Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2016
    Alan Murphy

    Brilliant brilliant brilliant!

    Weather fantastic; guide fantastic; place fantastic; experience unique!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing how a self sufficient ancient way of life could be so fulfilling.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Top rate!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go, go go in case this way of life disappears before you go.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A wonderful unique experience.
  • Reviewed April 2016
    William Simmonds

    Rock the Kasbah

    We travelled with our two sons age 12 and 9 years. The pre-trip information and support was great and the trip proved to exceed our expectations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Ait Ben Haddou.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Just the right blend of informative and friendly whilst remaining calm and laid back. Great with the kids and a reassuring presence. He was also excellent company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare for a few long journey's. The Moroccan people we met were all very friendly and polite. If you can, spend some time before or after the trip to relax and explore Morocco at your own pace. We spent some time post tour on the coast in Essouria (a few hours from Marrakech) which we absolutely loved.
  • Reviewed January 2015
    Kerry Meek

    Meek's Camels Kasbahs trip

    The "Camels and Kasbahs" trip was our first adventure travel holiday as a family and our first trip with Exodus. We loved it and were very impressed by the whole experience. We travelled to Morocco in late December, a perfect time to visit. As one of four like-minded families, we spent seven days travelling and exploring rural and urban parts of Morocco. The first five days were spent in the villages, towns and picturesque remote parts of the High Atlas mountains. This contrasted greatly with the hubbub of busy city life in Marrakech for the last two days. The trip is extremely well organised to allow you to take in a mixture of places and experiences from camping out in bedouin tents, bumpy camel rides, iconic tourist sites, busy souks and a really humbling taste of simple village life. Morocco is a beautiful country and the people there are extremely friendly and welcoming.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is very difficult to pick out the best or most inspirational moments from the trip because every day was so different, each with unique experiences. Our girls were particularly moved by the trip to Tijhza, the project village in the High Atlas mountains, which Exodus has supported for over ten years. They enjoyed the contact with the local children, playing a game of football on a dusty, rocky pitch with players in sandals and thin souled shoes. It's amazing how a simple game of football can bring people together. Many buildings in the village had been damaged in recent storms but even a month after the flash floods, people were rebuilding and mending their homes. Whilst the storms had caused a vast degree of damage in the rural parts of the country that we visited, it had also led to a dramatic change in the landscape. Dry, barren land was covered in green shoots. Locals were out collecting herbs, families were picnicking in the luscious plantations and Behouin groups, normally settled higher up in the mountains had ventured lower down into the valleys to feed themselves and their livestock on the abnormal abundance of greenery. The trip name refers to camels and this was a highlight for many of the children. Our girls enjoyed sitting on their own camel (which of course they had named), wrapped in Moroccan scarves, before playing in the sand dunes. They also enjoyed plodding up the hill on mules to Tijhza.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our tour guide was called Abdellah. He has worked for Exodus for over ten years and is very proud of both his job and his country. Abdellah greeted us on day one with a huge smile and continued to smile throughout the trip. His happy nature was infectious. Abdellah's kind, considerate character made him a perfect guide for the family trip. He always provided helpful advice and had a soft spot for the children. He was a very knowledgeable guide, providing snippets of information at key moments throughout the trip. If asked questions or for more information, Abdellah was more than happy to oblige. As we walked through plantations he informed us of the names of plants, walking through kasbahs he spoke confidently of the history linked to them and as we drove through the winding roads past villages he described the cultures and traditions of the country. On the day that we went to visit the iconic Ait Ben Haddou, we arrived a couple of hours before sunset. As other cars were leaving the site, we arrived and walked up the narrow deserted lanes to the top to appreciate the view and see the sun disappear behind the far off mountains. Avoiding the crowds of the day, made it a much more memorable experience. I don't think you could get a better insight into a country without a guide. Whilst you can read information about the place that you are travelling to, a guide from the country has a true understanding and is able to speak the languages and communicate with locals.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you travel to Morocco in late winter be prepared for a mixture of temperatures; the sun is pleasantly warming during the day but at night it can get quite chilly, particularly up in the High Atlas mountains and when camping out in the bedouin tents. So be prepared with your layers. You don't need to bring American dollars. Bring a small amount of Moroccan Dirham as well as some English pounds. There are plenty of cash machines in the towns and cities to top up from. At the start of the trip the leader creates a kitty, which everyone contributes to. It is a great idea since any tips to local guides come from the kitty rather than each family having to sort out tips. The trip notes might suggest bringing swimming costumes. Although there may be swimming pools at some of the gites they are very cold at this time of year. Pack them if you think you're brave enough!
  • Reviewed January 2014
    Anonymous

    CAMELS & KASBAHS - FAMILY HOLIDAY

    My son and I had a fabulous trip to Morocco during October half term 2013; it was my son's first real adventure holiday and we plan to take lots more!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The camel trek was certainly a highlight for us - and hunting for fossils in the desert.  My son says that his mule ride up into the mountains was much more comfortable though!The colours of Morocco were amazing, the clear blue skies and beautiful mountains - we have many fantastic photographs to remind us of our trip.  The people were warm and welcoming and my son really enjoyed his taste of a culture far removed from his own

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohamed Maachou was a great leader and really helped us make the most of our Moroccan experience.  He is a family man and made sure that the children were safe and happy and didn't miss a thing.  My son was thrilled at his knowledge of the bird life and his expertise with the camera.  His patience is admirable!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for some longish drives - this may be a bit difficult for younger children.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We look forward to booking our next holiday with Exodus - the customer service was outstanding from start to end. We had a great adventure but had the comfort of feeling safe the whole time.
  • Reviewed December 2013
    Anonymous

    CAMELS & KASBAHS - FAMILY HOLIDAY

    A fantastic holiday for adults and children alike, with a great mixture of desert, mountains and city.  All the hotel accommodation was excellent, the camping was an adventure in itself,  the restaurants our guide took us to were great (and well priced) and the other trip members were all like minded individuals which made the trip easy going.  The guide was very knowledgeable, well organised and most importantly very friendly and always available to help.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our family especially loved the camel ride (and climbing the sand dunes) and the walks in the mountains.  Viewing the stars from the roof of the mountain gite was a moment to treasure forever!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Yahyah was fantastic - very friendly, great with the children and had lots of good tips.  He definitely made the trip special!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The pools are freezing at this time of year - even with wetsuits for the children.  Brace yourselves!  We took a mixture of Euros, Dollars and Sterling, but to be honest just having Sterling would have been fine (and cheaper because of Foreign Exchange fees).  Dont forget you are going to rural parts of a Muslim country so take conservative clothing - long sleeves and long legs.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Highly recommended by our family!
  • Reviewed November 2013
    Anonymous

    CAMELS & KASBAHS - FAMILY HOLIDAY

    Really varied and kids loved it! Especially the mountain trek...

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most amazing, massive sand dune! Running down that and being able to see across the Sahara for miles and miles....

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Really experienced and most helpful

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Taking useful stuff for the local kids and school. Coats if you are travelling in October

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great group of folk and that made all he difference!
  • Reviewed February 2013
    Anonymous

    CAMELS & KASBAHS - FAMILY HOLIDAY

    Excellent family trip which we all enjoyed for different reasons. The highlight for the kids was the the camel trek in to the desert and the 'sand surfing' down the dunes. For me it was very special to visit Tijhza village and volunteer for an afternoon and help build the hammam. Overall it's a busy trip but very satisfying and weather is excellent at October half-term - not too hot in the desert.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Volunteering at Tighza was unique and cery enjoyable. Personally I enjoyed the football match with local children at the the village school as a personal highlight!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdullah has been leading this trip for many years and he was exceptional. He has children of his own and naturally knows what families are looking for. He also spoke fluent Berber, Arabic, French and English - all of which he used constantly to help us communicate with everyone we met.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring good walking shoes / boots as there are laods of opportunities for walking, many of which are extra to what is in the trip Notes. Abdullah's speciality is taking groups on impromptu walks arounds villages, date groves, and towns to give the groups a real feel for how the local people live and work in Morocco.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you are looking for a trip that has winter-sun, loads of variety, camel trekking and sand dunes - this is ideal. If you like to lie by the beach forget it! This is a busy holiday. My son is hyper-active and even he was exhausted! Remember there are a few nights camping in bedouin tents, so it is basic for a few nights but comfort levels increase as the trip progresses, with hotels with pools towards the end. Don't forget almost all accommodation has pools - maybe bring wet-suits for the kids as the pools aren't heated!
  • Reviewed January 2013
    Anonymous

    CAMELS & KASBAHS - FAMILY HOLIDAY

    Overall it was a very good holiday. We saw a lot of Morocco, Abdullah, the guide, was excellent, as was our driver (Abdellah!), but was slightly disappointed that our tent experiences were more akin to a campsite at home.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walk up to and back from Tijhza was great.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was excellent. Very informative and inclusive. I think I can speak for all of us to say that he made us all feel at ease.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Watch out for the snake charmers in al Fna square. They think it is OK to invade your privacy by depositing a snake around your neck without asking, but become quite aggitated if you invade their privacy by taking a picture.....in a public place, that may include their snakes!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It would have been good if we were told in advance that we were going to be in Morocco dring the Eid festival, which meant that the majority of Marrakech was closed!
  • Reviewed November 2012
    Anonymous

    CAMELS & KASBAHS - FAMILY HOLIDAY

    A good mixture of rural and city, camping and hotels, leisurely walks and camel trek.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The first night in the camp, looking at the stars was wonderful.  We were initially disappointed that the camp site was indeed a permanent camp site, rather than sleeping in a camp out in the desert, but the upside was the clean showers and loos!  The walk down from the mountain village through the villages and fields was lovely; interesting, leisurely and an education in how people live their day to day lives in the villages.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdellah was informative, personable, more than happy to please and educate and had a great sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a busy week, with a fair bit of travelling although the travelling was broken up by stops for photographs, lunch etc.  We don't have young children and I think it would be quite hard work camping in the Bedouin tents with very young children - however, our teenager loved every minute of the holiday.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Morocco has fantastic scenery - it's very mountainous, and we never tired of looking at the landscape.  Although it's a busy trip there are quiet times when you can have time to yourself.  We got up around 7.30am every morning and found ourselves struggling to keep awake past 9pm!
Call us on +82-(0)02-6320-4111