek was very hard in places but the excellent advice given to us my Nirmal "outside suicide" and the guides together with the pace that was set meant that we never felt out of our depth if frequently out of breath. The standard of accommodation food and plumbing exceeded expectations while at the same time being basic. It was an amazing adventure tough at times but so worth it for the spectacular scenery the wonderful Nepalese people and the sense of accomplishment when we reached base camp.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Everest for the first time

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nirmal was excellent. He had a large and at times rowdy group to deal with but despite some difiificult times mostly to do with delays at Lukla he kept us all in order and got us all to base camp and back without incident. By the end of the trek we all thought of him as a friend. His insights into Nepalese culture and life added to the enjoyment of the trip. His advice was essential in making sure we all stayed healthy and achieved our objective not only achieved it but enjoyed it too. A special mention for our guides too their pacing and insights added greatly to the trip

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't worry about packing snacks they are freely available and reasonably priced if a little dearer than at home and do increase in price as you go higher. Make sure you have warm gloves and possibly hand warmers if you suffer from cold hands there are a few early starts when it will be very cold. Follow the tour leaders advice they know what they are doing !! DONT WAIT GO KNOW ITS AWESOME !!! If you are worried about fitness don't I managed it at 61 with my only fitness regime being walking up as many hills as possible as fast as I could.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is my second trip with exodus and once again they exceeded my expectations. Their use of local guides adds greatly to the experience as on both trips our guides have been excellent and passionate advocates for this country,
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Erik Baijards

    Beautiful trip

    It was an amazing trip, incredible scenery, good itinerary to acclimatise. Good staff and lots of fun with the group.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing Kala Patthar, such beautiful views when we were on top

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bikash was a good tour guide, he and the other guides made me have a good holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go up slowly to acclimatise well and take time to enjoy all the beautiful views.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Gian Marco Currado

    Amazing

    A wonderful trip full of beautiful scenery with a great leader and team. An amazing experience!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The trek up to Kala Patthar with amazing views of Everest and more
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Eleanor Hudson

    Greatest Experience

    Such an amazing trip with the most spectacular views! Never trekked to this extent and the guides are amazing and help you the whole way so don't be put off! Met some amazing people, was great to see everyone constantly helping each other out!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On the way down a few of us went out on the night and sat watching the stars with an Everest Beer. I saw 2 shooting stars and even saw Venus-most memorable moment in my life!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader Bikash Tamang (aka B to us) was a great help with altitude and helped keep the group strong. Always laughing and smiling and even on hand to carry my bag when I needed a help. Such a supportive leader and I'm so grateful to have had B as my leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Stop every now and again and just take it all in, don't miss all the beautiful sights trying to go fast!
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Corin Reavie

    An Incredible Holiday

    This was an amazing trip, and I cannot wait to revisit Nepal. The scenery was stunning, reaching Everest Base Camp was awe-inspiring, and Exodus took care of all of the organisation. The whole trip was well organised, and everything ran smoothly thanks to the work of Exodus and our leader and assistant staff. I had never done anything like this before, and so to anyone who is currently wondering if they would be able to do it - if you have a good level of fitness, enjoy walking and are determined - go for it, you will not regret it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Finally reaching Everest Base Camp was a truly incredible moment. The scenery in the Himalayas was always breathtaking as well.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader, Pasang Bomjan, was excellent. He provided help and advice when I suffered from altitude sickness, and I was always confident in his ability to lead the group safely and competently.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not underestimate the altitude. However, if you follow your leader's advice - ascend slowly, drink lots of water, keep eating even if you have no appetite - you will be able to complete the trek. The route was surprisingly dusty, so I recommend bringing a buff/scarf to cover your mouth.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Christopher Riley

    Mr

    Very good trek. Amazing guides

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing base camp

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very competent. Made us feel completely at ease despite tough altitude conditions

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a steripen.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    William Nisbet

    Trip of a Lifetime - Everest Base Camp Trek

    This had been on my bucket list for a while and it didn't disappoint! Absolutely breathtaking scenery, exciting trekking and a wonderful culture. I'm so glad I booked with Exodus as the whole experience, from start to finish, was organised and managed to perfection. Don't find an excuse not to do this, just do it!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at Base Camp was an incredible feeling, and the ascent of Kala Patthar the next day, whilst tough, gave the most impressive views of the Everest range.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader, Pasang Bomjan, was flawless throughout. He was very professional, extremely knowledgeable and the group felt very safe in his hands.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My advice would be to not underestimate the challenge - at the highest altitudes the trekking is tough, even if you are fit. Otherwise, just do it!
Call us on +82-(0)02-6320-4111