Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed December 2016
    Denise Bounous

    Tanzania Cycling

    This was an amazing trip. The Ngorongoro crater and Serengeti days in the Land Cruiser watching wildlife were even more wonderful than I had expected. I would recommend it to anyone who is not afraid to rough it sleeping in tents, riding extremely rough roads and taking cold showers.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We saw amazing wildlife and had the very fortunate opportunity to observe 2 lionesses track and kill a hartebeest. The wildlife was the highlight of the trip, and it was made possible because we had an extraordinary group leader, Gabriel. The hike we took to the Falls and swimming in the pools there are experiences I will remember because we would not be able to do anything like that in my country.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was so impressive! His knowledge of the wildlife, plants, local people and the whole environment was complete. He answered every question and was spot-on with his decisions for our activities. He had a tremendous responsibility for 16 customers and 8 crew members.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware that this trip involves some difficult cycling because the roads are very rough - washboard and pretty big rocks cover the roads - most all the way. It can make the 20-40 miles seem longer. But the opportunity to see the wildlife and experience true Tanzania life is amazing.
  • Reviewed February 2014
    Anonymous

    TANZANIA CYCLE SAFARI

    A unique experience travelling Tanzania in bicycle in contact with wild animals and Masai people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling in rough roads with changing landscape and in touch with the daily primitive life of the Great Masai.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Professional, knowledgable, helpfull and always a smile for everyone.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Depending to the time of the year, it might be cold in some camps due to the altitude, so be prepared for that.
  • Reviewed February 2014
    Anonymous

    TANZANIA CYCLE SAFARI

    A unique experience exploring Tanzania cycling in the land of wild animals.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling in rough roads in a wonderful and changing landscape. Being so closed to wild animals and touching the daily and primitive life of the great Masai.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Professional, knowledgable, helpfull and always with a smile for everyone.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Depending the time of the year, it might be cold due to the high altitude of some camps.
  • Reviewed November 2013
    Anonymous

    TANZANIA CYCLE SAFARI

    More than a cycling holiday and more than a safari - the most fabulous holiday! Highly recommended.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Can't pick one moment as every day an adventure! 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gabriel was the best! He managed the holiday so well we were just left to enjoy it! Very nice chap as well. Couldn't fault him!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Cycling is only one element so be aware it is more than a cycling experience. Four long days of cycling and one short. Two days no cycling but optional hikes and three days safari. Perfect for me!
  • Reviewed September 2012
    Anonymous

    TANZANIA CYCLE SAFARI

    A great way to get out of your comfort zone as some of the camping facilities are basic and also a fine way to lose weight and get fitter!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The game viewing in the Serengeti including seeing the early migration of a herd of 37 elephants being led out by the matriach walk right past our vehicle. We were also lucky enough to have a brief but inspirational view of a leopard leaping up over rocks and back into cover, a female cheetah and her cubs dragging away a fresh kill to safety and two lions guarding their kill of a zebra. We also saw giraffes , hippos, ostiches, crocodiles, zebras and a multitude of other animals in the wonderful setting of the "endless plains" of the national park.Seeing the Maasai in their homeland as we cycled past and being able to speak to local Maasai guides was really interesting and informative.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gabriel was simply superb throughout the trip with amazing levels of energy matched by his ability to connect with everyone in our group. He was helpful, reassuring, patient and understanding and able to carry out a multitude of tasks from getting a broken axle repaired for one of the trailers to sorting out all the logistics required for the smooth operation of the small army of staff quitely and efficently. He was consistently helpful, always smiling and ready to help out at all times and proved to be an excellent bike mechanic ans natural leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Tanzania has some very sandy, energy sapping roads so be prepared by getting the off road miles in before you travel. Some of the descents were fairly technical negotiating boulders and rocks en route and at times it was very hot (38c on one day) and it's easy to run out of water so you may want to invest in a Camel Back with a large capacity to help you keep hydrated. Bring along a stock of energy bars and gels with you as food stops are not very frequent and flip-flops for use in showers. You may want to try out the "Sports" type of sunscreen that claim to offer up to 12 hours of protection for one application.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A fantastice trip shared with some great company.
  • Reviewed September 2012
    Anonymous

    TANZANIA CYCLE SAFARI

    An amazing holiday with a great group of people.  Cycling is a fantastic way to get see the country and get off the tourist trail.  The three day safari in the middle was excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Driving in the Serengeti and seeing a herd of 30+ elephants coming down the hill and crossing right in front of the truck then seeing another herd of 100+ elephants later in the day  - both with no other safari trucks around.  The start of the wildebeest migration was awesome and totally unexpected.  Camping in Lobo and hearing the lions roaring in the valley at night.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gabriel did a superb job of making sure everything ran smoothly whilst being relaxed and easy going.  His insights into local culture, particularly amongst the Masai, were fascinating and really enhanced the trip.  His ability to drive over deeply rutted roads whilst game spotting was amazing.  All in all an excellent group leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for basic conditions in a couple of the campsites.  The cycling can be sandy/rocky in places combined with the heat so it's worth doing some training.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you want a holiday that pushes you a bit but in a relaxed African way then this is the one for you! I am still trying to work out how, on the last night's camping, the cook managed to produce a full roast dinner followed by freshly baked chocolate cake - all with no sign of an oven. 
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    TANZANIA CYCLE SAFARI

    Wonderful, surreal, I was living my dream.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was an amazing trip, I was anxious before I went, but had nothing to worry about.  Dave Armon the tour guide was excellent and so was the crew who looked after us.  The food was basic but good, cycling tough on some days, but there were plenty of stops to take in the scenery, and it was not a mad race to get from A to B it was a nice steady pace so you could enjoy the experience, the group was a very good mix and great company.The camping was fun, it was wonderful hearing the lions roar in the valley, and the elephants wondering near the campsite.  The crew were very efficient and setup camp before we arrived and looked after us well.I loved the game drives, it was such a wonderful experience being quite close to the wildlife.I enjoyed the culture side of the trip, the visit to a Maasi family home and learning about the way they live.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good and knowledgable.  Looked after us well.  Very friendly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Hire the bikes over there as they are very good.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I loved the trip, it was a surreal experience and would recommend anyone thinking about going on it to stop thinking about it and book it. 
  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    TANZANIA CYCLE SAFARI

    Fantastic combination of some great off road cycling and safari.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting up early one morning and finding ourselves alone in the Serengeti surrounded by a pride of lions.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Julius was everything you need from a guide - knowledgable, professional, courteous and entertaining.  The whole team were great. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The cycling is great but can be tough on some days, especially if you're not used to riding off road. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Be prepared to rough it for a few days, some of the campsites were quite basic but all had at least a [cold] shower!
Call us on +82-(0)02-6320-4111